Majority
Opinion
Summary
Ai Zhen Huang brought this lawsuit against her former employers, Brad Hunter and L.A. Haute, for injuries she claimed occurred in the course of her employment at Hunter’s residence. L.A. Haute and Hunter did not have workers’ compensation insurance, and suit was brought under Labor Code section 3706, which allows an action at law for damages against an uninsured employer. In such an action, Labor Code section 3708 mandates a presumption that the injury to the employee “was a direct result and grew out of the negligence of the employer, and the burden of proof is upon the employer, to rebut the presumption of negligence.”
Factual and Procedural Background
Ai Zhen Huang was employed as a housekeeper, working and living at the home of Brad Hunter, but was on the payroll of L.A. Haute, a furniture manufacturing business in which Hunter was a partner. She was employed in that capacity for about two years, until she was terminated on April 15, 1999.
On August 9, 2000, Huang filed this negligence action against Hunter and L.A. Haute (collectively, the employer). She alleged that on April 14, 1999, the day before her termination, she was injured in a fall from a ladder on which she had climbed to wash the top of a high window in Hunter’s home. Huang’s suit was authorized under Labor Code section 3706, which permits an injured employee to sue an employer who fails to secure workers’ compensation insurance.[1] Hunter filed a cross-complaint against Huang for battery, alleging Huang assaulted him when he fired her, and for negligence, asserting she hosed down new limestone floors inside his house, causing damage to the floors and walls. Both Hunter and L.A. Haute sued Huang for unlawful tenancy, alleging Huang allowed her daughter to live in Hunter’s home without permission and falsely listed Hunter’s home as her daughter’s address in school records, and for identity fraud and unfair business practices, alleging Huang used L.A. Haute information and forged names on forms to secure a home loan after her termination.
1 Section 3706 provides: “If any employer fails to secure the payment of compensation, any injured employee or his dependents may bring an action at law against such employer for damages, as if this division [workers’ compensation and insurance] did not apply.” (Lab. Code, § 3706.)
Hunter testified that on April 14, 1999, Huang did not tell him she had fallen or was in pain. He stated the window Huang said she was cleaning when she was injured—which Huang also identified from photos—was a sliding glass door eight feet high. A plot plan and photograph were introduced in evidence. According to Hunter, he did not own a ladder at the time, and his current housekeeper, who is shorter than Huang, cleans the door using the squeegee and with no need for a ladder. As to the events of the following day, Hunter testified he returned home to find water flowing under the front door and running down the stairs into the street. The walls were wet, and water was a couple inches deep in certain places. He was shocked and upset, fired Huang and asked her to leave. He knew she lived with her brother on weekends and was not concerned about where she would go. Huang dragged her TV, VCR and suitcases to her car; she showed no sign of pain or injury and did not mention any injury. Huang became hysterical, and Hunter called the police, who forced Huang to leave. The water from the hose damaged the plaster walls of Hunter’s home and caused wiring problems. Hunter testified he was not notified of Huang’s injury until several months after her termination.[3]
2 An employee of an uninsured employer may file an application for compensation with the workers’ compensation appeals board, in addition to filing a civil action under section 3706. (Lab. Code, § 3715, subds. (a) & (b).)
3 Counsel sought to impeach Hunter’s testimony by introducing a copy of a letter to L.A. Haute from workers’ compensation counsel Scott Warmuth dated April 17, 1999, three days after the alleged date of Huang’s injury. The trial court sustained the employer’s objection to admission of the letter, stating there was no evidence Hunter received it. *288 The employer also presented testimony and videotapes from two investigators who observed Huang in May and June 2001. One investigator, Daniel Thibodeau, observed and videotaped Huang working at a swap meet on two days in June 2001, during which Huang lifted and unloaded furniture, bent down, squatted on her haunches and moved freely without assistance. The other investigator testified Huang met with her to discuss furniture, lifted furniture items, and displayed no limp or other signs of pain. In addition, the employer presented evidence that Huang prepared an employment verification form in connection with a home purchase, signed by her brother, falsely stating she was still employed by L.A. Haute, and used Hunter’s address as her daughter’s residence when she enrolled her daughter in Hollywood High School. Huang interposed no objection to the admission of this evidence.
After trial was concluded, the court found, “[bjased upon all the evidence and the credibility of the witnesses,” that (1) Huang did not meet her burden of proof “that she was injured at Defendants’ premises or in her employment by Defendants,” and (2) the employer did not meet its burden of proof to establish the necessary elements of any of the claims made in the cross-complaint. Judgment was entered on November 29, 2001, and Huang then filed this appeal.
