Majority
Which of two insurers should stand the loss attributable to the operation of an automobile leased out for a two-year period, the insurer of the lessee-operator or the insurer of the lessor-owner ? Brown-Massie & Associates, the
For purposes of the present case we assume that both policies of liability insurance covered the vehicle involved in the accident. (Abbott v. Interinsurance Exchange, 260 Cal.App.2d 528 , 532-538 [ 67 Cal.Rptr. 220 ].) Under this assumption the sole problem is to determine which coverage is primary. In arguing this question, counsel have advanced a variety of suppositions about public policy in the automobile insurance field and about the effect of various clauses in the comprehensive liability policies issued by the two carriers.
On public policy the argument ranged indiscriminately from considerations governing the $15,000 and $30,000 statutory liability of an owner for permissive use (Veh. Code, § 16451), to those affecting the unlimited liability of an operator, to those involving liability imposed by law on insurers who write motor vehicle insurance. In our view most of the suppositions about public policy and most of the rules said to be derived from a particular policy are unrelated to the merits of this particular ease. While there are limitations and restrictions, both statutory and judge-made, on the terms of automobile insurance, as for example, the rule of Wildman v. Government Employees’ Ins. Co., 48 Cal.2d 31 [ 307 P.2d 359 ], that an insurer issuing a policy covering a particular vehicle cannot absolve itself from liability for acts of those driving the vehicle with permission, the basic rules in insurance law still derive from freedom of contract. (Continental Cas. Co. v. Phoenix Constr. Co., 46 Cal.2d 423 , 432 [ 296 P.2d 801 , 57 A.L.R.2d 914 ].) Both owners and lessees of automobiles are legally free to operate their vehicles without insurance coverage and assume their own risks. They may agree
We next examine the texts of the two insurance policies for enlightenment as to which insurer should be held primarily liable. In this process counsel for each insurer points to language in the comprehensive liability policy of the other insurer to establish coverage by the other insurer and then
Bespondent Pacific Indemnity relies on the general rule that, other things being equal, primary liability falls on the insurer of the owner rather than on the insurer of the oper
But the rule placing primary liability on the insurer of the owner in instances of duplicate coverage is a product of presumed intention and is only applied when the parties have made no specific agreement on the subject. If the evidence in a particular case shows the parties intended some other arrangement, then, as with other contracts, the specific intention of the parties will displace a general intention attributable to them in their silence. Their specific agreement will override the general rule. “As an aid to construction we observe the following complementary rules of law: ‘. . . An insurance company has the right to limit the coverage of a policy issued by it and when it has done so, the plain language of the limitation must be respected. ’ (Continental Cas. Co. v. Phoenix Constr. Co., 46 Cal.2d 423 , 432 [ 296 P.2d 801 , 57 A.L.R.2d 914 ]; Oakland Stadium v. Underwriters at Lloyd’s, London, 152 Cal.App.2d 292 , 296 [ 313 P.2d 602 ].) ... We also enlist here another aid to insurance policy interpretation: 1. . . The intent and meaning of the parties is far more important than the strict and literal sense of the words used in the contract. For that reason it is equally important to consider the subject matter of insurance and the purpose or object which the parties had in view at that time; and in addition to these matters, it is often considered proper to consider the business of the parties, the circumstances surrounding the making of the contract, the situation of the property, and all other conditions which have a legitimate bearing upon the intention of the parties. ’ (13 Appleman, Insurance Law and Practice, § 7385, pp. 32-33.)” (Underwriters at Lloyd’s of London v. Hunefeld, 230 Cal.App.2d 31 , 38-39 [ 40 Cal.Rptr. 659 ].)
Is the present case one in which specific agreements of the parties supersede the general rule 1 The four principals involved—California Rent Car, Brown-Massie, Pacific Indemnity, and Liberty Mutual—constructed a relationship of rights, liabilities, privileges, and immunities with one another around a framework of three related contracts: (1) the lease
The contract, dated 28 April 1962, under which ear No. 901 was leased for a two-year period by California Rent Car to Brown-Massie stated: “It is hereby understood that Brown, Massie & Associates will supply and pay for Bodily Injury with limits of $100,000-$300.000 and Property Damage Insurance with limits of $100,000 on this car leased from the California Rent Car and will furnish a copy of this policy with the California Rent Car endorsed thereon as an additional insured. ’ ’
It is evident from this provision of the leasing contract that California Rent Car intended liability insurance coverage for car No. 901 to be provided by Brown-Massie and that it contracted to that effect with Brown-Massie; that Brown-Massie intended to obligate itself to provide liability insurance coverage for ear No. 901 and promised California Rent Car it would do so.
Brown-Massie, in order to carry out its promise to California Rent Car, secured an added endorsement from Pacific Indemnity to its existing comprehensive liability policy. Endorsement No. 9 to its Pacific Indemnity policy, effective 4 May 1962, read: “It is agreed that California Rent Car is an Additional Insured under this policy but only as respects their interest in automobiles leased by him to the Named Insured. ’ ’
It is evident from the text of endorsement No. 9 that BrownMassie intended to fulfill its obligation to California Rent Car to procure insurance for the latter’s benefit, and so contracted with Pacific Indemnity; that Pacific Indemnity intended to provide coverage under its endorsement for California Rent Car, and so contracted.
