Majority
This is an appeal from a judgment for cross-defendants, on , a cross-complaint wherein cross-complainant sought recovery of its attorneys’ fees incurred in the success
Certain films were produced by Television Arts Productions, Inc. for Fairbanks. Fairbanks sold and purported to transfer all of its right and title therein to NBC. Thereafter NBC sold the said films back to Fairbanks, and Fairbanks to secure payment of the purchase price, delivered a chattel mortgage on the films to NBC. Subsequently Fairbanks defaulted in its payments, NBC instituted an action to foreclose the mortgage, and NBC purchased the films at the foreclosure sale. Subject to the purchase by NBC at the foreclosure sale (which sale was held on or about June 12, 1953), NBC sold the said films to KTTV, Inc. and Hallett Manufacturing Company, the respondents herein, by written agreement dated April 1, 1953, which agreement among other things, contained the following indemnity provision:
“Hallett and KTTV jointly and severally admit the validity of the Fairbanks debt and the Fairbanks mortgage, which mortgage will be foreclosed in the manner hereinabove indicated, and further admit the validity of the foreclosure sale and the foreclosure title obtained by NBC at said foreclosure sale, and agree to indemnify NBC against any and all claims, debts, demands and causes of action which may be asserted against it based upon any claimed invalidity of said debt, mortgage, sale or title.”
The first amended complaint filed December 9,1953, prayed for declaratory relief and for an accounting as against each of the defendants, and for damages for breach of contract as against Fairbanks.
On December 14, 1953, NBC made demand upon KTTV, Inc., and Hallett Manufacturing Company, and each of them, to indemnify, defend and hold it harmless against the claim of Television Arts Productions, Inc., which demand was refused, and NBC filed the cross-complaint. In a prior appeal from an order striking portions of the cross-complaint of NBC, it was determined that NBC could properly proceed by cross-complaint against KTTV, Inc., and Hallett Manufacturing Company to have its rights to indemnity determined. (Tele
By agreement of the parties the issues in the main action and the cross-complaint were severed for trial, and no appeal in the main action has been taken from the judgment in favor of defendants.
With respect to the cross-complaint, the trial court ruled that under the provisions of the indemnity agreement, NBC was not entitled to be reimbursed for its attorneys’ fees in the amount of $10,500 expended in the defense of the main action. The present appeal is from that judgment.
Appellant contends that the written agreement between the parties is clear, complete and unambiguous; that the trial court erred in admitting parol evidence to show the intention of the parties or to explain or to clarify the agreement; and that this court, as a question of law, must independently determine the meaning of the indemnity provisions included in the agreement of April 1, 1953.
The case of Barnhart Aircraft, Inc. v. Preston, 212 Cal. 19 , 22-25 [ 297 P. 20 ], is cited by appellant as authority for the proposition that whether an agreement is, or is not ambiguous is solely a question of law, and not a question of fact. The trial court in the cited case permitted the introduction of parol evidence on certain issues to explain what was termed an extrinsic ambiguity. In reversing, the Supreme Court held that the effect of some of the parol evidence received had been to write into the contract a provision not placed there by the parties. However, the court (at pages 23-24) quoted from 3 Jones Commentaries on Evidence, volume 3, section 454, as follows:
“ ‘ “. . . Ambiguity in a written contract, calling for construction, may arise as well from words plain in themselves but uncertain when applied to the subject matter of the contract, as from words which are uncertain in their literal sense and it may be discovered on cross-examination, without precluding its explanation, but it must relate to a subject treated of in the paper and must arise out of words used in treating that subject. Such an ambiguity never arises out of what was not written at all, but only out of what was written so blindly and imperfectly that its meaning is doubtful.
