Majority
Petitioner, the Department of Employment of the State of California, seeks an annulment of that portion of the award of respondent Industrial Accident Commission (hereinafter sometimes referred to as respondent) disallowing a claim of lien for certain hospital expenses.
Question Presented
Are the hospital benefits provided by Unemployment Insurance Code section 2801 allowable as a lien against workmen’s compensation awards under Labor Code section 4903?
The Record
Joseph Eberle suffered an injury in November 1962 for which he was hospitalized on December 1, 1962. Disability
1 Unemp. Ins. Code, § 2801, reads: 1 ‘ During confinement in a hospital, an individual eligible for benefits under this part is entitled to receive in addition to all benefits otherwise provided in this division and irrespective of his receipt of remuneration from his employer, the amount of twelve dollars ($12) for each day not in excess of 20 days in any one disability benefit period, during which he is so confined pursuant to orders of his physician. ’ ’
2 Unemp. Ins. Code, §2711, reads: “Where an individual eligible for additional benefits during hospital confinement has first given his written consent with respect to a particular claim, the additional benefits shall be paid directly to the hospital in which he is confined in accordance with authorized regulations adopted by the director prescribing procedure governing such payments. Any additional benefits during hospital confinement in excess of the daily rate of charge for care, including special care or treatment by a hospital, shall be paid to the disabled individual as otherwise provided in this division. ’ ’
3 Lab. Code, § 4903, at the times pertinent to these proceedings, read in part: “The commission may determine, and allow as a lien against any amount to be paid as compensation: ... (b) The reasonable expense incurred by or on behalf of the injured employee, as provided by Article 2 of Chapter 2 of Part 2 of this division. ...(f) The amount of unemployment compensation disability benefits which have been paid under or pursuant to the Unemployment Insurance Code in those eases where, pending a determination under Division 4 of this code, there was uncertainty whether such benefits were payable under the Unemployment Insurance Code or payable hereunder; provided, however, that any lien *536 under this subdivision shall be allowed and paid as provided in section 4904.” Lab. Code, §4904, in part, read: “In determining the amount of lien to be allowed for unemployment compensation disability benefits under subdivision (f) of section 4903 the commission shall allow such lien in the amount of benefits which it finds were paid for the same day or days of disability for which an award of compensation for temporary disability indemnity is made. ’ ’
Contentions
Petitioner contends that hospital benefits provided for by section 2801 of the Unemployment Insurance Code are allowable lien claims under Labor Code section 4903 when paid to a hospital by way of assignment pursuant to Unemployment Insurance Code section 2711. It claims the benefits paid constitute hospital expenses incurred by it on behalf of an injured employee within the meaning of Labor Code section 4903, subdivision (b). Respondent, in turn, claims that pursuant to Labor Code section 4903, subdivision (f), the only payments made under the Unemployment Insurance Code for which a lien may be allowed are payments of disability benefits and that the lien allowed may only attach to an award, made to the claimant, of compensation for temporary disability indemnity. Respondent asserts that its contention is consonant with the holding and reasoning of Fireman’s Fund Indem. Co. v. Industrial Acc. Com., 170 Cal.App.2d 412 [ 339 P.2d 225 ], To this last assertion petitioner responds that the issue is governed by the later case of Gerson v.
4 In her report recommending a denial of this petition, respondent’s referee makes the following statement: “In my opinion the decision I made is the only decision that could be made in view of the wording of the decision in Fireman’s Fund Insurance Co. v. I.A.C., Hwyck, et al, 24 C.C.C. 109 [ 170 Cal.App.2d 412 ( 339 P.2d 225 )]. * However, I feel the decision in that case was not correct and that on review another court would either rule to the contrary or restrict the decision in Huyicle [sic] to a factual situation identical to that presented therein.”
