Majority
Opinion
Plaintiffs, the surviving husband and children of Rosemary E.
Aas, who was killed in an airplane crash, have appealed[1] from an order of the trial court which dismissed their action against defendant insurer, upon granting defendant’s motion for judgment on the pleadings, and
1 The notice of appeal recites “Eugenn A. Aas, defendant, appeals” etc. Since it refers to the judgment which ordered “plaintiffs' action” to be dismissed, and is signed “Attorney for Plaintiffs,” we have treated the appeal as being interposed on behalf of all the plaintiffs named in the complaint.
The policy provides: “Coverage A—Aircraft Liability. To pay on behalf of the insured all sums which the insured shall become legally obligated to pay as damages because of injury to or destruction of property, including the loss of use thereof, bodily injury, sickness or disease, including death at any time resulting therefrom, sustained by any person,. excluding any occupant unless specified as ‘including occupants’ in the declarations, caused by an occurrence and arising out of the ownership, maintenance or use of the aircraft.” (Italics added.)
The declarations refer to “A Aircraft Liability (Excluding Occupants) $ NIL each occupant $300,000 each occurrence $77.00." The emphasized language is typed in. A rider, which named Rosemary Aas, and others, as additional insureds and designated the pilots whose liability would be covered by the policy, reiterates the same coverage and added $100,000 property damage under coverage A for an additional premium of $6.00.
The policy under “Definitions” states: “(a) Occupant. The word ‘occupant’ means any person in, on or boarding the aircraft for the purpose of riding therein or alighting therefrom following a flight or attempted flight therein.”
At all times material the aircraft financial responsibility act has provided and now provides: “The policy or bond need not cover: . . . (c) “A guest, or any other person, riding in or upon any aircraft without giving compensation.” (Pub. Util. Code, § 24351.[2] ) The same law defines passenger as follows: “ ‘Passenger’ means any person in, on or boarding an aircraft for the purpose of riding therein, or alighting therefrom following a flight or attempted flight therein.” (Pub. Util. Code, § 24238.)
2 The provisions of this section were reviewed in National Ins. Underwriters v. Carter (Cal.App. 1974) superseded by hearing granted November 13, 1974, L.A. 30384, argued June 17, 1975.
No issue has been raised as to whether the deceased pilot, against whose estate the judgment was obtained, was an additional insured under the policy definition of “insured.” It included permissive users, provided, according to the declarations, such use in flight is by a certificated private or commercial pilot. If the policy covered the loss suffered by plaintiffs from the death of Rosemary Aas, they were entitled to recover the amount of the judgment, which was within the policy limits, from the insurance company. (Ins. Code, § 11580, subd. (b)(2); Zander v. Texaco, Inc. (1968) 259 Cal.App.2d 793 , 803-807 [ 66 Cal.Rptr. 561 ]; Bonfils v. Pacific Auto. Ins. Co. (1958) 165 Cal.App.2d 152 , 159-163 [ 331 P.2d 766 ]; Lamb v. Belt Casualty Co. (1935) 3 Cal.App.2d 624 , 631 [ 40 P.2d 311 ].) Nevertheless, it would appear from the clear language of the policy that the coverage excluded damages for the death of Rosemary Aas which occurred while she was an occupant of the airplane, riding therein. “An insurance company has the right to limit the coverage of a policy issued by it and when it has done so, the plain language of the limitation must be respected. [Citations.]” (Continental Cas. Co. v. Phoenix Constr. Co. (1956) 46 Cal.2d 423 , 432 [ 296 P.2d 801 , 57 A.L.R.2d 914 ]; Cravens, Dargon & Co. v. Pacific Indem. Co. (1972) 29 Cal.App.3d 594 , 600 [ 105 Cal.Rptr. 607 ]; State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v. Allstate Ins. Co. (1970) 9 Cal.App.3d 508 , 525 [ 88 Cal.Rptr.
3 “A guest riding in or upon any aircraft without giving compensation, or any other person, does not have any right of action for civil damages against the airman flying the aircraft or against any other person otherwise legally liable for the conduct of the airman, on account of personal injury to, or the death of, the guest during such ride, unless the plaintiff in the action establishes that the injury or death proximately resulted from the intoxication or wilful misconduct of the airman.” (Former Pub. Util. Code. §21406; Stats. 1953. ch. 151. § 1. p. 934.)
