Majority
This is an action by plaintiff, Alice Polk, to recover the proceeds of insurance upon the life of her husband, Percy Polk, under a group life insurance policy issued by defendant The Equitable Life Assurance Society of the United States to defendant Colgate-Palmolive Company, in which action the insurance company cross-complained to interplead the parties claiming the proceeds thereof, namely, Alice Polk and defendant Charles Polk.
The trial court sitting without a jury awarded plaintiff $1,400 as her community interest in the total proceeds of $6,800, and the balance thereof to Charles Polk. Plaintiff appeals from the judgment entered by the court and from the order denying her motion to vacate the judgment and enter a different one.[1]
Alice Polk (hereinafter called Alice), married Percy Polk (hereinafter called Percy), on November 29, 1947. At the time of his marriage and until his death Percy was an employee of Colgate-Palmolive Company (hereinafter called Colgate). The Equitable Life Assurance Society of the United States (hereinafter called Equitable), issued a group life insurance policy to Colgate insuring the lives of eligible employees. Pursuant to said group policy Percy was issued a life insurance certificate, with an effective date of February 4, 1948, in the amount of $300, and another such certificate,
1 An order of denial of a motion to vacate a judgment and enter a different one under Code Civ. Proe., § 663, is appealable as a special order after final judgment under Code Civ. Proc., § 963, notwithstanding that the same grounds could be urged on an appeal from the judgment. (Socol v. King, 34 Cal.2d 292 , 296 [ 209 P.2d 577 ]; Sinclair v. Baker, 219 Cal.App.2d 817 , 820 [ 33 Cal.Rptr. 522 ].)
When the aforementioned certificates of insurance were issued, Alice was designated the beneficiary thereof. Effective July 1, 1954, Percy changed the beneficiary designation to his brother, Charles Polk (hereinafter called Charles), respondent on this appeal. This designation remained in force at the time of Percy’s death. Following his death, Alice commenced this action to recover proceeds of the insurance and for general relief. Equitable deposited $6,800, being the total proceeds of both insurance certificates, with the clerk of the court. Pursuant to stipulation, $200 was ordered paid as attorney’s fees for Equitable and Colgate.[2] Prior to trial the sum of $3,000 was released to Charles out of the said proceeds on deposit. Although the record does not disclose how or in what manner such release was effected, it was stated in the respective pretrial statements and in the pretrial order that said sum of $3,000 was released to Charles. Consequently, at the time of trial a total of $3,600 remained on deposit with the court.
Based on the testimony, the trial court found that Percy was abandoned by Alice in late 1949 and continuously thereafter; that Alice was not justified by any misconduct on Percy’s part in abandoning him, and also that Alice never offered to return to him prior to his death. The court further found that all premiums for the said life insurance represented deductions from Percy’s earnings at Colgate and premiums contributed by Colgate, and that the latter pay
2 Originally both Equitable and Colgate were defendants in the case. As noted, Equitable filed a cross-complaint in the nature of interpleader alleging that it had no interest in the insurance proceeds and was willing to deposit the amount in dispute with the clerk of the court. The parties entered into a stipulation wherein it was agreed that upon deposit of the disputed insurance proceeds by Equitable with the clerk of the court, a judgment would be entered discharging Equitable and Colgate from all further liability with respect to any such insurance.
