Majority
Opinion
Petitioner Oscar Laines sustained industrial injuries to his left knee on June 14, 1973, and June 30, 1973, in the course of his employment with respondent Mack Truck, Inc. He was directed by his employer to seek medical treatment for these injuries at the Levine
Petitioner’s cases relating to all three injuries were consolidated for hearing before a referee. In his findings and award, issued August 9, 1974, the referee stated that the injury sustained in the accident did not arise out of and in the course of petitioner’s employment, and issued a “take nothing” order in that case. He found, however, that those injuries were a “compensable consequence” of the June 14 industrial injury, and that petitioner was therefore entitled to temporary disability from June 14 forward. The referee also found that the June 30 injury arose out of and in the course of employment, but that it caused no temporary disability and required no medical treatment. The latter finding is not questioned in the instant proceeding.
Respondents filed a petition for reconsideration of the referee’s decision with respect to the June 14-July 23 injuries. On October 3, 1974, the Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board (hereafter “Board”) granted reconsideration and issued its opinion and order granting reconsideration and decision after reconsideration reversing the referee’s findings and award and holding, inter alia, that the injuries sustained by petitioner in the accident were not proximately caused by the industrial injury and therefore were not compensable. From this decision petitioner sought a writ of review. We granted the writ for the purposes of clarifying the point of law involved.
The issue before us may be stated thus: is an employee entitled to receive workers’ compensation benefits for injuries sustained while enroute to receive medical treatment for an industrial injury where (a)
1 Respondents are incorrect in their assertion that there is a factual dispute as to whether or not petitioner was going to the clinic to keep an appointment or whether he was merely going there to deliver some forms which he could have mailed in. The referee weighed the testimony of the witnesses with respect to this question and found that petitioner was going to the clinic to keep an appointment made for him a week earlier. This finding was upheld by the Board and we determine from a review of the entire record that it is supported by substantial evidence. (See LeVesque v. Workmen’s Comp. App. Bd. (1970) 1 Cal.3d 627 , 637 [ 83 Cal.Rptr. 208 , 463 P.2d 432 ].)
Although this issue has been considered by the Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board in several cases, it has not been discussed and resolved at the appellate court level.
Section 3600 of the Labor Code provides that an employee’s injury is compensable when the following conditions concur: “(a) Where, at the time of the injury, both the employer and the employee are subject to the compensation provisions of this division. [H] (b) Where, at the time of the injury, the employee is performing service growing out of and incidental to his employment and is acting within the course of his employment. [If] (c) Where the injury is proximately caused by the employment, either with or without negligence. [U] (d) Where the injury is not caused by the intoxication of the injured employee. [If] (e) Where the injury is not intentionally self-inflicted. [If] (f) Where the employee has not. willfully and deliberately caused his own death. [1Í] (g) Where the injury does not arise out of an altercation in which the injured employee is the initial physical aggressor.” The existence of conditions (a), (d), (e), (f), and (g) are not in dispute in this case. The issue revolves around the existence of conditions (b) and (c): Was petitioner performing a service growing out of and incidental to his employment and acting in the course of his employment? Was petitioner’s injury proximately caused by his employment? Petitioner contends that the accident injury did arise out of and in the course of employment, since he was required to visit the examining physician under Labor Code sections 4050,[3] 4051,[4] 4053,[5] and 4056,[6] and
2 “Whenever the right to compensation under this division exists in favor of an employee, he shall, upon the written request of his employer, submit at reasonable intervals to examination by a practicing physician, provided and paid for by the employer, and shall likewise submit to examination at reasonable intervals by any physician selected by the commission or any member or referee thereof.”
3 “The request or order for the medical examination shall fix a time and place therefor, due consideration being given to the convenience of the employee and his physical condition and ability to attend at the time and place fixed.”
4 “So long as the employee, after written request of the employer, fails or refuses to submit to such examination or in any way obstructs it, his right to begin or maintain any proceeding for the collection of compensation shall be suspended.”
5 “No compensation is payable in case of the death or disability of an employee when his death is caused, or when and so far as his disability is caused, continued, or aggravated, by an unreasonable refusal to submit to medical treatment, or to any surgical treatment, if the risk of the treatment is, in the opinion of the commission, based upon expert medical or surgical advice, inconsiderable in view of the seriousness of the injury.”
The threshold question is whether petitioner’s accident injury arose out of and in the course of his employment. Since, as stated above, there are no California appellate court cases on this point, petitioner refers us to various out-of-state authorities, including a 1963 Kansas case, Taylor v. Centex Construction Co. (1963) 191 Kan. 130 [ 379 P.2d 217 ], In Kansas, as in California, the employer is required to furnish the employee with medical treatment, and the employee is obligated to submit to examination and treatment as a condition of receiving compensation. (See Taylor v. Centex Construction Co., supra, at p. 221.) Noting these statutory requirements, the court states that: “The liability of an employer to an employee arises out of a contract between them and the terms of the Act are embodied in the contract.... It would be folly to say that the claimant’s trip going to and from the doctor’s office did not ‘arise out of the nature, conditions, obligations, or incidents of his employment.” (Taylor v. Centex Construction Co., supra, atp. 221.)
