Majority
Opinion
This appeal is taken from a declaratory judgment in which the superior court determined the respective obligations of two insurance companies by resolving what rights, liabilities, and responsibilities had been created by an insurance policy issued by appellant, Transit Casualty Company. Although there is no substantial disagreement regarding the basic facts of the present action, appellant contends that the trial court erred in its construction of the insurance policy and in its finding of sufficient evidence to sustain a judgment in favor of respondents, Allstate Insurance Company, Harry Giffin, and Elroy and Ethel Simmons.
On or about December 31, 1968, appellant issued to respondent, Harry Giffin, a motor vehicle liability insurance policy which covered a 1961 GMC 10-wheel dump truck purchased by Giffin on December 26, 1968.[1] Giffin, who was an independent truck owner and driver, initially utilized his truck in the performance of several short jobs and for his transportation in each instance to and from work. On January 12, 1969, however, Giffin commenced a job with the Los Angeles Flood Control District in Glendora
1 Giffin also owned a pickup truck which was not insured and which, incidentally, was inoperable at the time of the accident here involved.
On February 8, 1969, after completing work for that day, Giffln parked the truck at the gas station and continued the drive to his home in Pasadena in a 1964 Plymouth automobile owned by his friend, George Carter.[2] While Giflin was driving home in the Plymouth, the car collided with a 1962 Oldsmobile operated by respondent Elroy E. Simmons and occupied by respondent Ethel B. Simmons. The 1962 Oldsmobile was insured under a policy issued by respondent Allstate Insurance Company, and containing an uninsured motorist clause.
The principal issue involved in this controversy is the construction to be given the temporary substitute automobile clause contained in the policy issued by appellant to Giflin covering the 1961 GMC dump truck.[3] Appellant contends that this clause does not apply in the present case as the GMC truck had not been “withdrawn from normal use because of its breakdown, repair, servicing, loss or destruction.” An analysis of this contention requires two separate inquiries: (1) was the covered vehicle withdrawn due to one of the stated incapacities; and (2) was the covered vehicle withdrawn from normal use.
Although a contract must be interpreted as written and, consequently, no ambiguity will be found where none exists (Ogburn v. Travelers Ins. Co., 207 Cal. 50 , 53-54 [ 276 P. 1004 ]; Couch on Insurance (2d ed. 1964) § 15.82), a substitute coverage clause in an insurance contract
2 Apparently this car was not under an automobile liability insurance policy.
3 The clause reads: “Temporary Substitute Automobile—Under coverages A, B and division 1 of coverage C, an automobile not owned by the named insured or his spouse if a resident of the same household, while temporarily used as a substitute for the described automobile when withdrawn from normal use because of its breakdown, repair, servicing, loss or destruction.”
In the instant case the trial court found that the GMC truck was withdrawn from normal use because of an incapacity which brought the substitute vehicle clause of Giffin’s policy into operation.[4] Although we are aware that the substantial evidence rule governs appellate review of the evidence supporting the trial court’s findings (Clark v. Gibbons, 66 Cal.2d 399 , 402 [ 58 Cal.Rptr. 125 , 426 P.2d 525 ]; Crawford v. Southern Pacific Co., 3 Cal.2d 427 , 429 [ 45 P.2d 183 ]; Still v. Plaza Marina Commercial Corp., 21 Cal.App.3d 378 , 384 [ 98 Cal.Rptr. 414 ]), we are of the opinion that the present action constitutes that rare case in which the evidence is not sufficient to support the trial court’s findings. (See 6 Witkin, Cal. Procedure (2d ed.) §§ 252-253, at pp. 4243-4245.)
On appeal respondents have argued that the GMC truck was parked at the gas station for “servicing” and thus the Plymouth was a “temporary substitute vehicle” within the meaning of Giffin’s insurance policy with appellant. However, a review of the record provides no basis which supports this contention. The undisputed evidence shows that Giffin parked the GMC truck at a gas station near the job site because the station was a convenient location at which Giffin could exchange véhicles for the drive
4 The trial court in its memorandum decision specifically held: “[B]ecause of its propensity to litter, the truck had to be withdrawn temporarily from its normal use and the Carter automobile substituted for it.”
We are also of the opinion that the truck was not withdrawn from normal use due to breakdown. Although it is not necessary that a vehicle be inoperable to be considered withdrawn from normal use due to breakdown, the vehicle must be dangerous to operate in its present condition. (Appelman, Insurance Law and Practice, § 4293.5.) A “breakdown” occurs when the vehicle’s tires are unfit for normal use (Fullilove v. U. S. Casualty Company of New York (1960) 240 La. 859 [ 125 So.2d 389 ]; State Farm Mutual Automobile Ins. Co. v. Lietz (1970) 122 Ga. App. 596 [ 178 S.E.2d 218 ]; see collected cases in 34 A.L.R.2d 938 , 949 and later case service), but does not occur when the vehicle has no heater (State Farm Mutual Automobile Ins. Co. v. Lietz, supra), when the vehicle is low on gas (Ransom v. Fidelity and Casualty Co. of New York (1959) 250 N.C. 60 [ 108 S.E.2d 22 ]), or when the substitute vehicle is used as a matter of preference rather than as a result of a dangerous condition which exists in the covered vehicle. (Couch, supra, § 45:227.) In the present case, Giffin’s use of the Plymouth was not the result of a “breakdown” in the truck, as the presence of mud on the undercarriage did not make the truck dangerous to operate or inoperable. Further, the condition of the truck was such as to dispel any reasonable belief that the use of another vehicle as its substitute would be covered.[5]
Respondent Allstate Insurance Company argues that the G.M.C. “was practically or constructively ‘lost’ within the purview of the temporary substitute automobile clause because it could not lawfully be used on the streets of Glendora . . .” This contention is totally without merit and requires no further discussion in view of our foregoing analysis and holding that the Plymouth did not constitute a “substitute” vehicle.
Thus, it is obvious from the facts that Giffin elected to use the Plymouth
5 The case of Homes Ready Mix, Inc. v. Transit Casualty Co., 260 Cal.App.2d 173 [ 66 Cal.Rptr. 898 ] is relied upon by respondent. We see no similarity between Hames and the instant case.
Since we find that the GMC truck was not withdrawn from normal use due to one of the stated incapacities set forth in Giffin’s insurance policy with appellant, we do not reach the question of whether the vehicle was withdrawn from normal use.[6]
The judgment is reversed.
Ashby, J., and Hastings, J., concurred.
Petitions for a rehearing were denied September 24 and 26, 1974, and . the opinion was modified to read as printed above.
6 See State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v. Johnston, 9 Cal.3d 270 , 275-276 [ 107 Cal.Rptr. 149 , 507 P.2d 1357 ].
Cases cited
- Ogburn v. Travelers Insurance 207 Cal. 50 at 53-54 p. 492
- Allstate Insurance v. Roberts 156 Cal.App.2d 755 at 758 p. 493
- State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance v. Allstate Insurance 9 Cal.App. 3d 508 at 518 p. 493
- Wildman v. Government Employees' Insurance 48 Cal.2d 31 at 35-36 p. 493
- Hardware Mutual Casualty Co. v. Home Indemnity Co. 241 Cal.App.2d 303 at 306 p. 493
- Clark v. Gibbons 66 Cal.2d 399 at 402 p. 493
- Crawford v. Southern Pacific Co. 3 Cal.2d 427 at 429 p. 493
- Still v. Plaza Marina Commercial Corp. 21 Cal.App.3d 378 at 384 p. 493