Crucial to the determination of this appeal is the question whether Alice abandoned Percy within the meaning of section 175 of the Civil Code[3] which provides, in pertinent part, as follows: “A husband abandoned by his wife is not liable for her support until she offers to return, unless she was justified by his misconduct, in abandoning him, and the earnings of the husband during the period of unjustified abandonment, prior to such offer, are his separate property; . . . ” The last mentioned proviso was added to section 175 by amendment in 1955. Charles concedes that Percy’s earnings prior to the effective date of the 1955 amendment were not separate, but community property. He urges, however, that the earnings took the character of separate property from and after the effective date of the said amendment on September 7, 1955. Alice contends that the finding of abandonment is not sustained by the evidence, and that, moreover, even if such a finding is sustainable it cannot be predicated, in view of the provisions of section 175 prior to the 1955 amendment, on an abandonment occurring in 1949, but must be based upon the facts and circumstances existing on the effective date of the said amendment.[4]
The testimony adduced on the issue of abandonment was substantially as follows: Charles testified to several conversations between Alice and Percy in his presence. He testified that Alice objected to Percy’s alleged association with other women; his failure to return home on time; and to his mistreatment of her. He also stated that Alice threatened to eject Percy from their home. Charles testified further that Percy was not in the company of other women because Percy was usually in his company and that of another brother, Jethro; and that Percy denied his wife’s accusations. Charles ’ wife, Willie Mae, testified that Alice complained to her that Percy was seeing many women, and accused her of allowing Percy to meet other women in her home. Willie Mae stated that Alice threatened to eject Percy from the house
3 Unless otherwise noted all statutory references are to the Civil Code.
4 Prior to 1955, § 175 read as follows: “A husband abandoned by his wife is not liable for her support until she offers to return, unless she was justified, by his misconduct, in abandoning him; nor is he liable for her support when she is living separate from him, by agreement, unless such support is stipulated in the agreement. ’ ’
Alice took the stand as a rebuttal witness and testified as follows: that Percy beat, kicked and cursed her on numerous occasions; that he knocked her out and nearly paralyzed her brain; that he threw Cayenne pepper in her eyes; that he would keep his money and checks. She further testified that Percy would leave home for several days and nights, sometimes for a whole week; that he upset her too much, and that she saw Mm with other women. Alice’s cross-examination on rebuttal was not completed because of the trial court’s adjournment for the day. When court convened the following morning, Alice was not present.[5] Defense counsel thereupon moved that Alice’s rebuttal testimony be stricken on the ground that her nonappearance precluded Ms right of cross-examination. The court reserved its ruling on the motion “until the end of the case. ...” However, the record does not indicate whether the court formally ruled on the motion. Alice contends that since the court made no ruEng, her rebuttal testimony remains in the record as vaEd evidence. Charles contends that the record shows the trial court and aE counsel were proceeding on the assumption that Charles’ motion to strike the rebuttal testimony was granted. This assumption is without foundation in the record.
It is the general rule that where a cotirt reserves its ruling, but does not decide the point, the failure to rule formally is an implied ruling against the objection and in favor of admissibility if the objection is untenable and the court finds in accordance with the evidence. (Clopton v.
5 Alice did not thereafter make any appearance at the trial.
In the light of these principles, therefore, the court should have stricken Alice’s rebuttal testimony and it was error not to do so. It is apparent, however, that the error is not prejudicial. In view of the court’s finding on the issue of abandonment in favor of Charles he was not prejudiced by the admission of the rebuttal evidence. “ It is the general rule that a respondent in whose favor a judgment is rendered is interested only in maintaining the judgment, and he cannot on an appeal of the opposite party ask a court of review to consider any errors against him, even though the errors of which the respondent complains were objected to by him in the trial court and are argued or discussed in the respondent’s brief. [Citation.] The exception to this rule is that provided by the 1957 amendment to Code of Civil Procedure section 956 which provides that the respondent, or party in whose favor the judgment was given, may, without appealing from the judgment, request the court to and it may review the matters reviewable on appeal from the judgment for the purpose of determining whether or not the appellant was prejudiced by the error or errors upon which he relies for reversal or modification of the judgment from
