Majority
The plaintiff, Mrs. Frances M. Norton, obtained" a judgment for damages in the sum of $8,000 against Mrs. Mabel D. Lyon, on account of personal injuries sustained in an automobile collision between a ear driven by Mrs. Lyon and one in which Mrs. Norton was riding. Thereafter Mrs. Norton brought the present action against the defendant insurance company to recover the amount' of the judgment under a policy of insurance issued by said company to Mrs. Lyon’s father-in-law, W. P. Lyon, who from the date of the issuance of the policy until his death, which occurred six weeks prior to the accident, was the owner of the ear Mrs.
The policy was issued to W. P. Lyon on April 14, 1931, and he was named therein as the assured. Besides insuring his automobile against loss by fire and theft it provided property damage insurance not exceeding $5,000 and public liability coverage to a maximum of $100,000. The term of the policy was six months, and premiums for one year were paid in advance. Under the general heading “Property Damage and Liability ’ ’ the policy insured "Against legal liability imposed upon the insured resulting solely and directly from an accident by reason of the ownership, maintenance, and/or use of the automobile described herein, while the policy is in force, not exceeding the amount specified in Clause F and G-, respectively, on account of . . . Clause G—Liability. Bodily injury and/or death suffered or alleged to have been suffered by any person, other than the Insured or those in his household, service or employment, to an amount not exceeding . . . ”, etc. And under the next general heading, “Terms and Conditions Forming a Part of This Contract” and the sub-head “(1) Risks Not Assumed By This Exchange” it provided: “The Exchange shall not be liable for loss or damage ... (D) Caused while the said automobile is being driven or operated by any person other than the Insured or a member of his immediate family or his paid driver; unless said person, otherwise qualified hereunder, is temporarily operating said automobile with the consent of the Insured except that the extension provided for in this condition shall not be available to: (1) any public garage, automobile repair shop, automobile sales agency, automobile service station or the agents or employees thereof. ...” (Italics ours.)
On the date of the issuance of the policy Mrs. Lyon and her husband were and for some time prior thereto had been making their home with W. P. Lyon, and they continued to live with him up to the time of his death, which occurred on November 13, 1931; and during all of that time Mrs. Lyon with her father-in-law’s permission drove his automobile. By his will he bequeathed the automobile as part of the residue
At the trial of the present action plaintiff claimed that in applying for the policy and during all the negotiations which led up to the issuance thereof W. P. Lyon insisted upon a form of contract of insurance that would give public liability coverage not only to him but also to Mrs. Mabel D. Lyon, and that at the time of the making of the contract it was understood and agreed between the parties that the policy to be issued would so provide; that in writing the policy the company, while not naming Mrs. Lyon specifically as an additional assured, employed certain ambiguous words, to wit, those above italicized, which indicate an intention to extend the coverage of the insurance to Mrs. Lyon in conformity with the previous understanding and agreement of the parties; and that when the provision of the policy in which the ambiguous words were inserted is read as a whole and construed most strongly against the company and in the light of the circumstances attending the making of the contract,, it is fairly susceptible of the interpretation that the insurance coverage was available to Mrs. Lyon and to the other members of the immediate family of the named assured; and that therefore plaintiff was entitled to introduce parol evidence, not for the purpose of varying, altering or contradicting the wording of the policy, but, as permitted by section 1860 of the Code of Civil Procedure, to show “the circumstances under which it was made, including the situation of the . . . parties to it . . .so that the judge be placed in the position of those whose lan
The following was the substance of the parol evidence so introduced and stricken out: Rena Musser testified that in April, 1931, she was the secretary of W. P. Lyon; that she saw Mr. Keller, “the agent, of the defendant”, at Mr. Lyon’s office and that in addition to Messrs. Lyon and Keller, she and Miss Lyetta Hayes were present; that Mr. Lyon stated very definitely that he wanted Mabel Lyon insured as well as himself; that he didn’t drive the car and didn’t want to know how to drive the ear and that she (Mabel D. Lyon) “must be fully covered as well as he was”; that Mr. Keller came back several times and each time it was very definitely stated that he (Mr. Lyon) “wanted Mabel covered as well as himself”, that he didn’t drive the car and that she was not a very