Majority
Defendants appeal from a judgment determining that they hold certain properties as constructive trustees for plaintiff, and granting a personal judgment against the estate of W. B. Barnes. Defendant Evadna L. Barnes is the widow of W. B. Barnes, and defendant Charles B. Barnes is his son. Both are executors of the estate of W. B. Barnes.
W. B. Barnes died May 15, 1939. For many years prior to his death Barnes had been employed by Brodie Bros., Inc., a corporation. After his death it was discovered that from 1934 to the time of his death Barnes had embezzled substantial sums from his employer. A claim for this amount was filed by plaintiff in the estate proceedings and was rejected, and this action was then instituted. Among other things, the plaintiff alleged that certain of the misappropriated funds had been used to purchase a piece of real property at 1976 Waltonia Drive, Montrose, California, and some of such funds had ¡been used to pay premiums on a $2,000 life insurance policy issued by defendant John Hancock Mutual Life Insurance Company, in which policy Evadna Barnes was named beneficiary. Plaintiff prayed for a judgment against the estate in the amount of the embezzled funds, for a determination that Mrs. Barnes held the real property in trust for plaintiff, and for a determination that the proceeds of the insurance policy should be ordered paid to him.
The trial court, at the request of the parties, appointed a referee, with instructions to investigate and report back to the court the extent and disposition of all misappropriated funds. The trial court’s findings and judgment are largely based on the several reports of the referee. The referee proceeded to hold hearings and take evidence on May 3, 7, 8, and 20th. A reporter was present only on May 20th. On June 10, 1940, the referee filed his report with the trial court. Exceptions were filed by defendants, and on July 8, 1940, the report of the referee was set aside by stipulation of counsel, the matter resubmitted to the referee, and counsel granted leave to amend their pleadings to conform to the proof. On November 12, 1940, the referee filed his final report with the trial court, after holding hearings on October 3, 4, 14, and 18th. A reporter was present at all these hearings. This second report was not a supplement to the first. The second report was a complete report on all the problems
The referee had found that the total amount of the peculations by Barnes for the period 1934 to 1939 was $5,815.03. The trial court ruled that the statute of limitations barred the collection of any sums misappropriated prior to May 29, 1936, thus applying the three-year statute of limitations, the complaint having been filed May 29, 1939. The correctness of this ruling must be assumed on this appeal, plaintiff not having appealed. The trial court also found that the amount embezzled prior to May 29, 1936, was $2,450, which amount he held should be deducted from the total sum misappropriated. Judgment was given plaintiff for $3,365.03. The trial court also imposed a trust on the proceeds of the life insurance policy and on the real property, and decreed that the total of the proceeds of the life policy should be paid to plaintiff, that the realty should be sold to satisfy the judgment, plaintiff to get no more than $3,365.03 in any event, and the excess turned over to Bvadna Barnes, and gave judg-. ment against the estate of Barnes for any deficiency.
Before discussing the main contentions of the parties, some reference must be made to the state of the record upon which this appeal is presented. The appeal purports to be by the alternative method on a full transcript under section 953a of the Code of Civil Procedure. We have before us a re-
Some reference should also be made to the clerk’s transcript. There has been filed one volume entitled “Clerk’s Transcript,” and another entitled “Supplement to Clerk’s Transcript.” The Clerk’s Transcript contains the usual documents going to make up the judgment roll. The Supplement contains various documents that properly should be in the judgment roll, and also contains the first report of the referee that was vacated by stipulation, and the final and the supplemental reports of the referee. There can be no doubt but that the referee’s report and findings and exceptions thereto are properly part of the judgment roll. (§ 670, Code Civ. Proc.; Weaver v. Fickett, 196 Cal. 401 [ 238 P. 87 ].) However, the first report of the referee cannot be considered by this court. The trial court, upon stipulation of all concerned, ordered that that report be “"set aside without prejudice, and the matter is re-submitted to the Referee for further proceedings and the report under the order of reference heretofore made herein.” The subsequent report filed by the referee was complete. It dealt not only with the evidence introduced after the resubmission, but also with the evidence produced .before that time. In other words, it was a complete report and entirely superseded the report first filed. For that reason this court may not consider the superseded report.
The first contention of appellants is that there is no proper finding that respondent is the owner of the cause of action. It will be remembered that Barnes embezzled the money while employed by Brodie Bros., Inc., a corporation. The plaintiff is designated as “C. K. Brodie, doing business as Brodie Bros., a successor to Brodie Bros., Inc., a corporation.” The trial court found, pursuant to an allegation contained in the second amended complaint as amended by permission of court to conform to the proof that: “ On or about May 16, 1939, said corporation, Brodie Bros. Inc., was and
The appellants next contend that there was not a sufficient tracing of the misappropriated funds to justify the imposition of a constructive trust on the real property and insurance policy. So far as this contention is predicated upon the alleged insufficiency of the evidence to support the findings of the referee and trial court, it is without merit. For reasons already stated, those findings must be conclusively presumed to be supported. So far as the real property located on Waltonia Drive is concerned, there is no merit to the contention that the findings do not support the conclusion that the misappropriated money was used to purchase this property. The referee found that this property was purchased in 1936 for a total purchase price of $3,150, of which $1,234 was paid in cash; that installments were paid from the Bank of America account in which salary and additional sums (obviously part of the misappropriated funds), were deposited; that at the death of Mr. Barnes there was on deposit with the Bank of Commerce $2,721 (which account contained the balance of the misappropriated funds) ; that Mrs. Barnes, the day following Mr. Barnes’ death, with
As to the insurance policy, a different situation exists. Both the referee and the trial court found that the policy was issued for $2,000 on the life of W. B. Barnes by the John Hancock Mutual Life Insurance Company on December 1, 1931, and that the premiums after April 9, 1934, were paid by Barnes with money stolen from plaintiff. Obviously, the premiums from December 1, 1931, to April 9, 1934, must have been paid with Barnes’ own funds. Moreover, appellant’s plea of the statute of limitations was sustained as to all funds taken prior to May 29, 1936. Whether that determination was correct or not is immaterial, plaintiff not having appealed from the judgment is bound thereby. As a result, plaintiff has no legal right to any portion of the policy, the premiums for which were paid prior to May 29, 1936. There is no finding as to the total amount of the premiums that were paid into the policy, nor is there any finding as to the total amount of the premiums that were paid with misappropriated funds. Nevertheless, the trial court by its judgment ordered the insurance company to pay the total amount
That portion of the judgment providing that plaintiff should be paid the entire insurance policy is reversed with instructions to the trial court to ascertain the amount of the total premiums on the policy and the amount of such premiums paid since May 29, 1936, and to grant plaintiff a pro tanto interest in the policy; the balance of the judgment is affirmed. All parties to bear their own costs on this appeal.
Knight, J., and Ward J., concurred.
Cases cited
- Weaver v. Fickett 196 Cal. 401 p. 320
- Mitchell v. Dunn 211 Cal. 129 p. 322
- Dayton v. H. B. Claflin Co. 45 N.Y.S. 1005 p. 323
- Holmes v. Gilman 138 N.Y. 369 p. 323