Majority
Petitioner, LaGulia G. Shaw, brought this proceeding for a writ of mandamus to compel the Board of Administration of the State Employees’ Retirement System of California, referred to as the board, to pay a death benefit to her. The board was granted permission to substitute the administratrix of the estate of Frank Shaw, deceased, upon its depositing the benefit with the clerk of the court. The benefit was so deposited. The writ was denied and the board was ordered to pay the benefit to the administratrix. Petitioner appeals.
Petitioner and Frank Shaw were married in 1923. About July 1, 1944, Shaw, while married to petitioner, became a member of the State Employees’ Retirement System. He remained a member until his death on May 29, 1950. Upon becoming a member, Shaw, in writing, designated petitioner as the beneficiary of any benefits to become due upon his death as a member of the system. He did not at any time revoke the designation, and her name remained on the records of the system as his designated beneficiary at all times from July 1, 1944, to his death.
On April 13, 1948, petitioner was granted an interlocutory decree of divorce from Shaw. The decree awarded petitioner $400 in lieu of her interest in the community property. On April 20, 1949, a final decree was entered. Neither the pleadings nor the decrees in the action for divorce mentioned the system or the fact that petitioner was Shaw’s beneficiary, nor were the rights of the parties under the system raised or litigated in the action. Petitioner and Shaw remained friends until his death, and she paid about half of his “burial expenses.”
The question is: Were petitioner’s rights as the designated beneficiary of the death benefit abrogated by the divorce decree ?
We think it patent that the Retirement Law, prior to the addition of section 21365.1 in 1951, required payment of the death benefit to the person designated in writing as beneficiary, provided such person had an insurable interest in the life of the member at the time the designation was made.
Petitioner, as the wife of Shaw, had an insurable interest in his life at the time she was designated beneficiary. (Ins. Code, § 10110 (b); 29 Am.Jur., 321, § 367.) Section 286 of the Insurance Code, in part, provides: “. . . an interest in the life or health of a person insured must exist
The provisions of the Retirement Law providing for a death benefit are in the nature of a contract of life insurance to be governed generally by the principles applicable to such contracts. (Ins. Code, §§ 22, 101; Dom v. State Employes’ Retirement Board, 345 Pa. 489 [ 28 A.2d 796 , 798]; Anderson v. Nelson, 219 Minn. 433 [ 18 N.W.2d 140 , 141]; Anno.: 63 A.L.R. 711 , 712-717; 119 A.L.R. 1241 , 1242; cf. Packer v. Board of Retirement, 35 Cal.2d 212 , 215 [ 217 P.2d 660 ] ; Kern v. City of Long Beach, 29 Cal.2d 848 [ 179 P.2d 799 ] ; Estate of Barr, 104 Cal.App.2d 506 , 508-510 [ 231 P. 2d 876 ]; Richards v. Wheeler, 10 Cal.App.2d 108 , 112 [ 51 P.2d 436 ] ; Weinberg v. Woodward, 67 Misc. 283 [ 124 N.Y.S. 480 , 481], aff. 146 App.Div. 917 [ 131 N.Y.S. 1149 ].) The contract involved in the present case is one between Shaw and the state, admittedly valid and supported by good- consideration, in which Shaw, exercising an undoubted right, named petitioner as beneficiary. (Rudell v. Board of Administration, 8 Cal.2d 600 , 603 [ 66 P.2d 1203 ].)
The general rule is that the designation of a beneficiary in a policy of life insurance initiates in favor of the beneficiary an inchoate gift of the proceeds of the policy, which, if not revoked by the insured prior to his death, vests in the beneficiary at the time of his death. (Travelers Ins. Co. v. Fancher, 219 Cal. 351 , 353 [ 26 P.2d 482 ].) It is also the general rule that a designation of a beneficiary, valid in its inception, remains so, although the insurable interest, or the relationship, has ceased. (Courtois v. Grand Lodge A. O. U. W., 135 Cal. 552 , 557 [ 69 P. 970 , 87 Am.St.Rep. 137 ] ; Sullivan v. Union Oil Co., of Cal., 16 Cal.2d 229 , 232, 237 [ 105 P.2d 922 ] ; Jenkins v. Jenkins, 112 Cal.App. 402 [ 297 P. 56 ].)
A decree of divorce in and of itself has no effect on the right of a wife to the proceeds of a policy on the life of the husband designating her as beneficiary issued prior to divorce of the parties. (McGrew v. Mutual Life Ins. Co., 132 Cal. 85 , 92-93 [ 64 P. 103 , 84 Am.St.Rep. 20 ] ; Courtois v. Grand Lodge A. O. U. W., 135 Cal. 552 , 557-558 [ 69 P. 970 , 87 Am.St.Rep. 137 ] ; Sandrosky v. Prudential Ins. Co., 217
Sullivan v. Union Oil Co. of Cal., 16 Cal.2d 229 [ 105 P.2d 922 ], construed provisions of the “Provident Fund” of Union Oil Company. The member’s former wife was named as beneficiary of the death benefit provided by the fund at the time he became a member, and she remained such until his death. After having been named beneficiary, the member’s former wife divorced him. He was a member of the fund at the time of his death. The former wife claimed she was entitled to the death benefit as the named beneficiary. The rules and regulations of the fund provided that the death benefit “shall be paid to beneficiary.” The court said, page 232: “Had there been no other limitation to the right of plaintiff herein to maintain her claim as a named beneficiary of the fund, it would seem clear that her contention on this appeal should be sustained.” The court held, however, that the wife had released to the husband her interest and rights in the fund by a property settlement agreement they had entered into at the time of the divorce. In the course of its discussion of the latter question the court stated, page 237: “. . . it is not seriously contended that in and of itself the decree of divorce had any effect upon the asserted right of plaintiff as a beneficiary. That question heretofore has received the attention of this court, and appears to have been settled against any affirmative claim in that regard. [Citations.]”
