Majority
This is an appeal by defendant Glens Falls Indemnity Company, from a judgment for $50,513.20 plus interest upon a jury verdict in favor of plaintiffs.
A judgment had been previously recovered in the Superior Court of Solano County by plaintiffs, Nettie Faye Crooks, the widow of Earl Crooks individually and as guardian ad litem of her two minor children, against the estate of Carol Wayne Crooks in an action for Earl’s wrongful death.
Earl and Carol Crooks were brothers. On the night of November 15, 1949, they were both killed when the cattle truck and trailer which Carol was driving and in which Earl was riding collided with a railroad train. The truck was owned by Arthur J. Brown and Freda L. Brown and was covered by a comprehensive general automobile liability insurance policy issued by defendant, Glens Falls Indemnity Company.
Appellant admits that the important issue at the trial was the status of Earl Crooks at the time of the accident, for if he was an employee of Brown and acting within the scope of his
Arthur J. Brown, appellant’s insured, was operating a business at Dixon, California, the Dixon Livestock Auction Company. In connection with the phase of his business concerned with livestock hauling, he operated as a highway carrier under a permit issued to him by the Public Utilities Commission. He owned several livestock trucks. When Brown’s employees operated cattle trucks they were paid wages on an hourly basis. However, when Earl and Carol Crooks operated a cattle truck they split the profits derived from the operation of the truck on a two-thirds, one-third basis. No deduction was made from their share for unemployment insurance or social security. Brown testified that although the audit for workmen’s com-' pensation was not yet due at the time of the accident, he did not intend to report Earl and Carol as his employees under this hauling arrangement. Occasionally Earl and Carol worked in Brown’s livestock yard, and on these occasions they were paid wages computed on a daily or hourly basis from which deductions were made for unemployment insurance and social security. These daily wages, Brown testified, he intended to report to the State Compensation Insurance Fund at the time of the audit.
Brown testified as to the arrangement between himself and the Crooks brothers as follows: “Well, we simply operated the trucks; I put up the trucks and the. necessary money to run the trucks, and they furnished the necessary labor to keep the trucks in operation. ’ ’ The business could be procured by either Brown or the brothers. They received one-third and Brown two-thirds of the profit. They received their share every month. Brown stated that he considered his arrangement with the Crooks brothers to have been a joint venture. Brown notified Earl and Carol where to pick up loads and where to deliver them and warned them of any difficulties the job might involve, but gave them no further instructions, such as what route to travel as they were experienced cattle haulers. Their driving ability was one of the factors that induced Brown to enter into this arrangement with them.
Appellant contends that the evidence as a matter of law establishes that at the time of the accident Earl Crooks was
Appellant relies particularly on Burlingham v. Gray, supra, and Baugh v. Rogers, supra. In the first case it was pointed out that whether a person’s status is that of employee or independent contractor is governed by the right of control which rests in the employer, rather than by his actual exercise of control. A person can still be an employee and have a certain amount of freedom in the carrying out of his duties because of the very nature of the work. The real tests were said to be whether if orders were given they would have to be obeyed and the right of the employer to end the service whenever he sees fit. Appellant has noted that Brown said he expected his
The testimony reviewed by, appellant establishes that there is a conflict in the evidence but does not demonstrate that the evidence is subject to but one inference as a matter of law. In Burlingham v. Gray, cited by appellant, a directed verdict was reversed, the court holding that the question of the relationship of the parties therein was a question of fact for the jury. And in Baugh v. Rogers, supra, it was said that “a material and generally conclusive factor is the right of the employer to exercise complete and authoritative control of the manner in which the work was done.” Brown testified herein that he exercised no control over the manner in which the Crooks brothers did this work, he simply notified them where the loads were to be picked up and the destinations thereof. An attorney with the State Compensation Fund who represented said Fund and Mr. Brown before the Industrial Accident Commission, testified that after investigation by their field adjusters, it wa§ their opinion that there was no employment and that the claim would be denied. After hearing, the matter was taken off calendar or the submission held in abeyance.
