Majority
This is an appeal by plaintiff from a judgment entered on a verdict of a jury for defendant. The plaintiff sued for damages resulting from personal injuries received when he was struck by defendant driving his own car. The main error urged on appeal is the refusal of the trial court to give instructions to the jury concerning defendant’s liability in the event he had the last clear chance to avoid the accident. Contrary to the usual practice on appeal, therefore, the facts will be viewed in the light most favorable to plaintiff and appellant on the above theory in order to determine whether they would have supported a verdict in plaintiff’s favor.
Martin Brown, plaintiff and appellant, was employed by Permanente Corporation as a parking lot attendant in the parking lot maintained by the corporation for its employees’ cars. The accident occurred at 7:45 a. m. in the parking lot' where Brown was directing the employees to place their ears. At the time of the accident there were three rows of parked cars in this particular lot paralleling a thirty-foot roadway which led directly to the plant, and was used only
Appellant contends that all the elements necessary to bring the last clear chance doctrine into play are present. In Girdner v. Union Oil Co., 216 Cal. 197 , 202 [ 13 P.2d 915 ], these necessary elements are said to be: “That plaintiff has been negligent and, as a result thereof, is in a position of danger from which he cannot escape by the exercise of ordinary care; and this includes not only where it is physically impossible for him to escape, but also in cases where he is totally unaware of his danger and for that reason unable to escape; that defendant has knowledge that the plaintiff
In applying these requisites to the facts of the case at bar it is manifest that not all of the elements necessary are present. Here Brown was a parking attendant familiar with the practice of parking ears in line, and there is nothing in
Appellant admits that the cases by which he seeks to uphold his position are clearly distinguishable on their facts. Apparently this precise factual situation has not arisen before and appellant seeks to place these facts within the principle enunciated in Nicolai v. Pacific Electric Ry. Co., 92 Cal. App. 100 [ 267 P. 758 ], at page 105: “As held in a number of cases, where a person sees another in a position which is in fact dangerous, he may not rely upon dullness to excuse him from not realizing the danger of the position (Basham v. Southern Pacific Co., 176 Cal. 320 [ 168 P. 359 ]); and if he sees the dangerous situation he must use reasonable diligence in analyzing the same (Starch v. Pacific Electric Ry. Co., 172 Cal. 277 [L.R.A. 1916 E, 58, 156 P. 51 ]), knowledge of danger being imputed where the circumstances are such as to convey to the mind of a reasonable man that the plaintiff is in a position of peril. (Harrington v. Los Angeles Ry. Co., 140 Cal. 514 [ 98 Am.St.Rep. 85 , 68 L.R.A. 238 , 74 P. 15 ].) ’’ It is clear that for the knowledge of appellant’s peril to be imputed to the respondent, assuming that he knew the position of the appellant, it must appear that the circumstances were such that a reasonable man would realize the peril caused by unawareness. (Johnson v. Southwestern Engineering Co., 41 Cal.App.2d 623 [ 107 P.2d 417 ]; Richardson v. Ribosso, 120 Cal.App. 641 [ 8 P.2d 226 ]; Bogardus v. Snyder, 17 Cal.App.2d 411 [ 62 P.2d 153 ]; Gulino v. Finocchiaro, 128 Cal.App. 496 [ 17 P.2d 754 ].) Respondent here is in the position of a person who did not know and had no
