Majority
This is an appeal from a judgment in favor of the defendants, hereinafter referred to as the respondents, and against the plaintiff, hereinafter referred to as the appellant.
The Record
The appellant filed a complaint against the respondents, the pertinent allegations of which are as follows: That the respondent insurance company through its agent, the respondent Petersen, issued a policy of liability insurance to the appellant, as the insured, which contained the following provisions:
“ ‘ Store Keepers Liability Coverage. To pay on behalf of the insured all sums which the insured shall become legally obligated to pay as damages because of bodily injury, sickness, or disease, including death at any time resulting therefrom, sustained by any person or injury to or destruction of property, including the loss of use thereof, caused by accident and arising out of the retail store hazard.’ ”
“ ‘Retail Store Hazard Defined. The ownership, maintenance or use of retail store premises, or operations necessary or incidental thereto.’ ”
“Defense. . . . With respect to such insurance as is aforded [sic] by this policy, the Company shall (a) defend any suit against the insured alleging such injury, sickness, disease or destruction and seeking damages on account thereof, even if such suit is groundless, false or fraudulent”; that while said policy was in force a certain Mrs. Beulah K. Johnson gave a check to an employee of the appellant, which check was presented for payment by the appellant and was
The record is silent as to whether there was any responsive pleading to the complaint by the respondents. We have an inkling as to what next transpired in a “Memorandum of Opinion,” signed and filed by the judge of the court below, which recites that “It was agreed by counsel for both parties that the Court could determine, as a matter of law, whether or not the insurance contract required the defendant to defend a malicious prosecution action brought against plaintiff by a third party.” The said opinion, after discussing legal principles, which the court deemed applicable, contains the following statement: “It is adjudged that the language of the insurance policy does not require the defendant to reimburse the plaintiff for money expended in his own defense in a malicious prosecution action.”[1]
It appears that a “motion to amend the complaint and to reconsider opinion” was made by the appellant, a ruling on such a motion having been made a part of the record on appeal. Said ruling purports to grant the motion to amend but contains a statement that in the court’s opinion, the amendment to the complaint “does not change the ruling
1 The said opinion also contains the following language.: “The pre-trial conference order further provided ‘If the court rules against the plaintiff on this issue, the factual issue is presented as to whether Fred Peterson was a duly authorized agent, and, if so, whether he represented that the policy covered malicious prosecution. ’ In view of Section 533 of the Insurance Code cited above and the Abbott case cited above and Section 1668 of the Civil Code, the court holds that even though it might be established that Fred A. Petersen was a duly authorized agent and that he represented that the insurance policy afforded coverage for malicious prosecution, plaintiff could not recover as a matter of law because such a contract would be against public policy.”
2 The court made the following statement in its said ruling: “The issue presented at the pre-trial conference was, ‘does the policy of insurance afford coverage for malicious preseeution.’ The amended complaint now presents the issue, does the policy afford a defense for a groundless suit in malicious prosecution. ’ ’
3 The said affidavit in its entirety reads as follows: “Dayton D. Murray, Jr., being first duly sworn, deposes and says: “That he is an attorney at law, duly licensed to and practicing in all of the Courts of the State of California and is one of the attorneys of record for the Defendants herein. “That all of the material allegations of the Plaintiff’s complaint and the Plaintiff’s Amended Complaint have been controverted by the answers of the Defendants, which are filed herein. “That based upon the allegations of the complaint and the amended complaint, as controverted by the answers on file herein, of these moving Defendants, even though all of the said allegations were admitted, the Plaintiff cannot recover as a matter of law, because of the provisions of Section 533 of the Insurance Code of the State of California, and the ruling in the case of Abbott vs Western National Indemnity Co., 165 Cal. App.2d, 302 [ 331 P.2d 997 ], Glenn [Lamb] vs Belt Casualty Co., 3 Cal. App.2d, 624 [ 40 P.2d 311 ]. “Based upon the allegations herein contained, the law as set forth and the memoranda of opinion heretofore entered by the court, the Defendants herein are entitled to an order dismissing the complaint and the entry of summary judgment in favor of these Defendants. Dayton D. Murray, Jr.”
