Majority
This is an appeal from a judgment rendered in favor of respondent Bankers Life Company in an action denominated by appellant Austin B. Russell in his complaint as one “for declaratory relief and for money.” The main issue revolves around the interpretation of a group disability insurance policy issued by respondent to appellant’s employer, George Chevrolet. Since the underlying facts in this case are not in dispute and the issue is whether the court properly interpreted the contested insurance policy provision, we adopt generally the statement of facts as set forth in respondent’s brief.
Appellant was employed by George Chevrolet as a service writer. While there, he was covered under Chevrolet’s workmen’s compensation insurance policy issued by Allstate Insurance Company. Pursuant to his employment, appellant was also eligible for long-term group disability insurance through respondent. On April 1, 1971, in consideration of payment of specified premiums, respondent issued to appellant a certificate of insurance under the group policy with Chevrolet. The record shows that appellant was never provided with a copy of the disability policy. Even appellant’s attorney was furnished only excerpts from the master policy (which was maintained in Des Moines, Iowa) when he ¿requested a copy of the policy. The covering letter transmitting the excerpts stated that the group policy-holder (George Chevrolet) had a complete copy. Appellant, however, had been given a copy of an “insurance booklet,” the first page of which states: “This booklet describes your insurance plan and it is your certificate while you are insured. We suggest you read it carefully so that you will be well acquainted with all the benefits to which you are entitled. The Group Policy determines all rights and benefits which are briefly outlined in this booklet. The benefits of this plan are designed to help you obtain the financial security that adequate protection can bring, [s] H. G. Allen President.” The following are pertinent portions of the excerpts which were later furnished to appellant’s attorney:
Section 12 of the policy provides: “If a Person becomes totally disabled while he is insured under this Policy and if such total disability continues without interruption during the qualifying period, the Company, during the continuance of such total disability and subject to all provisions of this Policy, will pay to the Person the monthly income which accrues in accordance with the provisions of Section 13—Schedule of Insurance . . . .” Section 15 of the policy, entitled “Coordination of
Benefits,” reads in part: “If a Person is eligible for income from other sources for any month in which a benefit is payable under this Policy, the monthly benefit which accrues under this Policy shall be limited to an amount which, when added to such income from other sources does not exceed 70% of the Person’s covered monthly compensation. For the purposes of this policy, income from other sources shall be the sum of:
“(a) any payments for which the person and any of his dependents are eligible under the Federal Social Security Act; and
“(b) any payment for which the Person is eligible under a Workmen’s Compensation Act or other similar legislation, or under any plan (including compulsory plans) providing benefits for loss of time from employment to which the Group Policyholder contributes or makes payroll deductions [emphasis added]; and
“(c) any payment the Person receives under any salary continuation or retirement plan of the Group Policyholder; and
“(d) 60% of any payment the Person receives as wage or profit in accordance with the provisions of Section 14—Rehabilitation Benefit; and
“(e) any payment for which the Person is eligible under the California Unemployment Insurance Code.”
Application of the coverage under the insurance purchased by appellant came into question on August 5, 1971, when appellant sustained an injury while on the job and became totally disabled. On September 13, 1971, he submitted to respondent an application for the commencement of payment of benefits under the long-term disability policy (from which the above quoted portions have been set forth). Appellant had begun receiving workmen’s compensation temporary disability benefits on August 16, 1971 from the underwriter, Allstate Insurance Company; between August 16, 1971 and January 9, 1972, appellant received $1,837.50 in such benefits, and an additional $315 for permanent disability payments, also from Allstate.[1] On October 4, 1972, appellant entered into a lump sum compromise and release agreement with Allstate for $8,925.55. The amount appellant realized under this
1 Appellant also received $310.71 for California unemployment temporary disability benefits. (Unemp. Ins. Code, § 2629.) He consented to the imposition of a lien pursuant to Labor Code section 4903, subdivision (f). (See also Lab. Code, § 4904; Workmen's Compensation Practice (Cont.Ed.Bar 1973) §§ 16.2 and 16.20, pp. 575-576, 583.) For the allocation formula for unemployment disability benefits, see California-Western States Life Ins. Co. v. Industrial Acc. Com., 59 Cal.2d 257 , 260-261 [ 28 Cal.Rptr. 872 , 379 P.2d 328 ]; Workmen's Compensation Practice (Cont.Ed.Bar 1973) § 16.22, pp. 588-589.)
