Majority
Opinion
I. Introduction
Plaintiff, Geneva Harper, appeals from a summary judgment in favor of defendant, Wausau Insurance Company (Wausau). The present case involves a complaint for breach of contract and of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing on the theory plaintiff was a third party beneficiary of a medical payment provision in an insurance contract between Nationwide Insurance Company, a Wausau company, and L. A. Towers, Inc. In the published portion of this opinion, we discuss the existence of a triable issue as to whether plaintiff was an intended third party beneficiary of the medical payment insurance policy who may directly assert a cause of action for breach of contract against the insurer. For the reasons stated below, we conclude a triable issue existed as to whether she was an intended beneficiary of the medical payment provision of the policy who may seek contract damages. On that ground, we reverse the judgment.[1]
1 We need not address the arguments concerning the alleged tortious breach of the insurance contract. As will be noted, we conclude a triable issue existed as to plaintiff’s rights to contract damages. Hence, the summary judgment motion should have been denied. (Blair v. Pitchess (1971) 5 Cal.3d 258 , 284 [ 96 Cal.Rptr. 42 , 486 P.2d 1242 , 45 A.L.R.3d 1206 ]; Lynch v. Spilman (1967) 67 Cal.2d 251 , 271 [ 62 Cal.Rptr. 12 , 431 P.2d 636 ]; Walter E. Heller *1083 Western, Inc. v. Tecrim Corp. (1987) 196 Cal.App.3d 149 , 156 [ 241 Cal.Rptr. 677 ].) On remand, defendant is free to pursue its summary adjudication requests. (E.g., Wilson v. Blue Cross of So. California (1990) 222 Cal.App.3d 660 , 674-675 [ 271 Cal.Rptr. 876 ].)
II. Background
In support of the motion, defendants presented and plaintiff did not dispute the following facts. She fell on April 16, 1993, at L. A. City Tower and 32d Street Market in Los Angeles. Plaintiff filed an action to recover damages from her fall entitled Harper v. L. A. City Tower, Inc. (Super. Ct. L.A. County, 1993, No. BC083543). Nationwide Insurance Company (Nationwide), a Wausau company, issued a commercial general liability policy No. 73-04-PR50722690001 to L. A. City Tower, Inc. Pursuant to the coverage in Nationwide’s policy, it defended L. A. City Tower, Inc., in the underlying action. A court trial of the underlying action resulted in judgment for the defense after the judge determined plaintiff failed to establish by a preponderance of the evidence that L. A. City Tower would have discovered the dangerous condition by the exercise of reasonable care.
L. A. City Tower, Inc., was insured by Nationwide for “bodily injury and property damage liability” under “Coverage A.” Plaintiff filed this action to recover benefits under the Nationwide policy under the “Coverage C” medical payment provision. The medical coverage provision states: “1.
III. Discussion
The trial court granted the summary judgment motion. The trial court entered a judgment on the complaint from which this timely appeal followed.
A. Standard of Review
Summary judgment is granted when the moving party establishes that there are no triable issues of any material fact. A summary judgment motion is directed to the issues framed by the pleadings. (Ann M. v. Pacific Plaza Shopping Center (1993) 6 Cal.4th 666 , 673 [ 25 Cal.Rptr.2d 137 , 863 P.2d 207 ]; Addy v. Bliss & Glennon (1996) 44 Cal.App.4th 205 , 215 [ 51 Cal.Rptr.2d 642 ]; Hejmadi v. AMFAC, Inc. (1988) 202 Cal.App.3d 525 , 536 [ 249 Cal.Rptr. 5 ].) Further, the moving party must establish he or she is entitled to entry of judgment as a matter of law. (Code Civ. Proc., § 437c, subd. (c); Union Bank v. Superior Court (1995) 31 Cal.App.4th 573 , 579 [ 37 Cal.Rptr.2d 653 ].) A defendant proves a claim has no merit if he or she establishes one or more of the elements of the cause of action cannot be separately established. (Code Civ. Proc., § 437c, subd. (n)(l).) Code of Civil
The issue of whether plaintiff is entitled to the medical payment requires an interpretation of the insurance policy. The standard of review of an insurance policy has been described by the California Supreme Court as follows: “While insurance contracts have special features, they are still contracts to which the ordinary rules of contractual interpretation apply. (See AIU Ins. Co. v. Superior Court (1990) 51 Cal.3d 807 , 822 . . . (AIU).) The fundamental goal of contractual interpretation is to give effect to the mutual intention of the parties. (Civ. Code, § 1636.) If contractual language is clear and explicit, it governs. (Civ. Code, § 1638.) On the other hand, ‘[i]f the terms of a promise are in any respect ambiguous or uncertain, it must be interpreted in the sense in which the promisor believed, at the time of making it, that the promisee understood it.’ (Id., § 1649; see AIU, supra, 51 Cal.3d at p. 822.) This rule, as applied to a promise of coverage in an insurance policy, protects not the subjective beliefs of the insurer but, rather, ‘the objectively reasonable expectations of the insured.’ (AIU, supra, at p. 822.) Only if this rule does not resolve the ambiguity do we then resolve it against the insurer. (See AIU, supra, at p. 822.) [IQ In summary, a court that is faced with an argument for coverage based on assertedly ambiguous policy language must first attempt to determine whether coverage is consistent with the insured’s objectively reasonable expectations. In so doing, the court must interpret the language in context, with regard to its intended function in the policy. (Producers Dairy Delivery Co. v. Sentry Ins. Co.
