Majority
Petitioners seek review and annulment of an award made by respondent commission granting a certain method of payment of attorney’s fees earned in representing the successful claimant for compensation, respondent Edward C. Leventon.[1]
Questions Presented
1. Does section 4904.1, Labor Code, provide for payment by the employer, or its carrier, of a successful claimant’s attorney’s fees for which a lien is granted in section 4904, in addition to the award of installment payments for disability granted the claimant ?
2. How should payments be made under that section?
Record
Leventon, a timber-faller, sustained an industrial injury on July 29, 1957, which resulted in immediate total paraplegia. Petitioners provided him with medical treatment and temporary disability indemnity payments. Leventon was paid $40 per week for temporary disability by petitioners through October 5, 1959, and $35 per week thereafter until March 22,1960.
On January 27, 1960, hearings were had upon the date at which temporary disability ceased and permanent disability began. That date was set at May 19, 1959. Further, Leventon was found to have been entitled to $40 a week as temporary disability payments from the date of injury through May 19, 1959. Also, Leventon was found to be entitled to 400 weekly
* Amici curiae briefs supporting petitioners’ contentions were filed on behalf of Lumbermen’s Mutual Casualty Company, Zenith National Insurance Company, Enterprise Insurance Company, Industrial Indemnity Company, Fireman’s Fund Insurance Company, California Casualty Indemnity Exchange, State Compensation Insurance Fund, Truck Insurance Exchange, Allied Compensation Insurance Company, Transport Indemnity Company and Pacific Employers Insurance Company.
On May 11,1960, Leventon’s attorney petitioned for partial commutation and for determination of attorney’s fees under Labor Code, section 4904.1. Upon stipulation the request for partial commutation was dismissed and the sole question for determination became the payment of the fee under the Labor Code. On November 14, 1960, an award was made requiring petitioner to pay Leventon’s attorney $1,000 forthwith, “without disturbing the weekly payments due under the Findings and Award, filed herein March 22, 1960, pursuant to Labor Code Section 4904.1. ’'
Petitioners sought reconsideration, which was denied.
1. Section 4904.1, Labor Code, does not provide for payment of attorney’s fees by employer.
Although the wording of the award artfully requires the insurer to pay the attorney’s “lien,” it does so expressly requiring that the weekly disability payments not be disturbed. The result is obviously to require the insurer to pay the attorney’s fee over and above the amount to be paid as compensation.
Section 4904.1 reads: “The payment of liens as provided in Section 4904, shall in no way affect the commencement of immediate payments on any balance of the award to the injured claimant where an installment payment for his disability has been determined. ’ ’
The respondent commission interprets the above section to require that no lien payment may be allowed to “disturb” or diminish the set weekly payments under an award. In so doing, it necessarily limits the term “balance” to the amount of the award after credits for prior payments have been deducted and without any deduction for liens. The result of such an analysis is that payments under the award start immediately, and remain at maximum. Further, if the installment payments are not to be “disturbed” they not only are not to be diminished, but cannot be commuted for a period.
Against this construction and application petitioners and amici curiae bring a number of objections. The primary argument appears to be that there are no provisions in the Labor Code for the direct payment of an applicant’s attorney’s fees except in the situations set forth in sections 5801 and 4555, Labor Code, neither of which situations admittedly occur here. Section 5801 provides that attorney’s fees may be awarded in addition to compensation when the employee prevails upon a petition for review initiated by the employer for which the reviewing court finds no reasonable basis. Section 4555 provides that attorney’s fees may be awarded in addition to compensation when the employer fails to secure payment of compensation. Both sections appear to be in the nature of penalties assessed against the employer.
Labor Code, section 4903, states, in part, that “The commission may determine, and allow as a lien against any amount to ~be paid as compensation-, (a) A reasonable attorney’s fee for legal services pertaining to any claim for compensation either before the commission or before any of the appellate courts, and the reasonable disbursements in connection therewith.” (Emphasis added.) Thus only liens are allowed against compensation. There are no provisions whatever for what, under the respondents’ construction, would amount to direct payment of attorney’s fees in addition to compensation other than sections 5801 and 4555, referred to above, which obviously have no application in this case.
To interpret section 4904.1 as meaning that the Legislature, by enacting section 4904.1 in 1957, intended that when no present accrued and payable installment or installments exist at the time of the award but would be due in the future, the insurer is to pay attorney’s fees in addition to compensation
Moreover, section 4904.1 deals not only with liens for attorney’s fees but other liens as well. The section refers to “payment of liens.” This includes such liens as those for living expenses of employee or dependents, and living expenses of wife or minor children provided by section 4903. Therefore, if section 4904.1 is interpreted to require the insurer to pay attorney’s fees liens in addition to the installment payments of the disability award, it likewise requires the insurer to pay additionally the above mentioned other liens. Thus the absurdity of any such interpretation is shown.
It is not reasonable to assume that the Legislature would make such a drastic and fundamental change in the workmen's compensation laws by indirection. Particularly is this so, when the legislative history of section 4903 discloses that on numerous occasions the Legislature has refused to require the payment of attorney’s fees by the insurer additionally to the payment of the award to the workman.
As hereinbefore shown, the Legislature in sections 4555 and 5801 provided specific situations in which the insurer is to pay the claimant’s attorney’s fees. It is reasonable to assume that had the Legislature intended the same result to follow in the situation described in section 4904.1, it would have said so specifically as it did in the other two sections.
Moreover, the conclusion of the commission as to the proper interpretation of section 4904.1 is by no means necessary to a reasonable interpretation of that section. The first part states that liens under section 4903 “shall in no way affect the com
2. Proper method of payment.
As soon as the award became final, petitioners ceased payments to the claimant and began accumulating sufficient funds to satisfy the lien for attorney’s fees. This would result in the workman’s being without disability payments for approximately 29 weeks. Such a result is precisely what section 4904.1 is intended to prevent. Such action violated the provision “The payment of liens as provided in section 4904 shall in no way affect the commencement of immediate payments ...” The claimant was not immediately paid and would not be paid
Several methods of complying with section 4904.1 without requiring the payment by the insurer of attorney’s fees in addition to the disability award have been suggested by petitioners and amici curiae. We do not deem it the province of this court to determine what method the commission should adopt. This is a matter for the commission, at least in the first instance. We have interpreted section 4904.1 as definitely not providing for the payment of attorney’s fees by the employer or insurer over and above the award. The commission should be able either by commutation or otherwise to devise a method by which the weekly payments to the claimant provided by the award would be reduced as little as possible and yet the attorney’s lien be paid out of the claimant’s award.
The “Order Dismissing Petition for Partial Commutation and Order Directing Payment of Attorney Fee” and the “Order Denying Defendant’s Petition For Eeconsideration’’ are annulled and the respondent commission is directed to proceed in accordance with the views herein expressed.
Tobriner, J., and Duniway, J., concurred.
The petition of respondent Leventon for a hearing by the Supreme Court was denied August 9, 1961.
Cases cited
- State Compensation Insurance Fund v. Industrial Accident Commission 89 Cal.App.2d 821 at 824 p. 11