Majority
Petitioner, Geneva Goodhew, widow of the deceased employee, James H. Goodhew, Jr., who was president of the respondent-employer, Goodhew Ambulance Service, Inc., seeks annulment of that part of a
James H. Goodhew, Jr., the deceased, died on August 20, 1955, as the result of an automobile accident and the respondent commission found that the injury proximately causing his death arose out of and occurred in the course of his employment and ordered payment of the normal death benefits by the employer to the widow and minor child. The commission also found that at the time of the injury, the employer was uninsured as to the decedent, but not wilfully so, and that both the employer and employee were subject to the provisions of the workmen’s compensation laws.
The question presented in this proceeding is whether the commission’s conclusional finding and determination on reconsideration that the employer was not “wilfully” uninsured and therefore not liable for increased compensation pursuant to the provisions of section 4554, are based upon a tenable concept of the law.
Labor Code, section 4554, in pertinent part, provides as follows: “In ease of the wilful failure by an employer to secure the payment of compensation, the amotint of compensation otherwise recoverable for injury or death as provided in this division shall be increased ten per cent . . . Failure of the employer to secure the payment of compensation ... is prima facie evidence of wilfulness on his part.”
The only evidence relating to the matter of compensation coverage and bearing on the question of the wilfulness of the employer in failing to provide coverage as to its officers was uneontradicted and is substantially as follows: The employer had originally arranged through an insurance broker some four or five years previously for workmen’s compensation insurance coverage; said coverage so arranged for had been kept in effect since that time by annual renewals of the policy; at the time the coverage was originally arranged, the broker discussed with the decedent, who was president of Goodhew Ambulance Service, Inc., and Mr. W. I. Goodhew, its secretary, the matter of compensation coverage for the corporate officers; the broker explained to the decedent and to Mr. W.
Whereas we recognize that the commission’s findings of fact and conclusions on questions of fact are conclusive and not subject to review (Lab. Code, § 5953) nevertheless “ [w]hether in any given case [wilful failure by an employer to secure the payment of compensation] is shown, inherently presents questions of both fact and law. Insofar as the issues may relate to the credibility of witnesses, the persuasiveness or weight of the evidence and the resolving of conflicting inferences, the questions are of fact. But as to what minimum factual elements must he proven in order to constitute [wilful failure to insure], and the sufficiency of the evidence to that end, the questions are of law.” (Mercer-Fraser Co. v. Industrial Acc. Com., 40 Cal.2d 102 , 115 [ 251 P.2d 955 ].)
As previously indicated, the facts herein are not in dispute and show not only that the employer was uninsured as to its corporate officers (constituting prima facie evidence of wilfulness in failing to secure the payment of compensation as provided in § 4554), but also that, although informed that the law required compensation coverage on all employees including its corporate officers, the said employer deliberately instructed the broker to exclude such corporate officers from the coverage of the compensation policy. The only inference which can be reasonably drawn from this evidence is that the employer knowingly and intentionally failed to secure the payment of compensation to cover its corporate officers in order to effect a saving in the premiums on the compensation policy; and that, as the trial referee succinctly expressed it in his report: “The testimony . . . shows that the failure to carry such insurance was a deliberate act of the defendant company based upon a decision of the company’s officers after being fully informed by said broker.”
In its report on the order granting reconsideration and denying the petitioner compensation under section 4554, the commission stated: “It is apparent that any wilfulness on the part of the defendant company must be found in the intent of the decedent and the other officer who was present at the time of the said conversation. The question is whether these officers had such knowledge of the facts and law that will cause us to conclude that they wilfully intended to submit
It is evident from the foregoing that the commission predicated its findings that the employer’s failure to secure the payment of compensation was not wilful upon a concept that a guilty intent on the part of the employer to suffer and incur the penalties provided by law must be shown in order to establish “wilful failure” on the part of the employer in not securing the payment of compensation. Section 4554, however, only requires that the failure to secure the payment of compensation be “wilful” and specifies in addition that failure to secure the payment of compensation is “prima facie .evidence of wilfulness.” Said section nowhere requires that there be shown any criminal intent or intent to incur the penalties imposed by law in order for said section to apply. The word “wilful” is used in different statutes with various shades of meaning. (Alden v. Mayfield, 33 Cal.App. 724 , 727 [ 166 P. 382 ].) In the absence of a statutory definition, and there is none, or in the absence of an adjudicated definition, and we have found none, we must turn to the general principle that in the construction of a statute, words or phrases are construed according to the context and approved usage of language. (Civ. Code, § 13; Code Civ Proc., § 16; Weaver v. San Francisco, 146 Cal. 728 , 733 [ 81 P. 119 ].) Because section 4554 imposes a penalty on a noninsured employer it is reasonable to assume that the Legislature did not intend that such penalty be so imposed upon an employer who failed to secure payment of compensation merely through ignorance or inadvertence, but on the other hand, did intend
The respondent commission makes the additional contention, unsupported by the citation of any authority, that
Finally, it is contended that the petitioner should not be permitted to benefit by the wrong of her deceased husband in wilfully failing to secure compensation coverage on himself. We are unable to ascertain any moral obloquy in decedent's determination on behalf of the corporation to exclude himself and other corporate officers from coverage. Apparently, it was a deliberate and calculated decision, motivated by a desire for economic savings but manifestly was not a wrong which would bring into play the maxim: “No one may take advantage of his own wrong.”
So much of the respondent commission’s order as denies the petitioner the compensation allowable under Labor Code, section 4554, is annulled, and the matter is remanded to the commission for further proceedings not inconsistent herewith.
Fox, Acting P. J., and Ashburn, J., concurred.
Footnotes
- * Assigned by Chairman of Judicial Council.
Cases cited
- Mercer - Fraser Co. v. Industrial Accident Commission 40 Cal.2d 102 at 115 p. 255
- Alden v. Mayfield 33 Cal.App. 724 at 727 p. 256
- Weaver v. City & County of San Francisco 146 Cal. 728 at 733 p. 256
- Davis v. Morris 37 Cal.App.2d 269 p. 257
- May v. New York Motion Picture Corp. 45 Cal.App. 396 at 404 p. 257