Majority
This ease presents appeals taken by both the plaintiff and defendant from a declaratory judgment, and so we shall refer to the parties here as they were referred to below.
This is a controversy between a former employee and a former employer as to what, if any, pension the former employee is entitled to receive from the former employer. The case is unique in that for several years both parties assumed that the employee was not only entitled to a pension but the pension was paid by the employer in an amount that both parties thought was correctly due. It was not until the employer promulgated a new pension plan that the former employee became dissatisfied and discord arose between them. The case is a reminder of the fable of the dog with a bone in his mouth who, in crossing a stream, suddenly saw his own reflection in the brook beneath and, annoyed at what he thought was a larger bone in the mouth of another dog, snapped for it, dropped his own bone and so lost all. While it is no doubt unfortunate for the plaintiff, it appears that by his suit he has only shown that he is entitled to a lesser amount than he had before.
The appeal of the plaintiff presents a single question, and that is whether the court should have found him entitled to a pension under the defendant’s so-called 1938 plan. The appeal of the defendant is from the finding that plaintiff is entitled to a pension of $126.34 per month based on the Retirement Plan of 1934, its contention being that no pension is payable or, in the alternative, that it should only be in the sum of $102.42 per month.
The facts which give rise to this controversy are these: On June 22, 1910, plaintiff entered the employ of defendant
On June 22, 1930, plaintiff had been employed by the company continuously for a period of twenty years. Accordingly on that date he had qualified as to one of the two conditions for a pension under the plan, i. e., twenty years of continuous employment by the company, but he could not then meet the other condition precedent for a pension, and that was age, as he was then only fifty-four. Shortly prior to July 1, 1930, he ascertained that he had a bad heart condition which made him fearful of his ability to serve the company on full time for the next six years so that he might achieve his pension if the company was disposed to continue him in its service. He had no reason to anticipate that it did not or would not desire his service and the record suggests none. He had been an efficient and loyal employee of the company and it in turn fully measured up in its loyalty to him. Because of the dangerous illness which was then upon him, plaintiff sought the good offices of the general manager of his company, under whom he had served for twenty years, to permit him to serve the company on half time at half pay. He was then drawing a salary of approximately $500 per month. As the request was of a character which should have been submitted to the assistant manager, Mr. Lewis, plaintiff was referred to him by the general manager. The facts of
Beginning with July 1, 1930, until July 1, 1936, the defendant mailed the plaintiff each month a check (charged against its payroll account as a matter of bookkeeping) in the sum of $175, except that beginning with October 1, 1931, when the defendant slashed by nine per cent the compensation of all employees not on pension, he received $159.25 per month until July 1, 1936. Since July 1, 1936, plaintiff has received a monthly pension check in the sum of $126.34. Prom July 1, 1930, until the date this action was filed in the lower court on April 27, 1939, the plaintiff received a total of $16,124.35 from the defendant company.
Pursuant to a right reserved to it the company in 1934 abolished the 1919 plan except as to employees who prior to July 1, 1934, had fully attained the right to receive pensions or disability benefits under the plan. Thereupon the company promulgated its so-called Retirement Plan of 1934. Unlike the 1919 plan, the 1934 plan provided for a retirement income based on contributions made by an employee and an annuity to be provided by the company. By the plan a pension committee, consisting of five employees selected by the company, was given authority, subject to the approval of the board of directors of the company, to determine conclusively all questions arising in the administration and application of the plan. Only such employees as were employed on a full time basis and who received a stated regular compensation for their services were eligible under the plan. Part time
A subsequent pension plan, promulgated in 1938, will be outlined, so far as that is necessary, when we come to the discussion of it later in this opinion.
