Majority
The judgment from which defendant The. Ocean Accident and Guarantee Corporation, Ltd., appeals reformed a policy of automobile insurance issued by said defendant in favor of plaintiff by correcting the description of the property insured so as to describe a 1934 Ford ear, motor No. 18-705524, instead of a 1933 Ford, motor No. 18-447073; the judgment also awarded plaintiff as moneys due under the insurance policy the aggregate sum of $3,350 and interest. The basis of the reformation of the contract which the court decreed is the one declared by section 3399 of the Civil Code, which reads: ‘ ‘ When, through fraud or a mutual mistake of the parties, or a mistake of one party, which the other at the time knew or suspected, a written contract does not truly express the intention of the parties, it may be revised on the application of a party aggrieved, so as to express that intention. ...”
The court found: ‘1 That it is true that it was the intention of the plaintiff and defendant The Ocean Accident and Guarantee Corporation, Limited, to insure the plaintiff from liability caused by accident, as aforesaid, arising out of the use, ownership and maintenance of an automobile owned by plaintiff and in which he had an insurable interest, to-wit, a 1934 de luxe Ford coupe, motor No. 18-705524, and not to insure the plaintiff from liability in connection with the use, ownership and maintenance of any automobile not owned or operated by
In Genuser v. Ocean Acc. etc. Corp., (1941) 42 Cal.App.2d 673 [ 109 P.2d 753 ], which was a different action brought by plaintiff herein against defendant herein for reformation of the same policy of insurance, it was held that the complaint, which alleged the same facts as those contained in the above quoted finding, were sufficient to state a cause of action for reformation of the contract. Accordingly, the court reversed a judgment which had been entered in favor of the defendant after the sustaining of its demurrer to the complaint. We adopt for the purposes of our decision what the court there said as to the sufficiency of the facts to establish a mistake warranting reformation. The sole question before us on this branch of the case is whether the evidence was sufficient to support the foregoing finding; the answer is in the affirmative.
Plaintiff arranged to buy a used Ford car from a dealer. He paid the price asked for a 1933 car, motor No. 18-447073, and took possession of it under an arrangement that he might drive it for a few days and, if not satisfied, return it and exchange it for any other second-hand ear the dealer had for sale. Title to the car was not transferred to him. Three days later he returned the car to the dealer and took in its place and acquired title to a 1934 Ford, motor No. 18-705524. On the day that he drove out the first car, through one Widenham, an insurance broker, plaintiff ordered from defendant a policy insuring him against public liability and property damage. He gave to Widenham and Widenham gave the company a description of the first car. Three days later he informed Widenham that he had purchased the second car instead of the first one, but through inadvertence he described to Widenham the 1933 car; Widen-
The second branch of the case has to do with the contention of the company that the present action was barred by a stipulation of the policy limiting the right to sue thereon to a period of two years and one day after liability of the insured against which he was protected by the policy had been finally determined by judgment or by written agreement of the insured, the claimant (for damages) and the company.
On April 18, 1938, plaintiff’s minor daughter, for whose negligence plaintiff was liable under section 350 of the Vehicle Code, drove the car into collision with another car, with resulting injuries to two occupants of the latter car. Both sued plaintiff. One recovered a judgment, which plaintiff paid December 19, 1938; the other case was compromised November 23, 1938, and plaintiff paid a sum less .than the actual damages sustained by the plaintiff in that action. Plaintiff had tendered the defense of these actions to defendant, but defendant denied all liability under the policy and refused to defend and later refused to pay the sums for which plaintiff was liable on account of the accident and likewise refused to- reimburseplaintiff for attorney’s fees and expenses- paid out in defense of .the actions and which were included in the sum of $3,350 for, .which the judgment herein was rendered. The present action was filed
In discussing defendant’s contention that the action was filed too late, we accept as a settled principle of law that an insurer may by the contract of insurance limit the time within which suit may be brought on the policy so as to provide a shorter time than is provided by law. The limitation of the time for bringing suit to two years and one day was not of itself invalid; stipulations for shorter periods have been upheld. (Tebbets v. Fidelity & Casualty Co., (1909) 155 Cal. 137 [ 99 P. 501 ].) As his first excuse for not bringing suit within the limited period, plaintiff insists that defendant’s denial of liability, of itself, constituted a waiver of the condition of the policy. He quotes the rule stated in Grant v. Sun Indemnity Co., (1938) 11 Cal.2d 438 , 440 [ 80 P.2d 996 ], as follows: “It is a well-recognized rule, which we conclude is applicable to the special circumstances here, that the insurer may not repudiate the policy, deny all liability, and at the same time be permitted to stand on a provision inserted in the policy for its benefit. ’ ’ We do not find authority which supports plaintiff’s contention that denial of liability under a policy of insurance of itself constitutes a waiver by the insurer of a condition of the policy limiting the time for the commencement of an action. Undoubtedly denial of liability does excuse the insured from thereafter furnishing proof of loss (Hill v. Mutual Benefit Health etc. Assn., (1934) 136 Cal.App. 508 [ 29 P.2d 285 ]) and from compliance with other stipulations specifying conditions precedent to suit on the policy (Farnum v. Phoenix Insurance Co., (1890) 83 Cal. 246 [ 23 P. 869 , 17 Am.St.Rep. 233 ].) But there is no occasion for bringing suit on a policy unless the insurer denies liability in whole or in part, and the contract cannot be construed to mean that the limitation is effective where the company admits partial but not total liability and is not effective where it denies all liability. (Joyce, the Law of Insurance, 2d ed., vol. 5, secs. 3211 and 3212.)
