Majority
Opinion
The City of Anaheim (city), legally uninsured, seeks review of an order of the Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board (Board) denying city’s petition for reconsideration and, in effect, determining that during the period January 1, 1975, to March 27, 1979, Fred G. Davis (the applicant), employed by the city as a police detective, suffered an industrial injury “consisting of colitis.” City contends that the applicant’s colitis, which manifests itself in recurrent episodes of acute illness and disability, did not develop or arise during the period January 1, 1975, to March 27, 1979, but, rather, has existed since 1970 at the latest, unabated, and that city was discharged for all liability on account of the recurrent episodes and attendant medical expense by a Board-approved compromise and release in a 1974 workers’ compensation case filed by the applicant. The city’s contentions are sound, and the order of the Board will be annulled.
On June 18, 1974, some five years before filing the application in the case at bench, the applicant filed three related applications for adjudication of claim (74 ANA 52647, 52648 and 52649) in which, in the principal claim, he alleged injury arising out of and in the course of his employment as a police officer for the city during the period September 1960 to September 1, 1974, to his “stomach, intestines (colitis) and oth
The medical reports submitted to the Board in connection with the 1974 claim left no doubt but that the applicant suffered from colitis, but it was a matter of great dispute as to whether or not his colitis arose out of and occurred in the course of the employment. The 1974 claim was resolved by a joint compromise and release in the amount of $16,430.70 which was approved by the Board as adequate by an order dated March 28, 1977.
On April 26, 1979, applicant filed with the Board an application for adjudication of the present claim (79 ANA 89483) alleging that during the period January 1, 1975, to March 27, 1979, he sustained an injury, colitis, as the result of stress and strain in his employment. In due course the matter was' submitted on documentary evidence, including the medical reports of David MacLachlan, M.D., dated October 4 and November 8, 1979. On December 11, 1980, the WCAB judge rendered an award in favor of the applicant based on a finding that during the period January 1, 1975, to March 27, 1979, the applicant sustained injury arising out of and in the course of his employment with the city. The award contained no order for payment, presumably because the applicant had lost no uncompensated time from his employment. The award read simply: “1. Injury arising out of and in the course of said employment gastrointestinal consisting of colitis. 2. Applicant may be in need of further medical treatment. 3. Jurisdiction is reserved on attorney fees, there being no apparent source for payment.” The supporting opinion of the WCAB judge read: “Based upon the medical opinion of Dr. MacLachlan, dated 10-4-79 and 11-8-79, applicant’s colitis is work related.”
The city petitioned for reconsideration on the same grounds asserted on review.
In his report to the Board recommending denial of the petition for reconsideration the WCAB judge repeated in pertinent part that Dr. MacLachlan was of the opinion that the applicant’s colitis was “work related” and then went on: “Defendant refers to an Order approving Compromise and Release dated 3-28-77. They [sic] contend that this Compromise and Release together with the award of December 11, 1980 in fact gives the applicant a duplicate award. The defendants [sz'c] fail to point out one essential fact: they [jz'c] were not a party to the
In its order denying reconsideration the Board adopted and incorporated by reference the report of the WCAB judge and in addition stated: “The only question before us is whether the stress of applicant’s employment after the period covered by the compromise and release aggravated his colitis and contributed to his need for medical treatment for the colitis. The reports of Dr. MacLachlan justify the finding that emotional stress subsequent to 1974 has caused episodes of aggravation and disability. These episodes were industrial injuries and required medical treatment. Petitioner is not, moreover, prejudiced by this award of further medical treatment nor can it be unless a claim for some specific treatment is made. If a claim for treatment is made, petitioner will be entitled to have a day in court to present any reasonable legal or factual defense it may have against such a claim.”
Thus, in fulfillment of its obligation to “state the evidence relied upon and specify in detail the reasons for the decision” (Lab. Code, § 5908.5; Goytia v. Workmen’s Comp. App. Bd. (1970) 1 Cal.3d 889 , 893 [ 100 Cal.Rptr. 136 , 493 P.2d 864 ]), the Board gave three reasons for its decision: (1) that the city was not aggrieved by the order; (2) that the reports of Dr. MacLachlan constitute substantial evidence “that emotional stress subsequent to 1974 ... caused episodes of aggravation and disability” which were “industrial injuries and required medical treatment”; and (3) by incorporation of the WCAB judge’s report, that the city was not a party to the compromise and release resolving the applicant’s 1974 claim for permanent disability benefits on the basis of his colitis.
Before considering specifically the three reasons given by the Board for its decision, several points require clarification. First, there is not and never has been any question in this case (as distinguished from the 1974 case) but that the applicant’s colitis condition was “work related” or industrially caused. The city does not contend to the contrary; it contends that the industrial injury being asserted in this case is the same industrial injury as that asserted by the applicant in the 1974 case and that liability for that injury was finally determined and adjudicated by the Board-approved compromise and release.
An approved workers’ compensation compromise and release rests “upon a higher plane than a private contractual release; it is a judgment, with ‘the same force and effect as an award made after a full hearing.’” (Johnson v. Workmen’s Comp. App. Bd. (1970) 2 Cal.3d 964 , 973 [ 88 Cal.Rptr. 202 , 471 P.2d 1002 ], quoting from Raischell & Cottrell, Inc. v. Workmen’s Comp. App. Bd. (1967) 249 Cal.App.2d 991 , 997 [ 58 Cal.Rptr. 159 ].) Payment of a Board-approved compromise and release terminates the liability of the employer and its insurance carrier on account of the involved injury, including any liability for increased disability, unless the order approving the compromise and release has for legal cause been vacated. (Johnson v. Workmen’s Comp. App. Bd., supra, 2 Cal.3d at pp. 973-975; see Cal. Workmen’s Compensation Practice (Cont.Ed.Bar 1973) §§ 13.9, 13.40, pp. 437-438, 467; 1 Hanna, Cal. Law of Employee Injuries & Workmen’s Compensation (2d ed. 1981) § 8.04[4].)