4 The said order contains the following recital: “It appearing to the Court and the Court finds that the answer is on file in the action, that the declarations of the Defendants state facts within the knowledge of the declarants which show that the action has no merit, and that there are no declarations of the Plaintiff to present any triable issue of fact. ...”
Notwithstanding that the court and counsel were laboring under the impression that the motion was one for summary judgment, it is clear that the proceeding was not one for the determination of whether there were any triable issues of fact but whether the amended complaint stated a cause of action.[5] Moreover, the purported affidavit filed by the respondents does not contain any evidentiary facts nor does it set forth any facts showing that if the affiant were called as a witness he could competently testify thereto. A reading of the purported affidavit in support of the motion readily discloses that it is nothing more than an argument.
If there is a proper judgment in this case it is a judgment on the pleadings. We are satisfied, after wending our way through the procedural maze, that the motion here presented and submitted to the court, notwithstanding its nomenclature, was nothing more than a motion for a judgment on the pleadings.[6] Where such a motion is made by the defendant, the only question, as on general demurrer, is one of law, and that question is simply whether the complaint states a cause of action. (Tracy v. Ferrera, 144 Cal.App.2d 827 [ 301 P.2d 905 ]; Beverage v. Canton Placer Mining Co., 43 Cal.2d 769 [ 278 P.2d 694 ].)
Question Presented
Does the appellant’s amended complaint state a cause of action %
Does the Subject, Policy Provide Indemnity Against an Action for Malicious Prosecution?
At the outset we must bear in mind that we are dealing with the sufficiency of the amended complaint as to whether it states a cause of action. We are accordingly required to treat all of the facts therein stated as true.
5 The nature, scope and function of the summary judgment procedure was recently discussed with particularity by Justice Sullivan of this court in Snider v. Snider, 200 Cal.App.2d 741 [ 19 Cal.Rptr. 709 ].
6 A ruling or decision, itself correct in law, will not be disturbed on appeal merely because given for the wrong reason. If right on any theory of law applicable to the case it must be sustained regardless of the grounds upon which the court reached its conclusion. (Snider v. Snider, 200 Cal.App.2d 741 , 756 [ 19 Cal.Rptr. 709 ]; Davey v. Southern Pac. Co., 116 Cal. 325 , 329 [ 48 P. 117 ]; 3 Within, Cal. Procedure, p. 2234.)
The inquiry in the present ease is focused primarily upon the meaning of the word “accident” as used in the policy. Before proceeding to interpret the meaning of the word “accident, ’ ’ it should be noted that the policy provisions in question do not use the words “malicious prosecution” nor do they make specific reference to the tortious liability known as “malicious prosecution.” By its terminology the policy proposes to indemnify the insured against damages for bodily injury sustained by any person, “ ‘caused by accident and arising out of the retail store hazard.’ ” (Italics added.) This provision obviously has reference to an injury to a person other than the insured because it purports “ ‘ [t] o pay on behalf of the insured all sums which the insured shall become legally obligated to pay as damages because of bodily injury’ ” sustained by such person.