The Fireman’s Fund Case
Fireman’s, an unemployment insurance carrier, had issued a policy of insurance under a voluntary plan adopted by an employer and its employees pursuant to the provisions of the Unemployment Insurance Code. Ries, one of such employees, asserted a claim against his employer alleging that he had sustained a disabling injury in the course and scope of his employment. The employer’s workman’s compensation carrier denied the claim, whereupon Ries applied and received from Fireman’s disability benefits and an additional sum for hospital benefits pursuant to the terms of the insurance policy and section 2801 of the Unemployment Insurance Code. Ries had in the interim filed an application for a hearing upon his claim for compensation. Fireman’s gave notice of claim of lien upon any award of compensation made to Ries. Hearings were had upon Ries’ 'application. The Industrial Accident Commission found that Ries sustained an injury arising out of and in the course of his employment and made an award of compensation. The award denied Fireman’s a lien for the hospital benefits paid by it. Upon proceedings to review the orders of the commission the reviewing court held that an employee is not entitled to receive both workmen’s compensation benefits and unemployment disability benefits. The appellate court held, however, that under sections 4903, subdivision (f), and 4904 of the Labor Code the commission may only allow a lien for unemployment compensation disability benefits and that the hospital benefits provided for by section 2801 of the Unemployment Insurance Code or by any voluntary plan are not disability benefits within the meaning of either the Labor Code or the Unemployment Insurance Code. The court went on to say, moreover, that Ries was entitled to the hospitalization under the workmen’s compensation provision of the Labor Code and that he was not, under section 2804 of the Unemployment Insurance Code,[6]
5 Unemp. Ins. Code, § 2804, reads: “When an individual is furnished or is compensated for hospitalization pursuant to the Workmen’s Compensation Law or an employer’s liability law of this State or of any other state or of the federal government he shall be ineligible to receive the twelve dollars ($12) per day as provided in section 2801 for any day for which he is receiving or is eligible to receive in the form of cash payments benefits under the Workmen’s Compensation Law or an employer’s liability law of this State or of the federal government. ’ ’
The Gerson Case
In the Gerson case petitioner sustained an injury on December 6 in the course of her employment. She made no claim that her injuries were industrially sustained until February 26. In the meantime her medical and hospital expenses had been paid by Blue Cross under a plan of hospital and medical service contracted by her husband's employer with Blue Cross for the benefit of his employees and their families. This contract specifically excluded from the services which Blue Cross would be obligated to furnish any condition for which indemnities were recoverable under any Workmen’s Compensation Law. Blue Cross continued to pay these benefits until August 3, when petitioner filed an application for workmen’s compensation benefits. It was not until the filing of this application that Blue Cross received notice that petitioner’s injury was industrial in character. It thereupon filed with the Industrial Accident Commission its claim of lien. The commission disallowed the lien. In annulling the award the reviewing court held that Blue Cross was not entitled to a lien for the benefits prior to February 26, because petition
Reconciling the Fireman’s Fund and Gerson Cases.
A significant distinction to be recognized at the very outset is that the Gerson ease does not involve a lien for benefits paid under the Unemployment Insurance Code. The essence of the holding in Gerson is that the commission may allow, as a lien against an award pursuant to Labor Code section 4903, subdivision (b), the reasonable expenses incurred for or on behalf of an injured employee in obtaining “medical and hospital" treatment for an industrial injury by one who is obligated to furnish such treatment for a nonindustrial disability only, where such expenses have been assumed under
6 Lab. Code, §4600, in pertinent part, provides as follows; “Medical, surgical, and hospital treatment, including nursing, medicines, medical and surgical supplies, crutches, and apparatus, including artificial members, which is reasonably required to cure or relieve from the effects of the injury shall be provided by the employer. In the case of Ms neglect or refusal reasonably to do so, the employer is liable for the reasonable expense incurred by or on behalf of the employee in providing treatment. ’ ’
