Majority
This is a proceeding in prohibition. Kenneth Toft commenced an action in the Superior Court in Los Angeles County for dámages for alleged malpractice against petitioner Liberty Mutual Insurance Company, a corporation, petitioner California Shipbuilding Corporation, a corporation, and three individuals. Said insurance company will be referred to herein as the insurance company, and the shipbuilding company will be referred to as the shipbuilding company.
It was alleged in the complaint therein that two of the individual defendants were physicians and surgeons (the status of the other individual defendant was not alleged); that the three individuals were employed by the other defendants therein and were acting within the scope of their employment at the time of the alleged injury; that defendants maintained, operated and controlled a first-aid station and office for medical treatment on premises belonging to defendant shipbuilding company; that defendants represented to plaintiff that they owned, operated and maintained said first-aid station and medical office; that “on or about November 19, 1941, and on many occasions thereafter, plaintiff herein as an employee of the defendant, California Shipbuilding Corporation, and upon instructions of the defendants and each of them, went to the first aid station and office as aforesaid, and submitted to treatment for an injury to his hand, relying upon the representations of the said defendants that they, and each of them, maintained, owned, operated and controlled said first aid station and medical office”; that at said times
Petitioners demurred to the complaint upon the grounds, among others, that no cause of action was stated; that the court had no jurisdiction of the subject matter of the complaint insofar as petitioners were concerned, in that the Industrial Accident Commission had exclusive jurisdiction, so far as petitioners were concerned, over the cause of action set forth in the complaint; and that it could not be ascertained therefrom whether plaintiff “at the time he received the injury to his hand referred to in his complaint, was performing services growing out of and incidental to his employment by defendant California Shipbuilding Corporation and was then acting within the course and scope of his employment. ’ ’
At the hearing of the demurrer petitioners argued (as shown by the petition) that, as to petitioners, the superior court was without jurisdiction because the matters involved in said action were within the sole and exclusive jurisdiction of the Industrial Accident Commission. At said hearing petitioners filed a certified copy of the findings and final award of the Industrial Accident Commission, presumably as a memorial to aid the judge as to matters of which the petitioners asserted the court should take judicial notice. The said findings showed that the commission found that plaintiff Toft “while employed as a rigger on November 19, 1941 . . . by California Shipbuilding Corporation, sustained injury arising out of and occurring in the course of his employment to his right hand,” and that “at said time, said employer’s compensation insurance carrier covering said injury was Liberty Mutual Insurance Company.” The award showed that the commission awarded plaintiff Toft $3,475 as com-. pensation. In overruling the demurrer, the court stated in its minute order that the judgment of the Industrial Accident Commission should be set up as a separate defense in the answers.
The petitioners thereupon filed their answer in said action, in which they denied: that the three individual defendants were employed by petitioners; that petitioners, or either of
The petition herein alleges the substance of the pleadings in said action and the proceedings had therein. The petition alleges further: “that said action shows on its face that, as to your petitioners, and each of them, it is an action by an employee against his employer on account of injuries received by said employee while he was performing services growing out of and incidental to his said employment, and the matters and things arising and growing out of said employment and said injuries.” The petition alleges further: “that the official records of the Industrial Accident Commission of the State of California, of which said records the courts must take judicial notice, show that said action No. 481-266 [the present action] is barred by reason of an award made by said Industrial Accident Commission in favor of said plaintiff and against your petitioner, said defendant Liberty Mutual Insurance Company, a corporation, as the compensation insurance carrier for your petitioner, said defendant California Shipbuilding Corporation.” Copies of documents attached to the petition as exhibits include the following: the complaint, demurrer, minute order ruling on demurrer, answer of petitioners in the action involved herein including the findings and award of the commission. Copies of other documents included as a part of the petition are: the transcript of the hearing including the testimony of Toft before the commission, and the complaint in an action in the Superior Court in Los Angeles County entitled R. W. Stellar, plaintiff, v. Liberty Mutual Insurance Company, defendant, wherein Mr. Lasher B. Gallagher, who appears as amicus curiae in this present proceeding, was attorney for the plaintiff.