Webster defines accident as “an unexpected happening causing loss or injury which is not due to any fault or misconduct on the part of the person injured but from the consequences of which he may be entitled to some legal relief” “an unforeseen unplanned event or condition. ...” (Web
Our immediate inquiry is directed, accordingly, to the determination of whether there was an occurrence in the case at bench which may be denoted an accident, and if so, to determine who sustained it. As we have pointed out above, the policy in question did not purport to insure the appellant for an accident happening to him, but to a third person. The only such person involved in the present case was Mrs. Johnson. The crucial question, then, is whether the amended complaint alleges facts sufficient to show that Mrs. Johnson sustained an accident. Before turning to the complaint to make this determination we are persuaded to state that, in our opinion, the arrest or prosecution of a person, who is innocent and has no reason to expect that he will be arrested or prosecuted for a crime, is, as to such person, an accident. As to that person, such an occurrence is a casualty, that is, something out of the usual course of events which happens
The gist of the appellant’s amended complaint is that he filed a criminal complaint against Mrs. Johnson pursuant to which she was arrested; that the said criminal complaint was thereafter dismissed by the district attorney; and that thereupon Mrs. Johnson instituted an action against the appellant for malicious prosecution which he was required to defend and in which he prevailed after a trial, thus incurring certain expenses for which he seeks indemnity from the respondents. The said complaint further alleges that the trial court in said action found that his actions were done in good faith, with probable cause and without malice. Aside from the allegations pertaining to the arrest and the dismissal of the criminal complaint, the amended complaint states that the appellant was sued for “malicious prosecution’’ and that a trial and judgment ensued thereon. While none of the allegations of Mrs. Johnson’s complaint, nor any of the facts adduced at the trial thereon are set out in the complaint before us, and while in such respect the complaint may have been vulnerable to a special demurrer, we are, in the absence of such special attack, entitled to assume that the cause proceeded to trial and judgment upon a complaint which stated a cause of action for malicious prosecution. The elements of such a cause of action are: (1) A judicial proceeding favorably terminated; (2) want of probable cause; and (3) malice. (Oppenheimer v. Tamblyn, 162 Cal.App.2d 293 , 295 [ 327 P.2d 574 ]; Oppenheimer v. Tamblyn, 167 Cal.App.2d 158 , 160 [ 334 P.2d 152 ].) It is also necessary, of course, that there be an injury or damage suffered by the plaintiff as a result of the other elements of the cause of action. (D'Alessandro v. Pickford, 22 Cal.App.2d 239 , 242 [ 70 P.2d 646 ].) The principal injury resulting from the malicious prosecution of a criminal charge is to the feelings and reputation of the defendant therein caused by the accusation and his arrest and imprisonment thereunder. (Ray Wong v Earle C. Anthony, Inc., 199 Cal. 15 , 19 [ 247 P. 894 ]; Hyashida v. Kakimoto, 132 Cal.App. 743 , 746 [ 23 P.2d 311 ],)[7] We thus have a complaint in the instant case which alleges, in essence, that Mrs. Johnson brought an action against the
7 The complaint herein alleges that in the malicious prosecution action Mrs. Johnson claimed mental suffering and physical suffering and physical injuries by reason of the arrest.
son sustained an accident as a result of her said arrest. We are also of the opinion, moreover, that this accident occurred as a result of a “retail store hazard” as that term is defined in the policy. It is a matter of common knowledge that worthless cheeks are constantly being presented to retail establishments and that arrests and criminal prosecutions are often initiated as a result thereof.
The policy in question does not, however, cover every accidental injury which may be suffered by a third party as the result of such a “retail store hazard.” Under the terms of the policy the respondent agrees “ [t]o pay on behalf of the insured all sums which the insured shall become legally obligated to pay as damages. ...” (Italics added.) Under the law of this state there is no liability for procuring the arrest or prosecution of another under lawful process, unless it is from malicious motives and without probable cause. (See Floro v. Lawton, 187 Cal.App.2d 657 , 667 [ 10 Cal.Rptr. 98 ]; and Singleton v. Perry, 45 Cal.2d 489 , 494 [ 289 P.2d 794 ].) In other words, no one can recover damages for a legal arrest unless there are present the elements which comprise the tort of malicious prosecution. A legal arrest without the elements of want of probable cause, malice, and a judicial proceeding favorably terminated is damage without a wrong. Accordingly, if Mrs. Johnson was entitled to recover
8 While it is not enough to merely show that the criminal proceeding was dismissed, it being necessary to show the grounds of dismissal so as to indicate that it was upon the merits and not upon technical grounds, for procedural reasons, or for any other reason not inconsistent with guilt (Jaffe v. Stone, 18 Cal.2d 146 , 150 [ 114 P.2d 335 , 135 A.L.R. 775 ]; Oppenheimer v. Tamblyn, 162 Cal.App.2d 293 , 296 [ 327 P.2d 574 ]; Oppenheimer v. Tamblyn, 167 Cal.App.2d 158 , 161 [ 334 P.2d 152 ]), we must again assume that the malicious prosecution action proceeded to judgment on a complaint which stated a cause of action.
