Majority
Petitioner seeks review and annulment of an award of the Industrial Accident Commission of compensation benefits from the Subsequent Injuries Fund to the injured employee, Charles Ferguson.
Question Presented
Where the employer has furnished medical treatment to an employee after five years from the employee’s subsequent injury, does the limitation in section 5410, Labor Code, or that in section 5405, subdivision (e), apply to an application for benefits from the Subsequent Injuries Fund?
Record
Ferguson sustained an industrial injury to his back on May 7, 1957. Prior thereto, he had a preexisting permanent disability. The medical reports show that prior to and from May 7, 1955 (five years from the date of the injury), until June 5, 1958 (date last seen by the employer’s insurance carrier’s doctor), Ferguson was seen, examined, prescribed for and treated by the carrier’s orthopedists approximately 20 times at approximate monthly intervals. After the expiration of five years from the subsequent injury, a payment of temporary disability covering the period through May 17, 1953, was
Section 5405, Subdivision (e) Applies By Implication Ferguson and the commission contend that section 5405, subdivision (c), applies, while the fund contends that the proper section is 5410.
Section 5410 provides: “Nothing in this chapter shall bar the right of any injured employee to institute proceedings for the collection of compensation within five years after the date of the injury upon the ground that the original injury has caused new and further disability. The jurisdiction of the commission in such cases shall be a continuing jurisdiction at all times within such period. This section does not extend the limitation provided in Section 5407.”[2]
Section 5405 provides: “The period within which may be commenced proceedings for the collection of the benefits provided by Articles 2 or 3, or both, of Chapter 2 of Part 2 of this division is one year from:
“ (a) The date of injury; or
“(b) The expiration of any period covered by payment under Article 3 of Chapter 2 of Part 2 of this division; or “(c) The date of last furnishing of any benefits provided for in Article 2 of Chapter 2 of Part 2 of this division.”
Section 5405 refers to proceedings brought to collect the benefits provided by articles 2 or 3, or both, of chapter 2 of part 2 of division IV of the Labor Code. Article 2 deals with medical and hospital treatment to be provided by the employer. Article 3 deals with disability payments to be paid by the employer, and does not include payment for subsequent injuries, whether by the employer or from the fund. The provisions for payment from the fund are contained in article 5.
An examination of the Labor Code discloses that there is no section which by its very terms provides any limitation to the time for proceedings against the fund under section 4751. From this fact, prior to the decisions hereafter mentioned, it might have been concluded either that the Legislature intended (1) that there be no limitations to such proceedings; (2) that the limitation be that in section 338, subdivision (1), Code of Civil Procedure, as contended unsuccessfully in Subsequent etc. Fund v. Industrial Acc. Com. (Patterson) (1952), 39 Cal. 2d 83 , 90 [ 244 P.2d 889 ], hereafter discussed, or (3) that the limitations be geared to the limitations provided in the Labor Code for proceedings for compensation against the employer. This latter is the better interpretation and the one which the cases dealing with proceedings against the fund have adopted. Thus in the Patterson case, supra, State v. Industrial Acc. Com. (Clubb) (1957), 155 Cal.App.2d 288 [ 318 P.2d 34 ], and Subsequent Injuries Fund v. Industrial Acc. Com. (Pranzitelli) (1957), 151 Cal.App.2d 606 [ 312 P.2d 78 ], it was held that for proceedings against the fund the statute of limitations is the five-year period set forth in section 5410, on the theory that the application for benefits from the fund constituted in the words of section 5410 “a new and further disability” as regards any award made on an application against the employer for normal compensation. (See Broadway-Locust Co. v. Industrial Acc. Com. (1949), 92 Cal.App.2d 287 , 290 [ 206 P.2d 856 ].) In all these cases the proceedings against the fund were brought in situations ivhere there had been a proceeding for normal compensation against the employer. In the. Patterson case, supra, the court in holding that the limitation set forth in section 5410 applied to the proceeding there, used this significant language: “The operation of section 5410 is, of course, dependent upon the commencement of a proceeding to collect normal compensation within the time limits prescribed in chapter 2 of part 4 of division IY of the Labor Code [the chapter in which section 5405 is found].” The reason that; section 5410 has been held applicable to proceedings for benefits from the fund where there has been an award for normal compensation against the employer is “that where an award for temporary disability has been made or compensation voluntarily paid, permanent disability resulting from the injury
* While compensation, was voluntarily paid in our case, it was not paid until after five years from the date of injury.
“The policy of the law, enjoined by both statute and precedent, directs that workmen's compensation laws shall be liberally construed in favor of extending their benefits.” (Patterson case, supra, p. 91; Lab. Code, § 3202.) Under the circumstances of this case, to hold that section 5410 bars the employee from seeking the benefits of the fund, would disregard that principle which is so well engrained in the workmen’s compensation laws.
The attorney general complains that if a proceeding is not joined against the fund until long after the date of the last injury it would be a practical impossibility for the fund to acquire information as to the existence and extent of the prior and subsequent disability. This same contention was made by him in the Patterson case and well answered by the court which stated that “all provisions pertaining to periods of limitation, are peculiarly and primarily for the Legislature. If the attorney general is having difficulty in protecting the fund because of the circumstances appearing here such difficulty, however grave it may be, appears to be one which can be corrected only by the Legislature.” (P. 92.) Likewise, if there is any anomaly between the two situations hereinbefore discussed, its solution is a matter for the Legislature.
State v. Industrial Acc. Com., supra, 155 Cal.App.2d 288 , is not opposed to the view taken here. That case dealt with the same type of situation that occurred in the Patterson case, supra, namely, an application within the five-year period for normal compensation benefits from the employer and no application for benefits from the fund until after the expiration of that period. While there is some language in the case which might indicate that in a situation such as we have in this case section 5405 might not apply by implication, such a situation was not before the court and the court expressly stated, “We are leaving undecided the question whether the references to ‘Article 2’ and to ‘Article 3’ (which appear in § 5405) include a reference to article 5 and the Subsequent Injuries Fund.” (P. 291.)
We hold that where medical treatment given an employee has continued and no application has been made for normal compensation so that an application for fund benefits could not constitute an application for “new and further disability” under section 5410 by implication, the limitations that
The award is affirmed.
Tobriner, J., and Duniway, J., concurred.
Petitioner’s application for a rehearing was denied March 2, 1960, and its application for a hearing by the Supreme Court was denied April 13, 1960.
Footnotes
- * Section 5407 refers to proceedings for compensation for misconduct of the employer. It has no application here.
Cases cited
- Subsequent Injuries Fund v. Industrial Accident Commission 39 Cal. 2d 83 at 90 p. 58
- State v. Industrial Accident Commission 155 Cal.App.2d 288 p. 58, p. 61
- Subsequent Injuries Fund v. Industrial Accident Commission 151 Cal.App.2d 606 p. 58
- Broadway-Locust Co. v. Industrial Accident Commission 92 Cal.App.2d 287 at 290 p. 58, p. 59