Majority
In a taxpayers’ suit for recovery of insurance premiums paid by the county of Santa Clara, plaintiffs appeal from a summary judgment in favor of defendants.
Principal Questions Presented
1. Do insurance policies covering a county hospital’s liability for malpractice, mistake, error or negligence, cover liability under section 53051, Government Code?
2. Was a summary judgment proper where premiums paid by the county were for insurance policies covering hazards for which the county could be liable as well as those for which it could not be liable?
Record
The action was dismissed without prejudice as against all defendants except four: American Casualty Company, Fireman’s Fund Indemnity Company, and two groups of subscribing Underwriters at Lloyd’s London. The complaint in the first count alleges that plaintiffs as taxpayers sue on behalf of themselves and all other taxpayers of the county. It alleges the procurement by the board of supervisors of certain policies of “malpractice insurance” covering the Santa Clara County Hospital, as follows: from defendant American Casualty Company for the period August 26, 1946, to August 26, 1949; from defendant Fireman’s Fund for the period August 26, 1949, to December 22, 1949; from one group of Underwriters at Lloyd’s for the period December 22, 1949, to December 22, 1950, and from the other group two policies for the period December 22, 1950, to December 22, 1951. The amounts paid for these policies are set forth. It is alleged that these policies “to the extent that they insure the Santa Clara County Hospital against malpractice constitute an illegal expenditure of public funds . . . for the reason that under the law of California the Santa Clara County Hospital is not and cannot be held liable for malpractice.” Demand was made upon the district attorney to institute this suit. He refused to do so. Judgment is asked against the respective defendants for the premiums paid each respectively, “or such part of
Defendants answered, attaching photostatic copies of the policies involved and alleging that the policies afforded the county substantial and valuable protection against liability. All parties moved for judgment on the pleadings.
Contentions
Plaintiffs contend that public funds spent as insurance premiums may be recovered if the liability so insured is nonexistent, citing Opinion No. 2995, I Opinions of the Attorney General of Ohio, 303 (1931); Board of Education v. Commercial Casualty Ins. Co., 116 W.Va. 503 [ 182 S.E. 87 ] ; Adkins v. Western & Southern Indem. Co., 117 W.Va. 541 [ 186 S.E. 302 ], Defendants do not challenge the existence or extent of the rule as stated by plaintiffs. Defendants do not claim that in this case, at the time the insurance was purchased, there existed a reasonable doubt as to liability of a county for malpractice, but assume that the county was not then liable for such tort. For these reasons we do not pass on the scope of the stated rule, but will, as do the parties, assume its application to the facts of this case. Plaintiffs then contend that the policies in question covered the county for malpractice only by the hospital and that as the county cannot be held liable for such malpractice, the premiums must be refunded. It is the theory of the defendants that by their terms the policies covered more than hospital malpractice and gave the county a substantial protection against liability, particularly for liability under section 53051, Government Code, for dangerous or defective condition of property. That there can be such liability, see concurring opinion in Madison v. City & County of San Francisco, 106 Cal.App.2d 232 , 252 [ 234 P.2d 995 , 236 P.2d 141 ] ; Bauman v. San Francisco, 42 Cal.App.2d 144 [ 108 P.2d 989 ],
What Do Policies Cover?
It has been held frequently that a county or its board of supervisors is not liable for injury incurred by any patient
The insuring clauses follow:
American Casualty Company :
“Bodily injury, shock or mental anguish, including death at any time resulting therefrom, sustained during the policy period by any person or persons (a) while being treated at the premises and arising out of malpractice, error or mistake, including personal restraint, committed in connection with such treatment or (b) because of the performance of an autopsy at the premises. Premises as used herein shall mean the premises described in the declarations on the reverse side hereof. Medical or surgical treatment rendered in connection with ambulance service and Public Health Service shall be deemed to occur ‘at the premises.’ ”
Fireman’s Fund Indemnity Company:
“Liability for Malpractice, Error or Mistake.
“To pay on behalf of the Insured all sums which the Insured shall become legally obligated to pay as damages because of malpractice, error or mistake, committed during the policy period in the treatment of patients of the Insured at , the premises or in the performance of autopsies at the premises.”
Underwriters at Lloyd’s London :
“. . .to pay or make good to the Assured to the extent hereinafter mentioned such damages as may be awarded against the Assured in respect of:
“Professional services rendered, or which should have been rendered by the Assured to any person while receiving treatment in the within mentioned Hospital or its out patient department or in an ambulance maintained by the Hospital (but the Underwriters shall not be liable for negligence in the operation or maintenance of the ambulance itself), provided such claim or claims for damages are solely based upon malpractice, error, negligence or mistake, breach of implied contract, loss of services, property damage, autopsies, inquests, personal restraint, the dispensing of drugs or medicine, assault, slander, libel, undue familiarity, anesthesia, hallueina
tion, malicious prosecution, replevin of property or arising from any counterclaims in suits brought by the Assured for the collection of fees—all the foregoing being hereinafter known as ‘malpractice.’ ” These certificates also covered physicians, dentists, internes, etc.