The tort of malicious prosecution connotes something more blameworthy than an act of negligence. (Richter v. Neilson, 11 Cal.App.2d 503 , 507 [ 54 P.2d 54 ].) The chief element of a cause of action for malicious prosecution is malice. To constitute malice there must be a motive or purpose, and it must be an improper one. (Richter v. Neilson, supra, p. 507; Masterson v. Pig’n Whistle Corp., 161 Cal.App.2d 323 , 338 [ 326 P.2d 918 ].) The requirement in a malicious prosecution case is evidence which establishes bad faith, or the absence of an honest and sincere belief that the prosecution was justified by the existent facts and circumstances. (Singleton v. Singleton, 68 Cal.App.2d 681 , 696 [ 157 P.2d 886 ]; Grove v. Purity Stores, Ltd., 153 Cal.App.2d 234 ,
9 Section 533 of the Insurance Code provides: “An insurer is not liable for a loss caused by the wilful act of the insured; but he is not exonerated by the negligence of the insured, or the insured’s agents or others.”
10 Section 1668 of the Civil Code provides: “All contracts which have for their object, directly or indirectly, to exempt anyone . . . for his own fraud, or willful injury to the person or property of another, . . . are against the policy of the law.”
It is contended by the appellant, however, that while the respondent insurance company may not be required to indemnify for the damages assessed in a malicious prosecution action, it is, nevertheless, required to defend such an action. The argument is made by the appellant that section 533 merely states that the insurer is not liable for a loss caused by the willful act, but that it does not state that the insurer is not obligated to defend an action which is founded on a willful act. The gist of the argument is that the willfulness of the act cannot be determined until the action is tried and a determination made with respect thereto. Moreover, says the appellant, the trial court did, in the subject malicious prosecution action, make a finding that the appellant did not commit a willful act when it found that he did not act with malice and from a want of probable cause. The effect of this argument is that it at once impales the appellant on the horns of a dilemma. If the procuring of Mrs. Johnson’s arrest was not willful, then, as we have pointed out above, there was no liability from the beginning. On the other hand, if the arrest was willful, there likewise was no liability from the beginning. The obligation to defend is predicated upon liability for a loss covered by the policy. Under the subtitle, “Defense,” the policy provides as follows: “With respect to such insurance as is aforded [sic] by this policy, the Company shall (a) defend any suit against the insured alleging such injury. . . (Italics added.)