So even if the Board were correct that Dr. MacLachlan’s reports constituted substantial evidence that emotional stress from the employment subsequent to 1974 “has caused episodes of aggravation and disability,” it was still required to determine whether the applicant’s claim for such “aggravation [of his colitis condition] and disability” was barred by the payment of the approved compromise and release.
The Board’s reference to “the period covered by the compromise and release” is presumably related to a provision in the third page of the compromise and release that reads: “This compromise and release is to cover the period of employment with the City of Anaheim until Sep
Turning to the specific reasons stated by the Board for its decision, we reject the assertion that the city was not aggrieved by the order. While the city might be entitled in subsequent proceedings to contest the need for any specific further medical treatment, if the present order were to stand it would constitute a binding determination that the applicant while employed by the city incurred an industrial injury, colitis, during the period from January 1, 1975 to March 27, 1979. Such a determination would carry with it all the legal obligations imposed on an employer for industrial injury by the workers’ compensation act, including future medical benefits which the decision of the Board appears to have determined to be required.
The Board’s conclusion that the city was not a party to the compromise and release must also be rejected. It is true that the compromise and release was not signed by the city, but the claim involved a period of time during which the city carried workers’ compensation liability insurance with State Compensation Insurance Fund, and the latter executed the compromise and release. There can be no question but that in doing so it acted both for itself and the city.
Having rejected the only reason given by the Board for its conclusion that applicant’s present claim is not barred by the 1977 order approving the compromise and release, it may be unnecessary for us to resolve the question whether the finding of a colitis injury during the period January 1, 1975, to March 27, 1979, is supported by substantial evidence. However, inasmuch as the question may arise in further proceedings before the Board, we proceed to do so. (Cf. Code Civ. Proc., § 43.)
As previously mentioned, the question of whether or not the applicant’s colitis arose out of and in the course of his employment is not disputed. In respect to the substantial evidence problem, the critical question is whether the colitis condition from which the applicant now suffers arose or developed during the period January 1, 1975, to March 27, 1979, or during the earlier period alleged by the applicant in his 1974 claim, September 1960 to September 1, 1974. Dr. MacLachlan’s reports upon which the Board placed exclusive reliance conclusively establish that the applicant’s present ulcerative colitis condition arose and developed between 1968 and . 1972 and has continued unabated from that time to the present. Those facts are also confirmed by evidence presented by the applicant himself.
Three reports of Dr. MacLachlan were received into evidence: a five-page report dated October 4, 1979 (the first Oct. 4 report); a two-page report also dated October 4, 1979 (the second Oct. 4 report); and a three-page report dated November 8, 1979 (the Nov. 8 report). Perti
1 E.g., “The defendants contend that all of the claimed disabilities are not the result of the alleged injury.” “Defendants contend that they are entitled to an apportionment of the residual benefits herein.” “The defendants desire to buy their peace.”
The second October 4 report reads in pertinent part: “The patient has ... been diagnosed by Doctor Oxman as having spastic colitis. This diagnosis has been made by Doctor Oxman even in the face of a diagnosis of ulcerative colitis that the patient states historically that he has. The patient historically has had large quantities of blood in his stools and has been treated by a gastroenterologist over a prolonged period of time for ulcerative colitis. He even takes medications specifically for ulcerative colitis. In the face of this evidence Doctor Oxman’s diagnosis of spastic colitis is unsupported and untenable. I disagree completely, the patient’s records disagree, the patient’s gastroenterologist disagrees, the patient’s history and the way he has been treated is a total variance from such a diagnosis made by Doctor Oxman. The patient’s true diagnosis is ulcerative colitis. I have gone into this in my earlier letter.” (Italics added.)
The last italicized statement in Dr. MacLachlan’s report of November 8, 1979, succinctly sums up what is established by his reports and those he reviewed, “that the patient has had ulcerative colitis, which has been present since 1969 and has been relatively stable in recent years.”
The evidence establishes that between 1968 and September 1, 1974, the applicant developed an ulcerative colitis condition that is recurrent in nature, that is, it flares up and causes acute illness and disability in periods of stress. This is the industrial injury that was settled by the compromise and release approved by the Board in 1977. There is no substantial evidence of a new colitis injury in the period January 1, 1975, to March 27, 1979. Flareups during the period January 1, 1975, to March 27, 1979, of a recurrent colitis condition that arose and developed prior to September 1, 1974, cannot be converted into a “new” injury to avoid the effect of the earlier Board-approved compromise and release.
The order of the Board is annulled.
Morris, Acting P. J., and Tamura, J.,[2] concurred.
The petition of respondent Davis for a hearing by the Supreme Court was denied March 24, 1982.. Bird, C. J., was of the opinion that the petition should be granted.
* Retired Associate Justice of the Court of Appeal sitting under assignment by the Chairperson of the Judicial Council.
Cases cited
- Goytia v. Workmen's Compensation Appeals Board 1 Cal.3d 889 at 893 p. 205
- Johnson v. Workmen's Compensation Appeals Board 2 Cal.3d 964 at 973 p. 206
- Raischell & Cottrell, Inc. v. Workmen's Comp. Appeals Bd. 249 Cal.App.2d 991 at 997 p. 206