Majority
Opinion
This litigation centers on an award made to an injured workman; however, his rights are not in question; neither side asserts that the injured workman was not entitled to the award or that the award was excessive. The litigation is between two insurance carriers and presents, primarily, a fundamental procedural question.
The pertinent facts are undisputed.
On July 7, 1972, Kinney, whose back had been bothering him severely for about 10 days, was pulling a heavy hose when suddenly the pain in his back stopped and a “screaming,” excruciating pain developed in his left leg. Sometime later he underwent a laminectomy performed at the L5 vertebral level, and “a classic total nuclear extrusion was identified on the left and treated by total excision of the nucleal material and debridement of the lumbrosacral disc space.”
On October 24, 1972, Kinney filed an application for adjudication of claim with the Workmen’s Compensation Appeals Board. The application (Case No. 72 F 26735 ) alleged that the applicant’s disability was caused by a continuous trauma to the back occurring during the period and in the course of his employment with the Turner Gas Company; the Continental Casualty Company, hereinafter referred to as petitioner, the State Compensation Insurance Fund, hereinafter referred to as respondent, and the Wilshire Insurance Company at different times during the period of Kinney’s employment were the employer’s insurance carriers and were all named as defendants in the application.
In early 1974, Kinney filed a second application for adjudication of claim. The genesis of this application (Case No. 74 F 29081 ) was an alleged specific injury to the back occurring on July 7, 1972; respondent was the employer’s insurance carrier at the time of the alleged accident and was the only insurance company named in the application.
On April 15, 1974, Kinney and respondent, in Case No. 74 F 29081 , stipulated that on July 7, 1972, Kinney sustained a compensable injury in the course of his employment. On the same day the referee ordered the application in that case be consolidated for hearing with the application in Case No. 72 F 26735 and that all evidence received in one case be received in the other “insofar as it is relevant and material.” Then, the consolidated applications were submitted to the referee for decision on the basis of the testimony of the applicant and the medical reports of Doctors Owen R. Walker and Marvin H. Lipton. Dr. Walker was the orthopedic surgeon who operated on appellant in 1972, and he reported, in essence, that Kinney’s disability was due to a progressive degenerative
On June 10, 1974, the referee determined in Case No. 74 F 29081 that the applicant did not sustain a specific injury on July 7, 1972; he rejected the stipulation of the parties as to the occurrence of a specific injury on that date and ordered Kinney to take nothing in that case. In Case No. 72 F 26735 , the referee found that applicant sustained a cumulative injury to his back during the period of his employment with the Turner Gas Company and that the cumulative injury culminated in disability on July 7, 1972; he gave Kinney a 36Vi percent permanent disability rating and ordered petitioner and the Wilshire Insurance Company “to make pro-rata reimbursement to State Compensation Insurance Fund for indemnity and medical expenses voluntarily paid....”
On June 28, 1974, petitioner petitioned the Workmen’s Compensation Appeals Board for reconsideration; the petition was denied. Petitioner has applied to this court for relief, alleging that the referee did not have good cause to disregard the stipulation which was made in Case No. 74 F 29081 and that petitioner was denied due process of law.
The referee rejected the stipulation in question because he accepted the medical opinion of Dr. Walker, the operating surgeon; he said he discounted Dr. Lipton’s preliminary opinion that the July 7th incident was the cause of the applicant’s disability because the applicant’s medical history showed that Kinney had experienced some pain and numbness in his left leg and foot on other occasions and because the preliminary opinion was superseded by the doctor’s final report in which he made no reference to the alleged specific injury. While stipulations between adversary parties concerning the existence or nonexistence of material facts áre permissible in workmen’s compensation cases, the stipulations are not binding on the appeals board or the referee; the board or referee, as here, may reject a stipulation and base the decision on the evidence presented at the hearing. (Lab. Code, § 5702; Frankfort General Ins. Co. v. Pillsbury, 173 Cal. 56 , 58 [ 159 P. 150 ];
We turn to petitioner’s contention that it was denied due process of law; it asserts that it was not notified of the referee’s intention to disregard the stipulation which was made in Case No. 74 F 29081 and was not given the opportunity to present evidence on the specific injury issue.
Respondent does not deny that petitioner was not given notice of the referee’s intention to disregard the stipulation. Nor does respondent assert that it would have been proper for the referee to reject the stipulation which was made in Case No. 74 F 29081 without first giving the stipulating parties notice and the opportunity to present evidence. Respondent insists that petitioner has no standing to object because the stipulation was not signed by petitioner and was filed in connection with an application to which petitioner was not a party.
