Majority
Headnote
[1] Insurance—Compromise of Claims Under Accident Policies— Action to Recover Pro Rata Liability—Construction of Reinsurance Contract—Defense.—In an action to recover defendant’s pro rata liability under a reinsurance contract after a compromise by plaintiff of claims arising under two accident insurance policies issued by plaintiff, the reinsurance contract providing thatThe plaintiff Pacific Mutual Life Insurance Company brought this action to recover from the defendant Pacific Surety Company the sum of $4,992.58, claimed to be due under a contract of reinsurance. A general demurrer to the amended complaint was sustained without leave to amend, and from the judgment entered therein plaintiff appealed and said judgment was reversed. (Pacific Mutual Life Ins. Co. v. Pacific Surety Co., 182 Cal. 555 [ 189 Pac. 273 ].). Thereafter defendant answered and the cause proceeded to trial before the court sitting with a jury. A judgment of nonsuit was entered and plaintiff has again appealed.
The nature of the contract of reinsurance was "explained upon the former appeal as follows: “Plaintiff and defendant entered into a contract of reinsurance whereby defendant reinsured the ‘second excess’ of $5,000 of accident insurance policies written by the plaintiff where the principal sum exceeded $10,000: In other words, if the plaintiff issued one or more policies to one person and the total insurance exclusive of accumulations amounted to $20,000 or over, plaintiff carried the first $10,000 of the risk, another reinsuring company carried the risk for the next $5,000 and the defendant assumed the risk for the second excess of $5,000: The companies were to share proportionately in any accumulations which should arise under the policies.”
The following facts are not disputed. In April, 1914, subsequent to the date of the execution of the said contract, the Chicago agency of the plaintiff issued a policy of accident insurance, numbered 1095700, in the principal sum of $10,000 to one Dr. Harold H. Steere of that city. On June 5, 1914, said agency issued a second policy, numbered
The clause of the reinsurance contract authorizing plaintiff to compromise claims for loss reads as follows:
“2. The ‘Pacific Mutual’ alone shall settle all claims, and such settlements shall be binding on the ‘Reinsurance Company’ in proportion to its participation, whether the settlement be in full or in compromise. The claim papers and other evidence and vouchers accepted as sufficient by the ‘Pacific Mutual’ shall likewise be taken by the ‘Reinsurance Company’ and copies of all such papers duly certified by an officer of the ‘Pacific Mutual’ shall be furnished to the ‘Reinsurance Company’ accompanying their claim under the reinsurance.” Said contract also contained the following provision: “3. All liability of the ‘Reinsurance Company’ shall cease when the risk terminates under the respective policy or renewal. ...”
In due time plaintiff demanded that defendant pay its alleged proportionate liability under said contract of reinsurance arising out of the settlement of the Steere claims, which defendant refused to do, upon the ground that neither of said policies came within the terms of said reinsurance contract. Plaintiff then commenced this suit to recover the same.
[1] The first question presented for determination is whether or not, in view of the clause in the contract above quoted, the right of the appellant to settle all claims was unlimited and conclusive, so far as respondent was concerned. The respondent contends that it was not, and that “all defenses that were available to plaintiff against the claims and actions on the Steere policies are equally available to the defendant in this action.” In this respect it is asserted, first, that both Steere policies were not in force at
Appellant’s position is that the provisions of said contract “are so broad and sweeping as to necessarily include even claims where the very heart of the dispute is as to the validity of one or 'more policies ab initio or termination of one by the other,” etc.
The rule stated in the case of Royal Ins. Co. v. Caledonian Ins. Co., 182 Cal. 219 [ 187 Pac. 748 ], is doubtless decisive of the proposition submitted. The policy of reinsurance there was indorsed “this policy is subject to the same risks, valuations, conditions and adjustments as or may be taken by the reinsured, and loss if any thereunder is payable pro rata with the reinsured and at the same time and place.” Acting under the authority conferred by that clause the reinsured compromised a claim for loss and subsequently sought to recover from the reinsurer the latter’s proportionate share of said settlement and the question arose as to the right of the reinsurer to object to the settlement made by the reinsured. In discussing the purpose such special agreements of reinsurance were intended to subserve, Mr. Justice Richards, whose opinion, while sitting as a member of the district court of appeal, was adopted by the supreme court, cited and quoted from the case of New York etc. Ins. Co. v. Protection Ins. Co., 18 Fed. Cas. 160, No. 10,216, wherein it was pointed out that, in the absence of such a clause as the one above quoted, the reinsurers were entitled, as against the reinsured, to make the same defenses which might be asserted by the original insurer against the insured; that the consequence was that no voluntary payment by the original insurer was binding upon the reinsurer and that the reinsured was protected only by a bona fide judgment against them for the loss. “It was to avoid this inconvenience and delay,” says the opinion in that case, “as well as peril that the French policies of reinsurance, as mentioned by Emerigon and Pothier, usually contained a clause
