Majority
Plaintiff Doheny Park Terrace Homeowners Association, Inc. (Doheny Park), appeals from the trial court’s order dismissing its first amended complaint. The defendant, Truck Insurance Exchange (Truck),[1] had demurred to Doheny Park’s pleading and the trial court sustained that demurrer without leave to amend. The trial court concluded that Doheny Park had not filed its action within the two-year contractual limitation period specified in Truck’s policy, or during the revival period established by Code of Civil Procedure, section 340.9. In addition, Doheny Park had failed to plead facts sufficient to establish a basis for application of the doctrine of equitable estoppel precluding Truck from asserting a limitations defense.
We have reviewed the record, including Doheny Park’s first amended complaint, and concur with the trial court that Doheny Park did not timely file its action, either within the original two-year period or during the one-year statutory revivor. We disagree, however, that it failed to plead sufficient facts to raise the bar of equitable estoppel. We will, therefore, reverse and remand for further proceedings.
FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND[2]
Doheny Park is a condominium association involving 21 units located in the City of Beverly Hills, California. Its property was damaged by the Northridge earthquake on January 17, 1994. On that date, Doheny Park was insured by Truck and the policy included coverage for earthquake damage, subject to a deductible. Before the end of January 1994, Doheny Park submitted claims for damage to Truck.
After conducting an inspection of the damage to the Doheny Park property, Truck concluded that such damage was in the sum of $36,489.02. This amount was less than the deductible in Truck’s policy, so Doheny Park’s claim was denied.[3]
1 The action filed by Doheny Park had also named as defendants, Farmers Group, Inc., Farmers Insurance Exchange, Truck Underwriters Association and Mid-Century Insurance Company. None of these other insurer defendants, however, are parties to this appeal.
2 As this case comes to us following the sustaining of a demurrer, the relevant facts that we recite are those set forth in Doheny Park’s first amended complaint, which we must accept as true. In light of the fact that Doheny Park’s appeal turns upon the sufficiency of its allegations, we consider them in greater detail in the Discussion part of this opinion.
3 This is a conclusion with which Doheny Park does not agree. It argues that Truck never formally denied its claim and thus it remains open. As we discuss below, that argument is without merit.
Truck filed a demurrer to the complaint alleging that the action was untimely.[5] More than eight years had elapsed from the date that Doheny Park had sustained damage until the time that it filed suit. The trial court held that Doheny Park’s action had not been timely filed and, in any event, Code of Civil Procedure, section 340.9,[6] precluded any action by Doheny Park after December 31, 2001. Truck’s demurrer was sustained with leave to amend and, on or about October 1, 2003, Doheny Park filed its first amended complaint, the operative pleading herein.
Truck again demurred, arguing that the applicable limitations period had run and that Doheny Park had not pled sufficient facts to justify either (1) its delay in filing the action, or (2) the application of the doctrines of delayed
4 We do not discuss this last alleged cause of action, as Doheny Park voluntarily dismissed it prior to the entry of the order of dismissal that is the subject of this appeal.
5 It appears that Truck’s policy (which was attached as an exhibit to Doheny Park’s complaint) provided for a two-year contractual limitations period.
6 Unless otherwise indicated, all statutory references are to the Code of Civil Procedure. Section 340.9 provides as follows: “(a) Notwithstanding any other provision of law or contract, any insurance claim for damages arising out of the Northridge earthquake of 1994 which is barred as of the effective date of this section solely because the applicable statute of limitations has or had expired is hereby revived and a cause of action thereon may be commenced provided that the action is commenced within one year of the effective date of this section. This subdivision shall only apply to cases in which an insured contacted an insurer or an insurer’s representative prior to January 1, 2000, regarding potential Northridge earthquake damage. “(b) Any action pursuant to this section commenced prior to, or within one year from, the effective date of this section shall not be barred based upon this limitations period. “(c) Nothing in this section shall be construed to alter the applicable limitations period of an action that is not time barred as of the effective date of this section. “(d) This section shall not apply to either of the following: “(1) Any claim that has been litigated to finality in any court of competent jurisdiction prior to the effective date of this section. “(2) Any written compromised settlement agreement which has been made between an insurer and its insured where the insured was represented by counsel admitted to the practice of law in California at the time of the settlement, and who signed the agreement.”
Thereafter, on February 5, 2004, an order of dismissal was entered and filed. Doheny Park has prosecuted this timely appeal.
