Majority
Opinion
Appellants Carl H. Amstone and Doris W. Am-stone filed an insurance bad faith lawsuit against numerous insurance companies and insurance agents, collectively hereinafter referred to as “respondents.”[1] The lawsuit claimed respondents wrongfully refused to pay insurance benefits to appellants for personal property lost in a fire. In a summary judgment motion respondents claimed appellants had no standing to bring the suit. Respondents contended the only individuals entitled to bring the action were the trustees in appellants’ bankruptcy actions. The court granted respondents’ summary judgment motion ruling appellants lacked standing. We reverse.[2]
Facts
Following the usual rules on appeal, we construe the facts most favorable to appellants, the parties who opposed the summary judgment motion. (Molko v. Holy Spirit Assn. (1988) 46 Cal.3d 1092 , 1107 [ 252 Cal.Rptr. 122 , 762 P.2d 46 ].)
Respondents issued a policy of insurance covering appellants’ dwelling located in West Covina, California, and the personal property contents located therein. The policy provided $36,500 coverage for unscheduled personal property.
On March 19, 1982, appellants filed separate petitions for chapter 7 bankruptcy liquidation. Appellants each attached a schedule B-2 and a schedule B-4 to the petitions. On these documents, appellants valued household goods, supplies and furnishings at $3,000, and wearing apparel, jewelry, firearms, sports equipment and other personal possessions at $1,000. Appellants claimed as exempt (pursuant to former Civ. Code, §§ 1260,
1 Respondents on appeal, as named in the complaint and amendments thereto, are Peninsular Fire Insurance Company, R. Ina Lazu, United Southern Assurance Company, Occidental Fire and Casualty Company of North Carolina, and Western General Agency.
2 No formal judgment was entered, but the order granting respondents’ motion for summary judgment was obviously intended as a final disposition. The matter has been fully briefed and in the interest of judicial economy we treat the order granting summary judgment as incorporating a final judgment. (Snow v. A. H. Robins Co. (1985) 165 Cal.App.3d 120 , 125 [ 211 Cal.Rptr. 271 ].)
On April 27, 1982, the trustee issued a report indicating both bankruptcy matters were “no asset” cases and that he had “no objections to the exemptions claimed.”
On July 10, 1982, a fire destroyed appellants’ home and the personal property contained therein. Under the contract of insurance, appellants submitted claims to respondents. In August and September 1982, respondents paid appellants the sum of $67,648.17 for loss of the dwelling and $2,320 for loss of rent. At no time did appellants inform the bankruptcy court they had received these funds from respondents. On September 15, 1982, appellant Doris W. Amstone’s bankruptcy case was closed. On November 3, 1982, respondents informed appellants there was concern about misrepresentations appellants made to respondents regarding who occupied the premises on the day of the fire. Based upon these concerns, respondents refused to pay $15,540 appellants claimed for loss of their personal property. On November 22, 1982, the bankruptcy case of appellant Carl Amstone was closed.
Appellants filed the within action claiming respondents breached their obligations under the insurance contract by not paying for the loss of appellants’ personal property. Subsequently, the court granted respondents’ summary judgment motion based upon the contention that appellants lacked standing to file the suit. In ruling on the motion, the court indicated “they received ins. [szc] proceeds and didn’t inform trustee before close of bankruptcy.” We reverse.
Discussion
The issue in this state civil suit becomes: do appellants have standing to pursue claims for refusal to pay insurance proceeds for the loss of their personal property even though they filed bankruptcy petitions? We hold that appellants may assert claims regarding their personal property. Respondents’ contention that only the trustee has a right to assert a claim under the insurance policy is not persuasive.
Persons have standing to sue when they are real parties in interest. (Code Civ. Proc., § 367.) Usually properties and causes of action existing at the time bankruptcy petitions are filed pass to the bankruptcy
In footnotes two California cases courts have refrained from expressing opinions on a debtor’s right to bring an action relating to exempt property. (Wood v. Lowe, supra, 39 Cal.App.3d at p. 302, fn. 11; Robinson v. McGinn, supra, 195 Cal.App.3d at p. 79, fn. 5.) We hold that when rights derive from property claimed as exempt, the claims arose after a bankruptcy petition was filed, and the bankruptcy court determines the property to be exempt, the debtor has standing to litigate causes of action with regard to that property.
