Majority
Through writ of review petitioner Raymond Dahlbeck seeks to annul an order of the Industrial Accident Commission denying him an award for
The text of sections 4750 and 4751 is as follows: section 4750: “An employee who is suffering from a previous permanent disability or physical impairment and sustains permanent injury thereafter shall not receive from the employer compensation for the later injury in excess of the compensation allowed for such injury when considered by itself and not in conjunction with or in relation to the previous disability or impairment.
“The employer shall not be liable for compensation to such an employee for the combined disability, but only for that portion due to the later injury as though no prior disability or impairment had existed.”
Section 4751: “If an employee who is permanently partially disabled receives a subsequent compensable injury resulting in additional permanent partial disability so that the degree of disability caused by the combination of both disabilities is greater than that which would have resulted from the sub:
The extra burden of the later injury is thus shifted from the employer to the fund, which consists of money in the state treasury, taxpayers’ money (§§4754-4755); the plan-“imposes liability upon the entire tax-paying public.” (Subsequent etc. Fund v. Industrial Acc. Com., supra, p. 88.) And the object is to encourage the employment of handicapped workers, thus facilitating their rehabilitation, sustaining their morale, and preventing their becoming public charges due to actual inadequacy of normal compensation awards. (See Wolski v. Industrial Acc. Com., 70 Cal.App.2d 427 , 432 [ 161 P.2d 283 ] ; Pacific Gas & Elec. Co. v. Industrial Acc. Com., 126 Cal.App.2d 554 , 558 [ 272 P.2d 818 ]; Goodwill Industries v. Industrial Acc. Com., 114 Cal.App.2d 452 , 460 [ 250 P.2d 627 ].) The applicable provisions of the code are to be “liberally construed by the courts with the purpose of extending their benefits for the protection of persons injured in the course of their employment.” (§ 3202.)
Petitioner and his employer are within the Workmen’s Compensation Act and the -employer properly insured. Petitioner has suffered three industrial injuries which are summarized as follows:
Percentage op Permanent
“Case No. Date op Injury Nature op Injury Disability
81-628 1944 Right Hand 33%
133-932 2/13/50 Burns 49%
135-035 9/28/51 Left Wrist 9%”
The percentages given in the last column are those fixed by the commission. The first injury was rated 33% per cent permanent disability and an award of $3,990 made and paid. The next injury consisted of burns from an explosion, involving both hands, the face, right hip, right foot and other areas from which skin had been removed for grafting purposes. It occurred on February 13, 1950, was covered by application in case number 133-932. The commission found 49% per cent permanent disability considering that injury independently of the third or last one, which occurred in September, 1951,
The Subsequent Injuries Fund was joined in cases 133-932 and 135-035 because petitioner sought an award under section 4751 with respect to each of those injuries. The two eases were consolidated for hearing. The commission decided that the first and second injuries (hand and burns) should be considered together under section 4751, that the combined effect was a permanent disability of 83 per cent and on that basis made an award in case 133-932 of $3,990 (83 per cent less 49% per cent) plus a life pension of $10.62 per week, all payable out of the Subsequent Injuries Fund.
But the commission denied any such award in case 135-035, under section 4751, for the reason that the second injury, the burns, had not become permanent and stationary at the time of the last injury, the wrist. It further held that that disability did become stationary on August 14, 1952 (about a year after the last, the wrist, injury), and hence the award of $5,970; but, because the injury from the burns had not become stationary by the time of the last injury, September 28, 1951, that second disability was held not a previous permanent partial disability within the purview of section 4751. The instant proceeding attacks only this ruling, not the one in case 133-932. And all counsel agree that the only question here presented is the correctness of this one ruling. The matter is one of first impression.
It will be noted that this holding excludes any possibility of the burns ever becoming the basis for an award under 4751 and does so upon the narrow ground that that disability, though permanent and stationary at the time of the hearing, had not reached that state of equilibrium at the time of the later injury in September, 1951. The statute does not use the word stationary. That has been read into it by the commission as a means to an easy and practical administration of the law. The viewpoint is expressed in rule 10925 of the commission, effective August 1, 1952, which reads:
“Disability When Considered Permanent: A disability will be considered permanent after the 'employee has reached maximum improvement or his condition has been stationary for a reasonably period of time. The Commission will determine what is a reasonable period of time.”
