Majority
Defendants have appealed from a judgment granting plaintiff’s petition for a peremptory writ of mandate and establishing petitioner’s right to a pension as the widow of a deceased police officer.
Ben N. Wood, while employed by the police department of the city of Long Beach, sustained injuries in the course of his employment which caused permanent disability. Upon his application the Board of Police and Fire Pension Commissioners of the city on March 30, 1936, directed that he be retired because of physical disability received in the discharge of his duties and directed that he be paid an annual pension as provided by subdivision 3 of section 187 of the Charter of Long Beach. Mr. Wood died on May 27, 1938, and in the following July the petitioner herein, widow of Ben 1ST. Wood, filed an application with defendant board for a pension, claiming that she was entitled thereto under the provisions of subdivision 4 of section 187 of the charter. The application having been denied, petitioner instituted the present proceeding to compel the board to pay to her the sum due as the widow of a retired police officer.
The petition contains two counts. The first count is based upon the claim that petitioner is entitled to a pension for the reason that Mr. Wood was retired for disability at the time of his death. The second count is based upon the' claim that petitioner is entitled to receive a pension because of the fact that Mr. Wood’s death resulted from injuries received during the course of his employment. The trial court made no finding on the second cause of action but found the facts in favor of petitioner on the first cause of action, and ordered the issuance of a writ of mandate compelling defendants to grant the application for a pension and to take such further action as might be necessary to cause to be paid to her the sum of $3,262.50, the sum due for past accruals.
The principal issue in this appeal concerns subdivision 4, which provides in part as follows: “Whenever any member of the Police or Fire Department shall die as a result of an injury received during the performance of his duty, or from sickness caused by the discharge of such duty, or after retirement, or while eligible to retirement from such department, then an annual pension shall be paid in equal monthly installments to his widow, or child or children, or dependent parent or parents, in an amount equal to one-half (%) of the salary attached to the rank or position which such deceased person held in such department at the time of his death or one year prior to the date of his retirement from active duty in such department.” This subdivision further provides for the payment of such pensions during the life or until the remarriage of the widow or until any children surviving shall have reached the age of 18 years. Subdivisions 5 and 6 provide the method of creating a pension fund, which is largely
It is the contention of defendants that although a widow of a policeman retired after service of twenty years would be entitled to a pension, the widow of a policeman who died after retirement because of physical disability is not entitled to a pension unless it can be established that death resulted from injuries received in or sickness caused by the discharge of official duties; but petitioner contends that the language of subdivision 4 compels the allowance of a pension to the widow of any officer whose death occurred after retirement, regardless of the cause of death. In their briefs both parties have printed quotations from various decisions referring to the well established rule that the courts in interpreting statutes should determine the legislative intent. Defendants assert that the language used in subdivision 4 is ambiguous and that it was not the intention of the framers of the charter to provide a pension for one in the position of petitioner.
Subdivision 4 provides in plain language for the payment of a pension to the dependents of a policeman whose death occurred (a) as the result of a service-connected injury; or (b) as the result of a service-connected sickness; or (c) after retirement; or (d) while eligible to retirement. Each of these contingencies establishes a separate and distinct classification of dependents entitled to receive a pension. Each contingency is separated by the word “or” and is appropriately punctuated by a comma. It is a clear and concise statement of the conditions under which rights to a pension are established. To uphold the contention of defendants it would be necessary to omit the comma after the words ‘‘or after retirement” and insert in place of the comma the words “because of length of service.” The courts are not at liberty to alter the plain language of the charter, in which we find no inconsistent or unreasonable provisions. There is no occasion for speculation as to the intention of the framers of the charter, who have used language which is easily understood.
We find nothing unreasonable in petitioner’s contention. It is obvious that policemen who die after retirement because of physical disability in most cases die at an earlier age than those who die after retirement because of length of service. The needs of the dependents of a younger member of the department who has been deprived of his earning capacity
Defendants base their contention that the petitioner is not entitled to a pension mainly upon the suggestion that the charter fails to specifically provide for the amount of a pension payable to the dependents of a deceased police officer who had been retired because of disability before having worked in the department for a period of one year. Without conceding that no means is provided for fixing the amount of the pension in such a contingency, petitioner points out that Mr. Wood had in fact served many years in the department. The commissioners, and in turn the court, would not be justified in ignoring the express provisions of the charter which clearly provide the right to and the amount of a pension because of the mere fact that the framers of the charter failed to take into consideration every possible contingency which might arise in fixing the amounts of the various pensions for which provision was being made.
Defendants contend that petitioner may not prevail for the reason that she did not file a claim with the city clerk. Section 338 of the Charter of Long Beach provides as follows: “All claims for damages against the City of Long Beach must be presented to the city council, and filed with the city clerk within six (6) months after the occurrence for which the damages arose.” In July, 1936, the city council enacted an ordinance providing that “all demands or claims for damages against the City of Long Beach, or any officer, board or commission of the City, must be presented and filed . . . and ... all other demands or claims of whatsoever kind or character, against the City, or any officer, board or commission of the City, must be presented and filed . . . within six (6) months after the last item of the act or demand or claim accrued.” The ordinance further provides that such claims should be addressed to the city council and filed with the city clerk.
Requirements for the filing of claims with the clerks of governmental bodies have been upheld on the theory that timely opportunity should be given for the investigation of claims and for possible settlement before the commencement of court actions. In practical operation such enactments have often resulted in the failure of applicants to obtain hearings in court due to inadvertence oh to the ignorance of the applicants concerning the requirements of ordinances, or to error on their part as to the necessity for filing claims. At times the courts have reluctantly refused hearings because of the strict statutory requirements on the subject, realizing that the bar of the statute had not aided in the administration of justice. We are unwilling to apply the rule requiring the filing of claims to one who seeks a hearing in the courts unless we are compelled so to do by statute validly enacted. In the present case the filing of a demand with the city clerk could not possibly have been of assistance to either party, for the defendant members of the commission were the only officials
Dryden v. Board of Pension Commissioners, 6 Cal. (2d) 575 [ 59 Pac. (2d) 104 ], relied upon by defendants, contains nothing inconsistent with the views herein expressed. In that case no issue concerning the proper place for the filing of demands or claims was before the court.
The judgment is affirmed.
Moore, P. J., and McComb, J., concurred.
Appellants’ petition for a hearing by the Supreme Court was denied March 6, 1942.