“In the absence, therefore, of fraud or -bad faith on the part of the plaintiff, the defendant by the terms of its policy ... is in no position to object to the mode of adjustment as made by the plaintiff. When, therefore, the plaintiff had ascertained by a proper investigation that it was legally liable- to- pay a certain amount to the railroad company under its contract, and such payment had been made, the defendant could not question the validity of the plaintiff's act unless it alleged and .proved that the- plaintiff had acted fraudulently or collusively to its injury.” Continuing, however, Mr. Justice Richards declares this exception to the rule: “The rule as thus stated should, of course, be limited to cases where, as in the instant case, no question arises as to the liability of the original insurer and the reinsurer upon their respective policies up to the occurrence of the disaster out of which their respective- liabilities are claimed to have arisen, and wherein the matter presented for adjustment is a disputed state of facts as to the origin or extent of the disaster. This will differentiate the case at bar from those cases upon which the appellant herein most strongly relies, as, for example, the case of Firemen’s Fund Ins. Co. v. Aachen etc. Ins. Co., 2. Cal. App. 690 [ 84 Pac. 253 ],” citing also the case of Commonwealth Ins. Co. v. Globe etc. Ins. Co., 35 Pa. St. 475 . And the learned justice concludes the discussion on this point as follows: “The difference between this line of cases and the case at bar is obvious, and in conclusion upon this branch of the case we are of the opinion that under the foregoing clause of the
Turning, then, to the evidence to ascertain if both policies were in force at that time the record discloses that the second policy contained the following limitations of liability:
I “Article 31. The Company’s maximum limit of insurance under its Accident and Health Policies and Tickets granted on the life of any one person shall be $10,000' principal sum, . vrith $50 per week indemnity, except as enlarged by doubling or increasing clauses. Accident or Health Insurance in excess of such maximum limit shall not be valid, and premiums paid for such excess shall, on written demand at Company’s Home office, be returned.” It also contained, in the schedule '.of warranties .which is made a part of the policy, an agreement wdiereby the insured agreed “that all other accident, ‘health and disease insurance on my life in this company shall be terminated at the time hereof, except as follows: No exception.” The evidence does not show that those clauses wrere ever modified or waived by appellant, and no such claim is made. They are plain in their terms and unambiguous in their meaning. [2] “Policies of insurance are written contracts between parties and are governed by the same rules which are applicable to contracts generally. ” (Bassi v. Springfield Fire Ins. Co., 57 Cal. App. 707 [ 208 Pac. 154 ].) [3] Giving those clauses effect, as must be done, the conclusion is inevitable that appellant’s
liability, in case of the death of the insured from accident, was restricted to the principal sum of $10,000 and accumulations, and that the issuance of the second policy was intended to and in fact did operate as a cancellation of all previously issued policies. In either event the respondent was not liable under said reinsurance contract. Furthermore, the written declarations of appellant’s officers and the verified pleadings filed by them in the Chicago suits dispel all doubt as to the understanding of appellant regarding the invalidity of the first policy.
The evidence shows in this particular that although the contract of reinsurance provided that “the liability of the ‘Reinsurance Company’ for each risk shall commence simultaneously with that of the ‘Pacific Mutual,’ provided only that the ‘Pacific Mutual’ shall dispatch the reinsurance advices to the office of the ‘Reinsurance Company’ within ten (10) days (Sundays and holidays excepted) after receipt at its home office in Los Aingeles, California, of advice of the issuing of the policy or renewal receipts by the ‘Pacific Mutual,’ ” no attempt was made by appellant to dispatch to respondent advices of the issuance of either of the Steere policies until after the death of the insured, for the reason that the- amount of the insurance called for by the first policy was not sufficient in amount to invoke respondent’s liability under said reinsurance contract and it was advised by its Chicago agency that the second policy had been issued as a substitute for and in cancellation of the first one. Those advices consisted in part of the records transmitted by the Chicago agency of appellant to the home office, one of which purported to be “an exact copy of an entry made in the schedule of warranties contained in policy issued,” and embodied the following recital: “Kind of policy . . . A-56 . . . issued in lieu of 1095700'.” Another record consisted of the “transmittal sheet” for the week ending June 11, 1914, used by the Chicago agency for the purpose of “forwarding applications, policy records and renewals, and 'other vouchers, to Accident Department” and which set forth the fact of the issuance of the second Steere policy under the head: “Issued in lieu of canceled policies.” The first advice received by the home office to the contrary arrived after the death of Dr. Steere on July 17, 1914, when its Chicago
On the following day, July 18, 1914, appellant, for the first time apprised respondent of the issuance of the two
[4] Accepting as true all of the evidence offered in support of appellant’s case, we are satisfied that it was and is insufficient, as a matter of law, to establish the fact that both policies were in force at the time of the death of the insured, and upon that ground we believe the trial court was justified in granting the motion for a nonsuit.
In passing upon the question of the right of the respondent to attack the settlement made by appellant we have not overlooked that part of the decision of the supreme court rendered upon the former appeal, wherein it was said: “The defendant is not in a position, upon general demurrer, to attack the settlement of the claim between plaintiff and the widow of the insured, in view of the power given plaintiff by the contract of making settlements binding upon defendant.” (Emphasis ours.) Surely, in view of the rule announced in Royal Ins. Co. v. Caledonian Ins. Co., supra, the language quoted cannot be interpreted to mean, as appellant contends, that the defendant would not be in a position on trial upon the merits to attack such settlements because such interpretation would even exclude the defense
Judgment affirmed. -
St. Sure, Jl, and Cabaniss, P. J., pro tern., concurred.
A petition for a rehearing of this cause was denied by the district court of appeal on December 20, 1924, and a petition by appellant to have the cause heard in the supreme court, after judgment in the district court of appeal, was denied 'by the supreme court on January 20, 1925'.
Myers, C. J., dissented.
Cases cited
- Pac. Mut. Life Ins. Co. v. Pac. Sur. Co. 182 Cal. 555 p. 732
- Royal Ins. Co. v. Caledonian Ins. Co. 182 Cal. 219 p. 734
- In re the Accounting of the Union Trust Co. 174 N. Y. 541 p. 735
- Bassi v. Springfield Fire & Marine Insurance Co. 57 Cal. App. 707 p. 737