The important question is whether there are sufficient facts showing an abandonment of Percy by Alice. Research reveals no California case defining the meaning of “abandonment” as that term is defined in section 175. We are satisfied, however, that “abandonment” is synonymous with “willful desertion” as that term is used by the statutes dealing with the dissolution of marriage[6] and as defined and applied by our appellate courts. In Black’s Law Dictionary (3d ed. 1933) abandonment is defined as: “The act of a husband or wife who leaves his or her consort willfully, and with an intention of causing perpetual separation.” In Ottinger v. Ottinger, 141 Cal.App.2d 220 [ 296 P.2d 347 ], the reviewing court was called upon to interpret section 175 as it read prior to the 1955 amendment. There the action was one for divorce based on the husband’s alleged desertion of his wife. He contended that his wife had deserted him and that therefore she was not entitled to share in his earnings during the period of separation. In upholding the finding that the husband deserted the wife, the appellate court held that his earnings during the separation were community property, and that the wife’s rights were vested, and that they could not be divested by the 1955 amendment to section 175. It is significant to note that while the reviewing court did not expressly undertake to define abandonment it equated the meaning of the term, as used in section 175, with desertion. Similarly, in Norwich, v. Norwich, 170 Cal.App.2d 806 [ 339 P.2d 574 ], it was held that under section 175, as amended in 1955, the earnings of a husband after the date of the wife’s unjustified desertion were his separate property. It is apparent from a reading of Ottinger and Norwich that the courts encountered no difficulty in applying section 175 to facts amounting to
6 See §§ 95 to 101, inclusive; 103 and 104.
Related precedents in this state equate abandonment to desertion. In order to prove abandonment of a child by a parent, “ ‘there must be an actual desertion, accompanied with an intention to entirely sever, so far as it is possible to do so, the parental relation and throw off all obligations growing out of the same.’ ” (Guardianship of Snowball, 156 Cal. 240 , 243 [ 104 P. 444 ]; Guardianship of Rutherford, 188 Cal.App.2d 202 , 206 [ 10 Cal.Rptr. 270 ] ; In re Jones, 131 Cal.App.2d 831 , 834 [ 281 P.2d 310 ] ; Guardianship of Marshall, 124 Cal.App.2d 807 , 810 [ 269 P.2d 160 , 936].) Respectable authorities in other jurisdictions use the terms “abandonment” and “desertion” interchangeably. In Watson v. Palmer, 219 Ark. 178 [ 240 S.W.2d 875 , 876], it was stated: “ ‘Desertion or abandonment consists of the separation of one spouse from the other without consent or justification, and with the intention of not returning.’ ” In State v. Carson, 228 N.C. 151 [ 44 S.E.2d 721 , 722], it was said: “Abandonment is more than mere separation. It is desertion—an unjustifiable separation coupled with the discontinuance of the marital obligation to support. ”
Section 95 defines “desertion” as “the voluntary separation of one of the married parties from the other with intent to desert”; and in section 96 it is provided that “the refusal of either party to dwell in the same house with the other party, when there is no just cause for such refusal, is desertion.” In section 98 it is provided that “Departure or absence of one party from the family dwelling-place, caused by cruelty or by threats of bodily harm from which danger would be reasonably apprehended from the other, is not desertion by the absent party, but it is desertion by the other party.” Other significant sections are section 99, which provides that “Separation by consent ... is not desertion,” and section 101, providing that “Consent to a separation is a revocable act, and if one of the parties afterwards, in good faith, seeks a reconciliation and restoration, but the other refuses it, such refusal is desertion.” Pertinent also is section 102 which reads as follows: “If one party deserts the other, and before the expiration of the statutory period required to make the desertion a cause of divorce, returns and offers in good faith to fulfill the marriage contract, and solicits condonation, the desertion is cured. If the other party
Turning to the instant case in the light of the foregoing principles, we are satisfied that the evidence was sufficient to support the finding that Alice abandoned Percy. It is not for us to retry the factual issues, but to adhere to the well-established rule that the trial court is the exclusive judge of questions of credibility of witnesses and weight of evidence, and that the determination of the trial court upon questions of fact is conclusive upon this court where there is any evidence fairly tending to support that determination. In the present case the evidence was such as to support the inference that the separation was not merely one by consent but one made with an intention to desert. There is ample evidence to support the inference that Alice intended to bring about a cessation of the marital relationship between herself and Percy, and that the conjugal schism, extending over a period in excess of 11 years, was of a permanent nature. In Hager v. Hager, 174 Cal.App.2d 546 [ 345 P.2d 68 ], the facts were somewhat similar to those in the case at bench. There it was held that a finding of desertion was supported by evidence which showed that a husband who had been jailed for 14 days, upon his return home, found himself unwelcome, was told by his wife that she did not want him around, that he was not to come around bothering her but was just to give her money, and that the husband left and
7 § 107 provides that willful desertion must continue for one year before it is a ground for divorce.
