Majority
Opinion
This appeal involves a coverage dispute between a homeowner’s insurance carrier (plaintiff; hereinafter, “Hartford”) and an automobile insurance carrier (defendant; “Civil Service”).
The matter came before us upon a somewhat inconclusive record.. At the heart of the dispute is a claim made by Mrs. Elizabeth Ehrenburg that she suffered personal injury on October 24, 1966. As we hereafter show, her claim was settled by Hartford prior to trial, hence there has been no finding as to the facts underlying her claim. The coverage dispute was submitted to the trial court upon an agreed statement which recited inter alia that Mrs. Ehrenburg alleged to have been injured in the manner hereinafter described. The judgment from which plaintiff appeals was entered on findings which did not determine how (or whether) Mrs. Ehrenburg was injured; in this respect, the findings merely reiterated her allegations of the fact and manner of her injury. At oral argument in this court, however, counsel stipulated that Mrs. Ehrenburg suffered an injury in the manner and of the type alleged by her, and as more specifically described
I. The Record
On the evening of October 24, 1966, Mrs. William Morrison parked her four-door sedan in front of her Redding home, and a guest passenger —Mrs. Elizabeth Ehrenburg—started to alight from the stopped car. The Morrisons’ male scottie dog had been riding in the back seat; Mrs. Morrison usually took the dog with her in the automobile when she drove at night. While still sitting in the right front seat, Mrs. Ehrenburg started to open the door in order to alight from the car. As she did so, the dog jumped from the back seat onto the front seat and over Mrs. Ehrenburg’s right shoulder, biting Mrs. Ehrenburg beside the right eye and on her right arm as he climbed over the seat in an attempt to get out of the car.
Under a homeowner’s policy in force on the date in question, Hartford insured Mr. and Mrs. Morrison (and agreed to defend them) against liability for bodily injury[1] arising out of the ownership, occupation, and use of their residence, including the operation, maintenance, and use of automobiles on their premises or on the ways immediately adjoining. The “other insurance” clause in Hartford’s policy provided, however, that “with respect to loss arising out of the ownership, maintenance, operation, use, loading or unloading of . . . any automobile ... at the premises or the ways immediately adjoining . . . , this insurance shall not apply to the extent that any valid and collectible insurance, whether on a primary, excess or contingent basis, is available to the Insured.” (Italics added.) The applicable limit of the Hartford policy was $25,000.[2]
At the same time, under a standard automobile policy with an applicable limit of $10,000,[3] Civil Service insured Mrs. Morrison and her husband (a co-owner of the car) against liability for “bodily injury, sickness or disease, including death at any time resulting therefrom, sustained by
1 Hartford’s policy defined “bodily injury” as meaning “bodily injury, sickness or disease, including death resulting therefrom, sustained by any person . . . .”
2 The record filed in this court does not disclose the applicable limit of either the Hartford or the Civil Service policy for bodily injury liability to one person; at oral argument in this court, however, respective counsel stipulated that the Hartford limit is $25,000 and the Civil Service limit is $10,000.
3 Vehicle Code section 16451 was amended effective July 1, 1968, to require that owners’ policies of automobile insurance provide $15,000 coverage for bodily injury liability to one person arising out of the use of the owned vehicle. (Stats. 1967, ch. 862, § 6.) Theretofore, at the time of Mrs. Ehrenburg’s alleged injury, the mandatory minimum was $10,000.