careful driver, and that “he wanted to be sure that she was covered”; that at each of the conversations this same topic was discussed and Mr. Lyon stated that “he wanted his daughter-in-law to be insured and covered the same as he was”, to which Mr. Keller replied, “That is all right, I will take care of that.” On cross-examination this witness testified that on the first visit of Mr. Keller to the office of Mr. Lyon the latter stated to Mr. Keller, “My daughter-in-lavq Mabel Lyon, is doing the driving now, I have no chauffeur. I want her in the same as myself, that is the way I have been covered, I want her covered the same as myself” and stated that “he wanted her to have every protection he had” and stressed on that and repeated it; that Mr. Keller replied, "I will see this is all taken care of in the policy”; that about the third or fourth visit, Mr. Keller brought in the application,
We are of the opinion that, as plaintiff contends, the language employed by the company in writing provision “D” of the policy presented a case of latent or extrinsic ambiguity, and that therefore the parol evidence rejected by the court was admissible for the limited purpose for which it was introduced. As stated in California Jurisprudence (vol. 10, p. 939), in discussing the distinction between patent and latent or extrinsic ambiguities, “Some authorities, however, also recognize a third and ‘intermediate class of cases, which partakes of the nature both of patent and latent ambiguities; and that is, where the words are all sensible and have a settled meaning but at the same time consistently admit of two interpretations, according to the subject matter in the contemplation of the parties’. But this latter class may, in many instances, be treated as involving latent ambiguities.” The authority cited in support of the text is the early case of Jenny Lind Co. v. Bower, 11 Cal. 194 , wherein it was said: ‘ ‘ The language of every instrument should be so construed, if possible, as to effectuate the intentions of the parties; and to ascertain the meaning attached to particular words, when such words are used in various senses, parol evidence is perfectly legitimate. And this evidence is received to explain, and not to contradict or vary the written language. The patent ambiguity, which according to the rules of Lord Bacon cannot be aided by averment, arises from uncertainty upon the face of the instrument in the application of the terms used, and not from uncertainty in the meaning of the terms themselves, when those terms are susceptible of two meanings. (See 2 Parsons, 69, and note.) In the present case the ambiguity lies in the word north; and yet it is not within the rule laid
Here, as stated, the defendant company did not name Mabel D. Lyon as an additional assured, but in writing the policy it employed the term “extension”, which, when used in connection with public liability insurance, denotes an intention on the part of the insurer to extend the coverage to persons in addition to the named assured (Swift v. Zurich Gen. A. & L. Ins. Co., 112 Cal. App. 709 [ 297 Pac. 578 ] ; Firkins v. Zurich Gen. A. L. Ins. Co., 111 Cal. App. 655 [ 295 Pac. 1051 ]; Votaw v. Farmers Auto. Inter-Ins. Exchange, 15 Cal. (2d) 24 [ 97 Pac. (2d) 958 , 126 A. L. R. 538 ]); and it will be noted that in the provision in which the term “extension” was used, three different classifications of persons are mentioned, the first of which includes the members of the immediate family of the named assured, and the last being a group headed “any public garage”, etc. And it will
The defendant company has offered no definite explanation for the use in said clause of the term “extension”, nor attempted to analyze the meaning thereof as there used, more than to argue what it contends the entire provision means. But it would seem that the argument so made only tends to strengthen the plaintiff’s contention that the use of the term does present a ease of extrinsic ambiguity. However, in support of its position that no extrinsic ambiguity arose from the use of said term, it relies principally upon the decision in the case of Schoefer v. Farmers Auto. Inter-Ins. Exchange, 13 Cal. App. (2d) 289 [ 56 Pac. (2d) 977 ], wherein it was held that this same provision did not extend liability coverage to a person “otherwise qualified” who became involved in an accident while driving the assured’s automobile with his consent, and
The defendant also cites in support of its position several cases from other jurisdictions, among them being Baxter v. Continental Cas. Co., 48 Fed. (2d) 467, appeal dismissed 284 U. S. 578 [ 52 Sup. Ct. 2 , 76 L. Ed. 502 ]; State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v. Burwell, 232 Ala. 11 [ 166 So. 598 ]; Graham v. American Employers Ins. Co., (La. App.) 171 So. 471 ; Slattery v. Merchants Mut. Cas. Co., 125 Conn. 507 [ 7 Atl. (2d) 383 ], But an examination of those cases shows that none of the policies considered therein contained the clause on which the plaintiff here chiefly rests her claim as showing an extrinsic ambiguity.