In November 1972, in accordance with Section 15(b) of its long-term disability policy, respondent began withholding benefits from appellant which, according to respondent, were to continue “until the benefits equalled the amount appellant received under the Workmen’s Compensation Act.”[3] In March 1973, appellant brought this action for declaratory relief and for money, claiming that the policy provisions for coordination of benefits under Section 15(b) of the policy were ambiguous and should be applied only to the extent that payments under the Workmen’s Compensation Act provide “benefits for loss of time from employment.” Appellant further argues that the workmen’s compensation lump sum settlement was for further and lifetime medical care, medical legal costs, lien claims, earnings, and other items. To the extent that the settlement did not compensate for lost earnings, appellant contends that no offset should be made from the disability insurance benefits.
The trial court found: (1) that there is no ambiguity in the contract; (2) that the comma in Section 15(b)[4] of respondent’s policy separates two phrases; (3) that the phrase “Workmen’s Compensation or other similar legislation” refers to any payment for whatever purpose made under California’s workmen’s compensation or other similar legislation; and (4) that respondent need not establish that any workmen’s compensation
2 The following sums were deducted from the amount of $8,925.55: $147.20 for doctor fees; $200 for unpaid bills; $800 for attorney fees; and $88.59 “to State of California, Dept, of Human Resources Development” (presumably, for the apportioned amount of unemployment disability, benefits). Future medical and hospital expenses were to be assumed by appellant.
3 The total sum appellant actually received was $10,352.97, made up as follows: temporary disability, $1,837.50; permanent disability, $315; lump sum (after deductions), $7,889.76; California unemployment disability insurance, $310.71. When $310.71 is subtracted, this leaves a total of $10,042.26 which respondent apparently intends to deduct.
4 The comma referred to appears between the words “legislation” and “or” in paragraph 15(b) of the policy, which reads as follows (and in which we have italicized the comma): “any payment for which the Person is eligible under a Workmen’s Compensation Act or other similar legislation, or under any plan (including compulsory plans) providing benefits for loss of time from employment to which the Group Policy holder contributes or makes payroll deductions [shall be included as ‘income from other sources’].” (See p. 409, ante for entire prefacing paragraph.)
Discussion
Interpretation of Insurance Policies
Certain fundamental rules have evolved with reference to the interpretation of insurance contracts. If any ambiguity or uncertainty exists, an insurance policy is to be construed strictly against the insurer, and most liberally in favor of the insured. (State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v. Johnston, 9 Cal.3d 270 , 274 [ 107 Cal.Rptr. 149 , 507 P.2d 1357 ].) The standard to be used in construing such contracts is the understanding of the ordinary reasonable person. (Arenson v. Nat. Automobile & Cas. Ins. Co., 45 Cal.2d 81 , 83 [ 286 P.2d 816 ].) The rule of strict construction against the insurer and liberal construction in favor of the insured is particularly applicable where the policy purports to exclude coverage or substantially limit liability.[5] The burden rests on the insurer to phrase such exclusions and limitations in plain, clear, and conspicuous language. (Thompson v. Occidental Life Ins. Co., 9 Cal.3d 904 , 921 [ 109 Cal.Rptr. 473 , 513 P.2d 353 ].) However, when the terms of the policy are plain and explicit, the courts will not indulge in a forced construction so as to fasten a liability on the insurance company which it has not assumed. (New York Life Ins. Co. v. Hollender, 38 Cal.2d 73 , 81 [ 237 P.2d 510 ].) “While . . . any ambiguity in an insurance contract will be resolved adversely to the insurer, such rule is not without limitation.
5 This principle was succinctly stated by the court in Sykes v. Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company, 413 Pa. 640 [ 198 A.2d 844 , 845], as follows: “This [insurance-policy] paragraph would most assuredly never take a prize in a school of expression for clear and crystalline prose. Ambiguity runs through it like ink poured into a fish bowl, clouding the identity of its swimming occupants. From this clouded bowl of language the insurance company fishes up the conclusion that the exclusion clause was intended to allow coverage only in the event of certain factors which are absent here. . . . [H] Aside from the morality involved in permitting ambiguous language to entice insurance buyers, only to drop them into a pit of non-recoverability when claims are made under the policy, the insurance company cannot maintain its position because of the law which specifically states that where ambiguity clouds interpretation the contract in controversy must be interpreted against its authors. The person who writes with ink which spreads and simultaneously produces two conflicting versions of the same proposition cannot complain if the person affected by both propositions chooses to accept that which is more helpful to him and which is against the interests of the contract writer.”