It is argued that “The rating, whenever made, must be with reference to the pre-existing condition as it existed at the time of the last industrial injury”; also that the statute “provides that additional compensation shall be paid only for the extent of permanent disabilities which existed before the last compensable injury.” But the statute carries no such suggestion. It is common and necessary practice in fixing a normal award to evaluate the disability at the time of award ,in view of conditions then existing, and after peering into the future and determining so far as possible the reasonable probabilities. The award is based on an appraisal of
The attorney general also argues that a construction of the statute upholding petitioner’s contention “would compel the Commission to assess liability against Subsequent Injuries Fund based entirely upon conjecture and surmise.” This plainly refers to the process of evaluating the future progress of a disability that has not come to rest. It is a thing that courts and juries do every day in personal injury actions. And, while the triers of the facts must confine themselves to awards based upon reasonable certainty, the medical evidence need not reach any such degree of positive assertion. (Bauman v. San Francisco, 42 Cal.App.2d 144 , 163 [ 108 P.2d 989 ] ; Paolini v. City & County of San Francisco, 72 Cal.App.2d 579 , 591 [ 164 P.2d 916 ]; 14 Cal.Jur.2d § 71, p. 695.) The commission and its referees should be deemed no less competent to perform this task than is the ordinary jury. The brief of the commission herein concedes that petitioner’s second injury “resulted in permanent disability which had not at the moment of the third injury become stationary.” (Emphasis added.) Certainly that disability was in condition for evaluation as early as April 28, 1950, and June 6, 1950, for Dr. Flamson reported on both those dates that petitioner “will have permanent disability.” And a rating of same at either of those dates would have involved no more speculation or conjecture than the jury properly considers in everyday personal injury actions.
Next it is argued that the contemporaneous administrative construction of a statute is entitled to great weight and will not be rejected unless clearly erroneous, citing Coca-Cola Co. v. State Board of Equalization, 25 Cal.2d 918 , 921 [ 156 P.2d 1 ] ; Nelson v. Dean, 27 Cal.2d 873 , 880 [ 168 P.2d 16 , 168 A.L.R. 467 ], The complement to the rule stated in these cases appears in California Drive-In Restaurant Assn. v. Clark, 22 Cal.2d 287 , 294 [ 140 P.2d 657 , 147 A.L.R. 1028 ] : “But where there is no ambiguity and the interpretation is clearly
Finally it is argued that petitioner’s construction of the statute would result in his receiving compensation considerably in excess of that ordinarily recoverable for total disability. It is said: “The Workmen’s Compensation program contemplates a maximum permanent disability of 100 percent for total disability, affording a maximum award of $12,000.00 disability indemnity.” In the same breath counsel point out that petitioner has received to date “a total award of $15,060.00 based upon combined permanent disability ratings of 125% per cent.” But counsel concede that this is all right because the commission has done it, the result being partially “unavoidable” under its own decision in Subsequent Injuries Fund v. Industrial Acc. Com. and Warnock, 15 Cal.Comp. Cas. 211 . Such a result was held permissible in Pacific Gas & Elec. Co. v. Industrial Acc. Com., 126 Cal.App.2d 554 [ 272 P.2d 818 ]. Moreover it should be borne in mind that the $12,000 maximum to which reference is made is the top amount payable by the employer, and section 4751 was expressly designed to impose upon the taxpayers the burden (in certain specified instances) of payments additional to those borne by the employer.