Respondent’s argument that petitioner was not entitled to notice and the opportunity to be heard merely because petitioner did not sign the stipulation and was not a party to Case No. 74 F 29081 is untenable. A stipulation on a material fact is treated as evidence in the nature of an admission (Nungaray v. Pleasant Valley etc. Assn., 142 Cal.App.2d 653 , 666-667 [ 300 P.2d 285 ]), and in his order of consolidation the referee stated that all evidence received in one case was received in the other “insofar as it [was] relevant and material.” (See also Cal. Admin. Code, tit. 8, § 10590.) Because the stipulation, and hence the admission, would have reduced the extent of petitioner’s liability in Case No. 72 F 26735 , it was “relevant and material” evidence in both cases.
However, a distinction should be drawn between stipulating parties and one who was not a party to a stipulation. The stipulating parties are, in the broad sense, contracting parties (Palmer v. City of Long Beach, 33 Cal.2d 134 , 142 [ 199 P.2d 952 ]; Sanserino v. Shamberger, 245 Cal.App.2d 630 , 633 [ 54 Cal.Rptr. 206 ]; L. A. City Sch. Dist. v. Landier Inv. Co., 177 Cal.App.2d 744 , 750 [ 2 Cal.Rptr. 662 ]), and, arguably, due process dictates that they always must be given notice and the opportunity to present evidence on a material fact covered by the stipulation before it is disregarded. (Leonardo. City of Los Angeles, 31 Cal.App.3d 473 , 477-478 [ 107 Cal.Rptr. 378 ]; L. A. City Sch. Dist. v. Landier Inv. Co., supra, 177 Cal.App.2d 744 , 750; Warburton v. Kieferle, 135 Cal.App.2d 278 , 286 [ 287 P.2d 1 ].) But a litigant who did not sign a stipulation is not a party to
Petitioner has not shown that it was denied due process in this case. The first application for adjudication of claim was filed on October 24, 1972, and was predicated on a continuous trauma to the injured workman’s back occurring during the entire period of employment. On the other hand, the second application was not filed until the early part of 1974 and was protective in nature; it apparently was filed to make certain that the applicant had “touched all bases.” Furthermore, the stipulation to the effect that the applicant sustained a specific injury on July 7, 1972, was entered into on the very day that the applications were consolidated for hearing and just before the hearing commenced; at that time, petitioner must have known that Dr. Tipton’s preliminary opinion that Kinney sustained a compensable specific injury on July 7th had been superseded by the doctor’s final report in which the specific injury was not mentioned. Yet, there is nothing in the record to suggest that when the hearing commenced petitioner was prepared to present any other medical evidence on the specific injury issue and that it neglected to do so because it was misled by the stipulation. If anything, petitioner’s petition for reconsideration demonstrates that petitioner had no other medical evidence to present.
Petitioner argues that if the referee had announced his intention to disregard the stipulation, it would have “developed and emphasized” the facts by way of cross-examination. The argument ignores the only pertinent medical evidence presented at the hearing; one doctor unequivocally was of the opinion that the applicant’s disability was caused by a series of traumas occurring over the entire period of employment; the other doctor’s two reports at best were contradictory. Presumably, petitioner knew that the referee was not bound to accept the stipulation and that he probably would reject it in view of the medical evidence; petitioner should have protected its interests by developing and emphasizing all facts favoring its position. Clearly, the filing of the stipulation in question did not relieve petitioner of its own duty to clarify, if possible, Dr. Tipton’s confusing and inconsistent medical reports.
The order denying reconsideration is affirmed.
Brown (G. A.), P. J., and Franson, J., concurred.
Petitioners’ application for a hearing by the Supreme Court was denied June 11, 1975.
Cases cited
- Frankfort Gen. Ins. Co. v. Pillsbury 173 Cal. 56 at 58 p. 290
- Pacific Indemnity Co. v. Industrial Accident Commission 86 Cal.App.2d 726 at 735 p. 291
- Ocean Accident & Guarantee Corp. v. Industrial Accident Commission 88 Cal.App. 369 at 371 p. 291
- Nungaray v. Pleasant Valley Lima Bean Growers & Warehouse Ass'n 142 Cal.App.2d 653 at 666-667 p. 291
- Palmer v. City of Long Beach 33 Cal.2d 134 at 142 p. 291
- Sanserino v. Shamberger 245 Cal.App.2d 630 at 633 p. 291
- Los Angeles City School District v. Landier Investment Co. 177 Cal.App.2d 744 at 750 p. 291
- Leonard v. City of Los Angeles 31 Cal.App.3d 473 at 477-478 p. 291
- Warburton v. Kieferle 135 Cal.App.2d 278 at 286 p. 291
- Montez v. Superior Court 10 Cal.App.3d 343 at 351 p. 293