Majority
Plaintiffs are the heirs at law of T. 0. Hooker, who, in the forenoon of August 22, 1933, was killed by a truck operated and owned by Hawkins Company, Ltd., a trucking concern (hereinafter referred to as insured). In an action for wrongful death brought by plaintiffs against insured they recovered a judgment of $6,720. This action by plaintiffs is predicated on said judgment and is brought against the American Indemnity Company,* appellant herein, the alleged insurance carrier of insured, since the appellant refused to pay the judgment recovered against insured or any
Insured did its insurance business through a regularly licensed insurance broker, one A. E. Nicholls (hereinafter for convenience referred to as broker). On August 9, 1933, pursuant to the request of insured, broker obtained for it [a policy issued by appellant insuring it against public liability for personal injuries with limits of $5,000 for injuries or death to one person, and $10,000 for injuries or death to two or more. This insurance became effective as of that date, to wit: August 9, 1933. The policy of insurance was delivered by appellant to the broker and kept by the broker in his own possession.
On August 15, 1933, broker wrote to insured advising it that coverage for public liability had been effected, and informing insured that a down payment of $67.02 was required. In the letter the broker requested the insured, pursuant to what was apparently their previous understanding, for an order on Wood Rock & Sand Company (for whom the insured was doing hauling) for said payment. The balance] of the premium was to be financed by the execution of certain agreements which were inclosed in said letter.
On or about August 18, 1933, broker had a conversation with the insured, in which, according to the broker, the insured told him that its trucks were not working and | that it would like to get some form of insurance which would carry no premium while the trucks were idle, but which would protect it when they were in work. The broker, according to his testimony, informed insured that this could not be arranged, but that the present insurance could be canceled and new insurance written when the trucks were again put t4 work. The testimony of the insured on this point of cancellation, which is a decisive one in the case, was that he told the broker: “I must have insurance, Mr. Nicholls, regardless of the cost of premium, so I will have to continue the policy as it is then . . . ” Broker, nevertheless, according to his testimony, did on August 19, 1933, return the policy in question to appellant and requested its cancellation, and appellant did on August 21, 1933, cancel the policy' on its books. In the forenoon of August 22, 1933, the accident which resulted in the death of T. O. Hooker occurred. On the afternoon of the same day, the insured called at the office of broker, made a payment of
On August 23, 1933, broker heard of the accident, whereupon he immediately addressed a letter to insured, advising insured that he had canceled the first policy pursuant to the conversation he had with insured on August 18, 1933. In said letter broker advised insured that he had heard of the cash payment made and the order left with his employee, and had assumed that the insured had put his trucks to work again, as a result of which he requested insurance company to reissue the policy, but that it had been reissued as of noon, August 22, 1933, and that insured had no coverage on his trucks at the time the accident happened. As has been pointed out, insured denied that he authorized any cancellation in said conversation or at all. A jury, before which the case was tried, brought in a verdict against the appellant for $5,000. Judgment was entered thereon, and this appeal is from that judgment.
The immediate and decisive question is whether the policy originally issued on August 9, 1933, was in full force and effect in the forenoon of August 22, 1933. The answer to this question is dependent on the authority of the broker to cancel it.
At the outset it should be made clear that appellant wrote the insurance and delivered the policy to the broker, who ordered the policy on his credit, making separate arrangements with the insured for deferred payment of premium. There is no evidence that appellant looked to anyone but the broker for prompt payment of the premiums of said policy. Appellant had no direct interest in, and was in no way affected by, any arrangements made between the insured and the broker for payment of premium. The policy took effect from its date of issuance and delivery, and unless there was an arrangement to the contrary, the fact that the premium on the policy was unpaid by the insured to the broker at the time of the accident, or unpaid by the broker to appellant, does not in any manner affect the enforcement of the terms of the insurance policy against appellant. (Union Ins. Co. v. Ameri
Generally speaking, a broker who is engaged to procure insurance has no authority to cancel such insurance. Section 633a of the Political Code defines a broker as one wh<b “ . . . for compensation and on behalf of another party solicits, negotiates, or effects contracts of surety, indemnity, or insurance other than life . . . ”, It has been held' by the courts of this state that, “An agent authorized to procure insurance is not thereby made the agent of the injured to cancel the policy ...” (Quong Tue Sing v. Anglo-Nevada Assur. Corp., 86 Cal. 566 [ 25 Pac. 58 , 10 L. R. A. 144 ]; Stevenson v. Sun Ins. Co., 17 Cal. App. 280 [ 119 Pac. 529 ]; Lauman v. Springfield etc. Ins. Co., 184 Cal. 650 [ 195 Pac. 50 ]; Cronenwett v. Iowa Underwriters etc. Co., 44 Cal. App. 571 , 576 [ 186 Pac. 824 ].)