Alice’s testimony, on rebuttal, that all she intended was a temporary separation to endure only until Percy reversed his objectionable conduct; that he committed certain acts of cruelty towards her; that he consorted with other women; that she forgave him and offered to return to him in 1950, constitute evidence which the trial court weighed against the evidence adduced by Charles that Percy did not consort with other women; that Alice’s accusations were without foundation ; that she packed Percy’s bags and told him to leave; and that she didn’t want him. It should be here noted that the trial court, as the judge of the credibility of witnesses was entitled to reject all of Alice’s testimony. The trier of fact, as the exclusive judge of the credit and weight to be given the testimony of a witness, may reject such testimony even though uneontradicted or unimpeaehed when he does not act arbitrarily but does so upon sound and relevant considerations, such as the inherent improbability of the statements, the interest of the witness in the case, his motives, and the manner in which he testifies. (Camp v. Ortega, 209 Cal.App.2d 275 , 283 [ 25 Cal.Rptr. 837 ]; La Jolla Casa de Manana v. Hopkins, 98 Cal.App.2d 339 , 345-346 [ 219 P.2d 871 ]; Huth v. Katz, 30 Cal.2d 605 , 608-609 [ 184 P.2d 521 ].) Accordingly, under the state of the record, the trial court was not only justified in the inference that Alice abandoned Percy, but also that she made no offer to return to him during the period of the separation.
Alice contends the finding that she never offered to return to Percy is without evidentiary support. She asserts that it was Charles’ burden to establish the separate property character of Percy’s earnings, and that therefore it was not only his burden to establish that she abandoned Percy but also that she did not offer to return to him. It is apparently Alice’s position that the failure to offer to return is implicit in the concept of abandonment, and that in order to establish an abandonment there must be a showing that there was no offer to return. We do not agree with this contention, but are satisfied, from a reading of section 175, that “abandonment” and “offer to return” are separate concepts. This is evident from the language of the section which reads “A husband abandoned by his wife is not liable for her support until she offers to return, ... and the earnings of the husband during the period of unjustified abandonment, prior
It is further contended by Alice that even if it be found that she abandoned Percy in 1949, section 175 is nevertheless inapplicable because the 1955 amendment is not retroactive. The gist of her argument is that her justification for abandoning Percy must be measured not as of the time she abandoned Percy, but as of September 7, 1955, the effective date of the amendment to section 175. She asserts that since Percy was then living meretriciously with Eleanora, her abandonment was at that time no longer unjustified. Alice cites no authorities in support of these contentions. We find no merit in her assertion. As held in Ottinger v. Ottinger, supra, 141 Cal.App.2d 220 , there is no question that the 1955 amendment is not retroactive. This holding does not, however, imply that the abandonment itself must occur subsequent to the amendment. The proviso in section 175 relative to abandonment was not changed by the subject amendment. The only effect of the amendment was to make the husband’s earnings, where he was abandoned by the wife, his separate property. In Ottinger the husband abandoned his wife in 1937. Although the reviewing court held that the husband’s earnings between 1937 and 1953 (when the parties were di