CONTENTIONS OF THE PARTIES
Doheny Park’s principal contention is that the allegations of the first amended complaint sufficiently set forth a basis for applying the doctrine of equitable estoppel as articulated by the Supreme Court in Vu. It also urges that it is not bound by the limitation of the one-year revival window opened by section 340.9 and that its knowledge of the rationale for, or the passage of, that statute did not trigger any duty of inquiry. Doheny Park further urges that it is entitled to the benefit of the delayed discovery rule because, due to misrepresentations and concealment by Truck, it did not reasonably discover the full extent of its damage until February 2003. It also asserts the related argument that the limitation period was equitably tolled because Truck never unequivocally denied Doheny Park’s claim in writing as required under the principles set out in Prudential-LMI Com. Insurance v. Superior Court (1990) 51 Cal.3d 674 [ 274 Cal.Rptr. 387 , 798 P.2d 1230 ] {Prudential-LMI). Finally, Doheny Park argues that the trial court improperly denied it an opportunity to file a second amended complaint so as to add certain additional allegations.[7]
Truck asserts that none of these arguments justifies a reversal of the order of dismissal. The policy provided for a two-year limitation period from the date that Doheny Park discovered (or should have discovered) damage from the Northridge earthquake. Doheny Park waited over eight years after it sustained damage, and over a year after the revival deadline set out in section 340.9 before filing its action. Truck argues that Doheny Park is relying on
7 In view of the decision we reach herein, it is not necessary for us to reach or discuss this procedural issue. Upon remand, the trial court may, in the exercise of its discretion, permit such further amendment of Doheny Park’s pleadings as may be appropriate.
DISCUSSION
1. Standard of Review
In reviewing an order sustaining a demurrer without leave to amend, the appellate court decides de novo whether the complaint sets forth facts sufficient to state a cause of action. (Hoffman v. State Farm Fire & Casualty Co. (1993) 16 Cal.App.4th 184 , 189 [ 19 Cal.Rptr.2d 809 ].) The court looks to the face of the complaint and treats the demurrer as admitting all the material facts alleged. (Blank v. Kirwan (1985) 39 Cal.3d 311 , 318 [ 216 Cal.Rptr. 718 , 703 P.2d 58 ].) However, the appellate court does not assume the truth of contentions, deductions, or conclusions of fact or law. (Moore v. Regents of University of California (1990) 51 Cal.3d 120 , 125 [ 271 Cal.Rptr. 146 , 793 P.2d 479 ].) It is only necessary for a plaintiff to plead ultimate facts. (Perkins v. Superior Court (1981) 117 Cal.App.3d 1 , 6 [ 172 Cal.Rptr. 427 ].[8] )
2. Doheny Park’s Policy Imposed a Two-year Contractual Limitation Period That Commenced To Run on the Date of the Northridge Earthquake and Its Delayed Discovery Argument Fails
The ordinary statute of limitations for breach of a written contract is four years from the date of the breach. (§ 337). When the contract is a policy of insurance (e.g., a homeowners policy) and the insured has a property damage claim, there is a contractual limitation period imposed by the terms of the policy. In the case of fire policies, the limitation period is one year, as dictated by Insurance Code, section 2071 (setting out the terms that must be included in the standard form fire policy).[9] Such a shortened limitation period has long been recognized as valid in California. (Prudential-LMI, supra, 51 Cal.3d at p. 683.)
8 We discuss in more detail below the relevant principles relating to the pleading of ultimate facts versus evidentiary matters.
9 When, as in this case, the policy insures against other perils as well as fire loss, the terms of the policy may vary as long as the coverage provided is equivalent or more favorable to the insured. (Ins. Code, § 2070; Fire Ins. Exchange v. Superior Court (2004) 116 Cal.App.4th 446 , 459 [ 10 Cal.Rptr.3d 617 ].) Thus, the inclusion in the Doheny Park policy of a iwo-year limitation period did not violate Insurance Code, section 2071, as it was more favorable to the insured.
This rule applies even in the case of a single catastrophic event. (Kapsimallis v. Allstate Ins. Co. (2002) 104 Cal.App.4th 667 , 670 [ 128 Cal.Rptr.2d 358 ] [“the analysis in Prudential-LMI ... is fully applicable to cases involving cataclysmic damage such as the Northridge earthquake and precludes determining ‘inception of the loss’ solely by the date of the occurrence of the physical event causing the loss”.] “Determining when appreciable damage occurs such that a reasonable insured would be on notice of a potentially insured loss is a factual matter for the trier of fact. . . . The insurer has the burden of proving those allegations by a preponderance of the evidence.” (Prudential-LMI, supra, 51 Cal.3d at p. 687.) Thus when appreciable damage has occurred is an issue that is difficult to resolve on summary judgment. (San Jose Crane & Rigging, Inc. v. Lexington Ins. Co. (1991) 227 Cal.App.3d 1314 , 1316 [ 278 Cal.Rptr. 301 ].)
