Majority
Review of proceedings of the Industrial Accident Commission.
On January 25, 1952, the petitioner, while employed as a meat packer, sustained injuries to her head and neck when she fell and struck her head on a cement floor. The referee
On April 4, 1955, an order was made granting the petition to reopen, and the referee made findings in part as follows: that further temporary partial disability began on August 10, 1953, and continued to March 12, 1954, entitling applicant to $17.50 a week during that time, based upon a 50 per cent loss of earning power; and that the injuries resulted in permanent disability which was rated at 7¼ per cent, entitling applicant to $30 a week for 29 weeks. An award was made in accordance with the findings. Applicant’s petition for reconsideration was denied.
Petitioner contends that there was no substantial evidence
In September, 1952 (about eight months after the injury, and prior to the first award), Dr. Dueker, the independent medical examiner who was appointed by the referee, examined petitioner and made a written report which was received in evidence. He stated therein, in part, that: petitioner complained of dull aching sensations in the right temple, and of a dull, heavy sensation in the posterior cervical area; she stated that she had not returned to work “for fear that her neck and head pain will recur”; she stated that medication prescribed by her doctor more or less controlled the headache; she denied previous injury or similar complaints; she seemed to be logical in her conversation and did not seem to exaggerate complaints. Dr. Dueker stated further in his report that strong cervical compression elicited mild complaint of local pain in upper posterior cervical area; he reviewed X-rays of her skull and cervical spine; he believed that her principal trouble is the residual of cervical muscle and fascial strain; petitioner had a posture marked by increased lumbar lordosis and forward carrying of the head which in itself tends to put a more or less continuous postural strain on the supporting structures of the spine; treatment consisting of heat, massage and traction, “with an honest effort” by her to rehabilitate the postural deviation, should be effective within a few weeks; her complaint “is perhaps 85% due to the static postural deviation underlying and prolonging the effects of the cervical strain due to the injury.”
In the second report of Dr. Dueker, made in May, 1954, he stated that petitioner complained of heavy feeling and dull ache in the posterior neck, a feeling of tiredness in her arms, and “blackouts” which she said occurred every two or three months and sometimes caused her to fall. He stated further therein that there was moderate tenderness over the upper cervical muscles, that pressure there caused subjective complaint of pain; there is chronic cervical strain, preexistent with habitual postural alteration contributing; gentle traction or the mere correction of the cervical posture will relieve her complaint; after a careful reconsideration of her case he could not materially alter his diagnosis and comment as
At the hearing on January 20, 1955, for the purpose of permitting petitioner to cross-examine Dr. Dueker, he testified that petitioner had a preexisting habitual postural deviation to which he attributed 85 per cent of her present condition, and that he attributed 15 per cent of her condition to the injury; that the cervical strain should not “of itself” have created symptoms for more than two months after the injury, and that the remainder of her trouble and the prolongation of it were due to the fact that she did not correct her posture; he had no explanation for the blackouts which she referred to during his second examination in May, 1954; he was “so strongly of the opinion that all she needs to do is to cooperate with very simple treatment to get over this,” that he believed a very large part of her complaints were due to the fact that she would not cooperate; he thought it probable that, without any injury, the petitioner might have had similar trouble later in life following a longer period of poor posture.
Dr. Meade, who gave petitioner medical treatment on behalf of the insurance carrier, made a report on January 28, 1952, in which he stated that the “period of disability will probably continue for another one to three weeks, depending on whether she develops post-traumatic headaches.” In another report, on February 22, 1952, he stated that X-rays taken of petitioner’s neck on that date were negative for fracture dislocation ; her symptoms were subjective, and he informed her that she should be able to assume her occupation on February 25, 1952; she stated that she did not want to go back to the same place because another employee said things that had embarrassed her.
Dr. Morgan, who examined petitioner on February 18, 1954, on behalf of the insurance carrier, made a report that petitioner had subjective complaints, and he did not believe there was any disability as a result of the injury.
