Majority
In September, 1936, Martin C. Wrenn took out a $2,000 policy of insurance on his life in the Connecticut General Life Insurance Company, designating his mother, the appellant, as beneficiary. In November, 1936, he died, and the beneficiary brought this action on the policy, joining as defendants the company and the insured’s widow, individually and as administratrix of his estate. The widow filed a cross-complaint, claiming half the insurance money by virtue of her community right, the premiums having been paid out of the insured’s earnings. The insurance company paid the $2,000 into court, and, on stipulation, half thereof was paid to the beneficiary. From a judgment awarding the remaining $1,000 to the widow the beneficiary has appealed.
Martin C. and Eleanor Wrenn were married in 1920 and continued to be husband and wife until his death. From August, 1932, until the entry of an interlocutory decree in November, 1932, a suit for divorce was pending between them, and while they were separated they entered into a property settlement. Pursuant to this agreement some $3,500 in bank deposits and certain personal effects were forthwith put into the wife’s name, and the real property, together with some personal property, was put into the husband’s
As one of the grounds for her claim that all the insurance money should go to her, the appellant invokes the provision in the agreement that all property thereafter acquired by either party should be and forever remain the sole and separate property of the party acquiring or receiving it. Appellant argues, first, that this provision remained binding and effective up to the time of her son’s death, and that it bars his widow from asserting her community claim to half the insurance money, and, second “that the evidence which proved the reconciliation at the same time disproved the intent of the parties to restore the property to its community status’’. True, the evidence shows that when the parties became reconciled nothing was done to restore the property (divided pursuant to the agreement) to its former position, but the present litigation is not concerned with that property. The policy in question was given vitality by premiums paid with money earned by the husband almost four years after the reconciliation, so it would seem that the executed parts of the agreement have no particular bearing on the present controversy. The provisions with respect to after-acquired property were," of course, executory. That a reconciliation, followed by the resumption of marital relations, operates to cancel the executory provisions of such a contract seems to be settled. (9 Cal. Jur. 827; Sargent v. Sargent, 106 Cal. 541 , 546 [ 39 Pac. 931 ]; Jones v. Lamont, 118 Cal. 499 , 502 [ 50 Pac. 766 , 62 Am. St. Rep. 251 ] ; Estate of Martin, 166 Cal. 399 , 402 [ 137 Pac. 2 ] ; Estate of Boeson, 201 Cal. 36 , 42 [ 255 Pac. 800 ].) See particularly Wells v. Stout, 9 Cal. 479 , 498, where the reason for the rule is given as follows: “The object of the deed is to provide for the maintenance of the wife whilst living separately from her husband; but, if reconciliation and cohabitation take place, her maintenance being obligatory upon him, the consideration of the deed fails. ’ ’ The trial court in the instant case found that the “agreement was entered into in contemplation of a divorce to be procured and a separation to be effected’’ and, further, that no divorce was ever granted, but that there was a reconeilation and resumption of cohabitation, and that the parties had orally annulled the agreement. There is ample
The case of Estate of Bengochea, 94 Cal. App. 647 , 651 [ 271 Pac. 760 ], cited by appellant, is not at all in point. There the spouses had become reconciled shortly before the husband’s death, it is true, but the wife had “sold her community interest to a third person for a valuable consideration, which admittedly was adequate, and . . . she did not thereafter seek to rescind ...” Moreover, the court was there dealing with an executed agreement; here, as said above, the trial court was concerned only with the executory part of the agreement in question.
Independently of the position just discussed, the appellant contends that there was a valuable consideration (see sec. 172, Civ. Code) moving from her to her son to support the insurance contract in her favor. The court found, however, “that the designation by said deceased of the plaintiff Dorothea Mundt as the beneficiary in said policy of insurance was made without the knowledge or written consent of said Eleanor Wrenn, and was not made for a valuable consideration; that the proceeds of said life insurance policy to the extent of $2,000 are community property”. It is claimed that this finding lacks evidentiary support.
From the appellant’s testimony the trial court might well have concluded that she did not consider the $2 a week a
It is claimed that Union Mutual Life Ins. Co. v. Broderick, 196 Cal. 497 [ 238 Pac. 1034 ], is controlling. The answer is that in the case at bar the court found that there was no consideration for the designation of the mother as the beneficiary. In the cited case, on the other hand, at page 507, after discussing section 172 of the Civil Code and the rule that premiums paid out of community funds impress the policy with a community character, the court says: ‘ ‘ This principle, however, has no application to the facts of the instant case, inasmuch as there is evidence in the record tending to support the implied finding of the trial court that the designation of the respondent as beneficiary of the proceeds of the policy was made by the assured for a valuable consideration. ’ ’
The last point urged by the appellant is stated by her counsel as follows: “May a husband whose wife upon his death inherits community property in excess of $5,000 make a valid gift to his mother of a $2,000 insurance policy which requires monthly premiums of $3.00 to be deducted from his earnings?” From the leading case of New York Life Ins. Co. v. Bank of Italy, 60 Cal. App. 602 [ 214 Pac. 61 ], through the many intervening eases, down to Travelers Ins. Co. v. Fancher, 219 Cal. 351 [ 26 Pac. (2d) 482 ], the only test applied to this problem has been whether the premiums (on a policy issued on the life of a husband after coverture) are paid entirely from community funds. If so, the policy becomes a community asset and the nonconsenting wife may recover an undivided one-half thereof “without regard” [as said in Dargie v. Patterson, 176 Cal. 714 , 721, 169 Pac. 360 ] “to the amount or condition of the estate remaining in his [the husband’s] hands at the time of his death”, and we might add, without regard to the disproportionate size of the premium when compared with the face of the policy.
The judgment is affirmed.
Peters, P. J., and Ward, J., concurred.
Cases cited
- Sargent v. Sargent 106 Cal. 541 at 546 p. 418
- Jones v. Lamont 118 Cal. 499 at 502 p. 418
- In re Estate of Martin 166 Cal. 399 at 402 p. 418
- Boeson v. State 201 Cal. 36 at 42 p. 418
- Wells v. Stout 9 Cal. 479 at 498 p. 418
- Brown v. Brown 170 Cal. 1 at 7 p. 419
- Pearsall v. Henry 153 Cal. 314 at 325 p. 419
- Bengochea v. Bengochea 94 Cal. App. 647 at 651 p. 419
- In re the Estate of Thomson 165 Cal. 290 at 296 p. 421
- Union Mutual Life Insurance v. Broderick 196 Cal. 497 p. 421
- New York Life Insurance v. Bank of Italy 60 Cal. App. 602 p. 421
- Travelers Insurance v. Fancher 219 Cal. 351 p. 421
- Dargie v. Patterson 176 Cal. 714 p. 421