This principle, established by Prudential-LMI, constitutes a delayed discovery rule. Its application, however, is subject to several conditions. “[T]he insured is required to be diligent in the face of discovered facts. The more substantial or unusual the nature of the damage discovered by the insured (e.g., the greater its deviation from what a reasonable person would consider normal wear and tear), the greater the insured’s duty to notify his insurer of the loss promptly and diligently. [Citation.]” (Prudential-LMI, supra, 51 Cal.3d at p. 687.) Once any damage becomes reasonably apparent the time begins to run, even if the full extent of the damage is unknown. “The inception of the loss occurs when the insured should have known that appreciable damage had occurred, not when the homeowner learned the true extent of the damage.” (Campanelli v. Allstate Life Ins. Co. (9th Cir. 2003) 322 F.3d 1086 , 1094, italics added [applying California law].) In addition, the occurrence of “appreciable damage” does not depend upon discovery that the damage constitutes a covered loss under an all-risk policy (e.g., the “inception of the loss” is not delayed until the insured learns from an attorney that the damage might be covered). (Larkspur Isle Condominium Owners’ Assn. v. Farmers Ins. Group (1994) 31 Cal.App.4th 106 , 111-112 [ 37 Cal.Rptr.2d 3 ]; see also Lawrence v. Western Mutual Ins. Co. (1998) 204 Cal.App.3d 565 , 573 [ 251 Cal.Rptr. 319 ] [it is the occurrence of some cognizable event rather than the knowledge of its legal significance that starts the running of time to sue].)
In Sullivan v. Allstate Ins. Co. (C.D.Cal. 1997) 964 F.Supp. 1407 , the insureds made no claim for damage to their home after the Northridge earthquake because they thought the repair costs would be less than the deductible. They left the home unrepaired for more than a year, during which time the house began to leak, exacerbating the earthquake damage. When they discovered it would cost $50,000 to repair the damage, they submitted a claim to their insurer. The court held that the claim was barred under the policy’s one-year suit limitation because the insureds were aware of appreciable damage from the outset (even though they underestimated its cost). It was not a “ ‘progressive loss’ ” merely because they allowed their property to deteriorate. (Id. at p. 1412.)
These cases articulate principles that dispose of Doheny Park’s delayed discovery argument. By its own allegations, it knew that sufficient damage had been done to warrant notification of the damage to Truck. That started the running of the two-year period in which to commence an action against Truck. Admittedly, Doheny Park did not file any action during that period nor (as we discuss below) during the one-year revivor period established by section 340.9.
3. The Running of the Contractual Limitations Period Was Not Equitably Tolled
As discussed above, the contractual limitations period commences to run upon the inception of loss. The running of this period, however, may be tolled during the period that the claim is being considered by the insurer. Put another way, the limitations period will be tolled “from the time the insured files a timely notice,[10] pursuant to policy notice provisions, to the time the
10 The statute (Ins. Code, § 2071) mandates that the policy provide that insured give written notice to the insurer “without unnecessary delay.” Other policies may simply require “prompt” or “immediate” notice or words to that effect. (See, e.g., Downey Savings & Loan Assn. v. Ohio Casualty Ins. Co. (1987) 189 Cal.App.3d 1072 , 1089 [ 234 Cal.Rptr. 835 ] [notice required at *1088 the earliest practicable moment after discovery of the loss].) An insured’s failure to provide timely notice of a loss will constitute a breach of a condition of the policy, but it will not be viable defense to the insured’s claim unless the insurer can demonstrate that it was “substantially prejudiced thereby.” (Ibid.; Campbell v. Allstate Ins. Co. (1963) 60 Cal.2d 303 , 306 [ 32 Cal.Rptr. 827 , 384 P.2d 155 ] [even if notice first received after a judgment, an insurer must still show actual prejudice from the delay].) This is the so-called notice-prejudice rule. However, the longer the insured waits to notify the insurer, the shorter the tolling period: “For example, if an insured waits 11 months after discovering the loss to make his claim, he will have only 1 month [where the policy required suit within 12 months] to file his action after the claim is denied before it is time-barred[.]” (Prudential-LMI, supra, 51 Cal.3d at p. 692; see also Prieto v. State Farm Fire & Casualty Co. (1990) 225 Cal.App.3d 1188 , 1196 [ 275 Cal.Rptr. 362 ].)
The tolling period ends, however, upon the insurer’s unconditional denial of the insured’s claim in writing. (Prudential-LMI, supra, 51 Cal.3d at p. 678; Hydro-Mill Co., Inc. v. Hayward, Tilton & Rolapp Ins. Associates, Inc., supra, 115 Cal.App.4th at p. 1163.) It does not matter that the insurer’s act of denial does not specifically use that word. (Migliore v. Mid-Century Ins. Co. (2002) 97 Cal.App.4th 592 , 605 [ 118 Cal.Rptr.2d 548 ] [the failure of the insurer to actually use the words “deny” or “denial” will not render the denial unequivocal, nor will the failure to mention the time limit for filing suit].) Once an insurer has unequivocally denied a claim, there is no justification for further tolling. Thus, the insured’s request for reconsideration of the claim will not extend the time to sue. (Singh v. Allstate Ins. Co. (1998) 63 Cal.App.4th 135 , 142 [ 73 Cal.Rptr.2d 546 ].)