As a second ground for reversal the appellant complains of the respondent’s counsel’s conduct at the trial. Although neither the employer nor his compensation insurance carrier was made a party to the action, the respondent’s counsel asked appellant on the stand whether he had lost any wages, received any compensation, or incurred any doctor’s bills. Objections were sustained to all these questions and the jury instructed to disregard them. Further, respondent’s counsel asked the doctor, who testified to the nature of appellant’s injury, by whom the appellant was referred to him, eliciting the response that the insurance carrier had done so. Once in his final argument respondent’s counsel referred to the compensation carrier without objection in order to cast doubt on the integrity of the appellant’s witnesses; he also argued that Mr. Brown could go before the Industrial Accident Commission “and ask for a permanent rating,” which fact explained the lack of testimony of the doctor employed by the carrier as to the permanency of Brown’s injury. Appellant objected, and the court instructed the jury to disregard everything not in evidence before the court in determining the verdict. Appellant’s position that such conduct was prejudicial error justifying a reversal is not well taken. Appellant himself put before the jury the fact that an insurance company was involved in the ease by introducing exhibits for medical expenses which were all addressed to the insurance carrier, and again when he attempted to impeach one of defendant’s witnesses with a written statement given before the trial to an insurance investigator, and in his final argument, after respondent’s counsel had made the remark about a permanent rating. There is nothing to prevent a prejudicial fact such as the existence of insurance going before the jury so long as it is relevant to an issue in the case, (Hatfield v. Levy Brothers, 18 Cal.2d 798 [ 117 P. 2d 841 ]; Weis v. Davis, 28 Cal.App.2d 240 [ 82 P.2d 487 ]; Gillette v. San Francisco, 41 Cal.App.2d 758 [ 107 P.2d 627 ].) Here the jury might have found the testimony of the doctor biased by reason of his insurance company connection. At least that was the object which the respondent sought and the evidence objected to was admissible to prove that theory.
Finally, it must be noted that appellant urged this claim
The cases on which appellant relies to support his position are clearly distinguishable in that they involve appeals from orders granting new trials where one of the grounds for the granting of the motion for a new trial was prejudicial misconduct of the attorney. (Baroni v. Rosenberg, 209 Cal. 4 [ 284 P. 1111 ] ; Amore v. Di Resta, 125 Cal.App. 410 [ 13 P.2d 986 ]; Ferrario v. Conyes, 19 Cal.App.2d 58 [ 64 P.2d 975 ]; Mangino v. Bonslett, 109 Cal.App. 205 [ 292 P. 1006 ].) Walling v. Kimball, 17 Cal.2d 364 [ 110 P.2d 58 ], notes this difference in approach to the problems of what constitutes prejudicial misconduct on appeal. But, when the case comes to us after the trial judge has denied a new trial urged upon these grounds and has thus found that the claimed misconduct was not prejudicial, the judgment must be affirmed unless there is no reasonable basis for such finding. We may not assume that the jury denied appellant any recovery because it believed he might get some compensation
The judgment appealed from is affirmed.
Sturtevant, J., and Spence, J., concurred.
Cases cited
- Girdner v. Union Oil Co. 216 Cal. 197 at 202 p. 37
- Johnson v. Sacramento Northern Railway 54 Cal.App.2d 528 at 532 p. 38
- Nicolai v. Pacific Electric Railway Co. 92 Cal. App. 100 p. 39
- Basham v. Southern Pacific Co. 176 Cal. 320 p. 39
- Starck v. Pacific Electric Railway 172 Cal. 277 p. 39
- Harrington v. Los Angeles Railway Co. 140 Cal. 514 p. 39
- Johnson v. Southwestern Engineering Co. 41 Cal.App.2d 623 p. 39
- Richardson v. Ribosso 120 Cal.App. 641 p. 39
- Bogardus v. Snyder 17 Cal.App.2d 411 p. 39
- Gulino v. Finocchiaro 128 Cal.App. 496 p. 39
- Hatfield v. Levy Bros. 18 Cal.2d 798 p. 40, p. 41
- Weis v. Davis 28 Cal.App.2d 240 p. 40
- Gillette v. City & County of San Francisco 41 Cal.App.2d 758 p. 40
- Lafargue v. United Railroad of San Francisco 183 Cal. 720 p. 41
- Baroni v. Rosenberg 209 Cal. 4 p. 41
- Amore v. Di Resta 125 Cal.App. 410 p. 41
- Ferrario v. Conyes 19 Cal.App.2d 58 p. 41
- Mangino v. Bonslett 109 Cal.App. 205 p. 41
- Walling v. Kimball 17 Cal.2d 364 p. 41