Nor where, as here, an ambiguity is shown to exist in a liability insurance contract, is it essential for a plaintiff to establish which of the two constructions is the more logical. The contract “must be interpreted in the sense in which the promisor believed, a,t the time of making it, that the promisee understood it” (Civ. Code, sec. 1649), and in case of uncertainty “the language of a contract should be interpreted most strongly against the party who caused the uncertainty to exist. The promisor is presumed to be such party” (Civ. Code, sec. 1654). In this respect the court in Kautz v. Zurich Gen. A. & L. Ins. Co., 212 Cal. 576 [ 300 Pac. 34 ], in restating with approval the principles declared in Pacific etc. Co. v. Williamsburg, 158 Cal. 367 [ 111 Pac. 4 ], goes on to say that while a policy of insurance must be construed according to the language and terms used therein to arrive at their true sense,
The defendant contends that regardless of the question of the ambiguity, the parol evidence introduced by plaintiff was incompetent because it involved the conversations of a soliciting agent of the defendant company, which were not binding upon the company. The rule of exclusion thus sought to be invoked by the defendant, and the cases cited in support of the rule, doubtless apply when the testimony concerning the conversations of the soliciting agent is introduced for the purpose of varying, altering or contradicting, or showing a waiver of the provisions of an existing contract; or when, as in the ease of Toth v. Metropolitan Life Ins. Co., 123 Cal. App. 185 [ 11 Pac. (2d) 94 ], emphasized by defendant, the conversations are relied upon as constituting an oral contract between the soliciting agent’s principal and the person with whom the conversations are had. Here, however, as above pointed out, the purpose of the parol evidence introduced by the plaintiff as to the conversations had with the soliciting agent was to show the circumstances under which the contract was made, “so that the judge be placed in the position of those whose language he is to interpret” (Code Civ. Proc., sec. 1860); and necessarily those circumstances could be established only by the conversations had with the one who carried on the negotiations leading up to the execution of the contract, which in the present case was the soliciting agent who admittedly was duly authorized by the company to negotiate the contract and secure the application for the issuance thereof. For the purpose stated, the parol evidence introduced by plaintiff was competent. (Edwards v. Masonic Mut. Life Assn., 86 W. Va. 339 [ 103 S. E. 454 ]; Cooley’s Briefs on Insurance, 2d ed., vol. 1, p. 471; Schultz v. Benefit Assn., etc., 175 S. C. 182 [ 178 S. E. 867 ].)
In concluding the discussion on the point of the admissibility of the parol evidence, it may be well to state that we hold merely that it was admissible, and that the plaintiff was entitled to have the same considered by the court in
We are unable also to agree with the defendant company’s further contention that the evidence shows a breach on the part of Mabel D. Lyon of the cooperation clause of the policy which bars plaintiff’s recovery. This contention is based on the claim that in violation of the provisions of the policy she refused to allow the defendant company to proceed with the investigation and defense of the action. Briefly stated, the facts are these: The company’s attorneys appeared for Mabel D. Lyon in the first tort action without knowing of the death of W. P. Lyon. Following the filing of the second tort action, wherein Mrs. Lyon and the testamentary trustees were sued, considerable discussion took place between counsel for Mrs. Lyon and the trustees, and the defendant company and its attorneys, as to whether the company was liable under the terms of the policy; and eventually as shown by the correspondence which passed between the parties, counsel for Mrs. Lyon informed the company and its attorneys that if they denied all liability under the policy he believed that the company and its attorneys should step out of the case, and he requested the company to state definitely its position in the matter. In response to the letters so written by him he received certain replies, one of which read as follows : “This will advise you that I have received word from the Farmers Automobile Inter-Insurance Exchange that they have completed their investigation in this case and that their investigation discloses that Mabel D. Lyon, also known as Mrs. W. P. Lyon, Jr., was not at the time of the accident insured by their company or in any way protected under the policy issued to W. P. Lyon, Sr. While the company is willing as a matter of courtesy and advertising, without the assumption of any liability on their part, to defend this suit, if you still insist or desire that the defense of the case be turned over to you in accordance with your letter of February 1st, we will be pleased to make such arrangements at your convenience.” Several months later the attorneys for the defendant company again wrote counsel for Mrs. Lyon as follows: “The company is still of the opinion that neither Mabel D. Lyon or any of the defendants named in the new
Several other points are presented by the appeal relating to the question of the termination of the policy by reason of the death of W. P. Lyon and the effect of his death upon the rights of the respective parties under the policy; but in view of the conclusion we have reached upon the question of the admissibility of the parol _ evidence it is unnecessary to inquire into and determine those additional points.
The judgment is reversed.
Peters, P. J., and Ward, J., concurred.
A petition for a rehearing of this cause was denied by the District Court of Appeal on September 28, 1940, and an application by respondent to have the cause heard in the Supreme Court, after judgment in the District Court of Appeal, was denied by the Supreme Court on October 28, 1940. Edmonds, J., voted for a hearing. Traynor, J., did not participate.
Cases cited
- Jenny Lind Co. v. Bower & Co. 11 Cal. 194 at 198 p. 562, p. 563, p. 564
- Ferris v. Emmons 214 Cal. 501 p. 563
- Higgins v. California Petroleum & Asphalt Co. 120 Cal. 629 p. 563
- Towne v. Eisner 245 U. S. 418 at 425 p. 564
- Auzerais v. Naglee 74 Cal. 60 p. 564
- Swift v. Zurich General Accident & Liability Insurance 112 Cal. App. 709 p. 564
- Firkins v. Zurich General Accident & Liability Insurance 111 Cal. App. 655 p. 564
- Baxter v. Continental Casualty Co. 284 U. S. 578 p. 566
- Kautz v. Zurich General Accident & Liability Insurance 212 Cal. 576 p. 566
- Pac. Heating & Ventilating Co. v. Williamsburgh City Fire Ins. Co. of Brooklyn 158 Cal. 367 p. 566
- Toth v. Metropolitan Life Insurance 123 Cal. App. 185 p. 567