Doheny Park claims that the running of the limitations period should be equitably tolled because Truck never sent it a formal written unequivocal letter of denial. This exalts form over substance. Truck specifically, and unequivocally, advised Doheny Park (in writing) that the amount of damage was less than its deductible. That obviously meant that there was, in Truck’s view, nothing due under the policy. That, in practical effect, was a specific unequivocal denial sufficient to satisfy the test set out in Prudential-LMI, supra, 51 Cal.3d at page 678. In addition, Doheny Park appears to have conceded the point. First, it certainly treated Truck’s action as a firm denial for eight years. Second, and more importantly, in its first amended complaint, it alleges that “[a]t no time between [Truck’s] denial of the insurance claim
4. Equitable Estoppel May Bar Insurer from Raising a Limitations Defense
Equitable estoppel differs from equitable tolling in distinct and important ways. They each arise under different circumstances, and have different rationales and different predicates. (Battuello v. Battuello (1998) 64 Cal.App.4th 842 , 847-848 [ 75 Cal.Rptr.2d 548 ].) Equitable estoppel does not “extend” a limitations period “ ‘but rather comes into play only after the limitations period has run and addresses itself to the circumstances in which a party will be estopped from asserting the statute of limitations as a defense to an admittedly untimely action because his conduct has induced another into forbearing suit within the applicable limitations period.’ ” (Id. at p. 847.) Unlike the doctrine of equitable tolling, which takes its life from the statute of limitations itself, the doctrine of equitable estoppel “ ‘takes its life . . . from the equitable principle that no man will be permitted to profit from his own wrongdoing in a court of justice.’ ” (Id. at pp. 847-848.)
The Battuello court was construing and applying section 366.2 (providing for a one-year limitation on a suit on causes of action which existed against a decedent at the time of death). That section specifically provided that the one-year period “shall not be tolled or extended for any reason except as provided [in the statute].” (§ 366.2, subd. (b).) Battuello held that this language precluded the application of any tolling of the limitations period, but did not bar the plaintiff from relying on the doctrine of equitable estoppel. (Battuello v. Battuello, supra, 64 Cal.App.4th at pp. 847-848.)
Battuello’s reasoning was cited with approval in Lantzy v. Centex Homes (2003) 31 Cal.4th 363 , 383-384 [ 2 Cal.Rptr.3d 655 , 73 P.3d 517 ] (Lantzy), where the Supreme Court reached a similar conclusion with respect to section 337.15 (the “absolute” 10-year limitations period applicable in latent construction defect cases). Lantzy noted that section 337.15 did not mention either equitable tolling or equitable estoppel, but nevertheless concluded that the application of the doctrine of equitable tolling to the statutory limitations period would “contravene the legislative purpose” (31 Cal.4th at p. 380) of providing repose to potential defendants after “the already lengthy period during which [they were] exposed to suit.” (Id. at p. 382.) The court further held, however, that this same legislative purpose would not be contravened by allowing the plaintiffs to plead the doctrine of equitable estoppel in response to defendant’s statute of limitations defense. (Id. at pp. 383-384.)
In another case, following initial repairs of earthquake damage, the insurer’s adjuster told the insureds that all earthquake damage had been repaired. In reliance on that representation, the insureds allowed the one-year limitations period to expire without conducting any further investigation. It was held that the insurer was estopped from asserting the limitation as a bar to claims for later-discovered damage. (Ward v. Allstate Ins. Co. (C.D.Cal. 1997) 964 F.Supp. 307 , 312 [applying California law]; cited with approval in Vu, supra, 26 Cal.4th at p. 1153.) As the Ward court stated, “[A]fter the Plaintiffs had submitted a timely claim to Allstate, they relied on the representations of Mr. Sanchez, a purported expert and agent of Allstate, that their damage was limited to approximately $20,000. For this reason, the Plaintiffs allowed the limitations period to elapse without conducting a further investigation. This is precisely the type of situation contemplated by the estoppel doctrine. Allstate cannot be allowed to lull the Plaintiffs into sleeping on their rights, and then use the limitations period as a sword to cut down their claims.” (Id. at p. 312.)