The parties devote the major portion of their briefs to a discussion as to whether the oral agreement is or is not within the statute of frauds, and so we shall first discuss the applicability of the statute. Defendant company contends that the oral agreement alleged to have been made in 1930 between plaintiff and its assistant manager is invalid and unenforceable against it, as its promise made through Lewis, if it be bound thereby, is a promise which falls within that particular category of the statute of frauds which requires a writing where the promise “by its terms is not to be performed within a year from the making thereof.” In view of the contention it is important to observe that the only oral contracts of the character here involved which are within the statute are those which cannot be performed within a year of their making. (Hollywood Motion Picture Equipment Co. v. Furer, 16 Cal. (2d) 184 [ 105 Pac. (2d) 299 ] ; Williston on Contracts, Rev. Ed., sec. 495; Restat., Contracts, sec. 198.) The basic test for determining whether the oral contract is within or without the statute lies wholly with the terms of the oral contract. (Brock v. Button, 187 Wash. 27 [ 59 Pac. (2d) 761 ].) To ascertain the terms of the oral contract in the instant case we would normally turn to the findings and accept them as the measure of the terms except to the extent the findings were not sustained by the evidence. Here, however,
Plaintiff argues that under the contract as he states it, it does not fall within the statute. To sustain his position he relies on the principle that a promise of performance during the life of a specified person is not within the statute, as the death of the person may occur within the year. The difficulty with the plaintiff’s position here, and throughout his brief, is that he fails to observe the distinction between performing a contract and being discharged from liability under it. (See Williston on Contracts, Rev. Ed., sec. 496.) Plaintiff leans heavily on Weatherford Mineral Wells & N. W. Ry. Co. v. Wood, 88 Tex. 191 [ 30 S. W. 859 , 28 L. R. A. 526 ], which held that a promise to give an annual pass for ten years was not within the statute, as the recipient might die within the year and so the promise might be fulfilled within the year. It is enough to say of that case that it has not been followed outside its jurisdiction and it has been criticised. (2 Williston on Contracts, sec. 496, note 2.)
It is self-evident that the contract in this case was within the statute of frauds. The trial court’s fourth conclusion to the contrary was erroneous.
Retirement Plan of 1934: At the time of the oral conversation in 1930 between plaintiff and Mr. Lewis the only ¡oension plan which was outstanding and discussed by the parties was the 1919 plan. That plan had no provision, in terms, permitting part time employment to be calculated as full time or part time as to either its twenty-years’ or sixty-years’ requirements. There is nothing in the record to indicate that either the plaintiff or Mr. Lewis recalled or knew that the plan was deficient in the particular just mentioned. As plaintiff makes no claim that the defendant could not after July 1, 1930, abrogate the 1919 plan in its entirety, so far as he was concerned, we need not further consider it. It is
It is evident from a reading of the Retirement Plan of 1934 that plaintiff not only was ineligible to a pension under that plan but, what is more, he did nothing in an attempt to get under the plan. This may have been due to the fact that he simply assumed the plan covered his case. The 1934 plan did, however, provide that the pension committee, subject to the approyal of the board of directors, should have complete authority to determine all questions arising in the application of the plan. In 1935 the pension committee, evidently proceeding on the theory that the plan in terms embraced the plaintiff, caused an official of the company to forward to plaintiff for his signature an application for a pension under the 1934 plan. This application was duly signed by plaintiff and returned to the company. On March 20, 1936, the same official wrote the plaintiff advising him that on July 1, 1936, he would “be transferred to the pension payroll, at the rate of $126.34 per month in accordance with pension rules and requirements.” (Italics ours.) Subsequently the pension committee on July 1, 1936, granted a pension of $126.34, proceeding on the assumption that plaintiff had twenty-four years of service to his credit. There was no approval of the act of the committee by the board of directors. However, it seems evident the pension was granted under and pursuant to the 1934 plan, otherwise it would not have been within the authority of the pension committee. That being the case, may the company now contend that the plaintiff did not have a vested right to a pension under the plan?
