Majority
Plaintiffs brought this action as beneficiaries of a trust fund, to enjoin the defendant bank, as trustee of said fund, from paying any of the trust funds for attorneys’ fees and to compel all claimants against the trust fund to set
The legal services for which respondents claimed compensation in their cross-complaint were performed under the following circumstances: In 1924 J. J. Mahony, then the husband of plaintiff Doris G. Crocker and the father of plaintiff Marjorie Catherine Mahony, took out two life insurance policies in the principal sum of $25,000 each, and each provided for a waiver of premium and benefits of $250 a month in case of total permanent disability. One policy was written by the Equitable Life Assurance Society, and the other by the Aetna Life Insurance Company. In 1925 Mahony became “totally disabled” and disability benefits were paid by both companies without litigation up to 1935. Meanwhile and in 1930 Mahony executed a declaration of trust to the defendant bank and caused the policies to be delivered to the bank, and caused the bank to be named as death beneficiary of the policies. In 1932 he executed another trust indenture to the same trustee bank of the disability benefits under said policies, with power to collect the same, and naming the trustor and the plaintiffs herein as beneficiaries of the trust with provision for the payment by said trustee monthly of half of said disability benefits to the trustor and half to plaintiffs. Article VI of the trust indenture provided in part: “The trustee may institute any proceeding at law or in equity in order to enforce the payment of moneys due and payable on account of the said disability payments provided by the aforesaid policies, and may do and perform any and all other acts and things which may be necessary for the purpose of collecting any of said moneys which may be due and payable under the terms of said policies. ...” Prior to the execution of the 1932 trust indenture the trustor and plaintiff Doris G. Crocker were divorced, and each has since remarried.
Under the terms of the policies the insurance companies are entitled to require proof of continued disability periodically, as often as once a year at their option, or to terminate liability at any time if the insured is able to engage in a gainful occupation. In 1935 the Equitable Life Assurance
Appellants first contend that there is no evidence to support the trial court’s finding that respondents had obtained a final judgment establishing the total and permanent disability of Mahony. In this regard they argue that all that was obtained was a judgment for $1,500 against the Equitable, but this judgment did not purport to adjudicate any future liability; in other words, that it established the liability of the companies up to the date of the judgment, but did not establish any future liability, and therefore the insurance companies may at any future time again contest the disability status of the insured; consequently there was no “final judgment establishing the total and permanent disability” of the insured, which was the condition precedent to recovery by respondents. There is no merit in the point. In view of the provisions of the policies that the insurance companies could challenge the disability status of the insured as often as once a year, it was obviously impossible ever to obtain a judgment of permanent disability which would prohibit the companies from afterwards challenging that status; and it would seem only reasonable, therefore, that the phrase “total and permanent disability” as used in the findings, in the contract of employment, and as understood by the parties thereto,
Appellants contend that the amount allowed as attorneys’ fees is entirely unwarranted by the services actually rendered; that the recovery of “upwards of $12,000” was merely a reimbursement of payments of accrued and accruing disability benefits by the insurers in compliance with the obligations of the policy. The evidence disclosed by the record is amply sufficient, however, to support the conclusion that it was because of the litigation instituted and carried on by respondents and the legal services performed by them in connection therewith for the enforcement of the obligations of the policies that the $12,000 was paid. Furthermore, all of the witnesses testified as to the value of the services being in excess of the amount awarded, and appellants introduced no evidence upon the question. Upon an award of fees “an appellate court will not set aside the findings of the trial court or reverse the judgment rendered thereon if they are at all supported by the evidence”; and “where the trial court has fixed the compensation of an attorney upon the consideration of the evidence and its own judgment, the appellate court will not interfere unless a plain and palpable abuse of its discretion has occurred.” (Mayock v. Splane, 56 Cal.App.2d 563 , 573 [ 132 P.2d 827 ], quoting from 3 Cal.Jur. 718.)
Appellants urge also that the trial court erred in refusing to postpone the trial of the present action to await final determination of an action then pending involving the question of the validity of the trust indenture; but this point has now become moot for the reason that the validity of the indenture has since been sustained and the decision so holding has become final. (Mahony v. Crocker, 58 Cal.App.2d 196 [ 136 P.2d 810 ].)
By way of an amended and supplemental complaint appellants brought in two additional claimants, namely, the law firm of Chickering and Gregory, and the trustee bank, each of whom asserted a claim for compensation for services rendered in connection with the administration of the trust fund, but the court declined to pass upon the merits of their claims in this action, and the court’s ruling is assigned as
The judgment herein was entered on July 2, 1942, and provided for the payment of interest at 7 per cent on the fee of $5,000, as allowed by the trial court, from January 1,1942. The rule is, however, that in an action to recover the reasonable value of services rendered, the amount, character and value of which can be established only by evidence in court, or by an accord between the parties, and which are not' susceptible of ascertainment either by computation or by reference to market rates, the plaintiff is not entitled to interest prior to the verdict or judgment. (Shellenberger v. Baker, 101 Cal.App. 615 [ 281 P. 1102 ]; Gray v. Bekins, 186 Cal. 389 [ 199 P. 767 ]; Swinnerton v. Argonaut L. & D. Co., 112 Cal. 375 [ 44 P. 719 ].) Here the cross-complaint was for the recovery of the reasonable value of services performed, which respondents alleged were reasonably worth $6,000, and the trial court after hearing the evidence allowed $5,000. It is apparent, therefore, that respondents were not entitled to interest thereon prior to the entry of judgment. Respondents contend that on December 31, 1941, there was an accord
In accordance with the views above expressed, the judgment is modified by striking therefrom the provision allowing interest prior to the entry of judgment, and as thus modified the judgment is affirmed, the respondents to recover costs.
Peters, P. J., and Ward, J., concurred.
A petition for a rehearing was denied November 1, 1943, and appellants’ petition for a hearing by the Supreme Court was denied November 29, 1943.
Cases cited
- Mayock v. Splane 56 Cal.App.2d 563 at 573 p. 730
- Mahony v. Crocker 58 Cal.App.2d 196 p. 730
- Shellenberger v. Baker 101 Cal.App. 615 p. 731
- Gray v. Bekins 186 Cal. 389 p. 731
- Swinnerton v. Argonaut Land & Development Co. 112 Cal. 375 p. 731