Majority
Plaintiff, an insurance agent, entered into a “Contingent Commission Agency Agreement” with defendant insurance company in June of 1961 whereby plaintiff was authorized to accept applications for a type of insurance to be issued by defendant known as “Special 1000 Automobile Accident Policy.”[1] Attached to the complaint, as amended, is a copy of the agreement and an “Addendum” thereto where-under the parties agreed that “so long as this contract is validly in force” defendant would not grant to any person other than plaintiff the right to accept proposals for the type of insurance there involved without plaintiff’s written consent. By written notice, dated May 10, 1963, defendant thereafter terminated the agreement, calling attention to the continued losses incurred thereunder. Plaintiff thereupon brought this action to recover commissions paid by defendant to other agents in asserted breach of the agreement as well as damages caused thereby (First Cause of Action) and damages, both compensatory and punitive, for defendant’s fraud in inducing him to enter into the subject engagements (Second Cause of Action). Upon completion of plaintiff’s case in chief, defendant moved for judgment under section 631.8, Code of Civil Procedure. The motion having been granted, plaintiff appeals from the adverse judgment thereafter entered.
The principal assignment of error stems from the ruling below which barred the introduction of proffered proof as violative of the parol evidence rule. The issue arose in the following manner: In addition to matters already noted, the agreement expressly provides that it “may be terminated immediately by either party at any time, upon written notice to the other. ...” Defendant accordingly contended that upon its election to terminate in the manner contractually provided for, it was no longer bound by the provisions in the addendum, relied on by plaintiff, prohibiting the appointment of other agents to accept proposals for the subject insurance “so long as this contract is validly in force.” Since plaintiff’s pleading was framed upon the theory that defendant had no authority to terminate, defendant objected to the introduction of oral testimony supporting such theory upon the ground that it would be at variance with the terms of the parties’ written and integrated agreement theretofore exe
1 The amended complaint alleges that thereunder "medical payment coverage would be furnished to policy holders whose liability coverage was placed thru the assigned risk plan and other policy holders who were unable to obtain the standard auto-medical payment coverage. ’ ’
For reasons hereinafter stated, we are of the view that the judgment entered pursuant to section 631.8 must be affirmed. Thereunder the court “as trier of the facts shall weigh the evidence and may render a judgment in favor of the moving party ...” after the making of findings (which was done in the instant case). Upon appeal the substantial evidence rule then applies. (Estate of Sharff, 219 Cal.App.2d 128 , 132 [ 33 Cal.Rptr. 52 ].) If (as we have concluded) evidence could not have been received in aid of the several allegations in the complaint as amended, substantial support obviously exists for the various findings adverse to plaintiff’s claims. Nor is a different result dictated by the trial court’s refusal to allow the amendment proposed by plaintiff during the course of the trial; to this assignment of error we first direct our attention.
Preliminarily, this is not quite the situation (as urged by plaintiff) where a party, by pleading to the merits and thus encouraging his adversary to prepare for trial, thereafter interposes an objection that the pleading is not sufficient to allow the introduction of evidence in aid thereof—at the trial such pleading will then be liberally construed and every reasonable intendment indulged in its favor. (Stilwell v. Trutanich, 178 Cal.App.2d 614 , 618 [ 3 Cal.Rptr. 285 ].) The instant case is, therefore, distinguishable from Beverage v. Canton Placer Min. Co., 43 Cal.2d 769 , 778 [ 278 P.2d 694 ], and authorities therein cited, where it appeared that plaintiffs had a good cause of action but such claim was imperfectly or
2 "An agreement is integrated where the parties thereto adopt a writing or writings as the final and complete expression of the agreement. An integration is the writing or writings so adopted. ’ ’ (Best., Contracts, § 228.) So, under the 1 ‘ Termination’ ’ clause of the subject contract, it is provided in part that ‘ ‘ This Agreement contains the complete understanding between the Company and the Agent and may be terminated immediately by either party at any time, upon written notice to the other. ...”
3 " [Mr. Beck]; I am asking, for the record I would make a motion to amend the Complaint to allege an additional cause of action, based on facts that defendant terminated the agency agreement unlawfully or wrongfully, as distinguished from the question of authority which was raised previously.” (Rep. Tr. p. 69.)
We return to the trial court’s ruling with respect to the applicability of the parol evidence rule. As shown earlier, plaintiff sought damages and other relief, both in contract and tort, by reason of defendant’s action in paying commissions to other agents after its unilateral and assertedly unauthor
Reference to the addendum shows that the subject of agency or agencies to accept proposals for insurance of the type hereinabove designated is fully provided for;[4] further
4 "The company and the Agent agree: “ (a) The company shall not appoint nor grant the right to any person, ■firm or corporation other than ‘Agent’ to receive or accept proposals for *330 contracts of insurance of the type hereinabove designated, in the State of California, as long as this contrast is validly in force, without the express, written consent and agreement of the Agent. ‘' (b) The Agent agrees that it, and all other persons, firms or corporations acting for or in its behalf shall represent Financial Indemnity Company only in connection with all ' Special 1000 automobile accident ’ disability insurance business, as aforesaid, engaged in by Agent or any sub-agent thereunder in the State of California, so long as this contract is validly in force without the express, written consent and agreement of the Company. This addendum attaches to and forms a part of the Special 1000 Automobile Accident Contingent Commission Agreement dated June 1, 1961. ’ ’
Plaintiff’s remaining point, presented without any argument, asserts that the trial court erred in failing to make a specific finding on the issue of fraud (Second Cause of Action). There are three answers to such claim: (1) Any such finding would necessarily have been adverse; (2) no evidence was presented as to such issue; and (3) since it was found that defendant had the right to terminate the agreement, such finding was determinative of the point.
The judgment is affirmed.
Wood, P. J., and Fourt, J., concurred.
Cases cited
- Denson v. Hill 219 Cal.App.2d 128 at 132 p. 327
- Stilwell v. Trutanich 178 Cal.App.2d 614 at 618 p. 327
- Beverage v. Canton Placer Mining Co. 43 Cal.2d 769 at 778 p. 327
- Vogel v. Thrifty Drug Co. 43 Cal.2d 184 at 188 p. 328
- Daum v. Superior Court 228 Cal.App.2d 283 at 286 p. 328
- Mallard v. Boring 182 Cal.App.2d 390 at 394 p. 328
- Marin v. Jacuzzi 224 Cal.App.2d 549 at 553 p. 328
- Simmons v. California Institute of Technology 34 Cal.2d 264 at 274 p. 329