Majority
Opinion
— This is an appeal by defendant and cross-complainant Marquez from a judgment in favor of plaintiff and cross-defendant Interinsurance Exchange of the Automobile Club of Southern California (hereinafter Exchange). Exchange brought its actions for declaratory relief and injunction; Marquez answered and cross-complained as a class action for declaratory relief.
There is no dispute as to the facts and we quote them as presented to us in the briefs: “In November of 1974, Marquez was injured by an uninsured motorist during work. He filed a workers’ compensation claim and subsequently filed an uninsured motorist arbitration proceed
resolved with the compensation carrier paying Marquez $1,445 in temporary disability benefits and $2,880 in permanent disability benefits. In addition, the workers’ compensation carrier paid medical facilities and other third parties the sum of $11,333.34 for the medical services contracted by the compensation carrier. After the resolution of the workers’ compensation matter, Marquez proceeded with his uninsured motorist claim which was moving toward arbitration before the American Arbitration Association. [IT] A dispute arose between Marquez and the Auto Club as to the Auto Club’s right to offset all workers’ compensation benefits from benefits due and owing from the Auto Club to Marquez under the uninsured motorist provision. Subsequent thereto, on April 4, 1977, by stipulation Marquez and the Auto Club agreed to withdraw the issue from the American Arbitration Association and to allow the Superior Court to determine the issue. The Auto Club filed suit in the Superior Court for declaratory relief and Marquez cross-complained transforming the entire action into a class action on behalf of all other persons against whom Auto Club had offset workers’ compensation benefits from uninsured motorist benefits. Subsequent thereto, by ‘Stipulation re Bifurcation of Issues and Order Therefore’, the parties agreed to try this matter before the Honorable Harry Hupp, Judge of the Súperior Court, a jury trial having been expressly waived by both sides as to the issue presented. [If] Under Part IV, Uninsured Motorist, the policy states:
“Under the terms of Part IV: [$] (1) Any loss payable to or from any person shall be reduced by the amount paid and the present value of all amounts payable to him under any workmen’s compensation law, exclusive of nonoccupational disability benefits.”
The issue is one of construction of Insurance Code section 11580.2, subdivision (h)(1).[1]
1 Section 11580.2, subdivision (h)(1) of the Insurance Code reads as follows: “An insured entitled to recovery under the uninsured motorist endorsement or coverage shall be reimbursed within the conditions stated herein without being required to sign any release or waiver of rights to which he may be entitled under any other insurance coverage applicable; nor shall payment under this section to such insured be delayed or made contingent upon the decisions as to liability or distribution of loss costs under other bodily injury liability insurance, or any bond applicable to the accident. Any loss payable under the terms of the uninsured motorist endorsement or coverage to or for any person may be reduced: “(1) By the amount, paid and the present value of all amounts payable to him... under any workers’ compensation law, exclusive of nonoccupational disability benefits.”
The crux of the section, insofar as this case is concerned, is “Any loss payable under the terms of the uninsured motorist endorsement or coverage to or for any person may be reduced: [¶] (1) By the amount paid and the present value of all amounts payable to him. . .under any workers’ compensation law, exclusive of nonoccupational disability benefits.”[2]
Upon examining the phrase “to him” we necessarily conclude that this is a designation of “any person” used as stated in the primary provision for reduction. The words “to him” as thus used have no meaning as to the manner of payment.
Since “to him” relates back to the designated “any person” it is the primary provision for reduction which governs those payments which are subject to being reduced from uninsured motorist coverage payments. Relying then upon the primary declaration of the legislation, the provision is that “Any loss payable. . .to or for any person may be reduced.” (Italics added.) Hence, as stated in Safeco Ins. Co. v. Houchins (1970) 12 Cal.App.3d 12 , 16 [ 90 Cal.Rptr. 414 ]: “The language of the policy is clear and its meaning unambiguous.”
In Waggaman v. Northwestern Security Ins. Co. (1971) 16 Cal.App.3d 571 [ 94 Cal.Rptr. 170 ], the court, at page 579, stated: “By permitting the parties to an uninsured motorist insurance policy to contract for a reduction of the loss payable ‘[b]y the amount paid and the
2 The sums involved in the instant dispute consist of medically related payments made by the workers’ compensation carrier for services rendered to Marquez and paid directly to the persons rendering such services. We are not concerned with “nonoccupational disability.” (See California Comp. Ins. Co. v. Ind. Acc. Com. (1954) 128 Cal.App.2d 797 [ 276 P.2d 148 , 277 P.2d 442 ].)
By the construction we conclude is demanded, by a full reading of the applicable portions of the section, there is no “double recovery” of the amounts payable “to and for any person [covered by uninsured motorists].” Marquez argues that there would be no double recovery in any event, in that no amount has been paid for pain and suffering. He misses the point. Uninsured motorist coverage is limited in amount and when that maximum has been reached, no matter what additional recovery the injured person may be entitled to, the carrier is not liable therefor. (See Jarrett v. Allstate Ins. Co. (1962) 209 Cal.App.2d 804 [ 26 Cal.Rptr. 231 ].)
We note that our conclusion places an injured party without the benefits of workers’ compensation coverage on the identical basis (insofar as uninsured motorist coverage is concerned) with a like person with workers’ coverage.
The judgment is affirmed.
Hastings, J., and Older, J.,[3] concurred.
A petition for a rehearing was denied April 3, 1981, and appellant’s petition for a hearing by the Supreme Court was denied May 6, 1981.
* Assigned by the Chairperson of the Judicial Council.
Cases cited
- Darrah v. California State Automobile Ass'n 259 Cal.App.2d 243 at 247 p. 656
- Moyer v. Workmen's Compensation Appeals Board 10 Cal.3d 222 at 230 p. 656
- Safeco Insurance Co. of America v. Houchins 12 Cal.App.3d 12 at 16 p. 656
- Waggaman v. Northwestern Security Insurance 16 Cal.App.3d 571 p. 656
- California State Automobile Ass'n Inter-Insurance Bureau v. Jackson 9 Cal.3d 859 p. 657
- Jarrett v. AllState Insurance 209 Cal.App.2d 804 p. 657