In Lewis v. Thompson (Bankr., M.D.Md. 1983) 28 B.R. 351 (Lewis II), the debtors filed a chapter 7 petition for bankruptcy listing as exempt $400 in household furnishings, household goods, wearing apparel, and various appliances. They also valued other personal property at $3,500. A week later, their residence and personal property contained therein were destroyed by fire. The debtors submitted to their insurance company an itemized list for the personal property lost in the fire stating the retail price for all the property totalled $95,329.03. The issue before the court was whether the debtors were entitled to receive $43,500, the maximum amount of insurance coverage, for the personal property. The court acknowledged that the substantial discrepancy in property values gave the impression of concealment. However, after taking testimony, the court made factual findings that
In re Snow (Bankr., E.D.Cal. 1982) 21 B.R. 598 also discusses exempt property and its significance with respect to insurance claims brought when property is destroyed after a petition for bankruptcy is filed. There the debtor’s bankruptcy petition claimed, pursuant to California law, one homestead exemption (value $40,000) and a household furnishings and supplies exemption (value $1,500). No creditor objections were filed. After a fire destroyed the home, the debtor attempted to amend the petition to claim an additional homestead exemption and to change the amount of the household exemption to approximately $20,000. The court refused to allow the debtor to amend the petition to include the additional homestead exemption. However, the court held that since no objections were filed regarding the claim of exemption for the household furnishings, those assets were deemed to be exempt and because title was vested in the debtor before the fire, the debtor was entitled to the insurance proceeds derived from the loss of that property. (Id at p. 601.) The court noted that the property listed on bankruptcy forms was valued at its fair market value whereas claims to insurance companies may be based upon replacement value. Thus, the court determined the debtor was entitled to all insurance proceeds for the destroyed personal property even though that sum far exceeded the value originally listed in the bankruptcy petition. (Ibid., Matter of Rutherford (Bankr., W.D.Mo. 1986) 73 B.R. 665 [debtor claimed exemption of $565 for household goods, thereafter a fire destroyed the property, debtor entitled to $13,008 in insurance proceeds for the destruction of the personal property]; In re Taylor (Bankr., S.D.Ohio E.D. 1982) 23 B.R. 539 [personal property destroyed after bankruptcy filed, debtor entitled to insurance proceeds limited only by maximum amount in state exemption statute].)
3 In Lewis v. Thompson (Bankr., M.D.Pa. 1983) 30 B.R. 741 (Lewis III), the court reduced the amount awarded to the debtor and held that the trustee was entitled to that percentage of the proceeds allocated to nonexempt property.
Respondents suggest appellants committed fraud on the bankruptcy court because appellants did not list the insurance policy as an asset, because appellants did not inform the bankruptcy court of the insurance proceeds they received for loss of their home and its rental value, and because the values listed on the bankruptcy petitions were substantially lower than those listed on the insurance claim. The trial court, in ruling appellants lacked standing, appears to have accepted this argument when the court stated “they received ins. [sic] proceeds and didn’t inform trustee before close of bankruptcy.” By so holding, the trial court inappropriately resolved a triable issue of fact on summary judgment.
We first note that had the bankruptcy court been informed appellants committed fraud, as asserted by respondents, the bankruptcy court had the power to withhold insurance proceeds to prevent a windfall to them and to assure a fair result. (E.g., Lewis v. Thompson (Bankr., M.D.Pa. 1982) 21 B.R. 282 (Lewis T) [bankruptcy court may limit insurance proceeds on exempt property if debtors conceal]; In re Fox (Bankr., W.D.Pa. 1987) 80 B.R. 753 ; Payne v. Wood, supra, 775 F.2d 202 ; cf. In re Crownover (Bankr., E.D.Mo. 1984) 43 B.R. 22 .) However, as a state court we do not have jurisdiction to determine the property was not exempt. Further, summary judgment is only appropriate if there are no triable issues of fact. (Code Civ. Proc., § 437c.) Here, the facts could lead to contrary conclusions. The difference between the amounts claimed on the bankruptcy petitions and the amount requested under the insurance policy could have been the difference between fair market value and replacement cost. There are numerous reasons, not amounting to fraud, which could explain why appellants failed to list the policy as an asset on the bankruptcy petitions and failed to inform the bankruptcy court of the insurance proceeds they received.
The judgment is reversed. Costs on appeal are awarded to appellants.
Boren, J., and Turner, J., concurred.
Cases cited
- Leal v. Holy Spirit Ass'n for Unification of World Christianity 46 Cal.3d 1092 at 1107 p. 1022
- Reichert v. General Insurance of America 68 Cal.2d 822 at 829-837 p. 1024
- People v. Kings Point Corp. 188 Cal.App.3d 544 at 548 p. 1024
- Bank of America National Trust & Savings Ass'n v. Aldrich 35 Cal.2d 20 at 23 p. 1024
- Wood v. Lowe 39 Cal.App.3d 296 p. 1024
- Highlanders, Inc. v. Olsan 77 Cal.App.3d 690 at 697-701 p. 1024
- Danielson v. Itt Industrial Credit Co. 199 Cal.App.3d 645 at 655-658 p. 1024
- Kaley v. Yachts 187 Cal.App.3d 1187 at 1193-1196 p. 1024
- Robinson v. McGinn 195 Cal.App.3d 66 at 78-80 p. 1024
- Aba Recovery Services, Inc. v. Konold 198 Cal.App.3d 720 at 726 p. 1024
- Tarr v. Merco Construction Engineers, Inc. 84 Cal.App.3d 707 at 713-716 p. 1024
- Gering v. Superior Court 37 Cal.2d 29 p. 1026