Majority
Defendant insurance company appeals from a judgment rendered in an action brought by plaintiff to compel payment of certain disability benefits alleged to be due under the terms of an insurance policy issued to plaintiff. The court determined that there was due to plaintiff $25 a month from August 2,1937, to the date of the judgment, May 12, 1942. It held that the policy was in full force and effect and that there was due in past payments the sum of $1,450.
The policy here involved was issued in 1924. Admittedly, all premiums were paid up to the premium due in December, 1936. No premiums have been paid since that date. Under the terms of the policy defendant, among other things, agreed to insure plaintiff against “Disability resulting from illness which is contracted and begins during the life of this policy. ...” For disability which prevented the insured from performing the duties of any business or occupation the company agreed to pay $100 per month for twelve months, plus an additional $200 if the insured was hospitalized; further, if the disability continued beyond the twelve-month-period, the company agreed to pay the insured $25 a month for as long as the disability continued. It was provided that such additional payments would be made while the insured was “under the regular treatment of a legally qualified physician or surgeon.” The policy contained a clause that “Strict compliance on the part of the insured and beneficiary with all of the terms and conditions of the policy shall be a condition precedent to recovery,” and another clause that if any disability continued beyond thirty days the insured had to furnish the company, every thirty days, if reasonably possible to do so, a written report of the insured’s attending physician, fully stating the condition of the insured. The policy also provided that written notice of the injury or sickness upon which the claimed disability was predicated must be given the company within twenty days of the accident causing the injury or within ten days of the disability resulting from sickness. The company was given the right to make its own medical examination of the insured whenever reasonably required.
It is admitted that plaintiff became disabled within the meaning of the policy in June, 1936. At that time he was sixty-eight years of age and was working for a railroad com
In the period July of 1936 to June, 1937, the company paid to plaintiff eleven payments of $100 and the $200 hospital indemnity called for by the policy. The twelfth payment was due prior to July 2, 1937. Plaintiff testified that this payment was not paid when due, and that he telephoned Mr. Doyle, claims adjuster for defendant and the person who had signed all the prior checks, and with whom all negotiations relating to the policy had been carried on. Doyle had visited plaintiff at the hospital and rest home on several occasions during the year in question and was well acquainted with plaintiff’s condition. Doyle requested plaintiff to call at the company’s office in Los Angeles. Plaintiff called upon Doyle on July 2, 1937. Doyle told plaintiff that all that he had due under the policy was $100 for June, 1937, and that otherwise all rights under the policy were exhausted. He also stated that the company would make a gift of an extra $25 to plaintiff. The evidence shows that plaintiff is a foreigner and that he is unable to read or write English except to a very limited extent. He had never read his policy and did not know of the $25 a month provision. Doyle prepared, and had plaintiff sign, several documents which provided, generally, that for the $125 payment, plaintiff agreed to and did generally release the company from all obligations
Nothing more was done until November, 1938. In that month plaintiff discovered the policy in a trunk and it was read by plaintiff’s daughter, with whom he was living, and others. They discovered the clause providing for the $25 payment during the total period of disability. In that month plaintiff and his daughter complained to the Insurance Commissioner that the $25 payments had never been made. The commissioner communicated with defendant, and by reply, dated November 17, 1938, defendant declared that all payments had been made, and that plaintiff had executed a complete release. A copy of this letter was sent by the commission to plaintiff’s daughter and by her communicated to plaintiff. The complaint forming the basis of the present action was filed in September, 1940.
The complaint alleged that in 1936 plaintiff became totally and permanently disabled and that he has been disabled ever since. He also alleged due payment of all premiums and performance of all conditions on his part to be performed. Defendant denied that plaintiff paid any premiums after December 24, 1936, and that is now admitted. Defendant denied the performance of the policy conditions by plaintiff, denied he was disabled within the meaning of the policy, affirmatively alleged failure to comply with the condition requiring medical statements every thirty days after June of 1937, and as a special defense pleaded the releases of July 21, 1937. By way of cross-complaint defendant prayed that the policy be delivered to it for cancellation. Plaintiff, in his answer to the cross-complaint, in appropriate manner, pleaded
The case proceeded to trial in March, 1941. At that time plaintiff produced evidence that the releases had been secured by fraud, and also produced his attending physician Dr. Bldridge. The doctor testified he saw plaintiff after his first operation about July, 1936, but did not see him professionally again until September, 1937. He testified that plaintiff had no physical evidence of arthritis in July, 1936, but that when he saw him in September, 1937, he was totally incapacitated from that disease; that since September, 1937, he has constantly attended plaintiff; and that since that time he has been totally incapacitated from arthritis. He gave it as his opinion that the condition he found in September of 1937 was of long standing, and existed in 1936. At the conclusion of this first hearing the trial court held that plaintiff was not bound by the releases for the reason that they were procured by fraud, and ordered the case continued to enable the plaintiff to make proof that he was disabled by arthritis during the life of the policy. Further hearings were had in March and April, 1942. Plaintiff, at these hearings offered evidence of his doctor, his nurse and his sister to the effect that although he was disabled from the gall bladder condition in the last part of 1936, he was also disabled with arthritis during this period. Admittedly the various doctors’ reports filed between July, 1936, and June, 1937, gave the gall bladder condition as the cause of disability and none mentioned arthritis as a contributing cause of disability. Dr. Bldridge testified that the arthritic condition that he first observed in September, 1937, was then fully developed, and that the arthritis was caused by the gall bladder infection.
