Majority
Applicant, a spot welder, born 1908, seeks review and annulment of orders of the Workmen’s Compensation Appeals Board on three of four claims which were consolidated for hearing.
On April 27, 1966, the applicant filed a claim alleging industrial injury to his hip and back in December 1956 (No. 5161). On April 27, 1966, the applicant also filed a second claim (No. 5162) alleging industrial injury to his back on September 19, 1957, and that the last date of treatment by the employer was on April 11, 1966. The applicant sought permanent disability and medical-legal costs. On June 16, 1966, applicant filed two additional claims. In one (No. 5628) he alleged cumulative injury from September 24, 1957, through June 10, 1966. The dates were later amended to read “September 19, 1957 to October 6, 1966.” In the other (No. 5627) he alleged that he sustained injury to his back between May 20 and May 25, 1965.
After hearing the referee found: that the applicant sus
The insurance carriers sought reconsideration of the last three claims. Liberty Mutual contended that there was no competent evidence to sustain a finding of a repetitive trauma and that the furnishing of any medical treatment by the employer without its knowledge after it ceased to be the carrier could not act as a waiver of the statute of limitations as to it. Travelers contended that petitioner’s back disability continued without change during the period of its coverage and it was therefore not liable for any of his disability.
After reconsideration on April 28, 1967, the appeals board issued the orders now questioned. It made no finding regarding the injury of 1957 except that it was barred by the statute of limitations. It found that applicant did not sustain the claimed cumulative injury. It found that applicant sustained injury between May 20 and May 25, 1965, which caused no temporary disability in excess of seven days and 6 percent permanent disability after apportionment, and applicant may require further medical treatment to cure or relieve from the effects of this injury. It ordered that applicant take nothing in respect to the claim of injury in 1957 and on the claim of cumulative injury. It issued an award for .the injury of 1965.
In a written opinion covering all three eases the appeals
It is conceded that the applicant was furnished some medical treatment between September 19, 1957, and October 1959 by Liberty Mutual Insurance Company and that through the years, as reflected by the employer’s in-plant medical records, he was treated by the plant nurse regularly and frequently for numerous complaints to his back. It appears that on three occasions in 1958, two in 1959, one in 1960, and one in 1961 he reported back pain and received treatment. He complained on March 12, 1963, and continued to report to the nurse for heat treatments at intervals until June 1, 1966. On May 24, 1966, he reported that his old back brace was worn out. In June 1966 he was referred by the plant nurse to Dr. Matern for X-rays and examination. On November 8, 1966, Dr. Matern recommended against back surgery finding that the applicant was getting along fairly well and able to carry out light duties. Dr. Matern further reported “The very difficult question of apportionment arises in this patient and I certainly cannot do any more than try to give a reasonably certain guess as far as a reasonable medical certainty is concerned. As far as his injury of 1957 is concerned, I suspect this probably recovered sufficiently so that he is having no further difficulties. In 1958 he probably injured his back which started the whole series of subsequent events and probably most of his
The applicant testified that he had not been free from symptoms since he slipped and fell on a piece of wet steel in September 1956. In September 1957 he injured his back in lifting a 100-gallon tank; his difficulties increased after October 1958 when his job involved handling boilers on an automatic welder; in 1960 he twisted his back when he stepped in a hole; and in May 1965 he handled 50-gallon boilers for several days which caused increased pain and it was never returned to its prior condition. It appeared that one doctor had reported in February 1959 that the applicant had completely recovered from the injury of 1957 by December 18, 1958.
Petitioner contends that, in view of the evidence that he was repeatedly subjected to episodes of strain and pain, the appeals board acted unreasonably and in excess of its powers in finding that he did not sustain cumulative injury. He further contends that in view of the fact that the medical evidence establishes that the employer furnished treatment for his back throughout the years as late as June 1966, the appeals board acted unreasonably and in excess of its powers in finding that his claim for injury on September 19, 1957, was barred by the statute of limitations. He further contends that because the board found that he sustained only two industrial injuries and the 1965 injury represented 20 percent of his back disability, it acted unreasonably and in excess of its powers in allowing only 6 percent permanent disability after apportionment for the 1965 injury.
The question before us is whether a series of injuries is to be regarded by the board as a continuous cumulative injury or as separate and independent injuries. Here the board rejected the view that applicant's injury was cumulative, and found that he had suffered specific injuries in 1957 and 1965. We think that this decision was erroneous.
1 It appeared from the medical reports that the applicant had, on his examination by Dr. Matern, inadvertently referred to the injury of 1956 as being in 1957 and the injury of 1957 as being in 1958.
The board was also in error in holding that the claim based on the September 19, 1957, injury was barred by the statute of limitations. That claim was filed April 27, 1966. Standing alone, that claim was barred. However, on June 16, 1966, applicant filed his claim for cumulative injury from September 19, 1957, the date of the specific injury, to June 10, 1966. That claim, of course, was not barred. In the recent ease of Dow Chemical Co. v. Workmen’s Comp. Appeals Board, a67 Cal.2d 483, the court said (p. 493 [ 62 Cal.Rptr. 757 , 432 P.2d 365 ]): “For purposes of applying the statute of limitations the courts and the board have accepted the date when the employee is disabled as the date when the cumulative injury occurs. (Beveridge v. Industrial Acc. Com., supra, 175 Cal.App.2d 592 , 595; Fidelity & Cas. Co. v. Industrial Acc. Com., 9 C.C.C. 294, 295.) ‘In reality the only moment when such injury can be visualized as taking compensative form is the date of last exposure, when the cumulative effect causes disability. ’ (Tobriner, J., in Beveridge v. Industrial Acc. Com., supra, 175 Cal.App.2d 592 , 595.) ”[2]
2 In Dow Chemical Co. v. Workmen’s Comp. Appeals Board, 67 Cal. 2d 483 [ 62 Cal.Rptr. 757 , 432 P.2d 365 ], the applicant filed three claims for disability benefits. The first related to a specific injury in 1949, the second to a specific injury in 1960, and the third to a specific injury in 1961. Defendants in the last two were Dow Chemical, its insurer, and the State Subsequent Injuries Fund. During the hearing on the consolidated claims the referee, at the suggestion of one of the examining *496 doctors, eontinnued the hearing so that the applicant could file an additional claim on the basis of the Beveridge doctrine. Such a claim was filed, alleging cumulative injury from 1946. At the conclusion of the hearing the referee made findings on each of the four claims. Keeonsideration by the board was requested only by the applicant and Dow Chemical on the claim for cumulative injury, at which time the applicant applied for benefits against the Subsequent Injuries Fund. In its final decision the board concluded, among other things, "that the specific injuries in 1960 and 1961 should properly be viewed merely as two of the numerous exacerbations causing the cumulative injury." (P. 489.)
We think that under the rationale of Beveridge and Dow Chemical the board should have viewed the specific injury of September 19, 1957, as the first of the many exacerbations causing the cumulative injury, and should have taken
The order here under review is annulled with directions to the board to redetermine the three claims involved in one proceeding as a claim for disability benefits for cumulative injury commencing September 19,1957.
Kaus, P. J., and Hufstedler, J., concurred.
The petitions of the respondents Workmen’s Compensation Appeals Board and Liberty Mutual Insurance Co. for a hearing by the Supreme Court were denied April 10,1968.
Cases cited
- Beveridge v. Industrial Accident Commission 175 Cal.App.2d 592 at 594-595, at 595 p. 495