Majority
The facts that would appear to be pertinent to a decision of the several questions that are presented herein are as follows: Two individuals, Munson and Hewes (as a copartnership), were the owners of a store which they had leased to Schramm (petitioner herein), who used the greater portion thereof for the purpose of conducting a grocery therein. The remainder of the store room was subleased by Schramm to one Kuhn, who conducted therein a vegetable store. For some months one Blair had been indebted to Schramm in the sum of about $23 for groceries which the former had purchased from the latter. Similarly, Blair owed Kuhn $3.50 for vegetables. It also appears that some of the vegetable stands in Kuhn’s store were either somewhat out of repair, or that to replace old stands new ones were desired. Blair was more or less out of employment, and, at least partly in order to discharge or to make payment on account of his several financial obligations, as well as on the part of Schramm individually, and Munson and Hewes as a copartnership, to satisfy Kuhn as a tenant, an arrangement was made among the several parties by which Munson and Hewes agreed to furnish the necessary materials for the
By its award the respondent commission having relieved Schramm’s insurance carrier from liability, it is first urged that in that regard the respondent commission acted in excess of its powers;—a contention which (especially in view of the recent decision in the ease of Bankers Indemnity Ins. Co. v. Industrial Acc. Com., 4 Cal. (2d) 89 [ 47 Pac. (2d) 719 ]) the respondent commission conceded to be correct, and thereupon suggested that its award theretofore made herein be annulled by this court and the matter remanded to the respondent commission for further proceedings. However, to such proposed order the insurance company has objected. It therefore is deemed advisable that the inducing facts relative to the issuance of the insurance policy be stated:
For some time preceding the date when the accident in question occurred, Schramm and one other person had been conducting the grocery as a partnership, under the fictitious name of “Bill’s Market”; and in the name of such partnership and the said fictitious name had carried a workmen’s compensation insurance policy which had been pro
However, as far as Schramm is concerned, even assuming the binding force of the insurance policy as an instrument of ordinary protection from liability for injuries that may have been sustained by any of Schramm’s regular employees while engaged in their several duties as such, it is contended by National Automobile Insurance Company that by the terms of its policy, in the particular circumstances herein, and considering the work which Blair was engaged to perform, Schramm was not protected. In other words, that the policy did not cover a situation such as is here presented. But notwithstanding the serious manner in which the point is here presented, it occurs to this court that in advance of any ruling made thereon by the respondent commission, no decision should be here indicated. Manifestly, the determination of the point is within the jurisdiction of the commission. It not having ruled in the matter, this court has nothing to review in this proceeding with reference thereto.
But it is asserted, not only by National Automobile Insurance Company, but as well by the other defendants, that in constructing the vegetable stand Blair was not acting either as an employee of Schramm, or of either or of any of the other defendants; but, to the contrary, that Blair was acting wholly and solely in the capacity of an independent contractor. In
In the performance of labor for compensation by one person for the benefit of another, the rules for a correct determination of the status of the respective parties, one toward the other, have been not only the subject of legislation, but as well, on many occasions, a question of construction of interpretation by the courts. The possible benefit that might result from a review of the authorities on the question of when a person may be considered an employee, and when an independent contractor, would hardly compensate for the time and energy that would be necessary to the accomplishment of such a task. It is sufficient to note that by section 8, as well as by subdivision 4 of section 33, of the Workmen’s Compensation, Insurance and Safety Act, the term “employee” is defined; and this court is convinced that the conclusion reached by the respondent commission with reference to the status of Blair was well within the intent and meaning of the proAdsions of the statute to which reference has just been had.
In a matter of this kind, particularly with reference to the legal impropriety of a reviewing court disturbing a ruling
“It is, of course, well settled that this court will not annul an award of the commission where there is substantial evidence to support the commission’s finding and order. (Citing authorities.) And if the findings are supported by inferences which may fairly be drawn from the evidence, even though the evidence be susceptible of opposing inferences, the reviewing court will not disturb the award.” (Citing authorities.)
Furthermore, in the case of Archbishop v. Industrial Acc. Com., 194 Cal. 660 , 661, 667 [ 230 Pac. 1 ], it was said that:
“It was held in Flickenger v. Industrial Acc. Com., 181 Cal. 425 [ 19 A. L. R. 1150 , 184 Pac. 851 ], that the definition of an independent contractor contained in the amendment of the act in 1917 (Stats. 1917, p. 831) did not restrict or enlarge the meaning of the term: and hence the status is determined by rules used before the creation of the Industrial Accident Commission in ordinary actions at law. ‘Whether a workman is an employee within the Workmen’s Compensation Act or an independent contractor is a question of fact upon which the judgment of the Industrial Commission is conclusive where the facts are in dispute, and becomes a question of law only when but one inference can reasonably be drawn from the facts.’ (Citing authority.) It was said in Western Pac. R. R. Co. v. Industrial Acc. Com., 193 Cal. 413 [ 224 Pac. 754 ] : ‘It is the rule that where from the evidence two opposing inferences may be drawn, that inference which is accepted by the commission must be sustained if there is evidence in the record to support it and if it is a reasonable inference to be drawn from that evidence. ... ’ ” (Citing authorities.)
Considering the evidence to which reference hereinbefore has been had, together with the law as indicated by the authorities to which attention just has been directed, it becomes manifest, not only that such evidence was sufficient to sustain the conclusion reached by the respondent commission
Likewise, in regard to the question here presented as to whether the respondent commission exceeded its jurisdiction when, in accord with the evidence, it concluded that “the evidence does not establish that said injury was caused by the intoxication of. the employee”. It would be useless to here set forth the evidence that was adduced on the hearing before the respondent commission touching that issue. True, there was an abundance of evidence that tended to a conclusion wholly different from that reached by the respondent commission; but it also is true that the evidence, upon which the respondent commission was entitled to rely, was sufficient to justify the finding that was made. The necessary result is that such decision by the respondent commission is conclusive in this proceeding.
From the statement of facts which heretofore has been set forth herein, it should be clear, not only that Blair was an employee of Schramm, but also that he occupied a similar position as to each of the other interested parties.
Nor is this court able to concur in the contention of the several defendants to the effect that the award of compensation to Blair was excessive. Based on his testimony, which the respondent commission had the right to accept as true, for the labor he was engaged to perform he was to be paid a price of sixty cents per hour; and on such a basis, for an eight-hour day the computation of the award to which he was entitled appears to be indisputable.
The award is annulled, and the matter is ordered remanded for further proceedings therein not inconsistent with the views herein expressed on each of the several questions that herein have been given consideration.
York, J., and Doran, J., concurred.
Cases cited
- Hartford Accident & Indemnity Co. v. Industrial Accident Commission 202 Cal. 688 at 692 p. 481
- Roman Catholic Archbishop v. Industrial Accident Commission 194 Cal. 660 at 661, 667 p. 481
- Flickenger v. Industrial Accident Commission 181 Cal. 425 p. 481
- Western Pacific Railroad v. Industrial Accident Commission 193 Cal. 413 p. 481