Mrs. Ehrenburg subsequently sued Mr. and Mrs. Morrison, seeking damages for the personal injury caused to her by their dog.[4] Hartford, on its own behalf and on behalf of the Morrisons, notified Civil Service “of the claim and the suit” (we quote the findings) and tendered the defense of the Morrisons to Civil Service. Civil Service refused the tender. Thereafter, having furnished a defense to the Morrisons, Hartford paid Mrs. Ehrenburg $15,000 in full settlement of her claim. Hartford and Civil Service stipulated—and the trial court found—that Hartford acted reasonably and in good faith in negotiating and consummating the settlement and in making the payment of $15,000.[5] Hartford subsequently commenced the present action against Civil Service, seeking indemnification of the $15,000 as well as reimbursement of Hartford’s costs and expenses in defending -against the Ehrenburg claim.[6]
II. The Issue
The trial court adjudged that Civil Service had no duty either to defend the Morrisons in the Ehrenburg suit or to indemnify Hartford for its out
4 Mrs. Ehrenburg’s action was filed in the Shasta County Superior Court. The complaint therein was incorporated by reference in the complaint filed in the same court in the present case, and the Ehrenburg action is referred to both in the agreed statement and in the findings made in the present case. Although the Ehrenburg complaint was not designated as part of the appellate record in the case at bench, we deem that the foregoing circumstances made it mandatory for the trial court to judicially notice the complaint, and that it did so. (See, Evid. Code, § 452, subd. (d). and §§ 453, 664.) Accordingly, we have ordered the present record augmented with the Ehrenburg pleading (Cal. Rules of Court, rule 12(a)), and we judicially notice it (Evid. Code, § 459, subd. (a)). In her complaint, Mrs. Ehrenburg did not allege either that her injury occurred inside the car or that the scottie had been riding within it. She did, however, allege that the dog bit her while she “was alighting” from the vehicle.
5 In her deposition, taken in her action against the Morrisons, Mrs. Ehrenburg testified that cancer developed after—and at the site of—the dog bite, resulting in five operations, the surgical removal of her right eye, and other serious residual disability.
6 Hartford’s complaint for indemnification was erroneously entitled one “for declaratory relief.” (See, 3 Witkin, Cal. Procedure (2d ed. 1971) Pleading, § 709, pp. 2331-2332, and § 722, pp. 2342-2343.)
Although the issue is not free of difficulty, we are of the opinion that the trial court erred.
In determining whether the events of the accident were within the coverage of the Civil Service policy, that policy must be considered alone as though the Morrisons had no other insurance available. (Monolith Portland Cement Co. v. American Home Assur. Co. (1969) 273 Cal.App.2d 115 , 123 [ 78 Cal.Rptr. 113 ]; Universal Underwriters Ins. Co. v. Aetna Ins. Co. (1967) 249 Cal.App.2d 144 , 148-149 [ 57 Cal.Rptr. 240 ].) “If the insurer uses language which is uncertain any reasonable doubt will be resolved against it; if the doubt relates to extent or fact of coverage, [such] as to peril insured against . . . , the language will be understood in its most inclusive sense, for the benefit of , the insured.” (Continental Cas. Co. v. Phoenix Constr. Co. (1956) 46 Cal.2d 423 , 437-438 [ 296 P.2d 801 , 57 A.L.R.2d 914 ]; see also, Universal Underwriters Ins. Co. v. Aetna Ins. Co., supra.) We must ascertain “that meaning of the contract which the insured would reasonably expect.” (Gray v. Zurich Insurance Co. (1966) 65 Cal.2d 263 , 270 [ 54 Cal.Rptr. 104 , 419 P.2d 168 ].)
“In deciding whether peripheral activity involving a vehicle amounts to a ‘use,’ the courts follow the rule that uncertainties in policy language are construed in favor of imposing liability on the insurer; hence, that ‘use’ must be understood in its most comprehensive sense. The term is not confined to motion on the highway, but extends to any activity in utilizing the insured vehicle in the manner intended or contemplated by the insured.” (Pacific Indem. Co. v. Truck Ins. Exch. (1969) 270 Cal.App.2d 700 , 703 [ 76 Cal.Rptr. 281 ].) (Fns. omitted.) “[T]he acts coming within such use are not necessarily those arising out of or related to the operation of the vehicle.” (Glens Falls Ins. Co. v. Consolidated Freightways (1966) 242 Cal.App.2d 774 , 783 [ 51 Cal.Rptr. 789 ].) (Original italics.) The word “use” may apply though the insured vehicle is at rest. (St. Paul Fire & Marine Ins. Co. v. Hartford Acc. & Indem. Co. (1966) 244 Cal.App.2d 826 , 831 [ 53 Cal.Rptr. 650 ].)