The pension plan of 1919 was a bonus plan, not merely to encourage performance by the employee of his contract but to induce him to refrain from exercising his right of quitting. While the employee concedes that his employer could have abrogated the plan without substituting another and without liability to him, yet having granted the pension he contends it may not now revoke it. In support of this claim
Even though the doctrine of equitable estoppel—the basis of the cases just cited—is not here applicable, we are of the opinion that the doctrine of promissory estoppel is on the facts applicable and that the case may be solved on that basis. That doctrine is “distinct from the ordinary equitable estoppel, since the representation is promissory, not a misstatement of an existing fact. The promisor misstates no fact; he says, at most, simply, ‘I will perform though you do not comply with the condition’, or, 'though you subject yourself to a legal defense’. To bring the case within the reason of the rule it is essential that the promisee could and would have performed the condition, or would not have allowed the defense to arise, had it not been for the promisor’s waiver.” (3 Williston on Contracts, sec. 689.) In the instant case the employer promised to forego the condition of twenty years continuous service immediately prior to the date upon which the employee should attain sixty years of age. There was evidence upon which the trial court could and did find that the employee would not have ceased his employment except
Moreover, although the question is close, we think it may fairly be said that the defendant company did not intend by the adoption of the Retirement Plan of 1934, after having held out to its employees for fifteen years the possibility of a pension under the 1919 plan, to eliminate the equitable contingent rights acquired by them or former employees under the 1919 plan. Rather we think it sought by the Retirement Plan of 1934 to amend and supersede the 1919 plan, preserving however, so far as was consonant with the new plan, all contingent rights under the superseded plan. This is indicated by the letter it wrote its employees and former employees wherein it said: “It [the 1919 plan] was more or less inflexible in many respects and imposed upon the company a continually increasing financial burden which eventually would have led to the necessity of abandoning it altogether. To prevent such an unfortunate occurrence, its officers, after a number of months of intensive study with the aid of pension experts, have developed a new pension plan, which has been approved and adopted by the Board of Directors in lieu of the old pension agreement.”
The only further question we have to decide is the amount of pension payable under that plan. It is clear that the plaintiff actually retired from active service on July 1,
We turn now to plaintiff’s contention that he should have been awarded by the court below a pension based on the 1938 plan. It appears from the record that on December 30, 1937, the board of directors of the defendant company, by resolution effective as of February 28, 1938, terminated, pursuant to a right reserved therein, the Retirement Plan of 1934 except as to annuities then in force for employees previously retired under that plan. In lieu of this plan, to the extent it was terminated, it provided for pensions in accordance with the terms of a Pension Manual effective March 1, 1938. However, the resolution additionally recited that the company had pensioners who had been retired under the 1934 plan who would have qualified for retirement under the 1919 plan had it been in effect on their retirement, and as to such it provided, in general terms, that if a computation set forth in the resolution, when applied to their ease, indicated a greater pension in their favor than they were receiving they should thereafter receive such larger pension and, in a lump sum, the difference between such amount and what had been received from the date of retirement. Nevertheless, the resolution went forward to identify spe
A form letter referring to the resolution and enclosing a copy of the Pension Manual was sent to every employee of the company. Such a letter and manual was sent to plaintiff. Thereafter he made demand on the companjr for a pension in accord with the computation set up in the resolution, even though he was not on the list of pensioners therein named. The demand was refused. His claim here for such pension is predicated on several theories, but the reasoning presented in support of the various theories seems to us to contain within it its own answer. No rule is suggested, and none can be, which would require the company in the absence of a contract to enlarge the pension payments of all retired pensioners in a class just because it does so for some one or more out of its own treasury. We may not read isolated general portions of the resolution that are helpful to plaintiff’s case, but instead we must read it as a whole, and particularly give effect to specific language that bears on plaintiff’s claim rather than general language. The purport of the resolution and its limitations are too plain to call for discussion. Incidentally it may be said that it is one thing to be obligated to pay a pension pursuant to a plan under which an employee has retired; it is quite another thing to assume that a company may not subsequently single out such pensioners as it chooses from a class and gratuitously pay them a larger pension from its own corporate funds. Moreover, even those of the class who are singled out have no vested right in that portion of the excess pension paid, as appears from the reservations in the 1938 plan. The finding of the
The judgment is reversed with instructions to the trial court to amend its findings, conclusions and judgment to accord with our holding. Appellant Southern California Edison Company to recover costs on appeal.
Wood, Acting P. J., and McComb, J., concurred.
Cases cited
- Seymour v. Oelrichs 156 Cal. 782 p. 619