Appellant asserts that because the broker had in his possession the insurance policy, he was, so far as appellant was concerned, the ostensible^ agent of the insured for the ¡purpose of having the policy canceled. Section 2300 of the Civil Code defines ostensible agency as: “An agency is ostensible when the principal intentionally, or by want of ordinary care, causes a third person to believe another to be his agent who is not really employed by him.” Subdivision 5 of section 2355 of the Civil Code provides that: “An agency is terminated” by “the incapacity of the agent to act as such”. These two sections must be read together and applied to the facts in the case at bar. In the instant case the jury impliedly fbund as a fact, from conflicting evidence, that the broker was not authorized to cancel the policy and that he was instructed to keep it alive. In addition, there was ample credible evidence from which the "jury was justified in concluding, as the members thereof undoubtedly did, that the policy was noti in fact surrendered by the broker to appellant until after the broker' had received information about the accident. In this regard the testimony showed that when the insured, after t]ie acci
Complaint is made by appellant that the coprt erred in sustaining an objection to certain testimony he d'esired to introduce. The broker was asked:
“Q. Did you place other insurance for that company?” Thereupon the following proceedings were had:
“Mr. Neff: Object to it on the ground it is irreleyant and immaterial.
"The Court: I think any other would possibly be immaterial. We are only interested in the—
“Mr. Callaway: I am merely trying to show, Your Honor, that he dealt with them generally and had a right to rely— “Mr. Neff (interposing) : We will stipulate that kjj\ Hawkins was the only one who dealt with Mr. .Nicholls aibout insurance.
“Mr. Callaway: Do you deny his authority to buty insurance?
“Mr. Neff: No, we don’t deny his authority. We admit he had full authority.” ¡
Appellant now contends that the question to which an objection was sustained was preliminary and that his ¡purpose was to prove the authority of the broker to cancel policies. No such intent is suggested by the question nor by the statement of appellant’s counsel as to what he was “merely trying to show”. In fact the readiness with which the stipulation proffered by respondent was accepted indicates that the subject-matter of the stipulation was all that appellant! had in mind. Under such circumstances there was no error in sustaining the objection. (Merz v. Pools, 82 Cal. App. 12 [ 254 Pac. 914 ]; Snowball v. Snowball, 164 Cal. 476 , 479 [ 129 Pac. 784 ]; Whitelaw v. Whitelaw, 122 Cal. App. 260 , 263 [ 9 Pac. (2d) 874 ]; Bridges v. Fisk, 53 Cal. App. 117 [ 200 Pac. 71 ]; 2 Cal. Jur. 275.)
Appellant suggests that the insured ratified thp act of the broker in canceling the original policy of insurance when, after receipt of the broker’s letter mailed to insured on or about August 23d, the broker informed insured of the can
There is, however, another reason which would prevent any cancellation of said policy by ratification of a cancellation by the insured. Section 2313 of the Civil Code provides : “No unauthorized act can be made valid, retroactively, to the prejudice of third persons, without their consent.” The rights of the heirs at law (plaintiffs in this case) of the deceased, T. O. Hooker, had intervened before there was any ratification of the alleged cancellation by the insured. The loss or liability insured against in the insurance policy was for the benefit of these plaintiffs, and when their cause of action accrued no subsequent act of the insured could deprive them of it. (Title Insurance & Trust Co. v. California Dev. Co., 168 Cal. 397 [ 143 Pac. 723 ]; Dingley v. McDonald, 124 Cal. 682 [ 57 Pac. 574 ]; Wittenbrock v. Bellmer, 57 Cal. 12 ; Krumdick v. White, 107 Cal. 37 [ 39 Pac. 1066 ]. See, also, Taylor v. Robinson, 14 Cal. 396 .)
Furthermore, the policy itself expressly made this legal provision a part of its terms. Subdivision (b) of the paragraph on “California Financial Responsibility Act Coverage” provides: “This policy shall not be canceled or annulled as respects any loss or damage by any agreement between the company and the assured after the assured has become responsible for such loss or damage, and any such cancellation or annulment shall be void.”
The judgment is affirmed.
York, Acting P. J., and Doran, J., concurred.
A petition for a rehearing of this cause was denied by the District Court of Appeal on March 23, 1936, and an appli
Shenk, J., voted for a hearing.
Cases cited
- Union Ins. Co. v. Am. Fire Ins. Co. 107 Cal. 327 p. 120
- Anderson v. Mut. Life Ins. Co. of N.Y. 164 Cal. 712 at 716 p. 120
- Quoug Tue Sing v. Anglo-Nevada Assurance Corp. 86 Cal. 566 p. 120
- Stevenson v. Sun Insurance Office 17 Cal. App. 280 p. 120
- Lauman v. Springfield Fire & Marine Ins. Co. 184 Cal. 650 p. 120
- Cronenwett v. Iowa Underwriters of the Dubuque Fire & Marine Insurance 44 Cal. App. 571 at 576 p. 120
- Merz v. Poole 82 Cal. App. 12 p. 122
- Snowball v. Snowball 164 Cal. 476 at 479 p. 122
- Whitelaw v. Whitelaw 122 Cal. App. 260 at 263 p. 122
- Bridges v. Fisk 53 Cal. App. 117 p. 122
- Rhee v. L. K. Small Co. 83 Cal. App. 339 p. 123
- Moody v. Judah Boas Finance Corp. 93 Cal. App. 21 p. 123
- Title Ins. & Tr. Co. v. California Dev. Co. 168 Cal. 397 p. 123
- Dingley v. McDonald 124 Cal. 682 p. 123
- Wittenbrock v. Bellmer 57 Cal. 12 p. 123
- Krumdick v. White 107 Cal. 37 p. 123
- Taylor v. Robinson 14 Cal. 396 p. 123