Majority
Opinion
Plaintiffs commenced this action for damages allegedly sustained by them as a result of defendant insurance broker’s having obtained for them a policy of automobile insurance issued by an insurance carrier which subsequently became insolvent after the occurrence of an accident covered by the policy. Plaintiffs appeal from summary judgment entered in defendant’s favor.
The complaint contains five causes of action. The first (negligent placement of insurance) alleges: defendant, All Service Insurance Corporation, is a licensed insurance broker, on July 23, 1974, defendant agreed to obtain a policy of automobile insurance for plaintiffs Willie and Yvonne Wilson; through defendant’s efforts Transnational Insurance Company, on August 18, 1974, issued to plaintiffs a policy of automobile
It further alleged that on September 3, 1974, while the Transnational policy issued to plaintiffs was in effect, Rona, minor child of plaintiffs Willie and Yvonne Wilson, sustained bodily injuries through the negligence of an uninsured motorist; as a result of such accident plaintiffs Willie and Yvonne Wilson suffered severe emotional distress and physical injuries; following the accident plaintiffs presented to Transnational, pursuant to the uninsured motorist coverage afforded by the policy, a claim of $15,000 on behalf of Rona and a claim of $15,000 on behalf of Willie and Yvonne; on September 4, 1975, while the claims were pending, Transnational was declared insolvent and placed in liquidation by the Insurance Commissioner; in a reasonable, good faith effort to mitigate damages, plaintiffs settled their claims against Transnational for a total of $10,000; this sum was less than the actual value of the claims; but was fair and reasonable in view of Transnational’s insolvency and the pending of liquidation proceedings against it; prior to the commencement of such proceedings, plaintiffs placed Transnational on notice that it was acting in bad faith in connection with their claims under the policy; as a result of Transnational’s bad faith, each plaintiff was entitled to punitive damages in excess of $50,000.
The first cause of action concluded that as a “direct and proximate” result of defendant’s negligence in failing to select a solvent insurance carrier for plaintiffs, they were denied (1) a major portion of the benefits to which they were entitled under the policy’s uninsured motorist coverage, namely: $15,000 for Rona and $15,000 for Willie and Yvonne jointly, less the $10,000 received from Transnational, or a net total of $20,000; and (2) damages in the sum of at least $50,000 for each plaintiff arising out of the bad faith conduct of Transnational.
After filing an answer, defendant moved for summary judgment (Code Civ. Proc., § 437c); the motion was granted. Summaiy judgment was entered in favor of defendant and against plaintiffs.
The complaint discloses the defendant’s liability is predicated on a breach of its alleged duty to plaintiffs to investigate Transnational’s financial condition before having placed automobile insurance for plaintiffs with that carrier. If no such duty exists, plaintiffs are not entitled to recover the damages sought herein.
Whether a defendant owes a duty of care in a given situation is a question of law for the court. (Peter W. v. San Francisco Unified Sch. Dist. (1976) 60 Cal.App.3d 814 , 822 [ 131 Cal.Rptr. 854 ]; Rainer v. Grossman (1973) 31 Cal.App.3d 539 , 542 [ 107 Cal.Rptr. 469 ]; Nevarez v. Thriftimart, Inc. (1970) 7 Cal.App.3d 799 , 803 [ 87 Cal.Rptr. 50 ].) In order to determine whether defendant owed plaintiffs a duty to investigate Transnational’s financial condition, it is necessary to consider provisions of the Insurance Code governing the financial qualifications of an insurer to conduct business in this state.
Insurance Code section 700 provides in pertinent part: “(a) A person shall not transact any class of insurance business in this state without first being admitted for such class. Such admission is secured by procuring a certificate of authority from the commissioner. Such certificate shall not be granted until the applicant conforms to the requirements of this code and of the laws of this state prerequisite to its issue. . . . [¶] (c) After the issuance of a certificate of authority, the holder shall continue to comply with the requirements as to its business set forth in this code and in the other laws of this state.”
Prior to admission, each insurer must file with the Insurance Commissioner a certified copy of its last annual statement or a verified financial statement disclosing its condition and affairs. (Ins. Code, § 706.) Before
Thus, the Insurance Code prescribes financial requirements both for the issuance of a certificate of authority admitting an insurer to transact business in this state, and for an admitted insurer’s right to continue conducting business pursuant to its certificate. The code imposes on the Insurance Commissioner the continuing duty to oversee the financial condition of an insurer holding a certificate of authority, and
In support of its motion for summary judgment, defendant submitted the declaration of Joe Morton, deputy insurance commissioner, in which the declarant stated that a certificate of authority to conduct business as an insurer was issued to Transnational on November 2, 1956, and remained in effect until September 4, 1975, when the Insurance Commissioner was appointed liquidator of Transnational by order of the court. Thus, Transnational was authorized to conduct business on August 18, 1974, when it allegedly issued its policy of automobile insurance to plaintiffs.
The declaration submitted by defendant states facts establishing a complete defense to plaintiffs’ action; plaintiffs’ declaration in reply does not show a triable issue of fact with respect to that defense. Under these circumstances, the trial court properly entered summary judgment in favor of defendant. (See Code Civ. Proc., § 437c; Loma Portal Civic Club v. American Airlines, Inc. (1964) 61 Cal.2d 582 , 588 [ 39 Cal.Rptr. 708 , 394 P.2d 548 ]; State Medical Education Bd. v. Roberson (1970) 6 Cal.App.3d 493 , 499-500 [ 86 Cal.Rptr. 258 ]; Kassan v. Bledsoe (1967) 252 Cal.App.2d 810 , 813 [ 60 Cal.Rptr. 799 ].)
We are mindful of the rule that a defendant moving for summary judgment must show clearly that the plaintiff’s action has no merit, and that a plaintiff whose cause of action is based on more than one theory will not be subject to summary judgment where the defendant’s declaration shows that only one of the theories cannot be established. (Residents of Beverly Glen, Inc. v. City of Los Angeles (1973) 34 Cal.App.3d 117 , 127 [ 109 Cal.Rptr. 724 ].) The first count of plaintiffs’ complaint is based on the theory that defendant breached its duty to investigate the financial condition of Transnational before placing
The judgment is affirmed.
Thompson, J., and Hanson, J., concurred.
A petition for a rehearing was denied May 11, 1979, and appellants’ petition for a hearing by the Supreme Court was denied July 5, 1979.
Cases cited
- Peter W. v. San Francisco Unified School District 60 Cal.App.3d 814 at 822 p. 796
- Rainer v. Grossman 31 Cal.App.3d 539 at 542 p. 796
- Nevarez v. Thriftimart, Inc. 7 Cal.App.3d 799 at 803 p. 796
- Loma Portal Civic Club v. American Airlines, Inc. 61 Cal.2d 582 at 588 p. 798
- State Medical Education Board v. Roberson 6 Cal.App.3d 493 at 499-500 p. 798
- Kassan v. Bledsoe 252 Cal.App.2d 810 at 813 p. 798
- Residents of Beverly Glen, Inc. v. City of Los Angeles 34 Cal.App.3d 117 at 127 p. 798