Discussion
Huang’s principal argument is that the trial court did not properly apply the presumption of negligence required by Labor Code section 3708.
4 Huang testified she initially consulted a doctor on April 17, 1999. Mitzelfelt began'treating her on May 24, 1999, and saw her regularly until May 3, 2000, when he determined Huang was at a plateau and, if the pain became worse, she should consider surgery. She returned for further treatment in April 2001 due to constant and severe pain, and continued under treatment at the time of Mitzelfelt’s testimony.
5 Mitzelfelt’s understanding was that Huang was on a ladder and her feet were eight feet off the floor when she fell. When asked about his knowledge of the cause of the injury, Mitzelfelt indicated Huang had a disc problem which could have been caused by a fall from a ladder, pushing a car, or picking up 100 pounds.
Huang claims Labor Code section 3708 provides a presumption that the worker’s injury occurred in the course of her employment, and places the burden to prove otherwise on the employer. For this proposition, Huang cites Greitz v. Sivachenko (1956) 143 Cal.App.2d 146 [ 299 P.2d 374 ], While Greitz contains language that arguably may be read to support Huang’s point, in fact Greitz does not reach so far. Moreover, other cases and the workers’ compensation scheme itself make it clear that the worker has the burden of showing that her injury occurred in the course of her employment. In short, nothing in section 3708 removes from the plaintiff the burden to prove she was injured in the course of the business of the employer. Thus:
—On its face, Labor Code section 3708 states nothing about the burden of proof that an injury occurred in the course of employment. It merely provides that, if a worker is injured, it is presumed the injury was a direct result of the employer’s negligence, and the employer must prove it was not negligent. Thus, section 3708 does not purport to remove the plaintiff’s ordinary burden to establish that an industrial injury occurred.
—Even in an ordinary workers’ compensation case, an applicant for workers’ compensation benefits bears the burden of proving her or his injury occurred in the course of his employment. (See Garza v. Workmen’s Comp. App. Bd. (1970) 3 Cal.3d 312 , 317 [ 90 Cal.Rptr. 355 , 475 P.2d 451 ] [“[although the employee bears the burden of proving that his injury was sustained in the course of his employment, the established legislative policy is that the Workmen’s Compensation Act must be liberally construed in the employee’s favor (Lab. Code, § 3202), and all reasonable doubts as to whether an injury arose out of employment are to be resolved in favor of the employee”]; Singlaub v. Industrial Acc. Com. (1927) 87 Cal.App. 324 , 331 [ 262 P. 411 ] [“[t]he authorities are numerous which indicate that the burden of showing causal connection between the death of the employee and the work performed by him rests with the applicant for adjustment of compensation”]; 2 Borah et al., Cal. Workers’ Compensation Practice (Cont.Ed.Bar 4th ed. 2002) Trial, § 18.21, p. 1185 [applicant bears burden of proof for all' facts essential to show an industrial injury resulting in the need for medical treatment; to meet this burden applicant must prove each such fact by a preponderance of the evidence].)
—The facts in Greitz v. Sivachenko, supra, 143 Cal.App.2d 146 , upon which Huang principally relies, do not support the proposition that a worker’s injury is presumed to have occurred during his employment. In Greitz, the uninsured employer in a Labor Code section 3706 action appealed from a judgment entered after a jury verdict in the employee’s favor. The Court of Appeal affirmed the judgment, rejecting the employer’s theory at trial and on appeal that the employee “faked his injury,” and that the only injury in the incident in question occurred to another person. (143 Cal.App.2d at p. 149.) Some of the court’s language suggests Labor Code section 3708 placed the burden on the employer to prove that the injury to the employee did not happen. However, in Greitz there was no question that the incident, involving the collapse of a stairway, occurred while the worker was employed repairing the stairs.[6] The Court of Appeal concluded the employee’s own testimony was sufficient to support a finding he was injured in the manner described in his testimony. (143 Cal.App.2d at p. 149.) Moreover, Greitz had already obtained an award from the Industrial Accident Commission, which found that he was an employee of Sivachenko at the time of the accident and
6 According to the court, the employer contended “that the trial court erred in stating ‘but it is presumed here that the employer was negligent and that proximately caused injury to plaintiff,’ placing on defendant the burden of proving that the accident did not happen.” (Greitz v. Sivachenko, supra, 143 Cal.App.2d at p. 150.) The court rejected the employer’s contention, observing that the trial court was at that point explaining the Labor Code section 3708 statutory presumption, and that the trial court’s instruction accurately stated the applicable law. (Greitz, at p. 150.) The court also rejected a claim the trial court erred in a subsequent instruction referring to the presumption, in which the trial court stated, “ ‘That is to say, if there were no evidence offered at all except on the fact of the accident, it would be your duty to immediately bring in a verdict for the plaintiff after finding how much his damages were, but the defendant has the right of producing evidence which may controvert or overcome the presumption. He has the burden of proof.’ ” The Court of Appeal found the instruction in accord with section 3708, rejecting the employer’s argument, on the weight of the evidence, that the burden was on the employee to prove he was injured “as he pretended”; the court observed the statute expressly placed the burden of proof upon the employer. (Greitz, at p. 151.)