On this evidence the trial court found that during 1936 plaintiff became disabled within the meaning of the policy by reason of the gall bladder infection and arthritis; that since that date he has remained disabled; that plaintiff had duly performed all the conditions required under the policy; that he had given to defendant all notices required by the policy; and that the releases were secured by fraud. On these findings the trial court adjudged that plaintiff was entitled to $25 a month from August 2, 1937, one month after the date of the releases, to the date of the judgment, and also determined that the policy was “in full force and effect.”
Appellant urges that the finding of fraud is unsup
Appellant next urges that, according to the terms of the releases, respondent was paid $25 not then due as consideration for their execution, and contends that, so long as respondent stands on fraud in procuring the releases, it was incumbent upon him to rescind the releases and restore or offer to restore the consideration received by him before he could lawfully maintain this action to avoid the releases. In this connection such cases as Winstanley v. Ackerman, 110
Appellant next urges that the findings that respondent performed all conditions required by the policy, and that the arthritis existed before December, 1936, are unsupported. It is admitted that respondent gave the notice required by the policy in July, 1936, at the inception of the gall bladder disability. It is admitted that during the twelve months, July of 1936 to June of 1937, monthly disability notices prepared by respondent’s doctors were filed with the company as required by the policy. It is conceded by respondent that none of these reports stated that respondent was suffering from arthritis. Obviously, notices after July of 1937 were excused because of the fraud of appellant. While it is true that respondent at no time filed a notice specifically referring to the arthritic condition, such notice was not indispensable. According to' the medical evidence produced by respondent the arthritic condition was caused by, was co-existent with, and related back to the original gall bladder infection. In other words, the arthritic condition was not a separate and
Appellant makes some point of the fact that respondent discovered the clause relating to the $25 payment in November, 1938, and was informed by the Insurance Commissioner in that month of the fact that the documents that had been signed on July 2, 1937, were releases, but did not file suit until September, 1940. No contention is or can be made that the cause of action was barred by the statute of limitations, but it is urged that respondent was guilty of laches, and that appellant has been prejudiced by respondent’s failure to rescind or sue promptly. As already pointed out, no formal rescission was necessary. The prejudice alleged to exist is that because of the delay appellant was deprived of the opportunity of making periodic physical examinations of respondent. The obvious answer to this contention is that the reason appellant was deprived of this opportunity was that it fraudulently secured the releases in July of 1937. In view of the finding of fraud, amply supported by the record, appellant is in no position to urge laches successfully against the defrauded respondent.
The last point urged is that the judgment is too broad and prejudicially erroneous in that it decrees “that the Insurance Policy sued upon ... is hereby declared to be in full force and effect.” Appellant seems to fear that if respondent should recover from the present disability and then suffer a new disability he would be entitled, under this judgment, to new disability benefits although the policy, except as to the then existing disability, was canceled in December, 1936. Appellant’s fears on this point are unfounded. All that the court adjudicated by the challenged phrase was that the policy is still in force and effect so far as appellant’s obligation to pay $25 a month to respondent is concerned under the existing disability. So interpreted, appellant is in no way prejudiced by this portion of the judgment.
The judgment appealed from is affirmed.
Knight, J., and Ward, J,, concurred.
Cases cited
- Garcia v. California Truck Co. 183 Cal. 767 p. 664
- Marche v. New York Life Insurance 126 Cal. 498 p. 664
- Raynale v. Yellow Cab Co. 115 Cal.App. 90 p. 664
- Wagner v. McManus 2 Cal.App.2d 544 p. 664