Summarizing the American Casualty and Fireman’s Fund policies, they cover “malpractice, error or mistake.” Summarizing the Lloyd’s policies, they cover “malpractice, error, negligence or mistake” plus damages from breach of contract, assault, slander, libel, malicious prosecution.
Plaintiffs contend that “malpractice, error or mistake” constitute an “oratorical triad” meaning “malpractice” as that term is commonly understood. In Sutherland v. Fidelity & Casualty Co. of New York, 103 Wash. 583 [ 175 P. 187 ], the court said: “The words ‘malpractice,’ ‘error,’ and ‘mistake,’ as used in this indemnity policy, do not mean necessarily the same thing. If they were so intended, it was an idle thing to insert more than the word ‘malpractice.’ A physician may err or make a mistake, without being guilty of malpractice. This policy covers malpractice. It covers error and it covers mistake in the practice of appellant’s profession; and if liability flows from either, and he is required to pay damages on that account, we think it is plain that the policy here undertook to insure against such mistake' or such error, as well as against malpractice. ’’ That ease points out that “malpractice” has a somewhat narrow meaning, namely, the failure of the one charged with malpractice to exercise diligence, care and skill, such as ordinarily possessed by the members of his profession. Thus a physician may err or make a mistake without necessarily being guilty of malpractice. The same qualification would apply to a hospital. In Ford Hospital v. Fidelity & Casualty Co., 106 Neb. 311 [ 183 N.W. 656 ], a hospital nurse, while bathing a child “made a ‘mistake’ within the meaning of the insurance policy when she allowed the hand of the helpless child to come in contact with a hot appliance.” (P. 658 [183 N.W.].) There the policy covered, as in our case, the hospital for liability “ ‘in consequence of any malpractice, error or mistake . . .’ ” (P. 658 [183 N.W.].) The court in holding that the policy was applicable placed its emphasis on the nurse’s “mistake” and did not even mention “malpractice.” In our case, the words “mistake, error” and also “negligence” in the policies necessarily mean more than “malpractice.” “. . . when reasonably possible, meaning must be given to every sentence.
It should be pointed out that in addition to covering the county the policies (except the American Casualty policy, whose premium was substantially less than the premiums on the other policies) covered employees of the county, including physicians and nurses. These persons do not have sovereign immunity, (See Davie v. Regents of University of Cal., 66 Cal.App. 689 [ 227 P. 247 ].) It is conceded that the board of supervisors has the authority to purchase with public funds insurance covering the individual liability of county employees. (See Gov. Code, § 1956.)
Was Summary Judgment Proper?
This brings us to the question of whether in view of the fact that the policy could be construed to include the type of malpractice for which the county could not legally be held liable, summary judgment was proper. This question involves two elements: (1) the complaint, and (2) the contractual power of the board of supervisors. (1) The first cause of action in the complaint was drawn upon the theory that none of the policies covered risks for which the county might legally be liable, and that therefore, the payment of the premiums therefor was an illegal expenditure of county funds. This theory being found incorrect, the court properly granted
“Assuming that the municipal authorities have acted within the orbit of their lawful authority, no principle of law is better established than that courts will not sit in review of proceedings of municipal officers and departments involving legislative discretion, in the absence of bad faith, fraud, arbitrary action or abuse of power.” (McQuillin, Municipal Corporations, § 10.33. To the same effect, In re City & County of San Francisco, 191 Cal. 172 , 184 [ 215 P. 549 ]; Wehrle v. Board of Water & Power Commrs., 211 Cal. 70 , 73 [ 293 P. 67 ] ; Butler v. Compton Junior College Dist., 77 Cal. App.2d 719 [ 176 P.2d 417 ].) For this reason also, the judgment was proper.
The complaint contained a second count which requested the court to determine if the American Casualty Company and Fireman’s Fund Indemnity policies covered staff physicians and other employees of the hospital, and then determine what part, if any, of the premiums of all policies is attributable to the coverage of these individual employees. Obviously, for the reasons above mentioned as to the first count, the judgment denying relief under this count was proper.
Statute of Limitations
Defendants raise the bar of the statute of limitations. Although, the complaint states the dates of coverage of the various policies, it does not state the dates of the payments
The judgment is affirmed.
Peters, P. J., and Wood (Fred B.), J., concurred.
Appellants’ petition for a hearing by the Supreme Court was denied October 13, 1954. Carter, J., was of the opinion that the petition should be granted.
Cases cited
- Madison v. City & County of San Francisco 106 Cal.App.2d 232 at 252 p. 201, p. 202, p. 205
- Bauman v. City & County of San Francisco 42 Cal.App.2d 144 p. 201
- Latham v. Santa Clara County Hospital 104 Cal.App.2d 336 p. 202
- Talley v. Northern San Diego County Hospital District 41 Cal.2d 33 p. 202
- Davie v. Regents of University of California 66 Cal.App. 689 p. 205
- In re City & County of San Francisco 191 Cal. 172 at 184 p. 206
- Wehrle v. Board of Water & Power Commissioners 211 Cal. 70 at 73 p. 206
- Butler v. Compton Junior College District 77 Cal. App.2d 719 p. 206