Majority
On February 5,1938, respondent Fred Corwin, while in the employ of petitioner Witt’s Dairy as an ice-cream maker, sustained an injury to his right knee. Petitioner Massachusetts Bonding & Insurance Company, the insurance carrier for the employer, without a hearing before the commission, voluntarily accepted liability, and medical treatment was furnished and compensation as provided by law was paid to Corwin for sixty-six weeks at the rate of $21.61 per week. At the expiration of this period these payments were discontinued by the insurance carrier on the ground that as of May 20, 1939, Corwin’s temporary disability had terminated and that he was then able to perform the work he had been engaged in prior to his injury. On May 29, 1939, Corwin filed with the commission an application claiming that his temporary total disability had not terminated. A hearing was held at which the only issue was whether Corwin’s temporary disability continued after May 20, 1939. It was, and is, conceded by
The sole contention of the employer and its insurance carrier is that there is no evidence in the record before the commission to sustain its findings and award that the temporary total disability continued after the sixty-six week period had expired.
The fact that the insurance carrier, acting upon its doctor’s advice, had discontinued its payments, and that the employee filed his application for a further consideration of his claimed temporary total disability, east the burden upon him to prove that he still labored under such temporary total disability. (Labor Code, sec. 5705; Berzin v. Industrial Acc. Com., 125 Cal. App. 522 , 525 [ 14 Pac. (2d) 97 ]; Carlson v. F. H. DeAtley & Co., 55 Idaho, 713 [ 46 Pac. (2d) 1089 ].) Schneider in his Workmen’s Compensation Law, second edition, volume II, page 1871, section 537, says: “Where an employee contends that his temporary total disability continued after his physician had pronounced him fit to return to work, the burden of proving that his disability did continue thereafter rests with the claimant. ’ ’
On May 20, 1939, Dr. Frederick G. Linde wrote to the insurance carrier as follows: “Mr. Corwin has recently completed the extended physiotherapeutic treatments recommended by Dr. King and, I believe, has attained a maximum improvement, sufficient to warrant his attempt to return to work. I have discontinued physiotherapeutic treatments and have instructed the patient to return to work as of May 22, 1939. His knee now flexes to 110 degrees without pain. Extension is normal. He has adjusted his shoe to accommodate for some of the pre-existing shortening of the leg. I believe that he can carry out his usual work without handicap. If he continues to work uninterruptedly, I should like to examine him in four to six weeks to note progress.’’ In
This testimony of the employee when read in connection with the letters of Drs. Linde and King shows a situation simply as follows: The doctor immediately in touch with the case advises that in his opinion the patient ‘1 can carry out his usual work without handicap”. The employee, who apparently had been co-operative throughout, applies promptly and with the best of intentions to his former employer for his old position, but the position has been filled, and the employer does not feel justified in discharging the new man. As the referee observed, the doctor ordered him back to work, but, because the job has been filled, he “can’t get a work test”. The situation, to say the least, is an unsatisfactory one for there is, in the nature of things, no starting point. The sixty-six week period of disability expired; the burden of proving that the temporary total disability had not ended but should be extended, thereupon shifted to the employee; and the very experiment which would prove or disprove his case cannot be made, not because of any fault of his but simply because there is no opening. We are constrained to the conclusion that there is no evidence in the record, in these unusual circumstances, to support the finding and award that the temporary total disability continued. In other words, the employee’s burden of proof was not sustained.
In the last analysis the case presents the bald question whether this employee was physically able, on May 22, 1939, to return to the same kind of work he had performed before he was injured. It does not present the question sometimes encountered-—and discussed in respondents’ brief—whether an injured employee has recovered to such an extent that he can do other work, less onerous than that which formerly he was able to do, and actually locates himself in such other
There is no' conflicting evidence in the record now under review, and the opinion expressed by Dr. Linde, already referred to, would seem to be binding and conclusive. (William Simpson C. Co. v. Industrial Acc. Com., 74 Cal. App. 239 , 243 [ 240 Pac. 58 ]; Southern Cal. Edison Co. v. Industrial Acc. Com., 75 Cal. App. 709 , 714, 715 [ 243 Pac. 455 ]; General Acc., F. & L. Assur. Corp. v. Industrial Acc. Com., 106 Cal. App. 39 [ 288 Pac. 692 ].) There is nothing in the record in the nature of a contradiction of Dr. Linde’s opinion, by any other medical expert witness, and certainly no attempt at controverting it by the employee himself, who was the only lay witness in the ease.
In short, there is no evidence in the record to the effect that on May 20 or May 22, 1939, the employee was laboring under temporary total disability, while on the other hand there is this medical evidence that he was not.
The problem presented by this case presents a legislative, and not a judicial question. Here we find an employee who admittedly was temporarily totally disabled for ■ sixty-six weeks. He had reached a point of recovery where his ease was a border-line ease—lie may have or may not have been able to go back to work. The employer, for reasons already mentioned, gives him no work test. The insurance carrier stops his compensation, thus requiring the employee to file a petition. Under section 5705 of the Labor Code, and the other authorities cited, supra, the burden of proof is thus thrown on the employee. The doctors, who are employed by the carrier, express the opinion that he can go back to work, and so recommended. The employee is doubtful, but is willing to try, and cannot get work to make the test. In this case, if the employee had testified that he thought he could not work, the award would probably have to be affirmed, but he was very fair, and testified he would like to try and
If the carrier had denied liability at the outset, the employee would have received an award entitling him to temporary disability payments until further order of the commission. To terminate this liability, the carrier would have had to file a petition, thus assuming the burden of showing that the temporary disability had terminated. There would seem to be no reasonable ground for distinguishing between the two situations. However, under the present state of the statutes, the burden is on the employee. Not having sustained the burden, he must fail. This problem, in our opinion, should be called to the attention of the legislature for its consideration.
For the foregoing reasons, and upon the authorities cited, the award should be, and it is, annulled.
Peters, P. J., and Ward, J., concurred.
Cases cited
- Berzin v. Industrial Accident Commission 125 Cal. App. 522 at 525 p. 18
- William Simpson Construction Co. v. Industrial Accident Commission 74 Cal. App. 239 at 243 p. 21
- Southern California Edison Co. v. Industrial Accident Commission 75 Cal. App. 709 at 714, 715 p. 21
- General Accident, Fire & Life Assurance Corp. v. Industrial Accident Commission 106 Cal. App. 39 p. 21