Interpretation of the Instant Insurance Policy
The construction of the instant policy is one of law because it is based upon the terms of the insurance contract. Accordingly, we are not bound by the trial court’s interpretation of the policy, and it is our duty to make the final determination in accordance with the applicable principles of law. (Parsons v. Bristol Development Co., 62 Cal.2d 861 , 865 [ 44 Cal.Rptr. 767 , 402 P.2d 839 ]; Estate of Platt, 21 Cal.2d 343 , 352 [ 131 P.2d 825 ].) The test we must apply in construing the policy may be summarized as follows: this court must resolve uncertainties in favor of the insured and interpret the policy provisions according to the layman’s reasonable expectations. (See Gray v. Zurich Insurance Co., 65 Cal.2d 263 , 271 [ 54 Cal.Rptr. 104 , 419 P.2d 168 ]; Logan v. John Hancock Mut. Life Ins. Co., 41 Cal.App.3d 988 , 993 [ 116 Cal.Rptr. 528 ].)
Respondent argues that Section 15(b) of the policy is plain and unambiguous; that it refers to two distinct types of payment which offset the amount of benefits appellant is entitled to receive under the disability policy. The first, described before the comma separating the phrases, is “any payment for which the person is eligible under a Workmen’s Compensation Act or other similar legislation.” The second, kind of payment, described after the comma, is “any plan (including compulsory plans) providing benefits for loss of time from employment to which the Group Policy-holder contributes or makes payroll deductions.” Specifically, respondent asserts that the two types of payments are expressed in separate and independent phrases; that the second phrase reading “providing benefits for loss of time from employment” does not modify the phrase “any payment for which the person is eligible under a Workmen’s Compensation Act or other similar legislation.”
As previously mentioned, appellant was not given a copy of the policy. In this regard, the court in Steven v. Fidelity & Casualty Co., 58 Cal.2d 862 [ 27 Cal.Rptr. 172 , 377 P.2d 284 ] held that an insurer could not rely on limitations or exclusions of coverage which the insured could reasonably expect unless those limitations were plainly and clearly
Moreover, while appellant was given a booklet which briefly outlined the coverage under the policy, it, too, failed to provide appellant with clear and plain notice of the limitations of the coordination provision. On the second page of the booklet, the benefits, in pertinent part, were set forth-as follows:
“Schedule of Your Insurance Benefits
“(Plan Effective April 1, 1971)
“Insurance For You
“Long Term Disability
“Monthly Income Benefits—66%% of your covered monthly compensation to a Maximum Benefit of $1,000.00 less any payments for that month for which you and your dependents are eligible under the Federal Social Security Act, or the California Unemployment Insurance Code.” (Italics added.)
There is no mention that any type of workmen’s compensation benefits would be offset against any payment under the. policy. Certainly this cannot suffice as adequate notice of the limitation. “Income from other sources includes any payments for which you and your dependents are eligible under the Federal Social Security Act, any payment for which you are eligible under a Workmen’s Compensation Act. or other similar legislation, or the California Unemployment Insurance Code or under any plan (including compulsory plans) providing benefits for loss of time from employment to which the Group Policyholder contributes or makes payroll deductions, and any payment you receive under a salary continuance or retirement plan of the Group Policyholder.” On this page, the workmen’s compensation portion is separated from the phrase it precedes in Section 15(b) of the policy by the unemployment insurance clause, Section 15(e). This merely adds confusion.
There is another reason which dictates reversal of the judgment. The coordination provision here was designed to offset “income [received] from other sources.” The provision proceeds to define income
Workmen’s Compensation Benefits
We conclude that the only type of workmen’s compensation benefits which may be offset are those providing for loss of time from employment. We must therefore examine the workmen’s compensation area to determine which type of benefits fall into this category.
There are two basic classifications of workmen’s compensation disability benefits: temporary and permanent.[6] Each type of benefit is designed to compensate for a different type of loss. “Permanent disability is distinct from temporary. The primary element in temporary disability is the loss of wages, whereas loss of earning power is not a prerequisite to the right to permanent disability; permanent body
6 “Disability,” as that term is used in connection with the Workmen’s Compensation Act, is a composite of two principal elements: (1) actual incapacity to perform the tasks usually encountered in one’s employment and the wage loss resulting therefrom, and (2) physical impairment of the body that may or may not be incapacitating. (Allied Compensation Ins. Co. v. Industrial Acc. Com., 211 Cal.App.2d 821 , 831 [ 27 Cal.Rptr. 918 ].)
Therefore, respondent is only entitled to offset the amount of temporary disability benefits which appellant received from workmen’s compensation benefits.