5. Section 340.9 Conditionally Revived Certain Northridge Earthquake Claims for a One-year Period but Such Statutory Revivor Does Not Preclude Application of the Doctrine of Equitable Estoppel
In 2000, the Legislature enacted section 340.9 (see fn. 6, ante) in response to “compelling reports of rampant mishandling of [Northridge Earthquake] insurance claims by insurers, and the unavailability of relief from the former administration of the Department of Insurance[.]” (20th Century Ins. Co. v. Superior Court (2001) 90 Cal.App.4th 1247 , 1267 [ 109 Cal.Rptr.2d 611 ] (20th Century).)[12] Section 340.9 revived, for a one-year
11 “Every insurer shall disclose to a first party claimant or beneficiary, all benefits, coverage, time limits or other provisions of any insurance policy issued by that insurer that may apply to the claim presented by the claimant.” (Cal. Code of Regs., tit. 10, § 2695.4, subd. (a), italics added.) In this case, we do not reach or address the impact of this regulation for two reasons. First, the parties do not raise or argue the point. Second, in view of our conclusion and disposition on this matter, there is no reason to do so. It may, however, be a matter the trial court can consider upon remand.
12 The legislative history of section 340.9 reflects the following matters: “Proponents contend that there are strong public policy reasons to protect [quake victims] under the circumstances of this bill. [They state] that thousands of people who suffered damage to their homes did not receive the benefit of their insurance contracts because of the insurance companies’ conduct. [They further] assert that ample evidence exists to show that insurers handling Northridge earthquake claims engaged in a systematic program of misleading consumers about the nature and extent of damage to their homes. Later, when it became clear that the problems were indeed significant, proponents assert that the insurers simply refused to pay claims on the basis that the claims had become time-barred.” (Assem. Com. on Judiciary, Analysis of Sen. Bill No. 1899 (1999-2000 Reg. Sess.) as amended May 23, 2000, p. 5.) In addition, “[t]o compound problems, proponents note that when homeowners complained to the Department of Insurance to obtain relief, the department afforded no help. Thus, based on the circumstances surrounding the Northridge earthquake, proponents argue that there are sufficient public policy reasons to extend the statute of limitations and allow the homeowners to seek justice on their insurance claims.” (Sen. Rules Com., Off. of Sen. Floor Analyses, 3d reading analysis of Sen. Bill No. 1899 (1999-2000 Reg. Sess.) as amended May 23, 2000, p. 4.) Of more relevance, in light of the allegations in Doheny Park’s .first amended complaint, is the following from a report by the Senate Committee on the Judiciary: “ ‘News accounts have asserted that many of the quake victims have yet to receive full and fair compensation from their insurance companies to cover the costs incurred as a result of the quake. Many *1092 victims . . . have received only partial settlements for their earthquake claims, and others have received no compensation at all, having been improperly told that the damage they suffered was below policy deductibles. In subsequent years, families have discovered damage that either was ignored or missed by the original claims adjuster, yet some insurers, according to . . . news accounts, have stonewalled claims, leaving homes, condominiums and apartment building in shambles and homeowners without any recourse.’ (Sen. Com. on Judiciary, 3d reading analysis of Sen. Bill No. 1899 (1999-2000 Reg. Sess.) as amended July 6, 2000, p. 2.) According to the statute’s author, section 340.9 was intended to ‘provide these individuals who . . . were victimized twice, (once by the earthquake and a second time by their insurance companies) with a reasonable “second chance” to seek redress for their damages.’ (Id. at p. 3.)” These accounts also caused the author to comment that “ ‘the one-year statute of limitations that is current law under Insurance Code section 2071 has barred victims from being fairly compensated for their losses . . . [because they] were misled about the extent of damage done as a result of the earthquake.’ (Sen. Com. on Judiciary, Analysis of Sen. Bill No. 1899 (1999-2000 Reg. Sess.) as amended May 9, 2000, p. 3.)”
There is no dispute that Doheny Park was a claimant who had contacted an insurer regarding its claim prior to January 1, 2000 and its claim was barred by the expiration of the two-year limitation period in Truck’s policy. Thus, Doheny Park was a claimant entitled to the benefit of the revivor provisions of section 340.9.
Truck does not argue otherwise, but urges that since Doheny Park admittedly did not file this action until April 2003, section 340.9 is of no assistance to it. We agree. But Truck goes further and contends that section 340.9 also operates to preclude, as a matter of law, Doheny Park’s reliance upon the doctrine of equitable estoppel. Essentially, Truck’s argument is that section 340.9 supplemented or superseded the application of equitable estoppel to the Northridge earthquake claims. In Truck’s view, section 340.9 amounts to an
13 In 20th Century, we commented on the Legislature’s use of the term “ ‘statute of limitations.’ ” “[I]t seems clear to us that the Legislature intended the phrase ‘applicable statute of limitations’ to embrace the mandated contractual period. Indeed, that is the only limitations period applicable to the claims asserted by policyholders to which the statute is addressed. Since the obvious legislative purpose behind the enactment of section 340.9 was to bring relief to policyholders with claims under policies, all of which contain the contractual limitations provision, it would be absurd for us to adopt 20th Century’s [contrary] construction of this phrase.” (20th Century, supra, 90 Cal.App.4th at p. 1275, italics in original.)
