Majority
The plaintiff insurance company brought an action, seeking a declaration that all claims against it under the uninsured motorist coverage provided in a policy issued by plaintiff to defendants Dorothy and James Copeland, have been settled by a binding release executed by defendants; and for a permanent injunction restraining defendants from proceeding with the arbitration of these claims. The case was submitted to the court on the depositions of defendants, two doctors, an insurance agent and an insurance adjuster; plus certain medical records and documents signed by defendants which related to their claims. From a judgment granting the relief sought, defendants appeal
On October 15, 1961, Mr. and Mrs. Copeland were in their car, with Mr. Copeland driving and Mrs. Copeland seated beside him in the front seat, when they stopped at an intersection and were struck from the rear by another car, its driver allegedly uninsured. After the collision Mrs. Copeland was still seated on the seat in an upright position. Her neck began to hurt almost immediately. The next day she went to see Dr. Ryan complaining of a stiff neck. He examined her and had X-rays taken of her neck with negative results. On October 23d she returned to Dr. Ryan’s office with the same complaint. For these two visits and the X-rays Mrs. Copeland was charged $37.
Sometime in the early part of November 1961, Mrs. Cope
Dr. Hawkins had X-rays taken of Mrs. Copeland. The X-rays showed evidence of disc degeneration in her low back together with arthritic spurring. Hawkins testified (by deposition) that these conditions take several years to develop and that almost any kind of trauma will bring on the onset of symptoms or complaints; “it could have been related to the accident,” but he “would expect some signs of back pain, or stiffness within a few days or instantly” if an accident occurred of sufficient severity to injure the disc “right then and there.” The conditions from which Mrs. Copeland suffered could also have come on gradually without accident or trauma; or from doing nothing more than bending over or sneezing, something so commonplace a person would not be aware of it; that it is “just anybody’s guess” as to what caused the symptoms to appear.
On October 3, 1962, Mrs. Copeland filed a demand for arbitration with the American Arbitration Association under the uninsured motorist coverage of the policy issued by plaintiff. The present action followed.
The policy of insurance issued by plaintiff to defendants contains the “uninsured motorist coverage” prescribed by
At the outset defendants contend that the court below had no authority to determine the legal effect of the release; such determination they argue, the contract of insurance provided for submission to arbitration.
“It is the rule that the powers of the arbitrator are determined by the contract by which the matter is submitted to him. [Citation.] ” (Aetna Cas. & Surety Co. v. Superior Court, 233 Cal.App.2d 333 , 337 [ 43 Cal.Rptr. 476 ].) As we have indicated, the contract of insurance in this ease was limited to the minimum requirements prescribed by section 11580.2; arbitration was provided for disputes respecting only the ‘‘ determination as to whether the insured ... is legally entitled to recover . . . damages, and if so the amount thereof.” These issues relate to the liability of the uninsured motorist to the insured, not to the amount of money the insurance company must pay (Fisher v. State Farm Mut. Auto Ins. Co., 243 Cal.App.2d 749 , 751-752 [ 52 Cal.Rptr. 721 ]; Aetna Cas. & Surety Co. v. Superior Court, supra, at p. 337), or to the preliminary question of whether there is a valid and subsisting agreement to arbitrate.
In a proceeding seeking to enforce an arbitration agreement, section 1281.2 of the Code of Civil Procedure specifically provides for a court determination of the question of whether arbitration has been waived by a party otherwise entitled. The section reads in part:
“On petition of a party to an arbitration agreement alleging the existence of a written agreement to arbitrate a controversy and that a party thereto refuses to arbitrate such controversy, the court shall order the petitioner and the respondent to arbitrate the controversy if it determines that an agreement to arbitrate the controversy exists, unless it determines that:
“(a) The right to compel arbitration has been waived by the petitioner. ...”
1 Defendant’s demand for arbitration quotes an alleged arbitration agreement in language quite different from what is found in section 11580.2. However, the evidence shows only an insurance policy containing the statutory form of arbitration clause.
Defendants question the sufficiency of the evidence to support the finding of the court that the release was valid and binding. They argue that Civil Code section 1542 was applicable. Section 1542 provides: “A general release does not extend to claims which the creditor does not know or suspect to exist in his favor at the time of executing the release, which if known by him must have materially affected his settlement with the debtor.” Under this statute whether an intent existed to release unknown claims is a question of fact which may be decided upon evidence apart from the words of the release. (Casey v. Proctor, 59 Cal.2d 97 , 110 [ 28 Cal.Rptr. 307 , 378 P.2d 579 ].)
In effect, defendants maintain that the evidence establishes, as a matter of law, that the back injury of Mrs. Copeland was caused by the accident and, that she did not know or suspect such injury existed when the release was signed. We have concluded that this contention lacks merit.
Ample evidence was presented to support the finding that, at the time the release was executed, defendants were aware of the possibility that the automobile accident had caused an injury to Mrs. Copeland’s low back.
The only expert testimony respecting the nature and cause of Mrs. Copeland’s back trouble came from Dr. Hawkins, an orthopedic specialist. It was to the effect that her back condition would take several years to develop and almost any kind of activity could cause the symptoms or complaints to occur; they could occur without any known specific trauma; and, if
The evidence also supports the finding that, if the injury to Mrs. Copeland’s back was caused by the accident, she was both aware of the injury and that it possibly had resulted from the accident when she signed the release. At that time she had suffered from the back trouble for approximately three months. The pains had begun about one month after the accident. She admitted that, when her back started to hurt and she went to see Dr. Sherwood, she thought it might have been caused by the accident.
The court did not have to accept as true the assertions of defendants that they did not know anything about uninsured motorist coverage and did not intend to release claims under that coverage. The proof of claim form, dated January 23, 1962 (a date two months after Mrs. Copeland indicated she began to have pain in her low back), and the release, both plainly state they have to do with injuries caused by uninsured automobiles. In the proof of claim she described her only injury as being a stiff neck. She admits the signatures on the documents were hers. Further, it was stipulated at the trial that the proof of claim form was partially filled in in her own handwriting. There is no contention that any misrepresentation was involved. From the evidence the court was warranted in concluding that Mrs. Copeland was aware of the possibility that her low back trouble may have been caused by the automobile accident and, knowing of this possibility, she nevertheless intended to release all claims under the uninsured motorist coverage. No more was required for the release to be effective and extend to this claim. (See Casey v. Proctor, supra, 59 Cal.2d 97 .)
The judgment is affirmed.
Files, P. J., and Kingsley, J., concurred.
Cases cited
- Aetna Casualty & Surety Co. v. Superior Court 233 Cal.App.2d 333 at 337 p. 564
- Fisher v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance 243 Cal.App.2d 749 at 751-752 p. 564
- Sawday v. Vista Irrigation District 64 Cal.2d 833 at 836 p. 565
- Loscalzo v. Federal Mutual Insurance 228 Cal.App.2d 391 at 396 p. 565
- Casey v. Proctor 59 Cal.2d 97 at 110 p. 565, p. 566