Majority
This action is based upon an insurance policy issued to the plaintiff by the Pacific States Life Assurance Company, and liability, if any, assumed by the defendant. The policy was issued to the plaintiff on the 13th day of June, 1933, the insuring clause of which reads as follows: “Loss of life, limb, sight or time, the cause of which originates and loss occurs while this policy is in full force and effect, which loss results directly and independently of all other causes, from accidental bodily injuries, hereinafter referred to as ‘such injury.’ ”
For total disability, compensation was to be made at the rate of $100 per month. Part 3, subdivisions A and B • of the policy, fixes the liability of the company, and is in the following words and figures:
“(A) If ‘such injury’ shall, within twenty (20) days from the date of the occurrence of the accident, totally and continuously disable the insured and during which time he shall be under the professional care and regular attendance of a legally qualified physician and surgeon, the Company will pay, for the period of such continuous total disability, Accident Indemnity at the rate per month provided in Part 1, subject to Aggregate Disability Indemnity, Part 7, Partial Disability.
“(B) Or, if ‘such 'injury’ shall not, within twenty (20) days from the date of the occurrence of the accident, cause total disability, but shall thereafter totally disable the insured; or, if ‘such injury’ shall, commencing on the date of the occurrence of the accident, or immediately following total loss of time, cause continuous partial disability, and during which time the insured shall be under the professional care and regular attendance of a legally qualified physician or surgeon, the Company will pay, for the period of such continuous disability, not to exceed three months, forty per cent (40%) of the Accident Indemnity at the rate per month provided in Part 1, subject to Aggregate Disability Indemnity, Part 7.”
Upon the furnishing of the proofs by the plaintiff on the 2d day of October, 1933, indicating that he had lost fifteen days time, the appellant forwarded to the plaintiff a check in the sum of $46.66. This check purported to cover the period" of time lost by the plaintiff by reason of the injury referred to. On the reverse side of this check there appeared an acknowledgment of receipt and release which was signed by the plaintiff and also by the plaintiff’s wife. This release is in the following words and figures, to wit:
11 Claim No. 78,328, received forty-six and 66/100 dollars from Postal Union Life Insurance Company in full payment, satisfaction, discharge and release of any and all claims myself, my heirs, executors, administrators or assigns may now have or hereafter have against said Company under its Policy No. 34,616 due to, or growing out of an accident sustained by me on or about September 16, 1933. I have read and understand the above release. ’ ’
This release was set up in the defendant’s answer and pleaded as an absolute bar of the plaintiff’s right of recovery.
What we have said sufficiently shows that this release was made in entire ignorance of the extent of the injuries suffered by the plaintiff, and was the result of a mistake as to the extent of such injuries, and that the appellant, in sending the check for $46.66, including the release, was likewise acting under a mistake as to the extent of the injuries suffered by the plaintiff. The record also shows that the plaintiff resumed his occupation at the direction of Doctor Jones, the company doctor.
“Q. Did you read all those releases before you signed them ? Mr. Riley: To which I object. A. No, sir, I didn’t. Mr. Riley: Irrelevant, immaterial. The Court: There is nothing in the pleading about the release, is there ? Mr. Riley: Only in the complaint, only in the answer, I mean. There is nothing in the complaint about it at all. The Court: What is the purpose of this? Mr. Spark: For the purpose of showing that he didn’t understand what he was signing. The Court: You haven’t alleged any fraud or inability. Sustain the objection. Mr. Riley: I ask that the answer go out. The Court: It may go out. Mr. Spark: Q. Mr. Martin, at the time you presented your claim to the Company, did you think, did you know, were you of the opinion that you had recovered from your injury? A. No, sir, I wasn’t. Q. I say, you knew that to be a fact ? A. Yes, sir. Q. Did your doctor advise you you had recovered from your accident? Mr. Riley: We object, not within any of the issues of this pleading, therefore, not pertinent, not competent. The Court: I don’t see anything to support that testimony. I will sustain the objection.”