A report of Dr. Shear, which was made on September 14, 1953, was attached to the petition to reopen; he stated therein that in his opinion she has a chronic cervical muscle spring; he believed that she should be reevaluated—such reevaluation to consist of electromyogram studies, reeheeking X-rays and subsequent treatment by a psychiatrist if necessary.
As above stated, petitioner contends that there was no substantial evidence that her condition became permanent on March 12, 1954, or that temporary disability terminated as of that date. This contention is not sustainable. “In reviewing the findings of the commission, the courts are without power to disturb them unless there is a lack of substantial evidence. The courts are not concerned with conflicts. . . . Where there is substantial evidence to support the findings and order of the commission, the reviewing court may not substitute its views for those of the commission and annul the award. ... If the findings of the Industrial Accident Commission are supported by inferences which may fairly be drawn from evidence, even though the evidence is susceptible of opposing inferences, the reviewing court will not disturb the award. ...” (Pacific Lbr. Co. v. Industrial Acc. Com., 22 Cal.2d 410 , 422-423 [ 139 P.2d 892 ]; Pacific Elec. Ry. Co. v. Industrial Acc. Com., 96 Cal.App.2d 651 , 660 [ 216 P.2d 135 ].) Dr. Dueker stated that treatment, with an honest effort by petitioner to rehabilitate the postural
As above shown, petitioner contends further that there was no substantial evidence that she was not in need of further medical treatment. She refers to Dr. Dueker’s report of May, 1954, wherein he suggested a physical therapy regime for two months, including the cooperation of petitioner. At the hearing in January, 1955 (about eight months later), he testified that the cervical strain should not “of itself” have created symptoms for more than two months after the injury; and that the remainder of petitioner’s trouble was due to the fact that she did not correct her posture. Also, Dr. Dickerson stated in his report of May, 1952, that he saw no reason for further treatment; and in his report of June, 1952, that it was apparent that petitioner had recovered from any ill effects of the accident. The finding that petitioner was not in need of further medical treatment (as a result of the injury) was supported by substantial evidence.
Petitioner contends further, as above shown, that there was no substantial evidence that her permanent disability required apportionment by reason of a preexisting postural defect. She argues that there was no evidence that her postural defect, which had existed prior to the accident, had caused her any discomfort prior to the injury, or that it was progressing to a point which could with reasonable certainty produce disability without an injury. She argues further that an employer takes an employee in the physical condition in which he finds the employee and that the fact
Petitioner contends further that there is no substantial evidence to justify the apportionment of 15 per cent of her disability to the injury. She argues that Dr. Dueker was unable to give any basis for his opinion that 15 per cent of her disability was due to the injury. At the hearing in January, 1955, counsel for petitioner asked Dr. Dueker to explain how he arrived at the percentage of apportionment, and Dr. Dueker replied that he believed “by far the greater proportion” of her disability was due to her poor posture and failure to correct it “as against a minor portion due to the injury and that comes up with a figure for 85 and 15 respectively”; and that there was no objective rule whereby his opinion could be tested—that it was “a matter of trying to evaluate the whole picture and striking a fair arbitrary apportionment.” Prior to said hearing, as above• shown, Dr. Dueker made two physical examinations of petitioner-one about eight months after the injury and the other about
The award is affirmed.
Shinn, P. J., and Vallée, J., concurred.
Petitioner’s application for a hearing by the Supreme Court was denied February 1, 1956.
Cases cited
- Pac. Lumber Co. v. Indus. Accident Comm'n 22 Cal.2d 410 at 422-423 p. 520
- Pacific Electric Railway Co. v. Industrial Accident Commission 96 Cal.App.2d 651 at 660 p. 520
- Industrial Indemnity Co. v. Industrial Accident Commission 95 Cal.App.2d 443 at 449-450 p. 522
- Liberty Mutual Insurance v. Industrial Accident Commission 33 Cal.2d 89 p. 523
- Tanenbaum v. Industrial Accident Commission 4 Cal.2d 615 p. 523