“ 1 “It must be borne in mind that although declarations of the parties may in some cases be received to explain contracts or words of doubtful meaning, yet no other words can
The most recent ease cited by appellant to the effect that' the meaning of a written agreement is a question of law is' Continental Casualty Co. v. Phoenix Construction Co., 46 Cal.2d 423 , 429-430 [ 296 P.2d 801 , 57 A.L.R.2d 914 ]. Appellant relies upon this ease in making the following statement: ‘ ‘ The determination and meaning of a written agreement and of the legal effect of the terms thereof are purely questions of law; and that determination must be made upon its independent examination of the agreement and not upon the interpretation engrafted thereon by the trial court. ’ ’ ¡
It is significant that in making its determination in Continental Casualty Co. v. Phoenix Construction Co., supra, the court specifically pointed out the factual circumstances, none of which are present in the instant case. The following language appears at pages 429-430: ‘ ‘ Copies of insurance policies and excess certificates which were in effect at the time of the, Leming accident were introduced into evidence by stipulation, not subject to conflicting inferences, and no parol evidence was offered in aid of construction. Therefore, construction of the policies is a matter of law. (Citing cases.) ” (Emphasis added.) The court then made these additional statements appearing at pages 437-438: “It is elementary in insurance law that any ambiguity or uncertainty in an insurance policy is to be resolved against the insurer. (Citing cases.) If semantically permissible, the contract will be given such construction as will fairly achieve its object of securing indemnity to the insured for the losses to which the insurance relates. (Citing case.) If the insurer uses language which is uncertain any reasonable doubt will be resolved against it; if the doubt relates to extent or fact of coverage, whether as to peril insured against (citing eases), the amount of liability (citing cases), or the person or persons protected (citing cases), the language will be understood in its most inclusive sense, for the benefit-of the insured(Emphasis added.)
In Estate of Platt, 21 Cal.2d 343 [ 131 P.2d 825 ], also cited by appellant, the court was called upon to construe a will and to determine what interest, if any, was to be paid upon income
• Oil Base, Inc. v. Transport Indent. Go., 143 Cal.App.2d 453 [ 299 P.2d 952 ], again involving the interpretation of insurance policies, is cited by appellant. It is significant that with respect to one of the policies, the court stated at page 462, “There is nothing in this policy that purports to cover anyone other than the persons named as insureds therein, nor does it expressly or by implication incorporate any of the conditions or insuring agreements of Transport’s primary policy. Scherer was not a person named as an insured in this policy, and as the policy contains no omnibus clause nor any provisions
The following language appearing in Clark v. Tide Water Associated Oil Co., 98 Cal.App.2d 488 , 490 [ 220 P.2d 628 ], is cited by appellant, “The construction of the language of a contract, in the absence of other evidence, is purely a question of law. Under such circumstances, a reviewing court is not bound by the construction thereof by the trial court but must ‘make the final determination in accordance with the applicable principles of law.’ ” (Emphasis ours.) The case involved an action for damages for breach of a lease, and on the appeal it was held that the trial court had erred in refusing to grant defendant’s motion for nonsuit and directed verdict because the lease contained specific provision for notice of default as a condition precedent to taking “any other action for the enforcement of any right or remedy available to lessor by law or equity.” Even so, the court in reversing took cognizance that the lessor was well informed and experienced in the particular type of business involved.
The Supreme Court speaking through Mr. Justice Carter in Beneficial etc. Ins. Co. v. Kurt Hitke & Co., 46 Cal.2d 517 [ 297 P.2d 428 ], recently reviewed the available tests for determining the existence of an ambiguity in a written instrument, and stated at pages 524-525: ‘ ‘ On the question of ambiguity and the admission of extrinsic evidence, we said in Chastain v. Belmont, 43 Cal.2d 45 , 51 [ 271 P.2d 498 ]: ‘Parol evidence is also admissible to aid in the interpretation of an ambiguous contract or writing. ... As the court said in California Emp. Stab. Com. v. Walters, supra [ 64 Cal.App.2d 554 ( 149 P.2d 17 )], “ [t\he very fact, however, that plaintiff questioned the meaning of certain words and clauses used in framing the agreement in itself shows that it was ambiguous.