Upon the objection of the appellant, testimony along the above-indicated lines was excluded by the court. The ruling of the court was and is clearly erroneous, the court seeming to labor under the impression that the plaintiff was under the necessity of alleging fraud, undue influence, mistake, etc., in order to introduce such testimony, overlooking the fact that section 462 of the Code of Civil Procedure provides that all new matter set up in the answer in avoidance, or constituting a defense is deemed controverted, and that no additional pleading is required on the part of the plaintiff. Section 448 of the Code of Civil Procedure does not change the rule of testimony in this particular, save and except as to the genuineness of the signatures to a written instrument set up in the answer,
As early as the case of Montgomery v. Rauer, 125 Cal. 227 [ 57 Pac. 894 ], the Supreme Court used the following language: “Nor may the further objection of appellant be sustained that the plaintiffs, not having pleaded an avoidance of the release, should not have been permitted to prove it. They were not compelled to anticipate defenses. If the release and discharge had been set out in bar of the action, still, under our system of pleading, which permits no replication, the defense of fraud would have been open to the plaintiffs without special averment.”
In the case of Weger v. Rocha, 138 Cal. App. 109 [ 32 Pac. (2d) 417 ], an exactly similar situation was presented to this court. The plaintiff filed a complaint seeking damages for injuries sustained. It appears that after the injury the plaintiff had signed a release, and this release was set up in the defendant’s answer. This court there said: “As against the special defense, the plaintiff relied upon testimony to establish fraud, menace, duress and undue influence, and specially, that the signature of the plaintiff to the paper hereinafter referred to was obtained by fraud and undue influence on the part of an agent representing the Banker’s Indemnity Insurance Company, insurance carrier for the defendant Rocha.” The opinion further goes on to show that the finding of the court to the effect that the release had been procured by fraud and undue influence was sustained by the testimony. Under the circumstances just set forth, the appellant having blocked the plaintiff from introducing further testimony showing that both the proof and the release were executed under a mistaken idea as to the extent of the injuries received by him, and also, that the defendant in sending its check was not aware of the plaintiff’s serious injuries, and obtained a release utterly incommensurate with the compensation to which the plaintiff was entitled, is now estopped from urging want of testimony excluded by its objection.
By the appellant’s computation, to which we will hereafter refer, it appears that the release was a trifle less than 10 per cent of the compensation now shown to be due if the plaintiff was entitled to recover, which brings
In the ease of United Bank & Trust Co. v. Hunt, 1 Cal. (2d) 340 [ 34 Pac. (2d) 1001 ], the Supreme Court, in considering the question of the position which an appellant might take when it had blocked the introduction of testimony in the trial court, adopted the language of Presiding Justice Pullen of this court, which we think applicable here, and estops the appellant from urging as a cause for reversal, failure to introduce further testimony which it succeeded in excluding in the trial court. The language referred to is as follows:
“We are .-. . of the opinion that the baric waived its right to raise the question of res judicata in the Yuba County ease by its opposition to the motion to amend the Butte County case to include therein the various causes of action set forth in the Yuba County case, and by opposing a motion to try the two cases together. Where counsel, by timely notice, call to a court’s attention the pendency of other proceedings covering kindred matters, and strive to have the same embraced within the scope of the inquiry,' and such attempt is successfully blocked by opposing counsel, and the trial proceeds to the investigation of the specific issue before the court, counsel who were successful in preventing the consolidation of the issues cannot be heard later to object to a trial of the related matters upon the ground of res judicata. The course pursued by the court and counsel in the Butte County case was tantamount to an express determination on the part of the court with the consent of opposing counsel to reserve the issues involved for future adjudication. (Ashler v. G. F. Stearns etc. Co., 241 Ky. 292 [ 43 S. W. (2d) 1012 ].) Litigants cannot successfully assume such inconsistent positions. ’ ’
Much time and attention has been given by counsel to a number of authorities cited, having to do with the word “continuous”, referring to the disability of the in
The appellant further objects to language used by the attorney for the plaintiff in his address to the jury, assigning the same as prejudicial. It seems that counsel for the plaintiff in his address to the jury referred to the “poverty” of the plaintiff. Objection thereto was made by counsel for the appellant, and the court used the following language: “That may be stricken out, not considered by the jury, unless there is evidence in there.” The criticism on the part of the appellant goes as to the words, “unless there is evidence in there”. There being no evidence in the ease of the poverty of the plaintiff, we do not very well see how any prejudicial error was caused thereby.
It follows from what we have said that as there is nothing in the record supporting a judgment in favor of the plaintiff for any sum in excess of $473.33, the judgment of the trial
Costs on appeal are not awarded to either party.
Pullen, P. J., and Thompson, J.,. concurred.
Cases cited
- Montgomery v. Rauer 125 Cal. 227 p. 576
- Weger v. Rocha 138 Cal. App. 109 p. 576