B. The Third Party Beneficiary Issue
As a general rule, absent an assignment of rights or a final judgment, a third party claimant may not bring a direct action against an insurance company on the contract because the insurer’s duties flow to the insured. (J.C. Penney Casualty Ins. Co. v. M.K. (1991) 52 Cal.3d 1009 , 1018 [ 278 Cal.Rptr. 64 , 804 P.2d 689 ]; Clemmer v. Hartford Insurance Co. (1978) 22 Cal.3d 865 , 889 [ 151 Cal.Rptr. 285 , 587 P.2d 1098 ]; Murphy v. Allstate Ins. Co. (1976) 17 Cal.3d 937 , 943-944 [ 132 Cal.Rptr. 424 , 553 P.2d 584 ].) There are several exceptions to the general rule which prohibits a third party claimant from suing an insurer. For example, once a party has a final judgment against the insured, the claimant becomes a third party beneficiary of the insurance policy and may enforce the terms which flow to its benefit pursuant to Insurance Code section 11580.[2] (Murphy v. Allstate Ins. Co., supra, 17 Cal.3d at pp. 943-944; Hand v. Farmers Ins. Exchange (1994) 23 Cal.App.4th 1847 , 1856-1858 [ 29 Cal.Rptr.2d 258 ]; Woolett v. American Employers Ins. Co. (1978) 77 Cal.App.3d 619 , 622 [ 143 Cal.Rptr. 799 ].) Further, a claimant may sue the insurer as a third party beneficiary utilizing traditional contract principles. Under California law third party beneficiaries of contracts have the right to enforce the terms of the contract under Civil Code section 1559 which provides: “A contract, made expressly for the benefit of a third person, may be enforced by him at any time before the parties thereto rescind it.” Traditional third party beneficiary principles do not require that the person to be benefited be named in the contract. (Garratt
2 Insurance Code section 11580, subdivision (b)(2) provides that an insurance policy in this state must contain: “A provision that whenever judgment is secured against the insured or the executor or administrator of a deceased insured in an action based upon bodily injury, death, or property damage, then an action may be brought against the insurer on the policy and subject to its terms and limitations, by such judgment creditor to recover on the judgment.”
Civil Code section 1559 allows a direct action against an insurance company to enforce the terms of a contract which were intended to benefit the third party. In Murphy v. Allstate Ins. Co., supra, 17 Cal.3d at page 943, the Supreme Court, while discussing the circumstances where a third party beneficiary could sue an insurer, held: “A third party beneficiary may enforce a contract expressly made for his benefit. (Civ. Code, § 1559.) And although the contract may not have been made to benefit him alone, he may enforce those promises directly made for him. [Citations.]” In Northwestern Mut. Ins. Co. v. Farmers’ Ins. Group (1978) 76 Cal.App.3d 1031 , 1041-1042 [ 143 Cal.Rptr. 415 ], the Court of Appeal applied third party beneficiary principles and Civil Code section 1559 to a permissive driver who was not named in the insurance contract of a car involved in an automobile accident. Citing Murphy v. Allstate Ins. Co., supra, 17 Cal.3d at page 943-944 and Civil Code section 1559, the Court of Appeal noted: “We think it is also correct to say that Robert Kessler was not a contracting party. [Citation.] That is not to say, however, that he was not a party to the contract. As a permissive user he was an insured under the terms of the policy. At the very least, as one of a class for whose benefit the policy was expressly made, he was an express third party beneficiary. [Citations.] A third party beneficiary may, of course, enforce a contract expressly made for his benefit. [Citations.]” (Northwestern Mut. Ins. Co. v. Farmers’ Ins. Group, supra, 76 Cal.App.3d at pp. 1042-1043; see Cancino v. Farmers Ins. Group (1978) 80 Cal.App.3d 335 , 340 [ 145 Cal.Rptr. 503 ].)