Appellant maintains that a fair trial was denied to it by the prejudicial acts and conduct of the trial judge. Four excerpts from the transcript are set forth in the briefs as demonstrating the prejudicial manner in which the trial was conducted. In two instances the trial judge repeated testimony of the witness Brown which dealt with the lack of the employment relationship and the existence of a joint venture. While this might be considered as unduly emphasizing such testimony, there is nothing to indicate that the trial judge believed such testimony to be true. None of the incidents now complained of were objected to by appellant at the trial, no assignment of misconduct was made and there was no request that the jury be instructed to disregard them. Appellant, therefore, must be deemed to have waived objection to these
Appellant contends that it was reversible error for the trial judge to fail to make a declaration with respect to the relief sought by appellant’s cross-complaint. Appellant’s answer set up affirmative defenses of an employment relationship, that neither Carol Crooks nor his estate were an “insured” under the policy, that the policy does not cover employers for which the insured is obligated under the Workmen’s Compensation Law and that the employer here was so obligated. The cross-complaint again alleges the employment relationship and the applicability of the workmen’s compensation laws, and then alleges that a controversy exists as to coverage for Carol Crooks or his estate and asks a declaration that neither said estate nor Carol Crooks is an insured within the terms of the policy and that cross-complainant is not liable for the judgment recovered against said estate. The complaint likewise contains a second cause of action for declaratory relief, seeking a declaration that coverage under the policy extends to Carol Crooks and/or the administratrix of the estate of Carol Crooks.
It is very clear that the issue raised by the cross-complaint and by the affirmative defenses in the answer are the same. The trial judge expressed the belief that the cross-complaint was really a special defense comprehended in the complaint and answer, and that the jury had only to determine the status as employment or otherwise. Counsel for appellant made no objection, and did not ask for a ruling. The trial judge may, under section 1061, Code of Civil Procedure, refuse to declare the rights and liabilities of the parties if such declaration is not necessary or proper under the circumstances. (Citizens’ etc. Pensions v. Board of Supervisors of Los Angeles County, 91 Cal.App.2d 658 [ 205 P.2d 761 ]; Silver v. Sheman
It is appellant’s final contention that error was committed in the giving and refusal of certain instructions. Complaint is first made of the instructions given defining joint venture. Appellant contends that they were inapplicable under the pleadings, the evidence and the law, and that they injected an alien doctrine into the case. While it is true that in the pleadings the issue raised was only whether the Crooks brothers were employees or independent contractors, plaintiffs’ counsel raised the issue of joint venture in his opening statement without objection. No objection was made at the tidal to any testimony concerning joint venture on the ground that it was outside the issues. In Shook v. Beals, 96 Cal.App.2d 963 , 967 [ 217 P.2d 56 , 18 A.L.R.2d 919 ], it was held that joint venture instructions were proper where the case was tried on that theory without objection even though the issue had not been raised by the pleadings.
In another instruction the trial judge referred to the defendant as “the so-called insurance company” instead of “defendant, Glens Falls Indemnity Company” as appellant had stated in the instruction offered. Appellant says that this was partisan advocacy, that it violated fair play, castigated defendant and was devastating to its case. A few lines subsequent to this the jury was instructed at defendant’s request that the defendant was engaged in a lawful business, and in considering plaintiff’s claims, they were to bear in mind that an insurance company is entitled “to the same consideration as any independent engaged in any other form
Appellant argues that the instruction was erroneous which defined “employee” as “one who is subject to the absolute control and direction of his employer in regard to any act, labor or work to be done in the course and scope of his employment. ” It is contended that the test is not whether the employer actually exercises control but whether he has the right of control. There appears to be no error in the instruction. An employee is subject to control as stated in the instruction when the employer has the right to control, whether or not such control is being exercised at the moment.