Absent the modification by the term “loss of time from employment,” the disability policy here would encompass both types of disability classifications as coverages to be excluded. Even assuming arguendo that this were the case, the provision would still be ariibiguous. A disability policy such as the one involved here “is designed to provide a substitute for earnings when, because of bodily injury or disease, the insured is deprived of the capacity to earn his living.” (Erreca v. West. States Life Ins. Co., 19 Cal.2d 388 , 397 [ 121 P.2d 689 , 141 A.L.R. 68 ].) No doubt it is also the expectation of a reasonable person that a disability policy (either procured for his benefit, or one which he has obtained for his benefit, or for which he has contributed premiums) will provide substitute income for lost wages. A reasonable person would not
7 Labor Code, section 4660, subdivision (a): “In determining the percentages of permanent disability, account shall be taken of the nature of the physical injury or disfigurement, the occupation of the injured employee, and his age at the time of such injury, consideration being given to the diminished ability of such injured employee to compete in an open labor market.”
Significantly, Labor Code section 4660 does not require a showing of loss of earning power as a prerequisite to the payment of compensation for a permanent disability (Smith v. Industrial Acc. Com., 44 Cal.2d 364 , 377 [ 282 P.2d 64 ]), and section 4661 provides that an injured employee “is entitled’ to compensation for any permanent disability sustained by him in addition to any payment received ... for temporary disability.” (Italics added.)
It is well recognized that in the case of a standardized insurance contract, exceptions and limitations in coverage—especially those that the insured could not reasonably expect—must be stated in conspicuous, unambiguous and unequivocal language which an ordinary layman can understand. (Thompson v. Occidental Life Ins. Co., supra, 9 Cal.3d 904 , 912; Steven v. Fidelity & Casualty Co., supra, 58 Cal.2d 862 , 879; Logan v. John Hancock Mut. Life Ins. Co., supra, 41 Cal.App.3d 988 , 994.) Here, Section 15(b) is insufficient to inform a reasonable person that he is precluded from receiving benefits for both lost wages and for compensation for permanent bodily impairment. No doubt this is contrary to one of the reasons why disability insurance policies are purchased in addition to protection under workmen’s compensation laws to provide coverage for both types of losses. “If such an exclusion had been stated in language clear to anyone who reads, it is possible that a lesser number of persons would have wanted to buy the insurance policy because workmen’s compensation is so much a part of a workmen’s economic status that no worker would want to willingly forego its benefits. Under those circumstances, the company would have quite probably sold less policies.” (Sykes v. Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company, supra, 413 Pa. 640 [ 198 A.2d 844 , 845].) This analysis finds support in California Unemployment Insurance Code section 2629, which permits offset for workmen’s compensation benefits only against temporary disability benefits. That section provides: “During receipt or right to receive payments under workmen’s compensation law or employer’s liability law (a) Except as provided in this section, an individual is not eligible for disability benefits under this part for any day of unemployment and disability for which he has received, or is entitled to receive ‘other benefits’ in the form of cash payments. (b) ‘Other benefits’ as used in this section means: (1) Temporary disability indemnity under a workmen’s compensation
“That permanent disability payments should not be deducted from unemployment disability payments, or vice versa, is patently sensible. The former are for the loss for life of the capacity to earn a living. They are not apportioned according to certain periods of time, that is, one installment does not represent the payment for the loss of earning capacity for the installment period. The latter, however, are directly apportioned to each week and on the basis of the wages that would have been paid for that week had the employee not been disabled. There is, therefore, insufficient similarity between the two to justify balancing one against the other.
“The only answer made by the majority opinion to the foregoing construction of the statute is that it is ‘tortuous.’ On the contrary it is wholly reasonable and compelled by the requirement that workmen’s compensation laws be liberally construed to preserve their benefits to their beneficiaries. (Lab. Code, § 3202.)
“Finally, there is an additional factor that makes the foregoing interpretation of the statutes mandatory, if anything is to be salvaged from the legislative declaration that an employee is entitled to both temporary and permanent disability. . . . Finally in 1949, the Legislature went the whole way and allowed both temporary and permanent disability compensation to be paid. It stated: ‘Where an injury causes both temporary and permanent disability, the injured employee is entitled to compensation for any permanent disability sustained by him in addition to any payment received by such injured employee for temporary disability.’’ (Stats. 1949, ch. 107. Italics added.) Here is a clear mandate of the Legislature that the permanent disability compensation shall not be diminished by any payment of temporary disability compensation. That is to say, the ‘loss of wages’—temporary disability compensation—shall not reduce the ‘loss of earning capacity’—permanent disability compensation. But under the strained construction of the statutes given in the majority opinion that mandate is completely ignored. It says that the unemployment disability payment, which is for the loss of wages only, the same as temporary disability compensation, must be deducted from the permanent disability compensation allowed for loss of earning capacity. That puts the employee back where he was prior to 1945 with
Section 2629 was amended in 1957 in accordance with Justice Carter’s position.