7 The opinion of the court in both Fireman’s Fund and Gerson was written by Nourse, Justice pro tern.
The essential holding of the Fireman’s Fund case, on the other hand, is that the additional hospital benefits paid pursuant to Unemployment Insurance Code section 2801 are not disability benefits within the meaning of the Unemployment Insurance Code and the Labor Code, and in particular section 4903, subdivision (f), of the latter. Section 4903, subdivision (f), was specifically enacted to provide a means whereby the Department of Employment, or an employer or his insurer under a voluntary plan for the payment of disability benefits, could recover for the payment of such benefits when it was finally determined that the employee was entitled to workmen’s compensation because the disability was industrially caused. (Bryant v. Industrial Acc. Com., 37 Cal.2d 215 , 219 [ 231 P.2d 32 ] ; Garcia v. Industrial Acc. Com., 41 Cal.2d 689 , 692-693 [ 263 P.2d 8 ]; Fireman’s Fund Indem. Co. v.
In deciding that hospital benefits paid under Unemployment Insurance Code section 2801 are not disability payments within the meaning of Labor Code section 4903, subdivision (f), Fireman’s Fund does not hold that an entity providing such hospital benefits is precluded in every instance from asserting a lien for reimbursement for the benefits. It should be here noted that Fireman’s Fund was dealing with a private carrier under a voluntary plan for the payment of disability payments, and not with the Department of Employment.[10] As we view Fireman’s Fund it was
8 Unemp. Ins. Code, § 2629, reads: ' ‘ Except as provided in this section, an individual is not eligible for disability benefits for any day of unemployment and disability for which he has received, or is entitled to receive benefits, in the form of cash payments for temporary disability indemnity, under a workmen's compensation law, or employer’s liability law of the State, or of any other state, or of the Federal Government. If such cash payments are less than the amount he would otherwise receive as disability benefits under this part, he shall be entitled to receive for such day, if otherwise eligible, disability benefits, reduced by the amount of such cash payments.___”
9 Unemp. Ins. Code, § 3251, provides that an employer or a majority of his employees, or both, may apply to the Director of Employment for approval of a voluntary plan for the payment of disability benefits, and that the benefits for loss of wages under such plan shall be separately stated from other benefits, if any. The plan may provide for the assumption by an admitted disability insurer of the liability of the employer to pay the benefits afforded by the plan (§§ 3254, subd. (d), 3258), in which case, the insurer is substituted for the employer with respect to any assessments which relate to the portion of the voluntary plan insured by such insurer. (§ 3259.) When such a voluntary plan is approved *542 the employee is not entitled to benefits from the Disability Fund provided for in the Unemp. Ins. Code (§ 3253; see §§ 3001, 3004, 2625), but receives the benefits from the employer or his insurer under the provisions of the voluntary plan.
10 Ins. Code, § 106, provides as follows: “Disability insurance includes insurance appertaining to injury, disablement or death resulting to the insured from accidents, and appertaining to disablements resulting to the insured from sickness. ’ ’
11 Unemp. Ins. Code, § 3254, subd. (d), in part provides that if a voluntary plan provides for insurance, the form of the insurance policies to be issued must have been approved by the Insurance Commissioner and that such policies are to be issued by an admitted disability insurer.
Unemployment Insurance Code sections 2801 and 2804 Construed
Section 2801 provides, in essence, that an individual eligible for unemployment disability benefits is entitled, in addition to such benefits, to the sum of $12 for each day he is confined in a hospital pursuant to order of his physician not in excess of 20 days in any one disability period. The waiting period requirement prerequisite to the receipt of disability benefits is not applicable to such hospital benefits. (§ 2802.)[13] Section 2804 provides, however, that when a person is furnished or is compensated for hospitalization pursuant to the Workmen’s Compensation Law he is ineligible to receive the hospital benefits provided for in section 2801 for any day for which he is receiving or is eligible to receive, in the form of cash payments, benefits under the Workmen’s Compensation Law. It is apparent, therefore, that before section 2804 may be involved two conditions are necessary: (1) The individual must be furnished or be compensated for hospitalization under the Workmen’s Compensation Law, and (2) he must be receiving or be eligible to receive workmen’s compensation. It is convenient to point out here that pursuant to section 4650 of the Labor Code there is no waiting period for the payment of workmen’s compensation where the injury necessitates hospitalization. In such a case the disability payment shall be made from the first day the injured employee leaves work or is hospitalized.