Actually the record does not afford basis for the conclusion that application of petitioner’s construction of the statute “could thus result in a total workmen’s compensation award
The real vice of the argument of respondent lies in failure to recognize the fact that a 100 per cent rating for normal compensation purposes does not necessarily mean a 100 per cent rating for all purposes. This is settled by Smith v. Industrial Acc. Com., 44 Cal.2d 364 [ 282 P.2d 64 ]. George Smith had suffered disability which was ratable at 100 per cent permanent disability immediately before he received a new injury rated at 5% per cent permanent disability. After this last injury he sought an award against the Subsequent Injuries Fund and same was denied, the commission taking the position that “ ‘permanently partially disabled,’ as used in Labor Code, section 4751, can be interpreted only as meaning having disability which is ratable at less than 100%.” In rejecting this view and annulling the commission’s order the Supreme Court said, at page 367: “It is settled law in this state that an employee may receive a permanent disability rating of 100 per cent and be entitled to the disability payments incident to such ratings although he is able to return to work at the wages he received before the injury which caused disability. ... It is permissible and desirable to distinguish between a formula or rule—established ‘100 per cent disability’ for certain rating purposes, and actual total disability insofar as productive work or com
It should be observed that no question is before us as to whether an annulment of the orders under attack at bar will afford good ground for the commission’s reviewing any of the previous awards, such as the $3,990 based upon consideration of the first and second injuries in combination (see Labor Code, § 5803; Bartlett Hayward Co. v. Industrial Acc. Com., 203 Cal. 522 , 532 [ 265 P. 195 ] ; Merritt-Chapman & Scott Corp. v. Industrial Acc. Com., 6 Cal.2d 314 , 316 [ 57 P.2d 501 ] ; Pullman Co. v. Industrial Acc. Com., 28 Cal.2d 379 , 388 [ 170 P.2d 10 ].)
The denial of a subsequent injury award to petitioner in case number 135-035 is not based upon any disputed question of fact; it rests solely upon an erroneous interpretation of the applicable law.
The order denying petitioner an award for subsequent injury in commission case number 135,035 and the order denying reconsideration of same are annulled. And the proceeding is remanded to respondent commission for further proceedings not inconsistent with the views herein expressed.
Wood (Parker), Acting P. J., and Vallée, J., concurred.
The petition of respondent Subsequent Injuries Fund for a hearing by the Supreme Court was denied November 9, 1955. Edmonds,-J., was of the opinion that- the petition should be granted.
Footnotes
- * Assigned by Chairman of Judicial Council.
Cases cited
- Subsequent Injuries Fund v. Industrial Accident Commission 39 Cal.2d 83 at 85 p. 397
- Wolski v. Industrial Accident Commission 70 Cal.App.2d 427 at 432 p. 398
- Pacific Gas & Electric Co. v. Industrial Accident Commission 126 Cal.App.2d 554 at 558 p. 398, p. 402
- Goodwill Industries of San Bernardino & Riverside Counties, Inc. v. Industrial Accident Commission 114 Cal.App.2d 452 at 460 p. 398
- Sweeney v. Industrial Accident Commission 107 Cal.App.2d 155 at 159 p. 400
- Ansbach v. Department of Industrial Relations 99 Cal.App. 677 at 680 p. 401
- Department of Motor Vehicles v. Industrial Accident Commission 14 Cal.2d 189 at 192 p. 401
- Bauman v. City & County of San Francisco 42 Cal.App.2d 144 at 163 p. 401
- Paolini v. City & County of San Francisco 72 Cal.App.2d 579 at 591 p. 401
- Coca-Cola Co. v. State Board of Equalization 25 Cal.2d 918 at 921 p. 401
- Nelson v. Dean 27 Cal.2d 873 at 880 p. 401
- Cal. Drive-in Rest. Ass'n v. Clark 22 Cal.2d 287 at 294 p. 401
- Groves v. City of Los Angeles 40 Cal.2d 751 at 761 p. 402
- Gunn v. State Board of Equalization 123 Cal.App.2d 283 at 287 p. 402
- Whitcomb Hotel, Inc. v. California Employment Commission 24 Cal.2d 753 at 757 p. 402
- Smith v. Industrial Accident Commission 44 Cal.2d 364 p. 403
- Bartlett Hayward Co. v. Industrial Accident Commission 203 Cal. 522 at 532 p. 404
- Merritt-Chapman & Scott Corp. v. Industrial Accident Commission 6 Cal.2d 314 at 316 p. 404
- Pullman Co. v. Industrial Accident Commission 28 Cal.2d 379 at 388 p. 404