This issue was directly reached by our colleagues in Division 7 of this District in Cordova v. 21st Century Ins. Co. (2005) 129 Cal.App.4th 89 [ 28 Cal.Rptr.3d 170 ] (Cordova).[14] The Cordova court addressed and expressly rejected the contention that the Legislature had any intent at all, in enacting section 340.9, to bar an insured’s reliance upon the doctrine of equitable estoppel. The court noted, with emphasis, that there is not one word mentioned with respect to that doctrine in either the statute or its legislative history. (129 Cal.App.4th at p. 106.)
As the Cordova court put it, “[cjlearly the Legislature intended to put a one-year lid on the statutory revival of time-barred claims but neither we nor 21st Century have found one sentence in the legislative history suggesting this one-year lid was intended to exclude equitable remedies for those who for some legitimate reason could not bring their claims within this one-year period. [f] Indeed it is the Legislature’s ‘expressive silence’ which most convinces us it did not intend section 340.9 to supplant the doctrine of
14 The facts in Cordova were substantially identical to those present in this case. Following the Northridge earthquake, Cordova submitted a claim to 21st Century, her property insurer. After determining that the damage to her home was less than the deductible, 21st Century paid her some small sums under her “other structures” coverage. In November of 1994, Cordova wrote to 21st Century with respect to the possibility of an inspection of her property by a structural engineer. 21st Century responded, advising her that if her contractor suggested such an inspection, it would employ an engineer to conduct the inspection. She did nothing after that until August 2002 when her attorney requested that 21st Century contact him regarding her claim. 21st Century wrote back pointing out that the period for filing a claim had long since expired. Cordova’s attorney then requested that the claim be reopened under authority of the Vu decision. There were no further communications and, in September 2002, Cordova filed suit. She alleged 21st Century unreasonably and unjustifiably failed to conduct a thorough investigation of her earthquake loss and she was misinformed as to the extent of the damage to her property. She further alleged that the special statutory one-year period for filing suit against 21st Century for losses sustained in the Northridge earthquake had expired before she realized the true extent of her damage. (Cordova, supra, 129 Cal.App.4th at pp. 93-94.)
The Cordova court emphasized that the Legislature may or may not have been aware of the then pending Vu litigation,[15] but most certainly it was aware of the doctrine of equitable estoppel. “If by enacting section 340.9 the Legislature intended to take away a remedy which has existed for hundreds of years one would expect to see discussion of such a step in the legislative history. But there is not a word in the legislative record about the doctrine of equitable estoppel. ... It is not our role to speak for the Legislature when the Legislature has kept silent, [ft] Our conclusion section 340.9 does not replace the doctrine of equitable estoppel is further supported by other extrinsic aids to statutory interpretation including ‘ “. . . the ostensible objects to be achieved, the evils to be remedied, . . . public policy, . . . and the statutory scheme of which the statute is a part.” [Citation.] [Fn. omitted.]’ [ft] In enacting section 340.9 the Legislature’s object was ‘to alleviate a broad and significant problem caused by the insurers’ conduct; to help thousands of policyholders who were misled by the insurers into waiving their right to make claims in a timely manner.’ [Fn. omitted.] The evil to be remedied was the insurance companies’ ‘rampant mishandling’ of Northridge claims, their ‘ “systematic program of misleading” ’ their policyholders, and their ‘ “refusal] to pay claims on the basis that the claims had become time-barred.” ’ [Fn. omitted.] The public policy reflected in the legislation was to enforce the insurance companies’ fiduciary duties to their policyholders [fn. omitted] and ‘to advance the public interest in protecting insureds mistreated by their insurers at a time when the insureds were most vulnerable.’ [Fn. omitted.] The statutory scheme of which section 340.9 is a part is the regulation of insurance policies including the time for bringing suit under the policy as set forth in Insurance Code section 2071. We have found no extrinsic evidence suggesting section 340.9 was intended to bar any new claims for earthquake damage after December 31, 2001.
“Finally, we are not won over by 21st Century’s argument that after the passage of a reasonable length of time (legislatively determined in section 340.9 to be eight years) insurers should be free from the burden of disruptive and protracted liability and able to plan their affairs with a degree of certainty; it is unreasonable to expose insurers to liability on claims made 10, 20 or 30 years after the Northridge quake, [ft] This argument was impliedly rejected in Lantzy v. Centex Homes [supra, 31 Cal.4th at p. 384] in which the court held the doctrine of equitable estoppel permits a plaintiff to bring an action for construction defects after the expiration of the ‘absolute’ 10-year statute of limitations on such claims. [Fn. omitted.]