Even more recently the Supreme Court speaking through Mr. Justice Shenk, in Halldin v. Usher, 49 Cal.2d 749 , 752-753 [ 321 P.2d 746 ] stated as follows-. “Even if the document were a contract, as the plaintiff contends, he must further show that it is clear and unambiguous in order to justify his contention that parol evidence of its meaning was improperly admitted. He contends that by the language ‘ in case of death the one that survives shall have whole control of our property, ’ the parties intended by the use of such language that the survivor would have only a limited power to oversee and manage the property for the benefit of the children. Cases in other jurisdictions are cited by him to the effect that if it had been the intention of the parties to transfer a fee interest more apt language would have been used. On the other hand, in Barnett v. Barnett, 117 Md. 265 [ 83 A. 160 , 162, Ann.Cas. 1913E 1284], it was held that the words ‘absolute control’ transferred a fee interest, and in Welsh v. Gist, 101 Md. 606 [ 61 A. 665 ], it was held that the words ‘full control’ also vested a fee interest. Accordingly it would seem that the words ‘whole control’ in the present document are not so free from ambiguity as to prevent the court from resorting to extrinsic evidence to ascertain their meaning. That evidence clearly indicates as found by the court that it was not the intention of the parties to leave the survivor destitute and without means of support as might be the case if the construction urged by the plaintiff were adopted.”
Professor Wigmore has clearly expressed the matter by stating, “Once freed from the primitive formalism which views the document as a self-contained and self-operative formula, we can fully appreciate the modern principle that the
Applying the tests as formulated by the Supreme Court, we cannot say that the indemnity provisions of the contract engaging our attention are clear and unambiguous. Accordingly, when the parties alleged their respective theories with respect to the meaning of the precise language used, the trial court could properly admit extrinsic evidence, including that pertaining to the prior negotiations of the parties and the circumstances existing at the time, to assist it in determining what the parties meant by what they said.
Other arguments have been considered hut do not, under the circumstances of this case, require discussion.
' Judgment affirmed.
White, P. J., and Lillie, J., concurred.
Appellant’s petition for a hearing by the Supreme Court was denied December 30, 1958.
Cases cited
- Television Arts Production, Inc. v. Jerry Fairbanks, Inc. 134 Cal.App.2d 293 p. 845
- Barnhart Aircraft, Inc. v. Preston 212 Cal. 19 at 22-25 p. 845
- Continental Casualty Co. v. Phoenix Construction Co. 46 Cal.2d 423 at 429-430 p. 846
- Platt v. Platt 21 Cal.2d 343 p. 846
- Adams v. Petroleum Midway Co. 205 Cal. 221 p. 847
- McNeny v. Touchstone 7 Cal.2d 429 p. 847
- Kautz v. Zurich General Accident & Liability Insurance 212 Cal. 576 at 582 p. 847
- Teater v. Good Hope Development Corp. 14 Cal.2d 196 at 210 p. 847
- Smith v. Dewar 16 Cal.2d 683 p. 847
- Oil Base, Inc. v. Transport Indemnity Co. 143 Cal.App.2d 453 p. 847
- Pendell v. Westland Life Insurance 95 Cal.App.2d 766 at 770 p. 848
- Bastian v. British American Assurance Co. 143 Cal. 287 at 290 p. 848
- Clark v. Tide Water Associated Oil Co. 98 Cal.App.2d 488 at 490 p. 848
- Beneficial Fire & Casualty Insurance v. Kurt Hitke & Co. 46 Cal.2d 517 p. 848
- Chastain v. Belmont 43 Cal.2d 45 at 51 p. 848
- California Employment Stabilization Commission v. Walters 64 Cal.App.2d 554 p. 848
- Body-Steffner Co. v. Flotill Products, Inc. 63 Cal.App.2d 555 p. 849
- Woodbine v. Van Horn 29 Cal.2d 95 at 104 p. 849
- Barham v. Barham 33 Cal.2d 416 at 422 p. 849
- Union Oil Co. v. Union Sugar Co. 31 Cal.2d 300 at 306 p. 849
- Decter v. Stevenson Properties, Inc. 39 Cal.2d 407 at 416 p. 849
- Walsh v. Walsh 18 Cal.2d 439 at 443 p. 849
- Barlow v. Frink 171 Cal. 165 at 172 p. 849
- Kenney v. Los Feliz Investment Co. 121 Cal.App. 378 at 386, 387 p. 850
- Halldin v. Usher 49 Cal.2d 749 at 752-753 p. 850