The Workmen’s Compensation Law and the Unemployment Insurance Code should be construed together so as to effectuate the legislative intent. (Aetna Life Ins. Co. v. Industrial Acc. Com., 38 Cal.2d 599 , 604 [ 241 P.2d 530 ].) As indicated by the decisions of our Supreme Court in
12 Unemp. Ins. Code, §2802, provides: “An individual eligible for additional benefits under this chapter shall not be subject to any waiting period requirement as a condition precedent to the receipt of any benefits under this part during the disability which caused the confinement. ’ ’ Unemp. Ins. Code, § 2627, applicable to disability benefits, provides in pertinent part as follows: “A disabled individual is eligible to receive disability benefits .. . only if the director finds that: ... (b) He has been unemployed and disabled for a waiting period of seven consecutive days during each disability benefit period with respect to which waiting period no benefits are payable; ...”
Allowance of IAen Pursuant to Labor Code section 4903, subdivision (b).
Consonant with the foregoing principles, and in conformity with what we believe to be the legislative intent, an
13 The Bryant case was then construing § 207(b) of the Unemployment Insurance Act (Stats. 1947, First Ex. Sess. 1946, ch. 81, § 1, as amended in 1947; 3 Leering’s Gen. Laws Act 8780d). § 207(h) became § 2629 of the Unemp. Ins. Code when the latter was enacted in 1953. Subsequent amendments to § 207(b) and its successor, §2629, have not changed the substance of the statute.
The Instant Case
Applying the rationale of the cases discussed to the case at bench, we are satisfied that petitioner is entitled to a
Although the instant case involves a situation where the hospital benefits provided for by Unemployment Insurance Code section 2801 were paid directly to the hospital pursuant to the employee’s written consent as provided in section 2711 of that code, we do not hold that compliance with the latter section is a condition precedent to the allowance of the subject lien. Section 2801 contemplates that the benefits therein provided be paid.to the individual directly, and not to a hospital, unless the individual eligible for such benefits gives his written consent as provided in section 2711. These sections, of course, are intended to apply, as we have hereinabove pointed out, to the payment of hospital benefits due where the injury is nonindustrial. Accordingly, where they are paid out under circumstances supporting a belief that the injury is not service-connected, as hereinbefore discussed, the lien is allowable, in a proper case, whether the hospital benefits are paid directly to the hospital, with or without the employee’s written consent, or directly to the employee himself.
For the reasons above stated, that portion of the award which denies petitioner’s claim of lien for hospital benefits paid by it to St. Mary’s Hospital is annulled, and the cause is remanded to the Industrial Accident Commission for the purpose of determining the reasonableness of the amount
Bray, P. J., and Sullivan, J., concurred.
Footnotes
- * Said case is cited in the appellate reports as Fireman’s Fund Indem. Co. v. Industrial Ace. Com.
Cases cited
- Fireman's Fund Indemnity Co. v. Industrial Accident Commission 170 Cal.App.2d 412 p. 536
- Gerson v. Industrial Accident Commission 188 Cal.App.2d 735 p. 537
- Department of Mental Hygiene v. Industrial Accident Commission 183 Cal.App.2d 832 at 833-834 p. 540
- Simien v. Industrial Accident Commission 138 Cal.App.2d 397 at 399-400 p. 540
- California Union Insurance v. Industrial Accident Commission 183 Cal.App.2d 644 at 648 p. 540
- Western Union Telegraph Co. v. Fibush 4 Cal.2d 185 at 187-188 p. 540
- Bryant v. Industrial Accident Commission 37 Cal.2d 215 at 219 p. 540
- Garcia v. Industrial Accident Commission 41 Cal.2d 689 at 692-693 p. 540
- Aetna Life Insurance v. Industrial Accident Commission 38 Cal.2d 599 at 604 p. 543