The case of Immer and Company v. Brosnahan (1967) 207 Va. 720 [ 152 S.E.2d 254 ], relying on Taylor, reaches a similar decision based on comparable statutory provisions. The Virginia court said: “[1] The
6 “Medical, surgical, and hospital treatment, including nursing, medicines, medical and surgical supplies, crutches, and apparatus, including artificial members, which is reasonably required to cure or relieve from the effects of the injury shall be provided by the employer. In the case of his neglect or refusal seasonably to do so, the employer is liable for the reasonable expense incurred by or on behalf of the employee in providing treatment. [If] In accordance with the rules of practice and procedure of the commission, the employee, or the dependents of a deceased employee, shall be reimbursed for expenses reasonably, actually, and necessarily incurred for X-rays, laboratory fees, medical reports, and medical testimony to prove a contested c.laim. The reasonableness of and necessity for incurring such expenses to prove a contested claim shall be determined with respect to the time when such expenses were actually incurred. Expenses of medical testimony shall be presumed reasonable if in conformity with the fee schedule charges provided for impartial medical experts appointed by the commission. [H] Where at the request of the employer, the employer’s insurance carrier, the commission, or any commissioner or referee, the employee submits to examination by a physician, he shall be entitled to receive in addition to all other benefits herein provided all reasonable expenses of transportation, meals and lodging incident to reporting for such examination, together with one day of temporary disability indemnity for each day of wages lost in submitting to such an examination.”
The rationale of these decisions is persuasive. Where the visit to the doctor is based on the statutory obligation of the employer to furnish and the employee to submit to medical examination and nondangerous treatment (see Lab. Code, §§ 4600, 4050, 4056), an injury sustained in the course of such a visit should be held to be an injury arising out of and in the course of employment within the meaning of section 3600 of the Labor Code. If the employee elects to stay at home rather than to venture out to such a medical examination treatment, he risks losing his right to seek compensation for his industrial injury under Labor Code sections 4053 and 4056.
Larson, in his treatise on workmen’s compensation, discussing Taylor, states that: “In the simple case ... of a trip to the doctor’s office necessitated by a compensable injury, the arguments put forward by the Kansas court in the Taylor case are difficult to answer. The court noted that the employer is under a statutory duty to furnish medical care, and that the employee is similarly under a duty to submit to reasonable medical treatment under the act. The provisions of the act, in turn, become by implication part of the employment contract. This being so, the better view appears to be that accidental injuries during a trip made pursuant to this statutory and contractual obligation are work connected.” (1 Larson, The Law of Workmen’s Compensation (1972) § 13.13, ch. 3.)
The Labor Code also requires that an injury, to be compensable, must be proximately caused by the employment. (Lab. Code, § 3600, subd. (c).) Petitioner’s argument that the accident injury was proximately caused by the industrial injury is based primarily on the case of State Comp. Ins. Fund v. Ind. Acc. Com. (Wallin), supra, 176 Cal.App.2d 10 . In Wallin, a carpenter sustained an industrial injury to his eye; more than a year later, while using a power saw at home, he amputated a finger. (State Comp. Ins. Fund v. Ind. Acc. Com. (Wallin), supra, at p. 12.) Although the compensation carrier claimed that the causal chain which linked the industrial injury to the second injury was broken because of the alleged negligence of Wallin in operating the power saw, the (then) Industrial Accident Commission held that the first injury “proximately resulted” in the second. In upholding the commission’s award, Justice Tobriner stated: “. .. the first injury need not be the exclusive cause of the second but only a contributing factor to it; . . . So long as the original injury operates even in part as a contributing factor it establishes liability.” (State Comp. Ins. Fund v. Ind. Acc. Com. (Wallin), supra, at p. 17.) The Wallin court specifically rejected the narrow definition of causation applicable in tort law, stating: “The concept of proximate causation has given courts and commentators consummate difficulty and has in truth defied precise definition. Its variegated threads can be woven into either loose or tight patterns, and we cannot believe the Legislature using the term in the context of liability without fault meant to designate a strict design. Every precept of construction in the Act argues for the liberal interpretation.” (State Comp. Ins. Fund v. Ind. Acc. Com. (Wallin), supra, at p. 20.)
Wallin is not controlling here, since Wallin’s injury to his eye contributed to the mishandling of the power saw which resulted in the amputation of his finger. In petitioner’s case the knee injury did not contribute to the accident; the accident was work-related only in the sense that it occurred in the course of a trip to the doctor’s office.
On the question of causation in a case of this nature, Larson states that: “When an employee suffers additional injuries because of an
The most serious problem with providing coverage in the case of the trip to the doctor’s office in a case such as petitioner’s, is that the employer lacks the opportunity to exercise any control over the trip. The time the trip is made, the route followed, and the means of transportation employed are completely within the discretion of the employee, and the employer is thus unable to insure that the trip is reasonably safe and free of unnecessary hazards.
Given the arguments set forth above, a choice must be made between requiring the employer to bear the risk of the employee’s injury or requiring the employee to bear the risk of any mishap that may befall him while seeking statutorily required medical attention. We conclude that the risk should be borne by the employer. We determine, therefore, that the industrial injury of petitioner was a proximate cause of his accident injury.
Respondent raises the point that a holding such as that which we make in this case would, under the doctrine of respondeat superior, impose upon the employer liability for an injury to a third party caused by the negligent conduct of the employee during his trip. The point is not before us in the instant case.
The decision of the Board is annulled. The matter is remanded to the Board for further proceedings consistent with the views expressed in this opinion.
Caldecott, P. J., and Rattigan, J., concurred.
The petition of respondents Mack Truck, Inc., and Travelers Insurance Company for a hearing by the Supreme Court was denied July 30, 1975.
Footnotes
- * Retired judge of the superior court sitting under assignment by the Chairman of the Judicial Council.
Cases cited
- Hinman v. Westinghouse Electric Co. 2 Cal.3d 956 p. 880