-A-
In Travelers Ins. Co. v. Industrial Indem. Co. (1971) 18 Cal.App.3d 628 [ 96 Cal.Rptr. 191 ], the plaintiff company had issued a general liability insurance policy to the employer of a worker who was injured in 1949 in the course of his employment when he came into contact with a utility’s electric wire. After the worker recovered a judgment against the utility company, the latter sued the employer on the theory of implied indemnity. The plaintiff company provided a defense and demanded that the defendant company, which had issued workmen’s compensation and employer’s liability coverage to the employer, join in the defense. The latter company had agreed “To indemnify this Employer against loss by reason of the liability imposed upon him by law for damages on account of such injuries to such of said employees as are legally employed wherever such injuries may be sustained . . . .” (P. 631.) The defendant claimed .that the policy language limited the policy coverage to claims made directly by the employee against the employer. The trial court interpreted the language to include liability for indemnity claims of third parties against the employer which arose out of injuries to the latter’s employee; and it awarded the plaintiff company a pro rata share of its outlay to litigate and settle the utility’s claim against the employer. (See 18 Cal.App.3d at pp. 630-631.)
In 1949, when the injury occurred and when the policy was in effect, the courts of California had not recognized the right of a third party tortfeasor whose negligence concurred with that of the employer to recover from the negligent employer under the theory of implied indemnity. (See S. F. Unified Sch. Dist. v. Cal. Bldg. etc. Co. (1958) 162 Cal.App.2d 434 [ 328 P.2d 785 ].) The indemnity suit was commenced in 1962 after the decision last cited. The court on appeal noted that the case involved the question of “whether changes in the scope of liability under an insurance policy, resulting from court decisions handed down after a policy is issued, inure to the benefit of the policyholder.” (18 Cal.App.3d at p. 631, italics added.) It answered the question as follows: “We conclude that where the scope of liability covered by language contained in an insurance policy has been enlarged by judicial pronouncement, the language defining coverage embraces the total liability ascribed to it by the courts, so long as the policy remains in force. At first blush this
Reference to the emphasized language demonstrates that plaintiffs’ reliance on the principle set forth in the last quotation is unavailing in this case. When the insurer agrees to indemnify the policyholder for “loss by reason of the liability imposed upon him by law” it may take the risk that the law will impose a greater liability than was contemplated at the time of contracting. Here, however, there never was such a broad promise of indemnity. A change in the liability of the insured with respect to nonpaying occupants of the airplane cannot affect an insurer who has never assumed any liability for damages because of bodily injury, sickness or disease, including death, to occupants.
Insofar as the terms of the policy itself are concerned, as distinguished from the liability of the pilot for his negligence, the following rule governs: “It is well settled that insurance policies are governed by the statutoiy and decisional law in force at the time the policy is issued.” {Interinsurance Exchange v. Ohio Cas. Ins. Co. (1962) 58 Cal.2d 142 , 148 [ 23 Cal.Rptr. 592 , 373 P.2d 640 ]. See also Contreras v. America, Compania General De Seguros, S.A. (1975) 48 Cal.App.3d 270 , 275 and 281-283 [ 121 Cal.Rptr. 694 ]; and Mitchell v. National Auto. & Casualty Ins. Co. (1974) 38 Cal.App.3d 599 , 604-605 [ 113 Cal.Rptr. 391 ].)
-B-
Nor can plaintiffs successfully rely on the principle of strict construction of an exclusionary clause. It is a “fundamental principle that an insurer cannot escape its basic duty to insure by means of an exclusionary clause that is unclear.” {State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v. Jacober (1973) 10 Cal.3d 193 , 201 [ 110 Cal.Rptr. 1 , 514 P.2d 953 ].) The court added, “As we have declared time and again ‘any exception to the
In this case the limitation is in the coverage itself, and the policyholder’s election to exclude or include protection for liability to occupants is clearly designated in the declarations by typewriting added to the printed form. There is no manifestation of thé decried “practice of building into policies one condition or exception upon another in the shape of a linguistic Tower of Babel.” (Insurance Co. of North America v. Electronic Purification Co. (1967) 67 Cal.2d 679 , 691 [ 63 Cal.Rptr. 382 , 433 P.2d 174 ].)
-C-
Nor is there any ambiguity to be resolved in favor of the policyholder, pilot or the plaintiffs who claim under them. In Continental Cas. Co. v. Phoenix Constr. Co., supra, the court also stated, “It is elementaiy in insurance law that any ambiguity or uncertainty in an insurance policy is to be resolved against the insurer .... If semantically permissible, the contract will be given such construction as will fairly achieve its object of securing indemnity to the insured for the losses to which the insurance relates .... If the insurer uses language which is uncertain, any reasonable doubt will be resolved against it; if the doubt relates to extent or fact of coverage, whether as to peril insured against. .. the amount of liability ... or the person or persons protected . . . the language will be understood in its most inclusive sense, for the benefit of the insured.” (46 Cal.2d at pp. 437-438, citations omitted. See also State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v.Jacober, supra, 10 Cal.3d 193 , 203.)