The concept of loss arising out of the use of an insured vehicle “imports some kind of sequential relationship between the vehicle and the
The transportation of household pets in family cars is commonplace. In the case at bench, the fact that the scottie was riding in the Morrisons’ automobile clearly involved a “use” of that vehicle. In National Indemnity Co. v. Corbo (Fla.App. 1971) 248 So.2d 238 , in a case of nationwide first impression, the court held that the plaintiff’s injury arose out of the use of the insured’s automobile where the plaintiff—a guest passenger—was bitten in the parked car by the insured’s watchdog while the car was transporting the dog to the insured’s place of business. In so holding, the Florida court relied on the proposition that “arising out of” is a phrase of much broader significance than “caused by,” and is ordinarily understood to mean “incident to, or having connection with” the use of the car. (Id. at p. 240.)
The biting of Mrs. Ehrenburg presents as strong a case for coverage as did the facts in National Indemnity Co. v. Corbo, supra, 248 So.2d 238 , for here the injury occurred while the Morrisons’ dog was trying to get out of the car.
The “use” of a vehicle includes its loading and unloading, even though, as in the Civil Service policy in the instant case, there is no specific provision covering such activities. (International Business Machines Corp. v. Truck Ins. Exch., supra, 2 Cal.3d at p. 1029 & fn. 1; Truck Ins. Exch. v. Webb (1967) 256 Cal.App.2d 140 , 144 [ 63 Cal.Rptr. 791 ].) In Morari v. Atlantic Mutual Fire Insurance Company (1970) 105 Ariz. 537 [ 468 P.2d 564 ], the insured accidentally shot a passenger when the insured, standing beside his parked pickup-camper, attempted to take out a hunting rifle from behind the seat, causing the loaded gun (not on safety) to discharge. The court distinguished cases involving the accidental
III. Disposition
“An insurer . . . bears a duty to defend its insured whenever it ascertains facts which give rise to the potential of liability under the policy.” (Gray v. Zurich Insurance Co., supra, 65 Cal.2d at pp. 276-277.) (Italics added.) “Since modern procedural rules focus on the facts of a case rather than the theory of recovery in the complaint, the duty to defend should be fixed by the facts which the insurer learns from the complaint, the insured, or other sources.” (Id. at p. 276; see also, State Farm Mut. Auto Ins. Co. v. Flynt (1971) 17 Cal.App.3d 538 , 548-549 [ 95 Cal.Rptr. 296 ].) The issue is whether such facts “created the possibility that the insurer would be liable for the claim.” (Paramount Properties Co. v. Transamerica Title Ins. Co. (1970) 1 Cal.3d 562 , 571 [ 83 Cal.Rptr. 394 , 463 P.2d 746 ] (italics added); see also, Gray v. Zurich Insurance Co., supra, at p. 277.)
As we have seen, the Civil Service automobile policy obligated it to defend suits alleging personal injury arising out of the use of the Morrisons’ automobile even if such suits were “groundless, false or fraudulent.” “While it is true, the duty to defend litigation brought against an insured may exist even where coverage is in doubt and ultimately does not develop, ‘The “groundless, false, or fraudulent” clause, . . . does not extend the obligation to defend without limits; it includes only defense to those actions of the nature and kind covered by the policy.’ (Gray v. Zurich Insurance Co., supra, 65 Cal.2d 263 , 274.)” (State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v. Flynt, supra, 17 Cal.App.3d at p. 548.)
Accordingly, the refusal by Civil Service to defend the Morrisons was wrongful; the Ehrenburg claim created the possibility of liability on the part of Civil Service. (Note Civ. Code, § 3342 (“dog bite” statute); compare Veh. Code, § 17158 (“guest” statute, in effect at the time of Mrs. Ehrenburg’s injury; see Brown V. Merlo (1973) 8 Cal.3d 855 [ 106 Cal. Rptr. 388 , 506 P.2d 212 ]).)