Plaintiff Toft’s return to the alternative writ of prohibition alleges that a settlement of his said action was agreed upon by plaintiff Toft, defendants shipbuilding company, insurance company, and Stellar, whereby defendants agreed to pay plaintiff $7,500, and whereby Toft agreed to dismiss said action with prejudice; that Toft does not traverse the
The exclusive remedy of an employee against his employer, when both are subject to the provisions of the workmen’s compensation laws, for an injury sustained by the employee, who at the time of the injury was performing services arising and growing out of and incidental to his employment and was acting within the course of his employment, and which injury was proximately caused by the employment, and was not caused by intoxication of the employee and was not intentionally self-inflicted, is the right to recover compensation pursuant to the provisions of the workmen’s compensation laws (Lab. Code, secs. 3600, 3601), except in the event that, at the time of the injury, the employer was not insured under a policy of compensation insurance or was not permitted to act as a self-insurer (Lab. Code, secs. 3706, 3700). It was said in Alaska Packers Assn. v. Industrial Acc. Com. (1927), 200 Cal. 579 , at page 583 [ 253 P. 926 ]: “When the specified conditions exist, the remedy provided by the act [Workmen’s Compensation Act] is exclusive of all other statutory or common-law remedies.” Exclusive jurisdiction to determine the extent of an injured employee’s right to recover compensation under said exclusive remedy is in the Industrial Accident Commission. (Lab. Code, sec. 5300; Freire v. Matson Navigation Co. (1941), 19 Cal.2d 8 , 10 [ 118 P.2d 809 ].)
As to petitioner shipbuilding company, the complaint does show that plaintiff Toft was its employee. The allegation is that “plaintiff herein, as an employee of defendant, California Shipbuilding Corporation, upon instructions of the defendants and each of them, went to the first aid
As to petitioner insurance company, the complaint does not show that said petitioner was an employer of plaintiff Toft. It does not show that said petitioner was a compensation insurance carrier for the petitioner shipbuilding company.
The case of Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co. v. Hanby (1931), 111 Cal.App. 382 [ 295 P. 562 ], upon which petitioners rely, and wherein a writ of prohibition was issued upon the ground that the Industrial Accident Commission had exclusive jurisdiction, is distinguishable from the present action in that the complaint therein showed on its face that an award had been made by the Industrial Accident Commission agaihst the petitioner therein.
Petitioners contend, however, that judicial notice will be taken of the findings and final award of the Industrial Accident Commission which, they assert, show the facts omitted from the complaint that the insurance company was the insurance carrier of the shipbuilding company, and that an award covering the injury involved herein was made against the insurance company in favor of plaintiff Toft.
In support of that contention as to judicial notice, petitioners cite section 1875, subdivision 3, of the Code of Civil Procedure, and the following cases: Livermore v. Beal, 18
In Goodman Bros. v. Superior Court (1942), 51 Cal.App.2d 297 [ 124 P.2d 644 ], it was said at page 301: “The law is settled that the Industrial Accident Commission proceeds judicially, and that its determinations, subject to the same limitations applicable to judgments of courts generally, are res judicata in all subsequent proceedings between the same parties or those privy to them.” The Industrial Accident Commission and the Railroad Commission have similar judicial powers. In Mound W. Co. v. Southern Cal. Edison Co. (1921), 184 Cal. 602 , 610 [ 194 P. 1014 ], it was argued that a decision of the Railroad Commission that a certain power company held certain water for public use was an adjudication as to the character of the power company and that when the power company conveyed its water system to the Edison Company the water remained subject to the public use. The court said at page 611: “It is unnecessary here to determine the effect of that decision. The court does not take judicial notice of it, and the question can only be raised by an answer setting up the defense of former adjudication.” It was
Inasmuch as the rule just referred to relates to proceedings in the same case in the same court, or other proceedings under certain circumstances in the same court, it is not reasonable to conclude that judicial notice should be taken of a matter such as the present one relating to a decision of another and different tribunal. Judicial notice will not be taken of the findings and award made by the Industrial Accident Commission.