The general rule is that the obligation to defend is measured by comparing the terms of the insurance policy with the pleadings of the claimants who sue the insured. (Liberty Bldg. Co. v. Royal Indem,. Co., 177 Cal.App.2d 583 , 587 [ 2 Cal.Rptr. 329 ]; Bonfils v. Pacific Auto. Ins. Co., 165 Cal.App. 2d 152 , 160 [ 331 P.2d 766 ]; Osborne v. Security Ins. Co., supra, 155 Cal.App.2d 201 , 206; Ford v. Providence Washington Ins. Co., 151 Cal.App.2d 431 , 437 [ 311 P.2d 930 ]; Remmer v. Glens Falls Indem. Co., 140 Cal.App.2d 84 , 90 [ 295 P.2d 19 , 57 A.L.R.2d 1379 ]; Ritchie v. Anchor Casualty Co., 135 Cal.App.2d 245 , 250 [ 286 P.2d 1000 ]; Lamb v. Belt Casualty Co., 3 Cal.App.2d 624 , 630 [ 40 P.2d 311 ]; Greer-Bobbins Co, v. Pacific Surety Co., 37 Cal.App. 540 ,
pointed out in the Qreer-Robbins Co. ease, the insurer’s obligation to defend is one that must be determined before the outcome of the action against the assured, not thereafter. The insurer is not required to defend an action against the insured when the complaint in that action shows on its face that the injury complained of is not only not covered by, but is excluded from the policy. (Remmer v. Glens Falls Indem. Co., supra, p. 90.) In the present case the amended complaint of the appellant states that the action brought against him by Mrs. Johnson was one for malicious prosecution. Since the respondent insurance company could not be liable under the policy for damages predicated upon the tort of malicious prosecution, the respondent insurance company was not obligated to defend such action.
The appellant relies upon Lamb, and Walters v. American Ins. Co., 185 Cal.App.2d 776 [ 8 Cal.Rptr. 665 ], The Lamb ease is in accord with the general rule just alluded to. Walters is readily distinguishable from the case at bench. In Lamb a truck and trailer were involved in an accident with another automobile; the truck was insured with one company and the trailer with another; the automobile had collided with the rear end of the trailer; the company insuring the truck refused to defend an ensuing damage suit brought by the driver of the automobile against the owner of the truck and trailer wherein the complaint alleged that said owner had “ ‘carelessly and negligently stood and operated and maintained said truck and trailer’ (p. 628) a judgment resulted against the owner of the truck and trailer and an action was brought upon the judgment against the company insuring the truck; the insurance company defended on the ground that there was no negligence on the part of the truck, claiming that it had so determined by an independent investigation; on appeal the court said: “In determining whether or not the appellant was bound to defend, its denial of liability and refusal to defend, based upon its own investigation of the facts in the ease, are to be disregarded. The language of its contract must first be looked to, and next, the allegations of the complaints in each action for damages against the insured. The complaints clearly allege damages resulting from an
In Walters a claim was made against the insured for an assault and battery. The carrier of his personal liability policy refused to defend the claim on the ground that an assault and battery is a willful act. The insured settled with the claimant in order to preserve his credit standing, and thereupon brought an action against the carrier for declaratory relief and for recovery of the amount of the settlement. In reversing a judgment for the defendant the appellate court held that there was no action or pleading filed by the claimant whereby the insurer’s duty to defend would be measured. It accordingly concluded that the question was open in the proceeding before it and thereupon proceeded to interpret the exclusion provision in the policy. The exclusion there was to the effect that the coverage did not apply to injury ‘ ‘ ‘ caused intentionally by or at the direction of the insured.’ ” (P. 779.) The trial court had found that the insured had acted in self-defense, but held that because the settlement was made to protect the insured’s credit and not as the result of any legal obligation there was no liability on the part of the carrier. The appellate court held, however, that in view of the trial court’s finding that the insured had acted in self-defense the injury was not “intentional” within the terminology of the policy before it. The reviewing court reasoned that under the Buss-Field Corp. case, a person acting in self-defense is not committing a willful act under section 533, because while he “ ‘intended the act,’ ” he “acted by chance and without a preconceived design to inflict injury just as though he were acting intentionally, although negligently, and injured someone.” (P. 783.) The appellate court thereupon concluded that the element of wrongfulness or misconduct contemplated in section 533 was absent. In the ease at bench we have a pleading by which the insurer’s duty to defend can be measured. In our opinion, Walters is not subject to the interpretation that in every ease there is an obligation to defend until it is determined whether or not the act complained of was in fact willful. Such a rule would require the defense, in every instance, of actions in which it clearly appears from the face of the pleading and the terms of the policy that there can be no indemnity for loss. Such a holding is inconsistent with the well-established principle of law announced by a host of authorities that an insurer’s obligation
We accordingly conclude that the amended complaint in the present case does not state a cause of action. It appears to us, moreover, that it cannot be amended to state a cause of action. Therefore, the judgment as entered should stand.
