Majority
Opinion
Plaintiff appeals from a judgment in a declaratory relief action declaring and adjudging that he was not an “insured” under the uninsured motorist provisions of a policy of insurance issued by defendant. The appeal is on an agreed statement of facts.
On January 22, 1966, plaintiff was driving a 1965 Volkswagen owned by John Preston. Preston had given plaintiff permission to drive the car.
Plaintiff testified that he and several guests left San Rafael with the intent of going to Squaw Valley on the date of the accident. In the vicinity of Colfax on Interstate 80 plaintiff pulled off to the side of the road in a stopping area to put tire chains on the car. It had begun to snow and tire chains were therefore required on all cars. Plaintiff got out of the car and took a bag of tire chains out of the front trunk of the Volkswagen. He then walked to the rear of the car and started to undo the bag containing the chains. Plaintiff was standing from one to four feet behind the car, when an uninsured motorist, Charles Kerr, drove up from behind and struck him with his automobile. Plaintiff was thrown against the Volkswagen so that his whole body was pressed against it.
Plaintiff testified at the trial that he had alighted from the Volkswagen, had gone around to the front and had taken the bag of chains out of the trunk of the car, that he then went to the back of his car and was standing approximately one to four feet away from the car at the time he was struck by the automobile driven by Kerr. Plaintiff further testified that no part of his body was touching the Volkswagen at the time he was struck by Kerr’s automobile; and that neither the chains nor the bag containing same were in contact with the Volkswagen at that time. He finally testified that he had been outside the Volkswagen approximately two minutes before the accident occurred and that he had not been reentering the vehicle at the time of the accident.
The insurance policy issued to Preston provided for uninsured motorist coverage. In pertinent part it defined the “insured” as “. . . any other person while occupying an insured automobile” and in turn defined the term “occupying” as follows: “Occupying—means in or upon or entering into or alighting from.” These definitions conform substantially with Insurance Code section 11580.2[1] relating to uninsured motorist coverage. The term “insured,” insofar as pertinent here, is defined by the code as “. . . . any other person while in or upon or entering into or alighting from an insured motor vehicle . . . .”
The trial court concluded that plaintiff’s conduct at the time of the accident was not encompassed within the meaning of any of these terms. It specifically found that plaintiff, at the time he was struck, had been outside the car for approximately two minutes and was standing[1] some one to four feet from it.
1 Unless otherwise indicated, all statutory references are to the Insurance Code.
Defendant, in response, contends that the trial court properly found that plaintiff was not entitled to coverage under the specific terms of the policy because he was neither “in,” nor “upon,” nor “entering in,” nor “alighting from” the Volkswagen at the time of the accident. Defendant also argues that unless plaintiff’s position with relation to the vehicle was as described by these terms the fact that he was “using” the vehicle is irrelevant.
Insofar as the uninsured motorist provisions are concerned, the issue presented in this case is one of first impression in this state. The only California case which has considered similar language is Christoffer v. Hartford Acc. etc. Co., 123 Cal.App.2d Supp. 979 [ 267 P.2d 887 ], That case involved an action to recover medical payments under an automobile insurance policy, which policy provided for such payments where bodily injury was sustained by a person “while in or upon, entering or alighting from the automobile ....” (Pp. 979-980.) When he was struck by another vehicle there the injured person was haunched down near the left rear wheel in the act of either putting a tire on or taking it off the rim. The reviewing court held that the injured person was neither “in” nor “entering” nor “alighting from” the automobile, but was rather “upon” the automobile. The court construed the word “upon” to mean the position where the contact is against the supporting surface rather than above it or “position of contiguity wherein contact and support is from elsewhere than beneath.” (P. 983.) Accordingly, the reviewing court concluded that since the injured person’s hands were upon the wheel of the automobile he was, “upon the automobile.” (P. 982.)
Although we are not bound by the holding in Christoffer, since it is a
In view of the foregoing we are convinced that the applicable principle is that which has been declared in other jurisdictions in cases involving the interpretation of language similar to that in the instant policy. Such language has been interpreted to mean that coverage is
In Madden, supra, the insured was struck by another automobile while leaning forward with the upper part of his body and arms in the rear compartment of his automobile to place therein a tire which he had removed. Under these circumstances recovery was allowed. Recovery was also permitted in Katz v. Ocean Acc. & Guar. Corp., supra, where the insured’s wife, who had parked her husband’s automobile and was locking the door on the driver’s side, was struck by an oncoming vehicle as she ran to the rear of her automobile in an attempt to escape the oncoming vehicle. Similarly, in Whisnant, supra, it was held that the plaintiff’s injuries arose out of the “use” of the automobile he was driving with the owner’s permission. There, while pushing the stalled automobile onto the shoulder of the road, the plaintiff was struck by another vehicle as he jumped away from the stalled vehicle in an effort to avoid being struck by an automobile approaching from the rear.
In Wolf, supra, the circumstances were similar to those in our case. There, the insured’s automobile was involved in a collision. The insured got out of his automobile and exchanged identification and license, number with the driver of the other automobile. While the insured was standing two or three feet in front of his automobile and while he was in the act of reaching for a pencil to write down his license number, a third automobile struck the rear of the insured’s automobile, knocking it forward and hitting him. The insured had been out of his car two or three minutes when the accident occurred. In permitting the insured to recover his medical expenses under the insurance policy the reviewing court observed that the word “upon” connoted some physical relationship enlarging the area defined by the words “entering or alighting” and the word “in.” (P. 780.)
Adverting to the facts of the present case, we observe first that it is
Since the facts in this case are stipulated to and the appeal is from the judgment, it is unnecessary to order a new trial. (Pacific Home v. County of Los Angeles, 41 Cal.2d 844 , 854 [ 264 P.2d 539 ]; Venne v. Standard Acc. Ins. Co., 171 Cal.App.2d 242 , 248 [ 340 P.2d 30 ]; see City of Eureka v. McKay & Co., 123 Cal. 666 , 673 [ 56 P. 439 ].) Under the findings of the trial court upon the agreed facts, a judgment may be entered in favor of plaintiff in view of our interpretation of the meaning of the subject clause in the policy. The judgment of the trial court, is, therefore, reversed and the cause remanded with directions to the trial court to enter a judgment in favor of plaintiff ordering defendant to extend uninsured motorist coverage to plaintiff, to arbitrate his claim for such coverage on account of the accident which is the subject of these proceedings, and to pay to plaintiff any damage determined to have been sustained by him as a proximate result of said accident.
Sims, J., and Elkington, J., concurred.
Cases cited
- Valdez v. Federal Mutual Insurance 272 Cal.App.2d 223 at 226 p. 968
- Katz v. American Motorist Insurance 244 Cal.App.2d 886 at 890-891, at 891 p. 968, p. 969
- Modglin v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance 273 Cal.App.2d 693 at 698 p. 969
- Page v. Insurance Co. of North America 256 Cal.App.2d 374 at 376 p. 969
- Barrera v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance 71 Cal.2d 659 at 670-672 p. 969
- Interinsurance Exchange of the Automobile Club v. Ohio Casualty Insurance 58 Cal.2d 142 at 154 p. 969
- Johnson v. Oliver 266 Cal.App.2d 178 at 181 p. 969
- Fireman's Fund Indemnity Co. v. Industrial Accident Commission 226 Cal.App.2d 676 at 677-678 p. 969
- Pacific Home v. County of Los Angeles 41 Cal.2d 844 at 854 p. 971
- Venne v. Standard Accident Insurance 171 Cal.App.2d 242 at 248 p. 971
- City of Eureka v. McKay & Co. 123 Cal. 666 at 673 p. 971