The answer in the superior court action herein alleges that the findings and final award by the Industrial Accident Commission are a bar to plaintiff Toft’s action. Such allegation is in effect a plea of res judicata. In Goodman Bros. v. Superior Court, supra, wherein a writ of prohibition was sought, the petitioner, Goodman Bros., was named as a defendant in a superior court action for damages for personal injuries received by Aho, the plaintiff, in the scope of his employment as an employee of petitioner, Goodman Bros. The petitioner therein was included as a defendant on the theory that petitioner was uninsured. The answer of that defendant (Goodman Bros.) alleged that the Industrial Accident Commission had found, upon the application of the plaintiff (Aho) for compensation, that Goodman Bros, was insured, and had made an award against the insurance carrier. The plaintiff therein demurred to the answer and moved to strike out the portion of the answer referring to the finding of the commission that Goodman Bros, was insured. The demurrer was sustained and the motion was granted. Goodman Bros., as petitioner for a writ of prohibition, contended
In Baird v. Superior Court (1928), 204 Cal. 408 , it was said at page 412 [ 268 P. 640 ]: “Bes judicata must be affirmatively relied upon and shown in evidence and in some cases must be pleaded, but in no ease is the plea in and of itself sufficient to oust the court of jurisdiction. In its strongest form it is nothing more than conclusive evidence upon all or some of the issues involved. When a former judgment is pleaded either in bar or as an estoppel on some issue, there immediately arise questions as to identity of the parties, the validity of the judgment as shown by the judgment-roll, the legal effect to be given it and perhaps many other questions. Such matters are for the determination of the trial court, and whether correctly or incorrectly determined, it is nevertheless the exercise of jurisdiction over the subject matter and the parties.”
The issues of fact raised by the answer as to the prior adjudication by the Industrial Accident Commission, which includes the questions as to identity of parties and identity of the injuries in the two proceedings, and the questions as to the validity and finality of the award, are for the determination of the trial court in the exercise of its jurisdiction.
In Goodman Bros. v. Superior Court, supra, the court stated at page 306: “This rule imposes no great hardship on the parties. Under section 597, Code of Civil Procedure, when the answer pleads a prior judgment as a defense, the court may try that issue before the trial of the main case. This supplies, a speedy and expeditious method of disposing of that question.”
The alternative writ heretofore issued is discharged, and the petition for the peremptory writ of prohibition is denied.
Shinn, Acting P: J., and Bishop, J. pro tern., concurred.
A petition for a rehearing was denied February 25, 1944.
Cases cited
- Alaska Packers Ass'n v. Industrial Accident Commission 200 Cal. 579 p. 607
- Freire v. Matson Navigation Co. 19 Cal.2d 8 at 10 p. 607
- Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co. v. Hanby 111 Cal.App. 382 p. 608
- Sheehan v. Vedder 108 Cal.App. 419 p. 609
- Hammell v. Britton 19 Cal.2d 72 p. 609, p. 610
- Campbell v. Fong Wan 60 Cal.App.2d 553 p. 609
- Jones v. United States 137 U.S. 202 p. 609
- Mason v. Drug, Inc. 31 Cal.App.2d 697 p. 609
- Mackay v. Clark Rig Building Co. 5 Cal.App.2d 44 p. 609
- Goodman Bros. v. Superior Court 51 Cal.App.2d 297 p. 609
- Mound Water Co. v. Southern California Edison Co. 184 Cal. 602 at 610 p. 609
- Johnston v. Ota 43 Cal.App.2d 94 p. 610
- Sewell v. Price 164 Cal. 265 p. 610
- Willson v. Security-First National Bank 21 Cal.2d 705 p. 610
- Baird v. Superior Court 204 Cal. 408 p. 611