Disposition
The lump sum payment in the instant case was for “further and lifetime medical care, medical-legal costs, lien claims, earnings, and other issues.” (Defendant’s Exh. B.) To the extent that the lump sum payment does not compensate for lost earnings, no deduction should have been made from the monthly disability insurance payments. It is clear that the $1,837.50 for temporary disability was correctly offset. A reasonable person would expect that such benefits would not be paid in addition to the benefits under respondent’s insurance policy because they are designed to cover the same loss—lost wages. However, as far as the $315 for permanent disability benefits, defendant was not entitled to have this amount offset, for the reasons previously discussed. With respect to the lump sum payment, there is no indication in the record whether this amount is attributable to lost wages (temporary disability) or permanent bodily impairment (permanent disability) (Lab. Code, § 5101).[8] In his brief, appellant contends that the lump sum amount of $7,889.76 which he received was for permanent disability. During oral
8 Section 5101. “The amount of the lump sum shall be determined as follows: (a) If the injury causes temporary disability, the appeals board shall estimate the probable duration thereof and the probable amount of the temporary disability payments therefor, in accordance with Chapter 2 of Part 2 of this division, and shall fix the lump sum at the amount so determined. “(b) If the injury causes permanent disability or death, the appeals board shall fix the total amount of the permanent disability payment or death benefit payable therefor in accordance with Chapter 2 of Part 2 of this division, and shall estimate the present value thereof, assuming interest at the rate of 3 percent per annum and disregarding the probability of the beneficiary’s death in all cases except where the percentage of permanent disability is such as to entitle the beneficiary to a life pension, and then taking into consideration the probability of the beneficiary’s death only in estimating the present value of such life pension.”
The judgment is reversed.
Kaus, P. J., and Hastings, J., concurred.
9 There is presently pending, in this division, an appeal which involves the rights of the noninjured spouse in temporary and permanent workmen’s compensation awards due the husband. In view of the many different considerations involved in interspousal disputes—as distinguished from litigation between one spouse and his insurer—nothing said herein should be deemed determinative of the issues in the pending appeal.
Cases cited
- State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance v. Johnston 9 Cal.3d 270 at 274 p. 412
- Arenson v. National Automobile & Casualty Insurance 45 Cal.2d 81 at 83 p. 412
- Thompson v. Occidental Life Insurance 9 Cal.3d 904 at 921, at 912 p. 412, p. 417
- New York Life Insurance v. Hollender 38 Cal.2d 73 at 81 p. 412
- Wetzler v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance 246 Cal.App.2d 472 at 476 p. 413
- McMillan v. State Farm Insurance 211 Cal.App.2d 58 at 62-63 p. 413
- Parsons v. Bristol Development Co. 62 Cal.2d 861 at 865 p. 413
- Platt v. Platt 21 Cal.2d 343 at 352 p. 413
- Gray v. Zurich Insurance 65 Cal.2d 263 at 271 p. 413
- Logan v. John Hancock Mutual Life Insurance 41 Cal.App.3d 988 at 993, at 994 p. 413, p. 417
- Steven v. Fidelity & Casualty Co. 58 Cal.2d 862 at 879 p. 413, p. 417
- Young v. Metropolitan Life Insurance 272 Cal.App.2d 453 at 460-461 p. 414
- Island v. Fireman's Fund Indemnity Co. 30 Cal.2d 541 at 548 p. 415
- Jarrett v. AllState Insurance 209 Cal.App.2d 804 at 809 p. 415
- Bonfils v. Pacific Automobile Insurance 165 Cal.App.2d 152 at 159 p. 415
- Manning v. Workmen's Compensation Appeals Board 10 Cal.App.3d 655 at 658 p. 416
- Fred Gledhill Chevrolet v. Industrial Accident Commission 62 Cal.2d 59 at 62 p. 416
- Allied Compensation Insurance v. Industrial Accident Commission 211 Cal.App.2d 821 at 832 p. 416
- American Can Co. v. Industrial Accident Commission 196 Cal.App.2d 445 at 451 p. 416
- Granado v. Workmen's Compensation Appeals Board 69 Cal.2d 399 at 404 p. 416
- Moyer v. Workmen's Compensation Appeals Board 24 Cal.App.3d 650 at 659 p. 416
- Erreca v. Western States Life Insurance 19 Cal.2d 388 at 397 p. 416
- Smith v. Industrial Accident Commission 44 Cal.2d 364 at 377 p. 417
- Bryant v. Industrial Accident Commission 37 Cal.2d 215 p. 418