Alice further argues that the trial court was not justified in finding that the insurance premiums which were paid by Colgate were Percy’s “earnings.” She relies on certain testimony of Mrs. Phillips, a payroll clerk for Colgate for nine years, who testified that she was familiar with writs of attachment and execution served on Colgate; that she determined what an employee had due him at the time of levy; and that, in computing the amount of earnings to which the employee was entitled, the amount contributed to Equitable by Colgate was not included. She also stated that the amount contributed by Colgate was not included as earnings in a particular employee’s W-2 form. Relying upon O’Connor v. Travelers Ins. Co., 169 Cal.App.2d 763 [ 337 P.2d 893 ], and Estate of Foy, 109 Cal.App.2d 329 [ 240 P.2d 685 ], Alice contends that since the amounts contributed by Colgate were not “earnings” they do not come within the purview of section 175. The O’Connor case is not in point. There the wife’s employer paid all the premiums on two life insurance policies directly to the insurance company. No deductions for such premiums were made from the wife’s salary. The wife named her son as the beneficiary. Upon her death her husband claimed one-half of the proceeds of said policies on the
Alice contends the rule that an apportionment must be established where property is acquired by separate and community funds cannot be followed in this case because there are two separate policies of insurance. This rule requires a determination of the premiums paid for each policy, and the portions thereof which constituted separate and community property. Alice asserts that the court’s findings of fact do not make such a determination but merely show a commingling of both kinds of property, therefore compelling the result that the insurance proceeds are community property. She asserts, therefore, that she is entitled to a recovery of not less than one-half of the total insurance proceeds. Preliminary to detailing the factual content of this issue, we set forth certain applicable legal principles. The proceeds of an insurance policy on the life of a husband are community property to the extent that the premiums were paid with community funds. (Travelers Ins. Co. v. Fancher, 219 Cal. 351 , 353 [ 26 P.2d 482 ]; Dixon Lumber Co. v. Peacock, 217 Cal. 415 , 418 [ 19 P.2d 233 ]; Estate of Foy, supra, 109 Cal.App.2d 329 , 333; Estate of Sears, 182 Cal.App.2d 525 , 530 [ 6 Cal.Rptr. 148 ] ; Field v. Bank of America, 100 Cal.App.2d 311 , 314-315 [ 223 P.2d 514 ]; Johnston v. Johnston, 106 Cal.App.2d 775 , 779 [ 236 P.2d 212 ].) In Modern Woodmen of America v. Gray, 113 Cal.App. 729 , 733-734 [ 299 P. 754 ], it was stated: “Where, as here, the life insurance is paid for partly with community and partly with separate funds the proceeds of the policy should in our judgment be apportioned in the same ratio that the amount of such community funds paid for premiums bears to the amount of separate funds paid for such purpose.” (See New York Life Ins. Co. v. Bank of Italy, 60 Cal.App. 602 [ 214 P. 61 ];
Mrs. Phillips was the only witness who testified concerning the amount of premiums deducted from Percy’s salary. She stated that he had accidental death and dismemberment insurance and accident and health insurance with Equitable, in addition to the life insurance; that the premiums on all the insurance were paid for through one deduction but in different amounts for each. Testifying from company payroll registers she stated that certain weekly deductions had been taken from Percy’s salary for insurance purposes, but that she did not know the amount or breakdown of any of the deductions made. She also stated that Colgate contributed a part of each employee’s insurance cost, and that she believed it was twice the amount the employee contributed. On cross-examination, however, she admitted that she had no knowledge of the amounts contributed by Colgate. Mrs. Phillips was recalled to the stand and was allowed to testify from a
On cross-examination Mrs. Phillips stated that the $300 policy was fully paid for by Colgate, and that no deduction from Percy’s salary was required. She also testified that she didn’t know how much was actually paid by Colgate to the insurance company, and that while she knew the amount that was deducted from the salary of employees she did not know “the breakdown” as to the life insurance portion. Mrs. Phillips stated further that premiums paid included not only life insurance, but accident and dismemberment and weekly health benefit insurance.