On the other hand it must, be recognized, as stated in Burr v. Western States Life Ins. Co. (1931) 211 Cal. 568 [ 296 P. 273 ], “The terms of a contract are to be understood in their ordinary and popular sense
Here a reading of the policy raises no ambiguity. Any uncertainty is only that engendered by changes in the substantive law which may have provided new risks to be insured against, but which could not change the terms of the policy.
-D-
Plaintiffs suggest that if the parties had contemplated the change of the guest law they would have bargained for greater coverage, and that liability should be imposed in order to give effect to the expectations of the policyholder. “In interpreting an insurance contract we must consider the intent and reasonable expectations of the parties in entering into the agreement. Hence, we must evaluate not only plaintiff’s contract form but also [the policyholder’s] knowledge and understanding as a layman and his normal expectation of the extent of coverage of the policy.” (Atlantic Nat. Ins. Co. v. Armstrong (1966) 65 Cal.2d 100 , 112 [ 52 Cal.Rptr. 569 , 416 P.2d 801 ], See also Insurance Co. of North America v. Electronic Purification Co., supra, 67 Cal.2d 679 , 688-689.) In this case, however, in the light of the clear provisions of the coverage, the declaration and the exclusion, as reviewed above, any construction of the policy which would provide coverage for damages incurred by reason of the wrongful death of a nonpaying occupant would be contrary to the intent and reasonable expectation of both insurer and insured. (See Herzog v. National American Ins. Co. (1970) 2 Cal.3d 192 , 197 [ 84 Cal.Rptr. 705 , 465 P.2d 841 ]; and State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v. Allstate Ins. Co., supra, 9 Cal.App.3d 508 , 517.) Here at the time of the issuance of the policy and at all times up to the time of the loss, each intended that the liability, if any, for damages to an injured occupant should not be covered even though that liability might arise in the event
-E-
Finally the plaintiffs assert that the contract should be interpreted to cover the liability of the pilot to the occupant because of a public policy analogous to that which has been enunciated in the past in connection with automobile liability insurance. In Continental Cas. Co. v. Phoenix Constr. Co., supra, the court observed in connection with California’s general automobile financial responsibility law, that it was “designed to give monetaiy protection to that ever changing and tragically large group of persons who while lawfully using the highways themselves suffer grave injury through the negligent use of those highways by others.” It concluded, “Such a law is remedial in nature and in the public interest is to be liberally construed to the end of fostering its objectives.” (46 Cal.2d at p. 434. See also State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v. Jacober, supra, 10 Cal.3d 193 , 205-206; Atlantic Nat. Ins. Co. v. Armstrong (1966) 65 Cal.2d 100 , 106 [ 52 Cal.Rptr. 569 , 416 P.2d 801 ]; and Interinsurance Exchange v. Ohio Cas. Ins. Co., supra, 58 Cal.2d 142 , 153-154.) Nevertheless, when the statutes governing the content of an insurance policy permit a limitation or exclusion, the validity of such exclusion cannot be questioned. (See Ins. Code, § 11580.1, cf. § 11584. Note, Associated Indem. Corp. v. King (1973) 33 Cal.App.3d 470 , 472-474 [ 109 Cal.Rptr. 190 ]; Donohoe v. Wilshire Ins. Co. (1972) 26 Cal.App.3d 471 , 473 [ 103 Cal.Rptr. 57 ]; State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v. Flynt, supra, 17 Cal.App.3d 538 , 542-546; and State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v. Allstate Ins. Co., supra, 9 Cal.App.3d 508 , 520-526.)
Turning to the aircraft financial responsibility act (Pub. Util. Code, §§ 24230-24410) we find that it does not apply to “[A]ny person who maintains in effect an insurance policy meeting the requirements of Section 24350 and who has filed with the department a certificate of insurance issued by the insurance company which issued such policy.” (§ 24243, subd. (f).) As we have noted, section 24351 provides, “The policy or bond need not cover: . . . (c) A guest, or any other person, riding in or upon any aircraft without giving compensation.” The requirements for posting security after an accident do not apply: “
There is no established legislative or other policy requiring that insurance be furnished to cover the aircraft owner’s or operator’s liability for damages for injury or death suffered by a guest or any other person riding in or upon any aircraft without giving compensation. It is, therefore, not appropriate to rewrite the policy to create such a liability.
-F-
The foregoing conclusions render it unnecessary to consider defendant insurance company’s contention that despite the repeal of the aircraft guest statute there would be no liability to owner-occupant of the airplane on the part of a negligent operator to whom the owner had entrusted the operation of the aircraft. (See, e.g., Patton v. La Bree (1963) 60 Cal.2d 606 , 608-609 [ 35 Cal.Rptr. 622 , 387 P.2d 398 ]; and note Schwalbe v. Jones (Cal. 1975) rehg. granted June 11, 1975, involving the automobile guest law.) Since the aircraft guest law never had a clause which referred to “personal injury to or the death of the owner,” the relevancy of those precedents may be questioned.