The administratrix says the award of $400 to petitioner by the divorce decree in lieu of her interest in the community property abrogated her rights as beneficiary. The extent of the decree in this respect, applying it to its utmost, is that petitioner lost any claim to a community interest in the amount theretofore paid to the system. If petitioner lost all
Shaw, after his divorce, was a single man. He had, in effect, a policy of insurance upon his life with petitioner named therein as beneficiary, legally competent as such, and with the power in himself of revoking the designation of the beneficiary, which power was never exercised. As Shaw had the right under the statute to change the beneficiary, his failure to do so ordinarily indicates that he did not wish to effect a change. His failure tó act amounts to a confirmation of the designation of petitioner as beneficiary of the death benefit. (See Estate of Crane, 6 Cal.2d 218 , 221 [ 57 P.2d 476 , 104 A.L.R. 1101 ].) He kept the policy in force until his death, at which time the right of the beneficiary, theretofore expectant, became vested. A wife can release her community interest in an insurance policy and still be a beneficiary thereof. (Grimm v. Grimm, 26 Cal.2d 173 , 175 [ 157 P.2d 841 ].) If she effects such a release —in the present case by accepting an award of $400 in lieu of her interest in the community property—and the husband revokes his designation of her as beneficiary, she has no right to the insurance proceeds on his death; but if he fails to revoke his designation of her as beneficiary she is entitled, like any other beneficiary, to the proceeds of the policy at his death. (Idem.) To hold, as did the trial court, that the divorce decrees abrogated the right of petitioner, as beneficiary, to receive the death benefit, is to read “divorce” into the contract between Shaw and the system in place of “death.” The divorce decrees took away from petitioner all right or claim to any interest in the community property by virtue of her then status as wife, but they did not constitute a renunciation of the right to receive the death benefit in the event Shaw did not revoke her designation as beneficiary. Petitioner takes the death benefit, not by reason of any community interest she may have had in the amount paid, to the system prior to the divorce decrees, but by virtue of the contract between Shaw and the state.
The controlling facts were stipulatéd to. Findings were unnecessary and do not control the stipulated facts. (People v. Gabriel, 57 Cal.App.2d 788 , 792 [ 135 P.2d 378 ].) Petitioner is entitled to judgment on the facts as stipulated.
The judgment is reversed with directions to render judgment for petitioner.
Shinn, P. J., and Vickers, J. pro tem., concurred.
Cases cited
- Rudell v. Board of Administration of State Employees' Retirement System 8 Cal.2d 600 at 602, at 603 p. 774
- Packer v. Board of Retirement 35 Cal.2d 212 at 215 p. 774
- Kern v. City of Long Beach 29 Cal.2d 848 p. 774
- Kuchel v. McCormack 104 Cal.App.2d 506 at 508-510 p. 774
- Richards v. Wheeler 10 Cal.App.2d 108 at 112 p. 774
- Weinberg v. Woodward 67 Misc. 283 p. 774
- Weinberg v. Woodward 124 N.Y.S. 480 at 481 p. 774
- Travelers Insurance v. Fancher 219 Cal. 351 at 353 p. 774
- Courtois v. Grand Lodge of Ancient Order 135 Cal. 552 at 557, at 557-558 p. 774, p. 775
- Sullivan v. Union Oil Co. 16 Cal.2d 229 at 232, 237, at 237 p. 774, p. 775
- Jenkins v. Jenkins 112 Cal.App. 402 at 408-11 p. 774, p. 775
- McGrew v. Mutual Life Insurance 132 Cal. 85 at 92-93 p. 774
- Connecticut Mutual Life Insurance v. Schaefer 94 U.S. 457 p. 775
- Sheehan v. Journeymen Butchers' Protective & Benevolent Ass'n 142 Cal. 489 p. 775
- Burke v. Modern Woodmen of America 2 Cal.App. 611 at 612 p. 775
- Blethen v. Pacific Mutual Life Insurance 198 Cal. 91 at 100-102 p. 776
- New York Life Insurance v. Bank of Italy 60 Cal.App. 602 at 604-607 p. 776
- Crane v. Crane 6 Cal.2d 218 at 221 p. 776
- Grimm v. Grimm 26 Cal.2d 173 at 175 p. 776
- People v. Gabriel 57 Cal.App.2d 788 at 792 p. 777