Mrs. Phillips’ testimony points clearly to the anomalous character of the evidence upon which the court attempted to make an apportionment. It is apparent that the witness her
8 The rate book was entitled “Employee’s Group Insurance Plan,” contained the employees’ hourly rates, and was used to compute the salary deductions for an employee’s insurance.
Inconsistencies between the findings and the evidence appear in the record as follows: Mrs. Phillips’ testimony showed that $1.80 per month was deducted from Percy’s salary between February 2,1948, and April 1,1954, for $3,000 of life insurance. She also stated that on April 1, 1954, he increased the insurance to $6,000, which continued to April 1, 1956, when he increased the insurance to $6,500. Premiums of $5.40 a month were paid during this period of which $4.00 represented the amount contributed by Percy. The court, however, found that the premium of $1.80 per month was deducted from February 2, 1948, to July 1, 1954, although the
9 Finding of Fact No. XI reads, in pertinent part, as follows: " [T]he Court finds that that part of the proceeds of the said policies attributable to premiums paid prior to September 7, 1955, was community property; that the amount of such premiums was $196.60; and that that figure includes $1.80 per month between February 2, 1948, and July 1, 1954, for a total of $139.60, and $4.00 per month between July 1, 1954 and September 7, 1955, for a total of $57.00.” Finding of Fact No. XII reads, in pertinent part, as follows: "The Court further finds that after September 7, 1955, the premiums for the said policies were paid out of or attributable to Percy Polk’s separate property; that the amount of such premiums was $282.06; and that that figure includes $4.00 per month between September 7, 1955 and April 13, 1956 for a total of $29.00, $4.36 per month between April 13, 1956 and April 1, 1959, for a total of $154.78, and $3.78 per month between April 1,1959 and May 28, 1961 for a total of $98.28. ’ ’
In view of the inconclusive evidence as to the nature and extent of the premiums allocable to life insurance and the resulting erroneous allocation of such premiums to separate and community property, the issue of apportionment will require a retrial in order to take evidence on the amount of the premiums allocable to life insurance paid by Colgate, and the amount thereof deducted from Percy’s salary. Pursuant to the conclusions herein reached on the issue of abandonment, that portion of such premiums paid to Equitable prior to September 7, 1955, constitutes community property and those paid after said date are Percy’s separate property. Accordingly, the proceeds of the subject insurance policies are to be apportioned in the same ratio that the amount of such community funds paid for premiums bears to the amount of separate funds paid for such purpose. Upon such apportionment Charles will be entitled to all of the proceeds determined to be separate property and one-half of the pro
10 Inconsisteneies also appear with respect to Finding No. XII dealing with the apportionment after September 7, 1955, the effective date of the 1955 amendment. Mrs. Phillips ’ testimony showed that the premium was $5.40 per month between April 1, 1954 and April 1, 1959, and $4.68 per month from April 1, 1959 until Percy’s death in 1961.
11 Thc effect of the court’s findings of fact and conclusions of law was to adjudicate that of the $6,800 insurance proceeds, $1,400 constituted community property and $5,400, Percy’s separate property.
In view of the conclusion herein reached that the issue as to the source and allocability of the premiums must be retried, we need not pass upon the propriety of the trial court’s rulings with respect to Mrs. Phillips’ testimony. We should observe, however, that these objections may be obviated through the presentation of more satisfactory evidence which should be readily available to the parties. We have reference, particularly, to the records of Equitable with respect to the allocation of premiums and the subject insurance policies which were not made available to the court below. We note that considerable confusion in Mrs. Phillips’ testimony was caused when she was permitted to testify from the rate book. The matters testified to from this book were at variance with her testimony from Colgate’s payroll records. We are unable to ascertain from the record the basis upon which she was permitted to testify from the rate book. Suffice it to say, this book merely indicated the amount that should have been deducted from Percy’s salary. The question in controversy is not the amount Colgate should have deducted but the amount it did deduct.