The order of the trial court denying plaintiffs’ motion for a summary judgment, although not an appealable order, may be reviewed on their appeal from an adverse judgment. (Code Civ. Proc., § 906 [former § 956, repealed Stats. 1968, ch. 385, § 1, p. 811]; Clements v. T. R. Bechtel Co. (1954) 43 Cal.2d 227 , 241-242 [ 273 P.2d 5 ]; and City of Oakland v. Darbee (1951) 102 Cal.App.2d 493 , 504-505 [ 227 P.2d 909 ].
The judgment is affirmed.
Molinari, P. J., and Elkington, J., concurred.
Appellants’ petition for a hearing by the Supreme Court was denied March 31, 1976.
Cases cited
- Mittelman v. Seifert 17 Cal.App.3d 51 at 61 p. 317
- Stiles v. American Trust Co. 137 Cal.App.2d 472 at 474-475 p. 317
- Callet v. Alioto 210 Cal. 65 at 69 p. 317
- Ayer v. Boyle 37 Cal.App.3d 822 at 826-828 p. 317
- Brown v. Merlo 8 Cal.3d 855 at 882 p. 317
- Zander v. Texaco, Inc. 259 Cal.App.2d 793 at 803-807 p. 317
- Bonfils v. Pacific Automobile Insurance 165 Cal.App.2d 152 at 159-163 p. 317
- Lamb v. Belt Casualty Co. 3 Cal.App.2d 624 at 631 p. 317
- Continental Casualty Co. v. Phoenix Construction Co. 46 Cal.2d 423 at 432 p. 317
- Cravens, Dargan & Co. v. Pacific Indemnity Co. 29 Cal.App.3d 594 at 600 p. 317
- State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance v. Allstate Insurance 9 Cal.App.3d 508 at 525, at 517, at 520-526 p. 317, p. 321, p. 322
- Fullerton v. Houston Fire & Casualty Insurance 234 Cal.App.2d 743 at 750-751 p. 318
- Travelers Insurance v. Industrial Indemnity Co. 18 Cal.App.3d 628 p. 318
- San Francisco Unified School District v. California Building Maintenance Co. 162 Cal.App.2d 434 p. 318
- Rowland v. Christian 69 Cal.2d 108 p. 319
- Interinsurance Exchange of the Automobile Club v. Ohio Casualty Insurance 58 Cal.2d 142 at 148, at 153-154 p. 319, p. 322
- Contreras v. America 48 Cal.App.3d 270 at 275 p. 319
- Mitchell v. National Automobile & Casualty Insurance 38 Cal.App.3d 599 at 604-605 p. 319
- State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance v. Jacober 10 Cal.3d 193 at 201, at 203, at 205-206 p. 319, p. 320, p. 322
- Gray v. Zurich Insurance 65 Cal.2d 263 at 269 p. 320
- Harris v. Glens Falls Insurance 6 Cal.3d 699 at 701 p. 320
- Steven v. Fidelity & Casualty Co. 58 Cal.2d 862 at 878 p. 320
- State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance v. Flynt 17 Cal.App.3d 538 at 547, at 542-546 p. 320, p. 322
- Cook v. The Penn Mutual Life Insurance 218 Cal.App.2d 194 at 197, at 197-198 p. 320, p. 321
- Insurance Co. of North America v. Electronic Purification Co. 67 Cal.2d 679 at 691, at 688-689 p. 320, p. 321
- Burr v. Western States Life Insurance 211 Cal. 568 p. 320
- New York Life Insurance v. Hollender 38 Cal.2d 73 at 81 p. 321
- American Motorists Insurance v. Moses 111 Cal.App.2d 344 at 347-348 p. 321
- Atlantic National Insurance v. Armstrong 65 Cal.2d 100 at 112, at 106 p. 321, p. 322
- Herzog v. National American Insurance 2 Cal.3d 192 at 197 p. 321
- Associated Indemnity Corp. v. King 33 Cal.App.3d 470 at 472-474 p. 322
- Donohoe v. Wilshire Insurance 26 Cal.App.3d 471 at 473 p. 322
- Patton v. La Bree 60 Cal.2d 606 at 608-609 p. 323
- Clements v. T. R. Bechtel Co. 43 Cal.2d 227 at 241-242 p. 323
- City of Oakland v. Darbee 102 Cal.App.2d 493 at 504-505 p. 323
- Whitney's at the Beach v. Superior Court 3 Cal.App.3d 258 at 262 p. 324
- Thompson v. Occidental Life Ins. Co. 276 Cal.App.2d 559 at 563 p. 324
- Nevada Constructors, Inc. v. Mariposa Public Utility District 114 Cal.App.2d 816 at 818 p. 324