In summary, the trial court did not misinterpret Labor Code section 3708 or improperly allocate the burden of proof. Huang had the burden of proving by a preponderance of the evidence that she sustained an injury during her employment. If she did so, the employer’s negligence would be presumed under section 3708, and the employer would have to prove it was not negligent to avoid liability. However, the trial court found Huang did not show “that she was injured at Defendants’ premises or in her employment by Defendants.” We are not at liberty to interfere with that conclusion if there is any competent evidence to support it.
The question is reduced to one of witness credibility, which is entirely within the province of the trial court.[7] Huang gave her account of her injury, and testified she told Hunter about it that same day. Dr. Mitzelfelt testified Huang’s injuries, were consistent with the accident Huang described, but could have been caused by other kinds of trauma. On the other hand, Hunter testified that Huang did not tell him she was injured, either on the day it happened or on the following day when he fired her. He also presented evidence as to the height of the windows, which cast Huang’s account of the alleged accident into considerable question. Under these circumstances, we have no basis upon which to question the trial court’s assessment of the evidence. The court apparently did not believe Huang’s version of events.[8] In short, the court’s conclusion Huang did not meet her burden of proving she was injured during her employment necessarily means the court, as trier of fact, did not believe Huang’s testimony, and instead credited the employes’s evidence, from which it could be inferred Huang’s story was not true.
7 Compare Wehr v. Workers’ Comp. Appeals Bd. (1985) 165 Cal.App.3d 188 , 194-195 [ 211 Cal.Rptr. 321 ] (board’s finding of no industrial causation was supported by substantial evidence; “[t]he board, as ultimate trier of fact, clearly had the power to resolve conflicts in the evidence, make its own credibility determinations, and upon reconsideration to reject the WCJ’s finding of industrial causation”).
8 While Labor Code section 3202 requires workers’ compensation laws to be liberally construed, “[njothing contained in Section 3202 shall be construed as relieving a party . . . from meeting the evidentiary burden of proof by a preponderance of the evidence. ‘Preponderance of the evidence’ means such evidence as, when weighed with that opposed to it, has more convincing force and the greater probability of truth.” (Lab. Code, § 3202.5.)
Disposition
The judgment is affirmed. Hunter and L.A. Haute are to recover their costs on appeal.
Cooper, P. J., and Rubin, J., concurred.
On February 28, 2003, the opinion was modified to read as printed above.
9 Huang also contends the trial court erred in refusing to admit three items of evidence: Huang’s medical records showing she told her doctor in May 1999 she was injured cleaning a window at work, and her medical bills, as circumstantial evidence of her injuries, and the letter of April 17, 1999, advising L.A. Haute of Huang’s workers’ compensation claim (see in. 3, ante). Even if any of the court’s rulings were erroneous, none of them are pertinent to the court’s conclusion that Huang did not prove her injury occurred during her employment. Huang’s account to her doctor is duplicative of her own testimony (and the court allowed Dr. Mitzelfelt to testify to Huang’s statements about the accident for the purpose of understanding the basis for his decisions and treatment); Huang’s medical bills merely confirm her injury, not how or where it occurred; and Huang called no witness to authenticate the letter to L.A. Haute.
Cases cited
- Greitz v. Sivachenko 143 Cal.App.2d 146 p. 289, p. 290
- Garza v. Workmen's Compensation Appeals Board 3 Cal.3d 312 at 317 p. 289
- Singlaub v. Industrial Accident Commission 87 Cal.App. 324 at 331 p. 289
- Lee v. Cranford 107 Cal.App.2d 677 at 679 p. 290
- Peters v. California Building-Loan Ass'n 116 Cal.App. 143 at 154 p. 290