Majority
This is an appeal from a judgment for compensation under the terms of an accident insurance policy for injuries sustained. The appellant contends that a receipt in full, which was signed by the respondent, and which is set up in the answer as a defense, bars the recovery.
The respondent was insured against accident by the Los Angeles Life Insurance Company. This policy was sold and transferred to the appellant Peoples Mutual Life Insurance Company, which thereafter became obligated to respondent as insurer. "While this policy was in full force, on August 4, 1926, the respondent, who was a plasterer by occupation, sustained a severe injury to his left ankle and heel, which totally incapacitated him for a period of time and compelled him to resort to a hospital for treatment. Three monthly payments of $100 each were made to respondent by drafts upon the insurance company. Upon the backs of these drafts was printed the following form of receipt:
“By my endorsement I discharge and release Mutual Indemnity Accident, Health & Life Insurance Company of California and accept the amount of this check as full payment and satisfaction of any and all claims and all attending and after effects therefrom, which I myself, my heirs, executors, administrators, assigns or beneficiaries now have or may hereafter have under policy No. 23431 for or on account of injury sustained by me on or about August 4, 1926.”
Upon the making of each payment the receipt was required to be signed by the insured. Before signing these receipts for the first three payments, the word “full,” which is hereinbefore italicized, was changed to read “part” payment. Upon receiving the fourth payment this receipt was
The trial court found that at the time the respondent signed this receipt, “plaintiff’s eyes were somewhat affected and he could not read the. endorsement appearing on the back of said last check; that plaintiff was not aware . . . that a full release of all claims was printed on the back of said check; . . . that said ... last check was not accepted in full settlement ...” In further justification of respondent’s signature to the receipt, the court also found that the respondent and the agent of appellant who presented this check and procured his signature were close personal friends and members of the same union, and that upon inquiry on the part of respondent this agent assured him that “the check was only part payment and only good for one month’s compensation under the policy.” The court further found that relying upon these false statements and being unable to read for himself, the respondent unwittingly signed the receipt in full. The evidence supports these findings of the court. This testimony of the fraudulent inducements to procure the signature to the receipt in full was received in evidence over the objection of appellant upon the grounds that it was incompetent since the respondent had failed to deny, pursuant to section 448 of the Code of Civil Procedure, the genuineness and due execution of the receipt as it appeared in the answer and because the $140 had not been repaid and there was no effort to rescind the instrument.
A receipt is always subject to explanation by parol evidence. In Jones on Evidence (3d ed., 763, sec. 491), it is said: “Receipts which are executed in the form of releases under seal purporting to be in full of all. demands may be explained by proof of fraud or mistake.” The failure to deny an instrument which is set up as a defense in the answer admits only the genuineness of the document and its due execution. (Sec. 448, Code Civ. Proc.) By the use of the term genuineness is merely meant that the document pleaded is the identical instrument which it purports to be, and that it appears in the exact form in which it passed between the parties. The admission of the due execution means only that the instrument was regularly signed
In the present case the evidence amply supports the findings to the effect that the receipt in question was procured to be signed by means of fraud. It was not necessary, under the circumstances of this case, to first seek to rescind the document and restore the money for which it acknowledged receipt. There" was no dispute between the parties as to the right of the respondent to this sum of money under the terms of the policy. All that the appellant claims is that no further sums were due for the reason that respondent had receipted in full for all future claims. Mr. Eobinson, the agent for appellant, testified that he obtained the receipt under the following circumstances:
“I told McKenzie that Dr. Harris had told me he would be able to return to work within a short time and that his policy called for payments of $100 per month during total disability and $40 per month during partial disability. I stated I intended to go to Los Angeles for the holidays and would like to clean up the entire matter and I proposed to him that I pay him $100 for one month of total disability, which would be for December, and then one month at $40 which would be for the month of January, as Dr. Harris had stated he could return to work during January.”
It will be observed that Eobinson concedes the respondent would be totally disabled during December and partially disabled during January. He conceded that respondent would be entitled to the entire sum of $140, which he then paid to him. No other evidence was adduced relative to this subject. There was no controversy over the fact that respondent would be entitled to this payment for the months of December and January. There is no evidence whatever to indicate a dispute over the amount which would become
In the present case there was no condition imposed nor implied upon which the title to the $140 was to depend. That sum was conceded to belong to him in any event. The only dispute in this action is whether the respondent released the appellant from any future' monthly payments
It follows that a rescission of the receipt was not required; restoration of the money which was unquestionably due and which was paid was unnecessary. The evidence sufficiently supports the findings of fraud in procuring the respondent’s signature to the purported release.
The judgment is, therefore, affirmed.
Plummer, J., and Finch, P. J., concurred.
A petition for a rehearing of this cause was denied by the District Court of Appeal on April 18, 1929, and a petition by appellant to have the cause heard in the Supreme Court, after judgment in the District Court of Appeal, was denied by the Supreme Court on May 16, 1929.
All the Justices present concurred.
Cases cited
- Moore v. Copp 119 Cal. 429 p. 662
- Baird v. Pacific Electric Railway Co. 39 Cal. App. 512 p. 662
- Newsom v. Woollacott 5 Cal. App. 722 p. 662
- Garcia v. California Truck Co. 183 Cal. 767 at 771 p. 663
- Menefee v. Oxnam 42 Cal. App. 81 at 95 p. 663
- Haserot v. Keller 67 Cal. App. 659 at 673 p. 663