Majority
The problem in this case is whether an insurance company which has paid claims under an uninsured
On February 5, 1961, Dennis A. Brever, accompanied by his wife, Rosemary, was driving his automobile on a highway in a northerly direction. The ear was struck by a vehicle coming from the north, driven by Charles Jones, and by a vehicle from the south, driven by Guy G. Mills. Mr. Brever was killed and his wife was injured. Jones was uninsured but Mills was insured. An action for wrongful death was brought by Mrs. Brever and her children, and an action for her injuries was brought by Mrs. Brever against Jones. Mills was not joined as a defendant. He was a close friend of Mrs. Brever and she did not wish to sue him, but some months later she joined him as a defendant, on the insistence of her own carrier, Farmers Insurance Exchange. Farmers paid $10,000 for the wrongful death of the husband and $1,000 for Mrs. Brever’s injuries, pursuant to uninsured motorist coverage, but required Mrs. Brever to sign a trust agreement in which she promised to take whatever action was necessary or appropriate to recover damages from any person who might he legally liable therefor, through any representative designated by Farmers.
With the court’s permission, Mills filed a cross-complaint, bringing in Farmers as cross-defendant and asking a declaration of his rights and an injunction against Farmers from proceeding with the Brever case against Mills. Demurrer to the cross-complaint as amended was sustained, and the amended cross-complaint was dismissed by the court. From this judgment Mills appeals. Mills makes the point that the court should have declared his rights because of Ms application for declaratory relief, but this point is not particularly important because both sides are willing to have the law declared for them on this appeal.
The Original Staticte and Its Amendment
The original statute relating to uninsured motorists was section 11580.2 of the Insurance Code, enacted by chapter 817 of the 1959 Statutes of California. This section was repealed by chapter 1189 of the 1961 Statutes of California, and a new section was added which contains several important addi
Contentions of Appellant
Appellant contends that because subdivision (e) of the 1959 statute refers to subrogation against the person causing the injury, the statute as it then was referred to the uninsured motorist only, and that subrogation was not then granted as against anyone else. He argues (1) that the provision for subrogation is in derogation of the common law, and therefore the statute must be strictly construed • (2) that applying strict construction, we must regard “the person” referred to in subdivision (e) as being the owner or operator of an uninsured vehicle, because under subdivision (a) the benefits of the required uninsured motorist coverage are the “damages for bodily injury from the owner or operator of an uninsured motor vehicle”; and (3) that the change in description from “the person” to “any person,” made in 1961, shows that under the 1959 statute the right of subrogation was limited to apply to a single person, the uninsured motorist.
Our Decision and Our Reasons
We conclude that appellant’s position cannot be maintained.
1. It has been held that subrogation does not apply
2. Liberal interpretation has been given to the statutes providing compensation for those injured on the highways through no fault of their own. (Interinsurance Exchange v. Ohio Casualty Ins. Co., 58 Cal.2d 142 , 153-154 [ 23 Cal.Rptr. 592 , 373 P.2d 640 ].) The Uninsured Motorist Law is a statute of this class, and is to be interpreted liberally. (Taylor v. Preferred Risk Mutual Ins. Co., 225 Cal.App.2d 80 , 82 [ 37 Cal.Rptr. 63 ].) It is true that the subrogation provision in this statute does not directly aid the victim of the accident, but it is an important part of the statute and no doubt has played a role in making it acceptable and workable. Therefore, in interpreting the subrogation part of the statute, we shall at least temper by these considerations the general rule relating to strict construction of statutes which are in derogation of the common law.
3. Section 13 of the Insurance Code provides that the "singular number includes the plural, and the plural the singular.” Therefore, the word “person” in section 11580.2, subdivision (e), as it stood in the 1959 version, was equivalent to the word “persons.” If in a multiparty accident, two
4. The statute makes no reference to a difference between an uninsured and an insured motorist or, for that matter, between an uninsured motorist and another person, such as a railroad which might have been a second party proximately causing injury or death.
5. In the 1959 statute there was, as there still is, an exemption for the insurer of an injured person if the insured obtained judgment against or made a settlement with any person. (Stats. 1959, p. 2836; Ins. Code, § 11580.2, subd. (e) (3). It does not seem that this provision was included only for the purpose of preventing double recovery by the insured because there is not merely pro tanto reduction of the injured party’s claim against his insurer, but a complete exemption unless the insurer has consented. It is logical to believe that at least one purpose of this exemption is to prevent the insured from interfering with the insurer’s right of subrogation. This implies that the right of subrogation existed against others than uninsured motorists.
6. The fact that the Legislature changed the expression from “the person” (which, as said above, would include the plural) to “any person,” although a factor to be weighed in arriving at our decision, is by no means compelling. Many changes in expression were made, and it has been noted that there has been a somewhat loose use of words here and there in the statute, even in the 1961 version. (Chadwick & Poché, California’s Uninsured Motorist Statute: Scope and Problems, 13 Hastings L.J. 194 , 203.) Appellant has pointed to nothing, such as a judicial decision which the Legislature wished to overcome, as showing a desire of the Legislature to effect a change.
. Judgment affirmed.
Draper, P. J., and Salsman, J., concurred.
Cases cited
- Fifield Manor v. Finston 54 Cal.2d 632 p. 128
- Peller v. Liberty Mutual Fire Insurance 220 Cal.App.2d 610 at 612 p. 128
- Weber v. Pinyan 9 Cal.2d 226 at 229 p. 128
- Cook v. Superior Court 12 Cal.App.2d 608 at 611 p. 128
- Peterson v. Grieger, Inc. 57 Cal.2d 43 at 50 p. 128
- Interinsurance Exchange of the Automobile Club v. Ohio Casualty Insurance 58 Cal.2d 142 at 153-154 p. 128
- Taylor v. Preferred Risk Mutual Insurance 225 Cal.App.2d 80 at 82 p. 128