We have shown, in our recital of the “other insurance” clauses of the two policies, that the Civil Service policy (although providing for proration) was primary, and that Hartford’s policy was excess. “[I]n the case of multiple insurance policies covering the same loss, one of which contains a provision for pro-ration in the event o-f other insurance and the other a clause that it shall be treated as ‘excess insurance’ to any other policy, the policy with the proration clause is primary and must bear the loss to its policy limits.” (Fireman’s Fund etc. Ins. Companies v. State Farm etc. Ins. Co. (1969) 273 Cal.App.2d 445 , 448-449 [ 78 Cal.Rptr. 38 ]; see, Pacific Employers Ins. Co. v. Maryland Casualty Co. (1966) 65 Cal.2d 318 , 328 [ 54 Cal.Rptr. 385 , 419 P.2d 641 ]; Donahue Constr. Co. v. Transport Indem. Co. (1970) 7 Cal.App.3d 291 , 302-303 [ 86 Cal.Rptr. 632 ].)
The judgment is reversed with directions to the trial court (1) to determine the amount and reasonableness of Hartford’s costs, expenses, and attorney’s fees in defending against the Ehrenburg claim, and (2) to enter judgment in favor of Hartford and against Civil Service in the sum of $10,000 plus two-thirds of those costs, expenses, and attorney’s fees found to be reasonable.
Regan, Acting P. J., and Keane, J.,[7] concurred.
Respondent’s petition for a hearing by the Supreme Court was denied August 16, 1973.
* Assigned by the Chairman of the Judicial Council.
Cases cited
- Monolith Portland Cement Co. v. American Home Assurance Co. 273 Cal.App.2d 115 at 123 p. 31
- Universal Underwriters Ins. Co. v. Aetna Ins. Co. of Hartford 249 Cal.App.2d 144 at 148-149 p. 31
- Continental Casualty Co. v. Phoenix Construction Co. 46 Cal.2d 423 at 437-438 p. 31
- Gray v. Zurich Insurance 65 Cal.2d 263 at 270, at 274 p. 31, p. 33
- Pacific Indemnity Co. v. Truck Insurance Exchange 270 Cal.App.2d 700 at 703 p. 31
- Glens Falls Insurance v. Consolidated Freightways 242 Cal.App.2d 774 at 783 p. 31
- St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance v. Hartford Accident & Indemnity Co. 244 Cal.App.2d 826 at 831 p. 31
- International Business Machines Corp. v. Truck Insurance Exchange 2 Cal.3d 1026 at 1031 p. 32
- Truck Insurance Exchange v. Webb 256 Cal.App.2d 140 at 144 p. 32
- Druggist v. Travelers Insurance Co. 273 Cal.App.2d 11 at 14 p. 33
- American Automobile Insurance v. Transport Indemnity Co. 200 Cal.App.2d 543 at 549 p. 33
- State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance v. Flynt 17 Cal.App.3d 538 at 548-549 p. 33
- Paramount Properties Co. v. Transamerica Title Insurance 1 Cal.3d 562 at 571 p. 33
- Brown v. Merlo 8 Cal.3d 855 p. 34
- Fireman's Fund American Insurance v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance 273 Cal.App.2d 445 at 448-449 p. 34
- Pacific Employers Insurance v. Maryland Casualty Co. 65 Cal.2d 318 at 328 p. 34
- Donahue Construction Co. v. Transport Indemnity Co. 7 Cal.App.3d 291 at 302-303 p. 34
- Columbia Southern Chemical Corp. v. Manufacturers & Wholesalers Indemnity Exchange 190 Cal.App.2d 194 at 204 p. 35
- Northwestern Title Security Co. v. Flack 6 Cal.App.3d 134 at 146 p. 35
- State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance v. Allstate Insurance 9 Cal.App.3d 508 at 528-531 p. 35
- Continental Casualty Co. v. Zurich Insurance 57 Cal.2d 27 at 35-38 p. 35
- Kapelus v. United Title Guaranty Co. 15 Cal.App.3d 648 at 653 p. 35
- Travelers Insurance v. Norwich Union Fire Insurance Society 221 Cal.App.2d 150 at 153 p. 35