Alice’s final contention is that the change of beneficiary from herself to Charles was made without her consent and therefore was ineffective. The gist of her argument is that she had an irrevocable right to the proceeds of the subject insurance of which she could not be divested unless the policy expressly gave the insured the right to change the beneficiary. She relies on Morrison v. Mutual Life Ins. of New York, 15 Cal.2d 579 , 582 [ 103 P.2d 963 ]; and Yore v. Booth, 110 Cal. 238 , 240-241 [ 42 P. 808 , 52 Am.St. Rep. 81 ], for the rule that the naming of a beneficiary in a life insurance policy has the effect of giving that beneficiary a vested right in the policy, so that be becomes in fact the owner of the contract and is protected against any interference with his rights by later acts of the insured or the company, and the insured may in such a case neither change the beneficiary nor assign the policy, and he cannot surrender or cancel it, unless he reserves the right. These cases were decided prior to the enactment of an amendment to Insurance Code section
Alice argues that because the change of beneficiary was made without her knowledge and consent “and because the record discloses no right of the insured to change the beneficiary” she is entitled to all of the proceeds. The burden of proof in the instant case, however, was upon Alice. It is she who was claiming the proceeds of the insurance policies as against the named beneficiary. Accordingly, it was incumbent upon her to establish that she had the claimed vested right. This she did not do. The burden of proof is on the plaintiff as to those allegations of his complaint which were placed in issue. (Mills v. Vista Pools, Inc., 184 Cal.App.2d 668 , 672 [ 7 Cal.Rptr. 545 ]; Eley v. Curzon, 121 Cal.App.2d 280 , 284 [ 263 P.2d 86 ].) Section 1981 of the Code of Civil Procedure provides: “The party holding the afBrmative of the issue must produce the evidence to prove it; therefore, the burden of proof lies on the party who would be defeated if no evidence were given on either side.” Particularly applicable to the instant ease is the following statement in Reese v. Smith, 9 Cal.2d 324 , 328 [ 70 P.2d 933 ]: “If the existence of an essential fact upon which a party relies is left in doubt or uncertainty, the party upon whom the burden rests to establish that fact should suffer, and not his adversary.”
12 Ins. Code, § 10170, in pertinent part provides: “Any such agreement may be rescinded or amended by the parties thereto without the consent of any beneficiary therein designated unless the rights of any such beneficiary have been expressly declared to be irrevocable. ’ ’
The judgment and the order denying the motion to vacate the judgment are reversed and the cause is remanded for a new trial for the sole purpose of determining what portion of the insurance proceeds is community property and what is separate property, and for the apportionment thereof, in accordance with the views herein expressed. The parties shall bear their own costs on appeal.
Bray, P. J., and Sullivan, J., concurred.
A petition for a rehearing was denied August 18, 1964.
Cases cited
- Clopton v. Clopton 162 Cal. 27 at 32 p. 772
- Alocco v. Fouche 190 Cal.App.2d 244 at 252 p. 772