There is, however, a well settled rule under which the insurer may be precluded from asserting as a bar to the action failure of the insured to sue within the time limited by the policy. It was stated in Sheard v. United State Fidelity & Guaranty Co., (1910) 58 Wash. 29 [ 107 P. 1024 , 109 P. 276 ], that the limitation of the time for bringing suit is not controlling where there is a reasonable excuse for delaying the suit beyond the
The essential facts as found by the court and upon which plaintiff relies are the following: after the accident and prior to July 12,1938, he demanded that defendant perform its obligations under the policy, which defendant refused to do, denying liability; on July 12, 1938, he brought an action, to which we have heretofore referred, for reformation of the policy; defendant demurred to his complaint, the demurrer was sustained, plaintiff amended, defendant again demurred, the demurrer was sustained, and on October 6, 1938, judgment was rendered in favor of defendant. On November 2,1938, plaintiff appealed. On January 29, 1941, the District Court of Appeal, as above stated, reversed the judgment and fifteen days later, or some forty-three days before that decision had become final, plaintiff instituted the present action.
(In his complaint in the present action plaintiff prayed that it be consolidated for the purpose of trial with the former action, in which it was sought to reform the policy but not to recover on it. Defendant by special defense pleaded the pendency of the former action in abatement of the present one. At the inception of the trial defendant moved for judgment on the pleadings on the ground that another action was pending, which motion was denied; defendant then moved that plaintiff be required to elect to proceed with the trial of either the first or the second action and plaintiff elected to try the second one instead of the first. If the latter motion was not an abandonment of the defense of another action pending, it has been abandoned on the appeal by failure to present it.)
The court also found as follows: ‘1 That the delay, if any, in
We are entirely satisfied with this conclusion. The delay in filing suit did not result alone from defendant’s denial of liability ; it resulted from the consequences of defendant’s denial, which imposed upon plaintiff the necessity to first establish his right by reformation of the policy. It would be a harsh rule indeed which penalized plaintiff where he acted with the utmost diligence to establish his rights under the policy against the persistent opposition of the defendant. Defendant’s denial of liability forced the insured to bring suit for reformation of the policy. That action was instituted promptly and was prosecuted with diligence. From an adverse judgment in the trial court he appealed. At the time the appeal was taken plaintiff’s liability to the persons injured in the accident had not been established. When the judgment for damages was rendered against him and when he settled the other claim it was too late for him to amend his complaint for the recovery of the amount of his damage, since the case was then on appeal. It is true, of course, that he could have brought another action for damages before the appeal had been determined, but such an action would have had to remain untried until his right to a reformation of the policy had been determined. Presumably the defendant would have appeared in that action by demurrer and if it had, the demurrer would have been sustained, since without proof of the mistake in an action for reformation of the policy, plaintiff’s 1934 car was not covered by the policy. Had plaintiff filed a second suit, the most that he could have hoped for would have been that the action would be allowed to rest until the first case had been decided. The institution of such an action would have been without purpose except, perhaps, the strategic one of avoiding the objection now urged by the defendant that the present suit is barred by the limitation. We cannot believe that plaintiff
The judgment is affirmed.
Wood (Parker) J., and Bishop, J. pro tem., concurred.
Cases cited
- Genuser v. Ocean Accident & Guarantee Corp. 42 Cal.App.2d 673 p. 981
- Tebbets v. Fid. & Cas. Co. of N.Y. 155 Cal. 137 p. 983
- Grant v. Sun Indemnity Co. of New York 11 Cal.2d 438 at 440 p. 983
- Hill v. Mutual Benefit Health & Accident Ass'n 136 Cal.App. 508 p. 983
- Farnum v. Phoenix Insurance 83 Cal. 246 p. 983
- Thompson v. Phenix Insurance 136 U.S. 287 at 298, at 413 p. 984
- Riddlesbarger v. Hartford Insurance 7 Wall. 386 p. 984