Appellant offered an instruction which stated that the policy here involved did not insure any employee of the Browns for the injury or death of another employee of such employer arising out of an accident in the course of the employment involving the use of an automobile in the business of the employer. The proposed instruction then continued “Therefore, unless you find by a preponderance of the evidence that, at the time of the accident, neither Carol W. Crooks, the driver of the truck of Arthur J. Brown, nor Raymond Earl Crooks, the plaintiffs’ decedent, was an employee of Arthur J. Brown, then I instruct you, unless you so find by. a preponderance of the evidence, your verdict must be in favor of the defendant.”
The last paragraph was modified to read:
“Therefore, if you find by a preponderance of the evidence that, at the time of the accident, Carol W. Crooks, the driver of the truck of Arthur J. Brown, and Raymond Earl Crooks, plaintiffs’ decedent, was an employee of Arthur J. Brown, your verdict must be in favor of the defendant.”
Appellant maintains that the trial court in modifying the last paragraph of the instruction placed the burden on defendant to prove that the Crooks brothers were employees of Brown, requiring a preponderance of such evidence to establish such fact as a condition of rendering a
A later instruction, however, told the jury that plaintiffs must prove by a preponderance of the evidence that the Crooks brothers were independent contractors and not employees, and that if the evidence does not preponderate in favor of such contention, the verdict must be for defendant. There was also an instruction that in the absence of contrary evidence, a person performing work and labor for another is presumed to be an employee. The jury was also told that the burden of proof was on plaintiffs to prove their case by a preponderance of the evidence, and “preponderance” was then properly defined. The instruction as offered by appellant was preferable to the instruction as modified, but when the instructions are read as a whole, it does not appear that the jury could have been misled as to the burden of proof.
Finally, it is contended that error was committed in refusing to give an instruction in accordance with section 3360, Labor Code, stating that “workmen associating themselves under a partnership agreement, the principal purpose ■of which is the performance of the labor on a particular piece of work are employees of the person having such work executed.” The instruction is not applicable to the facts in this case, since there is no evidence that the brothers formed a partnership with the principal purpose of executing this work for Brown. The partnership between the brothers antedated the arrangement with Brown, as is shown by the testimony of the tax accountant who prepared their partnership returns for 1948, as well as by the testimony of Bari’s wife. Therefore there was no error in refusing the instruction.
In view of the foregoing we conclude that there is no prejudicial error in the record.
Judgment affirmed.
Nourse, P. J., and Dooling, J., concurred.
Cases cited
- Burlingham v. Gray 22 Cal.2d 87 at 100 p. 117
- Baugh v. Rogers 24 Cal.2d 200 at 206 p. 117
- Perguica v. Industrial Accident Commission 29 Cal.2d 857 at 859 p. 117
- Isenberg v. California Employment Stabilization Commission 30 Cal.2d 34 at 39 p. 117
- National Automobile & Casualty Insurance v. Industrial Accident Commission 80 Cal.App.2d 769 at 772 p. 117
- Rednall v. Thompson 108 Cal.App.2d 662 at 665 p. 119
- Germ v. City & County of San Francisco 99 Cal.App.2d 404 at 415-416 p. 119
- Steele v. Wardwell 57 Cal.App.2d 642 at 651-652 p. 119
- Delzell v. Day 36 Cal.2d 349 at 351 p. 119
- Citizens' Committee for Old Age Pension v. Board of Supervisors 91 Cal.App.2d 658 p. 119
- Silver v. Shemanski 89 Cal.App.2d 520 at 551 p. 120
- Kessloff v. Pearson 37 Cal.2d 609 at 613 p. 120
- Severance v. Knight-Counihan Co. 29 Cal.2d 561 at 576 p. 120
- Krum v. Malloy 22 Cal.2d 132 at 136 p. 120
- James v. Haley 212 Cal. 142 at 146 p. 120
- Gilmore v. Gilmore 99 Cal.App.2d 186 at 187 p. 120
- Clements v. Lanning 89 Cal.App.2d 817 at 819-820 p. 120
- Shook v. Beals 96 Cal.App.2d 963 at 967 p. 120