15 The Supreme Court filed its decision in Vu on November 5, 2001, over 10 months after section 340.9 became effective.
For all of the reasons articulated in Cordova, we disagree with Truck’s fundamental premise, that section 340.9 constituted or was intended to be, a comprehensive statutory scheme enacted to finally conclude all unresolved Northridge earthquake claims. By its own terms and, as its legislative history confirms, it had a much narrower purpose. As we said in Rosenblum v. Safeco Ins. Co., supra, 126 Cal.App.4th 847 , section 340.9 simply “reopen[ed] the filing window, for a one-year period, to those otherwise viable cases that had become time barred.” (126 Cal.App.4th at p. 858, italics omitted.) We agree with the Cordova court’s conclusion that the Legislature did not intend, by the enactment of section 340.9, to in any way affect a potential assertion of an equitable estoppel argument under Vu.
We, therefore, reject Truck’s argument that the passage of section 340.9 and Doheny Park’s failure to file its action by December 31, 2001 is fatal, as a matter of law, to its contention as to the application of the doctrine of equitable estoppel. This leaves us with the issue upon which this appeal turns. Has Doheny Park alleged, in its first amended complaint, sufficient facts to justify application of that doctrine? We now turn to a more detailed examination of the allegations of that pleading in order to answer this pivotal question.
As already indicated, this case reaches us upon demurrer. We must therefore accept as true all well pled factual allegations, although not those that are conclusionary or argumentative (Moore v. Regents of University of California, supra, 51 Cal.3d at p. 125). We focus on those allegations of Doheny Park’s first amended complaint upon which it bases its claim for application of equitable estoppel.
In the “Claims of Plaintiff” portion of its complaint (which was incorporated by reference in each of the relevant separate causes of action), Doheny Park alleged that its property did suffer some damage from the January 17, 1994 earthquake and then alleged as follows:[16]
“. . . [Doheny Park] was run by a volunteer board of directors that did not believe that the cost to repair the covered earthquake damage exceeded the policy deductible. [It] made a claim and entrusted [Truck] with the building inspection in compliance with its policy of insurance and in furtherance of [its] duty to [Doheny Park]. Though [Doheny Park] did not believe at the time the claim was reported that the cost to repair the damage would exceed the policy deductible, . . . [it] believed that [it had been] diligent and that reporting a possible claim to [Truck], whom [it] trusted to inspect [its property], was in furtherance of that diligence.
“. . . In 1994 [Truck’s] representative inspected [Doheny Park’s] property and evaluated the earthquake damage. [Truck] represented that it was an expert in the adjustment of property loss and valuation of property damages. [It] informed [Doheny Park] in writing that [it] determined that the cost to repair the covered earthquake caused damages at [the] condominium complex was $36,489.02. This repair estimate was a misrepresentation, though [Doheny Park] at the time had no reason to believe that [Truck] was misrepresenting the cost of repair. [f] . . . [][]
“. . . [Truck’s] representation that [the] earthquake damages were $36,489.02 and below the policy limits deductible was, in fact, false. [Truck] intentionally misled [Doheny Park] by making this representation. [Truck] also failed to fully and properly inspect [the] property but led [Doheny Park] to believe that the property was properly and fully inspected. In fact, the earthquake damage to [Doheny Park’s] buildings exceeded the policy deductible and may exceed the policy limits for the coverage to buildings. m... m
16 We quote extensively the relevant allegations. We have modified with brackets the quoted language in immaterial ways for reasons of simplicity and clarity.
17 On this point, see Atari v. State Farm Fire & Casualty Co. (1988) 205 Cal.App.3d 530 , 535 [ 252 Cal.Rptr. 565 ],
The foregoing allegations, which are no less specific than those found to be sufficient in Battuello v. Battuello, supra, 64 Cal.App.4th at page 848, are what Doheny Park relies on in claiming that it has sufficiently pled a basis for the application of equitable estoppel. Track argues that the allegations are not sufficiently specific. They do not, Track asserts, show why Doheny Park waited until February 2003 before it hired a professional to inspect its property. Such delay demonstrates, in Track’s view, that Doheny Park’s claims of ignorance and reliance on Track’s alleged misrepresentations were neither justifiable nor reasonable.
The problem with Track’s argument is that we are reviewing a demurrer, not a summary judgment. We must accept as true Doheny Park’s factual allegations. We do not agree that they are mere conclusions. Doheny Park was only required to plead ultimate facts and it has done so. Whether it can produce at trial, or in response to a motion for summary judgment, evidence that will in fact support all or any of those allegations, including a legally justifiable defense of its delay, is another matter. (Careau & Co. v. Security Pacific Business Credit, Inc. (1990) 222 Cal.App.3d 1371 , 1391 [ 272 Cal.Rptr. 387 ].) The critical question raised by Track’s demurrer is whether Doheny Park’s allegations demonstrate a reasonable basis for its eight-year delay in filing suit. The issue of the “insured’s diligence” is, under the principles articulated by the Supreme Court (Vu, supra, 26 Cal.4th at p. 1152), a factual question. Such diligence (or its absence) is one of the factual questions that will determine whether there was reasonable reliance by Doheny Park on Track’s alleged representations. However Doheny Park’s alleged claims might test the limits of our credulity if we were sitting as a trier of fact, we cannot say that its alleged explanation for the eight-year delay, as a matter of law, precludes a finding of reasonable reliance.