The terms of the two previously mentioned contracts harmonize with the terms of the policy of comprehensive liability insurance issued by Liberty Mutual to California Rent Car, which, also in endorsement No. 9, stated: “This policy does not apply to: . . . any automobile rented or leased under a contract for the exclusive use of a customer for one year or more. ’ ’
From this trinity of related contracts we infer that all principals interested in the risk attached to the operation of car No. 901 intended Pacific Indemnity to carry that risk. And from the existence of this intention we deduce the further intention that in instances of dual coverage involving the other principals coverage by Pacific Indemnity would become primary. Indeed, were this not so, it would appear pointless for California Rent Car and Brown-Massie to have put in their contract the provision about insurance which they did, and pointless for Brown-Massie to have obtained the endorsement to its Pacific Indemnity policy which it did.
We conclude that both insureds and both insurers intended the risk attributable to the operation of car No. 901 to become the responsibility of the lessee and intended that in instances of dual coverage among themselves the lessee’s insurer would carry the primary liability. In these circumstances the disposition of the case is controlled by the reasoning of the Supreme Court in American Auto. Ins. Co. v. Republic Indem. Co., 52 Cal.2d 507 , 513 [ 341 P.2d 675 ], which specifies intention of the principals as the critical factor in allocating primacy of coverage between duplicate insurers. As the court later said in Atlantic Nat. Ins. Co. v. Armstrong, 65 Cal.2d 100 , 112 [ 52 Cal.Rptr. 569 , 416 P.2d 801 ] : “In interpreting an insurance contract we must consider the intent and reasonable expectations of the parties in entering into the agreement. Hence, we must evaluate not only plaintiff’s contract form, but also McKeown’s knowledge and understanding as a layman and his normal expectation of the extent of coverage of the policy. (Steven v. Fidelity & Cas. Co., 58 Cal.2d 862 , 869 [ 27 Cal.Rptr. 172 , 377 P.2d 284 ].) It cannot be doubted that he intended to relieve himself of liability which might arise out of the operation of the automobile, for surely he did not enter into the contract solely for the benefit of strangers who might be injured.” Nothing in the Insurance Code restricts the freedom of insurers and insureds to allocate risks among themselves to suit themselves, so long as the interests of third parties are adequately protected. (Home
We close with some reference to the practical justification for the allocation of liability in the manner in which the principals did. In most instances of long-term lease of an automobile the lessee will have closer control and supervision over the operation of the vehicle than will the owner, and the lessee will be in a better position to take precautions to reduce the incidence of accident and the consequent risk of liability. Accordingly, in giving effect to the intention of the principals to allocate primary liability to the insurer of the lessee-operator, we also support their practical decision to place primary responsibility on the entity in the better position to minimize the risk of loss.
Since the primary coverage falls on Pacific Indemnity and the coverage of Liberty Mutual is excess, the judgment is reversed.
Roth, P. J., and Herndon, J., concurred.
Cases cited
- Abbott v. Interinsurance Exchange 260 Cal.App.2d 528 at 532-538 p. 795
- Wildman v. Government Employees' Insurance 48 Cal.2d 31 p. 795, p. 796
- Continental Casualty Co. v. Phoenix Construction Co. 46 Cal.2d 423 at 432 p. 795, p. 799
- Fullerton v. Houston Fire & Casualty Insurance 234 Cal.App.2d 743 at 751-752 p. 796
- Wilshire Ins. Co. v. Transit Cas. Co. 248 Cal.App.2d 719 at 724 p. 796, p. 799
- American Motorists Insurance v. Underwriters at Lloyd's London Subscribing Certificates LC 26999, 27001 & 27002 224 Cal.App.2d 81 at 86, at 87 p. 796, p. 798
- Stolte, Inc. v. Seaboard Surety Co. 250 Cal.App.2d 169 at 172 p. 797
- Steven v. Fidelity & Casualty Co. 58 Cal.2d 862 at 869, 884, at 869 p. 798, p. 801
- Atlantic National Insurance v. Armstrong 65 Cal.2d 100 at 111-112, at 112 p. 798, p. 801
- Gray v. Zurich Insurance 65 Cal.2d 263 at 273-274 p. 798
- American Automobile Insurance Co. v. Republic Indemnity Co. 52 Cal.2d 507 at 512-513, at 513 p. 799, p. 801
- Oakland Stadium v. Underwriters at Lloyd's, London 152 Cal.App.2d 292 at 296 p. 799
- Underwriters at Lloyd's of London v. Hunefeld 230 Cal.App.2d 31 at 38-39 p. 799
- Home Indemnity Co. v. Mission Insurance 251 Cal.App.2d 942 at 947 p. 802