Defendant argues that plaintiff is not entitled to enforce the medical payment provision because she was not an intended third party beneficiary. Plaintiff counters the trial court erred in granting summary judgment because defendant did hot establish as a matter of law that she was not an intended third party beneficiary of “Coverage C” of the insurance policy. As noted above, the medical coverage provision states: “1. Insurihg Agreement. PH a. We will pay medical expenses as described below fór ‘bodily injury’ caused by an accident: [‘JQ (1) On premises you own orient; PH (2) On ways next to premises you own or rent; or PH (3) .Because of your operations; PH provided that: PH (1) The accident takes place in the ‘coverage period’ and during the policy period; PH (2) The expenses are incurred and reported to us within one year of the date of the accident; and PH' (3) The injured person submits to examination, at oiir expense, by physicians of bur choice as often as we may reasonably réquire. PH b. We will make these payments regardless of fault. These> payments will not exceed the applicable limit of insurance. We will páy reasonable expenses for: PH (1) First aid at the time of the accident;,PH (2) Necessary medical, surgical, x-ray and dental services, including prosthetic devices; and (3) Necessary ambulance, hospital, professional nursing and funeral services.”
Here, the insurance policy contained a liability provision based on fault (“Coverage A”) and a medical payment provision, based on injury on the property (“Coverage C”). The express language of “Coverage C” plainly indicates it is meant to directly confer a benefit upon third parties who are injured on the owner’s property. The payment is premised on the happening of the event and is not premised on fault. Thus, the insurer undertook a separate and direct obligation to pay to the medical expenses of any persons injured on the owner’s property regardless of its insured’s negligence. Accordingly, the payments were plainly intended to directly benefit plaintiff and were not incidental or remote.
Citing Jones v. Aetna Casualty & Surety Co. (1994) 26 Cal.App.4th 1717 , 1722-1725 [ 33 Cal.Rptr.2d 291 ], a case involving an alleged breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing, defendant argues there was no intent to benefit plaintiff in the medical coverage provision because “[w]hen contracting for liability insurance, an insured seeks its own protection, not the protection of others.” The relevant circumstances in Jones were as follows: “Jones had leased commercial property in Danville from Dan-ville L&M Limited (lessor) for the operation of their restaurant. Pursuant to the lease agreement, lessor was obligated to maintain rental income insurance providing coverage for damage or destruction from fire or other perils. The lease stated this coverage would be at Jones’s expense and the policy would provide that the loss would be payable to lessor. The lease also stated that during any repairs to the premises after damage or destruction from a peril, Jones’s rent would be equitably reduced to the extent lessor received proceeds from the rental income insurance. The insurance policy lessor obtained, through Aetna, included a ‘rental value endorsement’ which stated Aetna would be liable for the ‘Actual Loss Sustained by the insured resulting directly from necessary untenantability, caused by damage to or
First, as noted above and contrary to defendant’s assertion, the medical payment language at issue here is not a liability provision but a direct and separate obligation in the policy to pay the medical expenses of persons injured on its insured’s property. The provision specifically states the defendant will pay “without regard to fault.” Therefore, because plaintiff was injured on the property, she is a member of the class of persons protected under the policy.
Second, defendant did not establish or present any evidence showing that the parties intended this provision to benefit only the insured. Moreover, as one commentator has noted in concluding such provisions are intended to benefit the injured third party: “Medical payments provisions are found in almost every type of liability insurance. Thus, they appear in contracts of public liability coverage, . . . (owner’s, landlord’s and tenants), contractor’s, garage, and homeowner’s, as well as comprehensive personal liability and sports coverage. The purpose is not only the salutary one of alleviating the mind of the one injured from concern over resources with which to pay such obligations, but to dissuade the one injured from thinking up theories upon which to sue the insured. And since the reduction of litigation is a desirable objective, certainly that is not improper. [^Q In contrast to automobile coverage, this provision is not designed to protect the insured from his legal liability but to insure the payment of medical expenses. It does not affect the liability limits, although . . . the two may impinge upon each other. The policy may limit the class of persons to whom such coverage is applicable.” (8A, Appleman & Appleman, Insurance Law and Practice, supra, § 4902.05, pp. 232-233.)