Settled principles of law support our conclusion. “In order to plead a cause of action, the complaint must contain a ‘statement of the facts constituting the cause of action, in ordinary and concise language.’ (Code. Civ. Proc., § 425.10, subd. (a).) While it is true that pleading conclusions of
In Spray, Gould & Bowers v. Associated Internat. Ins. Co., supra, 71 Cal.App.4th 1260 [ 84 Cal.Rptr.2d 552 ], we recited the four factors generally required in order to establish a basis for equitable estoppel: “ ‘ “(1) The party to be estopped must know the facts; (2) he must intend that his conduct shall be acted upon, or must so act that the party asserting the estoppel had the right to believe that it was so intended; (3) the party asserting the estoppel must be ignorant of the trae state of facts; and, (4) he must rely upon the conduct to his injury.” ’ ” (Id. at p. 1268.) The allegations we have quoted above at length, when read as a whole, plead ultimate facts supporting each of these elements. Doheny Park has sufficiently “ ‘set forth the circumstances from which the estoppel arises.’ ” (See In re Marriage of Hanley (1988) 199 Cal.App.3d 1109 , 1121 [ 245 Cal.Rptr. 441 ].) No more is required.
We conclude that while both the original and revived limitations periods have expired, Doheny Park has alleged sufficient facts for application of the doctrine of equitable estoppel. Whatever difficulty it may or may not have in proving such allegations at trial, it is enough to survive Truck’s demurrer. We will therefore remand the matter for further proceedings on this issue.
The order of dismissal is reversed and the matter is remanded for further proceedings not inconsistent with the views expressed herein. Doheny Park shall recover its costs on appeal.
Klein, P. J., and Kitching, J., concurred.
Cases cited
- Vu v. Prudential Property & Casualty Insurance 26 Cal.4th 1142 p. 1084
- Prudential-LMI Commercial Insurance v. Superior Court 51 Cal.3d 674 p. 1084
- Hoffman v. State Farm Fire & Casualty Co. 16 Cal.App.4th 184 at 189 p. 1085
- Blank v. Kirwan 39 Cal.3d 311 at 318 p. 1085
- Moore v. Regents of University of California 51 Cal.3d 120 at 125 p. 1085
- Perkins v. Superior Court 117 Cal.App.3d 1 at 6 p. 1085
- Kapsimallis v. Allstate Insurance 104 Cal.App.4th 667 at 670 p. 1086
- San Jose Crane & Rigging, Inc. v. Lexington Insurance 227 Cal.App.3d 1314 at 1316 p. 1086
- Larkspur Isle Condominium Owners' Ass'n v. Farmers Ins. Group 31 Cal.App.4th 106 at 111-112 p. 1086
- Lawrence v. Western Mutual Insurance 204 Cal.App.3d 565 at 573 p. 1086
- Magnolia Square Homeowners Ass'n v. Safeco Insurance 221 Cal.App.3d 1049 p. 1087
- Hydro-Mill Co. v. Hayward, Tilton & Rolapp Insurance Associates, Inc. 115 Cal.App.4th 1145 at 1163 p. 1088
- Migliore v. Mid-Century Insurance 97 Cal.App.4th 592 at 605 p. 1088
- Battuello v. Battuello 64 Cal.App.4th 842 at 847-848 p. 1089
- Lantzy v. Centex Homes 31 Cal.4th 363 at 383-384 p. 1089
- Spray, Gould & Bowers v. Associated International Insurance 71 Cal.App.4th 1260 at 1269 p. 1091, p. 1099
- Neufeld v. Balboa Insurance 84 Cal.App.4th 759 at 761-762 p. 1091
- 20th Century Insurance v. Superior Court 90 Cal.App.4th 1247 at 1267 p. 1091
- Rosenblum v. Safeco Insurance 126 Cal.App.4th 847 at 858 p. 1092, p. 1095
- Pacific Scene, Inc. v. Peñasquitos, Inc. 46 Cal.3d 407 at 414 p. 1093
- Cordova v. 21st Century Insurance 129 Cal.App.4th 89 p. 1093
- Careau & Co. v. Security Pacific Business Credit, Inc. 222 Cal.App.3d 1371 at 1391 p. 1098
- Ludgate Ins. v. Lockheed Martin Corp. 82 Cal.App.4th 592 at 608 p. 1099
- Hanley v. Hanley 199 Cal.App.3d 1109 at 1121 p. 1099