The judgment is affirmed.
Bray, P. J., and Sullivan, J., concurred.
Cases cited
- Tracy v. Ferrera 144 Cal.App.2d 827 p. 610
- Beverage v. Canton Placer Mining Co. 43 Cal.2d 769 p. 610
- City of Santa Monica v. Royal Indemnity Co. 157 Cal.App.2d 50 at 54-55 p. 611
- Continental Casualty Co. v. Phoenix Construction Co. 46 Cal.2d 423 at 437-438 p. 611
- Arenson v. National Automobile & Casualty Insurance 45 Cal.2d 81 at 83, at 84 p. 611, p. 615
- Fageol Truck & Coach Co. v. Pacific Indemnity Co. 18 Cal.2d 731 at 747 p. 611
- Osborne v. Security Insurance 155 Cal.App.2d 201 at 207-208, at 206 p. 611, p. 616
- Russ-Field Corp. v. Underwriters at Lloyd's 164 Cal.App.2d 83 at 92 p. 611, p. 615
- Geddes & Smith, Inc. v. Saint Paul Mercuy Indemnity Co. 51 Cal.2d 558 p. 612
- Richards v. Travelers Insurance Co. 89 Cal. 170 at 176 p. 612
- Price v. Occidental Life Ins. Co. 169 Cal. 800 at 802 p. 612
- Rock v. Travelers' Insurance Co. 172 Cal. 462 at 465 p. 612
- Moore v. Fidelity & Casualty Co. of New York 203 Cal. 465 at 471 p. 612
- Hyer v. Inter-Insurance Exchange of the Automobile Club 77 Cal.App. 343 p. 612
- Oppenheimer v. Tamblyn 162 Cal.App.2d 293 at 295 p. 613
- Oppenheimer v. Tamblyn 167 Cal.App.2d 158 at 160 p. 613
- D'Alessandro v. Pickford 22 Cal.App.2d 239 at 242 p. 613
- Wong v. Earle C. Anthony, Inc. 199 Cal. 15 at 19 p. 613
- Hayashida v. Kakimoto 132 Cal.App. 743 at 746 p. 613
- Jaffe v. Stone 18 Cal.2d 146 at 150 p. 614
- Floro v. Lawton 187 Cal.App.2d 657 at 667 p. 614
- Singleton v. Perry 45 Cal.2d 489 at 494 p. 614
- Abbott v. Western National Indemnity Co. 165 Cal.App.2d 302 at 305 p. 615
- Richter v. Neilson 11 Cal.App.2d 503 at 507 p. 615
- Masterson v. Pig'n Whistle Corp. 161 Cal.App.2d 323 at 338 p. 615
- Singleton v. Singleton 68 Cal.App.2d 681 at 696 p. 615
- Grove v. Purity Stores, Ltd. 153 Cal.App.2d 234 p. 615
- Liberty Building Co. v. Royal Indemnity Co. 177 Cal.App.2d 583 at 587 p. 616
- Bonfils v. Pacific Automobile Insurance 165 Cal.App. 2d 152 at 160 p. 616
- Ford v. Providence Washington Insurance 151 Cal.App.2d 431 at 437 p. 616
- Remmer v. Glens Falls Indemnity Co. 140 Cal.App.2d 84 at 90 p. 616
- Ritchie v. Anchor Casualty Co. 135 Cal.App.2d 245 at 250 p. 616
- Lamb v. Belt Casualty Co. 3 Cal.App.2d 624 at 630 p. 616
- Greer-Robbins Co. v. Pacific Surety Co. 37 Cal.App. 540 p. 616
- Walters v. American Insurance 185 Cal.App.2d 776 p. 617