- Piercy v. De Fillipes 215 Cal.App.2d 284 at 289 p. 772
- People v. Redwine 166 Cal.App.2d 371 at 376-377 p. 772
- McCarthy v. Mobile Cranes, Inc. 199 Cal.App.2d 500 at 506-507 p. 772
- Columbia - Geneva Steel Division v. Industrial Accident Commission 115 Cal.App.2d 862 at 865 p. 772
- In re Shackelford 116 Cal.App.2d 864 at 867 p. 772
- People v. McGowan 80 Cal.App. 293 at 296-298 p. 772
- People v. Seitz 100 Cal.App. 113 at 119 p. 772
- People v. Manchetti 29 Cal.2d 452 at 461-462 p. 772
- Auer v. Frank 227 Cal.App.2d 396 at 404-405 p. 773
- Ottinger v. Ottinger 141 Cal.App.2d 220 p. 773, p. 778
- Norwich v. Norwich 170 Cal.App.2d 806 p. 773, p. 779
- In re Estate of Snowball 156 Cal. 240 at 243 p. 774
- Schafer v. Rutherford 188 Cal.App.2d 202 at 206 p. 774
- Jones v. Jones 131 Cal.App.2d 831 at 834 p. 774
- Dupray v. Marshall 124 Cal.App.2d 807 at 810 p. 774
- Keesey v. Keesey 160 Cal. 727 p. 775
- Danielson v. Danielson 100 Cal.App. 168 at 172 p. 775
- Hager v. Hager 174 Cal.App.2d 546 p. 775
- Camp v. Ortega 209 Cal.App.2d 275 at 283 p. 776
- La Jolla Casa DeManana v. Hopkins 98 Cal.App.2d 339 at 345-346 p. 776
- Huth v. Katz 30 Cal.2d 605 at 608-609 p. 776
- Kessler v. Kessler 2 Cal.App. 509 p. 777
- Plath v. Industrial Accident Commission 109 Cal.App. 349 p. 777
- Morrison v. Morrison 20 Cal. 431 p. 777
- Sheppard v. Sheppard 15 Cal.App. 614 p. 777
- McMullin v. McMullin 123 Cal. 653 p. 777
- Hunter v. Hunter 132 Cal. 473 at 476 p. 778
- Stampfli v. Stampfli 53 Cal.App. 126 at 129-130 p. 778
- Neeley v. Neeley 179 Cal. 232 at 234 p. 778
- Hamburger v. Hamburger 60 Cal.App.2d 530 at 536-537 p. 778
- Dean v. Dean 77 Cal.App.2d 98 at 106 p. 778
- O'Connor v. Travelers Insurance 169 Cal.App.2d 763 p. 779
- Foy v. Foy 109 Cal.App.2d 329 at 333 p. 779, p. 781
- Worley v. Whitaker 87 Cal.App.2d 760 p. 780
- Travelers Insurance v. Fancher 219 Cal. 351 at 353 p. 781
- Dixon Lumber Co. v. Peacock 217 Cal. 415 at 418 p. 781
- Sears v. California Bank 182 Cal.App.2d 525 at 530 p. 781
- Field v. Bank of America National Trust & Savings Ass'n 100 Cal.App.2d 311 at 314-315 p. 781, p. 782
- Johnston v. Johnston 106 Cal.App.2d 775 at 779 p. 781
- Modern Woodmen of America v. Gray 113 Cal.App. 729 at 733-734 p. 781
- New York Life Insurance v. Bank of Italy 60 Cal.App. 602 at 607 p. 781, p. 782
- Gettman v. City of Los Angeles Department of Water & Power 87 Cal.App.2d 862 at 865-866 p. 782
- Benson v. City of Los Angeles 60 Cal.2d 355 at 363 p. 782, p. 785
- Sieroty v. Silver 58 Cal.2d 799 at 803 p. 782
- Tyre v. Aetna Life Insurance 54 Cal.2d 399 at 404, at 404-405 p. 782, p. 785
- Britton v. Hammell 4 Cal.2d 690 at 692 p. 782
- Grimm v. Grimm 26 Cal.2d 173 at 175 p. 782
- Morrison v. Mutual Life Insurance 15 Cal.2d 579 at 582 p. 786
- Yore v. Booth 110 Cal. 238 at 240-241 p. 786
- Jones v. Union Oil Co. 218 Cal. 775 at 778 p. 787
- McKinney v. Ruderman 203 Cal.App.2d 109 at 117 p. 787
- McBarron v. Kimball 210 Cal.App.2d 218 at 220 p. 787
- Mills v. Vista Pools, Inc. 184 Cal.App.2d 668 at 672 p. 787
- Eley v. Curzon 121 Cal.App.2d 280 at 284 p. 787
- Reese v. Smith 9 Cal.2d 324 at 328 p. 787
- Palmer v. Financial Indemnity Co. 215 Cal.App.2d 419 at 434 p. 788
- Feykert v. Hardy 213 Cal.App.2d 67 at 74 p. 788