Majority
Plaintiff sought to recover damages for personal injuries sustained when struck by the automobile of defendant. Upon a trial by jury, plaintiff had judgment, from which judgment defendant appeals.
It was practically conceded in the trial court that plaintiff sustained his injuries as a result of the negligence of the driver of the automobile and without fault on the part of plaintiff. The real issue was whether said automobile was being driven by defendant Wada at the time or, as claimed by said defendant, said automobile was being driven by some other person who had stolen the same. The evidence was conflicting upon this issue.
The accident occurred after 11 P. M. on August 13, 1933, in the city of Watsonville. Plaintiff produced two witnesses who claimed to be able to identify defendant as the driver of the ear. Each of said witnesses admitted that he looked at the driver of the car for only about one second as said driver left the car and fled from the scene of the accident. On the other hand, defendant produced seven witnesses to prove that defendant was not driving the car at the time. The jury, however, resolved the conflict in favor of plaintiff.
Before discussing the appeal on its merits, we should dispose of the motion made by appellant in this court for leave to take additional evidence. Appellant sought such leave for the purpose of showing that since the trial of the
Appellant contends that the judgment should be reversed because of prejudicial misconduct on the part of counsel for respondent. The main charge of misconduct centers around the references to insurance made by counsel for respondent in the examination of the jurors. We may first refer to the reasoning found in the authorities dealing with this subject.
While the probable prejudice resulting from any reference to insurance in an action for damages is universally recognized, it is likewise recognized that a plaintiff is entitled to a fair and impartial jury. Therefore the rule permitting counsel to ask in good faith whether a prospective juror is interested in a particular insurance company or in any insurance company has been established as a rule of necessity. The authorities, however, have quite definitely limited the scope of the examination along this line. Reference may be made here to the exhaustive discussion of this subject in Arnold v. California Portland Cement Co., 41 Cal. App. 420 [ 183 Pac. 171 ]. The court there said on pages 425 and 426: “But counsel must take pains to propound such questions in such a manner as not unnecessarily to convey the impression that the defendant is in fact so insured. ■ It is misconduct on the part of counsel for plaintiff in such actions so to frame his question that it goes beyond what is reasonably necessary to serve the legitimate purpose of eliciting the facts he is entitled to adduce in order to secure a jury free from bias or prejudice, if it is also apparent that the question may fairly be .said to have the effect of serving the illegitimate purpose of prejudicing the jury by fixing in their minds the idea that
The Arnold case has been cited with approval on numerous occasions (Citti v. Bava, 204 Cal. 136 [ 266 Pac. 954 ] ; Robbins v. Roques, 128 Cal. App. 1 [ 16 Pac. (2d) 695 ] ; Dermer v. Pistoresi, 109 Cal. App. 310 [ 293 Pac. 78 ] ; Curtis v. Mc-Auliffe, 106 Cal. App. 1 [ 288 Pac. 675 ]; McVea v. Nickols, 105 Cal. App. 28 [ 286 Pac. 761 ]; Dougherty v. Ellingson, 97 Cal. App. 87 [ 275 Pac. 456 ]; Daniel v. Asbill, 97 Cal. App. 731 [ 276 Pac. 149 ] ; Sharkey v. Sheets, 87 Cal. App. 99 [ 261 Pac. 1049 ]; Eldridge v. Clark & Henery Const. Co., 75 Cal. App. 516 [ 243 Pac. 43 ]), and in Curtis v. McAuliffe, 106 Cal. App. 1 [ 288 Pac. 675 ], the court said on page 12: “The rule established in those eases goes far enough, and we cannot approve any extension of it. ’ ’
In the present case counsel for respondent propounded to numerous jurors proper questions on the subject under discussion. In certain instances, questions regarding insurance were practically the only questions asked of these jurors. When counsel examined Mrs. Rose M. Hoover, the following questions were asked and following answers were given: “Q. You are not financially interested in the State Farm Mutual Insurance Company of Bloomington, Illinois? A. My car is insured in that. Q. In that company? A. Yes. . . . Q. Would the fact that your car is insured in this company, do you think that would tend or cause you to lean in their favor a little bit? A. I don’t see why it would.” Counsel for appellant objected after the answer was given. The objec
We are of the opinion that the foregoing examination went beyond what was reasonably necessary to serve the legitimate purpose for which questions may be asked regarding the possible interest of the juror in an insurance company. In the case of Mrs. Hoover, counsel asked her if the fact that she was insured in “this company” (State Farm Mutual Insurance Company) would cause her to “lean in their favor a little bit”. In the case of Mrs. Evans, counsel asked her if the fact that she might be insured in State Farm Mutual Insurance Company would have any bearing on her sitting “in this action”. In both instances counsel directly implied that appellant was insured in said insurance company and that said company rather than appellant would be required to respond to any verdict that might be rendered. We cannot place the stamp of approval on this line of questioning as it could only serve the illegitimate purpose of unduly impressing upon the minds of the jurors the idea that the defendant was protected by insurance. We therefore conclude that counsel overstepped the bounds of propriety and was guilty of misconduct.
The further inquiry arises as to whether such misconduct was prejudicial. In pursuing this inquiry, we are fully aware of the numerous eases in which judgments have been affirmed despite such misconduct where the question of liability was not a close one and where the damages awarded were not disproportionate to the injuries received. This seems to be the accepted test in determining whether such judgments may be affirmed under section 4y2 of article VI of the Constitution. (Robbins v. Roques, supra; Eldridge v. Clark & Henery Const. Co., supra; Arnold v. California Port
The judgment is reversed.
Nourse, P. J., and Sturtevánt, J., concurred.
A petition by respondent to have the cause heard in the Supreme Court, after judgment in the District Court of Appeal, was denied by the Supreme Court on January 2, 1936.
Cases cited
- People v. Myers 122 Cal. App. 675 p. 7
- People v. Willison 122 Cal. App. 760 p. 7
- Syfert v. Solomon 95 Cal. App. 228 p. 7
- Arnold v. California Portland Cement Co. 41 Cal. App. 420 p. 7
- Citti v. Bava 204 Cal. 136 p. 8
- Robbins v. Roques 128 Cal. App. 1 p. 8
- Dermer v. Pistoresi 109 Cal. App. 310 p. 8
- Curtis v. McAuliffe 106 Cal. App. 1 p. 8
- McVea v. Nickols 105 Cal. App. 28 p. 8
- Dougherty v. Ellingson 97 Cal. App. 87 p. 8, p. 10
- Daniel v. Asbill 97 Cal. App. 731 p. 8, p. 10
- Sharkey v. Sheets 87 Cal. App. 99 p. 8
- Eldridge v. Clark & Henery Construction Co. 75 Cal. App. 516 p. 8
- Girard v. Irvine 97 Cal. App. 377 p. 10
- Squires v. Riffe 211 Cal. 370 p. 10