Third, Jones is distinguishable from the case at bench because it did not involve a payment provision indicating that the injured person’s medical costs would be paid without regard to fault. Jones involved an insurance provision for rental income for damage or destruction from fire or other perils which was payable to the lessor, who was obligated to maintain the policy at the lessee’s expense. The court in Jones concluded the lessee was not entitled to enforce the aforementioned policy provision. In this case, unlike in Jones, the policy provision expressly confers a benefit directly on third parties who are injured on the owner’s property. As an intended third party beneficiary, plaintiff had a right to enforce the contract. (Civ. Code § 1559; Murphy v. Allstate Ins. Co., supra, 17 Cal.3d at p. 943.)
IV. Disposition
The judgment is reversed. Plaintiff, Geneva Harper, is to recover her costs on appeal from defendant, Wausau Insurance Company.
Armstrong, J., and Godoy Perez, J., concurred.
A petition for a rehearing was denied August 20, 1997.
* See footnote, ante, page 1079.
Cases cited
- Ann M. v. Pacific Plaza Shopping Center 6 Cal.4th 666 at 673 p. 1084
- Addy v. Bliss & Glennon 44 Cal.App.4th 205 at 215 p. 1084
- Hejmadi v. Amfac, Inc. 202 Cal.App.3d 525 at 536 p. 1084
- Union Bank v. Superior Court 31 Cal.App.4th 573 at 579 p. 1084
- Romano v. Rockwell International, Inc. 14 Cal.4th 479 at 487 p. 1085
- Bernson v. Browning-Ferris Industries of California, Inc. 7 Cal.4th 926 at 929 p. 1085
- Szadolci v. Hollywood Park Operating Co. 14 Cal.App.4th 16 at 19 p. 1085
- Barnett v. Delta Lines, Inc. 137 Cal.App.3d 674 at 682 p. 1085
- AIU Insurance v. Superior Court 51 Cal.3d 807 at 822 p. 1085
- Producers Dairy Delivery Co. v. Sentry Insurance 41 Cal.3d 903 at 916-917 p. 1086
- Bank of the West v. Superior Court 2 Cal.4th 1254 at 1264-1265 p. 1086
- La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club, Inc. v. Industrial Indemnity Co. 9 Cal.4th 27 at 37 p. 1086
- Argonaut Insurance v. Transport Indemnity Co. 6 Cal.3d 496 at 502 p. 1086
- United States Leasing Corp. v. duPont 69 Cal.2d 275 at 284 p. 1086
- Hughes v. Mid-Century Insurance 38 Cal.App.4th 1176 at 1181-1182 p. 1086
- J. C. Penney Casualty Insurance v. M. K. 52 Cal.3d 1009 at 1018 p. 1086
- Clemmer v. Hartford Insurance 22 Cal.3d 865 at 889 p. 1086
- Murphy v. Allstate Insurance 17 Cal.3d 937 at 943-944 p. 1086
- Hand v. Farmers Insurance Exchange 23 Cal.App.4th 1847 at 1856-1858 p. 1086
- Woolett v. American Employers Insurance 77 Cal.App.3d 619 at 622 p. 1086
- Garratt v. Baker 5 Cal.2d 745 at 748 p. 1087
- Alling v. Universal Manufacturing Corp. 5 Cal.App.4th 1412 at 1440 p. 1087
- Southern California Gas Co. v. ABC Construction Co. 204 Cal.App.2d 747 at 750-752 p. 1087
- Ascherman v. General Reinsurance Corp. 183 Cal.App.3d 307 at 311 p. 1087
- Lucas v. Hamm 56 Cal.2d 583 at 590 p. 1087
- Coleman v. Gulf Insurance Group 41 Cal.3d 782 at 794-795 p. 1087
- Nothwestern Mutual Ins. v. Farmers' Ins. Group 76 Cal.App.3d 1031 at 1041-1042 p. 1087
- Cancino v. Farmers Insurance Group 80 Cal.App.3d 335 at 340 p. 1087
- Bass v. John Hancock Mutual Life Insurance 10 Cal.3d 792 at 797 p. 1088
- Barrera v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance 71 Cal.2d 659 at 675 p. 1088
- Shapiro v. Republic Indemnity Co. of America 52 Cal.2d 437 at 440 p. 1088
- Jones v. Aetna Casualty & Surety Co. 26 Cal.App.4th 1717 at 1722-1725 p. 1090