Majority
Opinion
Without reserving any rights against its insured, an excess liability insurer agreed to and did indemnify its insured by contributing to the settlement of a third party’s action against the insured. The excess insurer then sued the insured’s other insurers, claiming it was entitled to reimbursement for the entire amount of its contribution to the settlement. That lawsuit spawned yet another action (this one), a bad faith claim by the insured against its excess insurer in which the insured contends the excess insurer’s failure to reserve its rights against the insured was a waiver of its right to deny its coverage obligation in its subsequent litigation with the other carriers. The insured is wrong.
Facts[1]
In 1974, Yosemite Insurance Company issued an umbrella liability policy to Mitchell, Silberberg & Knupp (MSK), excess to and following the form of a policy issued by the Phoenix Insurance Company. In 1984, Home Insurance Company issued a professional liability policy to MSK. In 1989, Brian Wilson sued MSK, alleging professional negligence. MSK tendered defense of the Wilson action to (and demanded indemnity from) Home, Phoenix, and Yosemite. Without reservation, Phoenix agreed to provide a defense and to indemnify MSK. Also without reservation, Yosemite and Home agreed to indemnify MSK. On April 10, 1992, the Wilson action was settled, with
1 This is an appeal from an order of dismissal entered after the trial court sustained a demurrer without leave to amend, and we accept as true the allegations of the complaint. As will appear, our opinion includes references to a related federal district court action (Yosemite Insurance Company v. The Home Insurance Company (U.S. Dist. Ct. (C.D.Cal.) No. CV-93-0963-JMI)) and an appeal in that action (Yosemite Insurance Company v. The Home Insurance Company ((9th Cir.) 1996 WL 89271 ). The trial court judicially noticed the district court proceedings, as do we, and we also take judicial notice of the Ninth Circuit’s opinion (decided while this case was pending on appeal). (Cantu v. Resolution Trust Corp. (1992) 4 Cal.App.4th 857 , 877 [ 6 Cal.Rptr.2d 151 ]; Code Civ. Proc., § 430.30, subd. (a).)
In February 1993, Yosemite sued Home and others in federal court, seeking complete or partial equitable indemnity, subrogation and contribution, and declaratory relief. After Home answered (and filed a cross-claim), and after the district court determined the date of MSK’s professional negligence as alleged by Wilson in his action, Yosemite moved for summary judgment on the ground that its policy did not afford any coverage at that time. It followed, according to Yosemite, that Home ought to reimburse it for the entire amount of its contribution to the Wilson settlement. In opposition, Home contended (for the first time) that Yosemite was not entitled to indemnity from Home because Yosemite had not reserved its rights against MSK (notwithstanding that Yosemite had reserved its rights against Home). In Home’s view, a judgment obligating Home to reimburse Yosemite would consume the limits of the policy Home had issued to MSK, leaving no money to pay other claims still pending against MSK. To avoid that result, Home insisted that Yosemite’s unconditional agreement to indemnify MSK waived Yosemite’s right to dispute coverage under MSK’s policy for all purposes. The federal district court granted Yosemite’s motion and entered summary judgment in favor of Yosemite for more than $2.5 million.[2] Home appealed from that judgment.
While Home’s appeal was still pending, MSK filed this action against Yosemite and Home (Yosemite is the only defendant before us on this appeal). In its second amended complaint, MSK pleads breach of contract, tortious breach of contract, intentional interference with economic advantage
2 The district court’s Statement of Uncontroverted Facts and Conclusions of Law included these findings: “A liability insurer may participate in the settlement of a claim against the insured, and then bring an action for reimbursement against an insurer that declined to participate, or participated in an insufficient amount. ... A liability insurer’s agreement that it would indemnify the insured against any judgment that might be entered against the insured, subject to the limits of the policy, does not preclude the insurer from obtaining reimbursement of its contribution from an insurer that participated in the settlement of the claim against the insured in an insufficient amount, especially where, as here, the defendant insurer specifically agreed that the plaintiff insurer’s contribution to the settlement was made pursuant to a reservation of the right to seek reimbursement from the defendant insurer.”
I
Yosemite demurred to MSK’s second amended complaint, contending Yosemite’s relinquishment of its rights against MSK had nothing to do with Yosemite’s rights against Home. In opposition, MSK insisted that Yosemite’s right to “pursue other insurers on a theory of non-coverage” was a question of fact that could not be resolved by demurrer. The trial court agreed with Yosemite, sustained the demurrer without leave to amend, and entered an order dismissing Yosemite from this action. After MSK filed this appeal from the order of dismissal, the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit reversed the district court’s summary judgment, finding “the materials before [it]” insufficient to show, as a matter of law, that Yosemite had reserved its indemnification rights against the other carriers “for the amount of its contribution to the [Wilson] settlement.”[3]
Discussion
MSK contends an insurer cannot unconditionally accept its indemnity obligations to its insured and then contend in subsequent litigation with the insured’s other carriers that it never had any coverage obligation to its insured. We disagree.
3 On this appeal, MSK contends the Ninth Circuit’s reversal of the district court’s summary judgment means that the district court’s findings cannot support the trial court’s ruling. Assuming without deciding that MSK is correct, the point is moot—our decision is based upon MSK’s second amended complaint and the pleadings in the other actions, not on the district court’s findings or conclusions.
MSK’s complaint and the matters judicially noticed show without contradiction that, at the time of the Wilson settlement, MSK knew and agreed to Yosemite’s reservation of its rights against MSK’s other insurers, including Home.[4] When the settlement was placed on the record, MSK did not suggest there was any limitation (by reason of Yosemite’s unconditional agreement to indemnify MSK or otherwise) on Yosemite’s right to seek reimbursement from Home or from any other carrier—a suggestion that certainly would have been made, if intended, at the time one of MSK’s attorneys confirmed on the record that no insurer was reserving the right to seek reimbursement from MSK. Presumably, MSK recognized then the rule it attempts to avoid now—that an insurer may settle a claim against its insured without prejudice to its right to seek equitable indemnity from other insurers potentially liable on the same risk on the ground that, although the settling insurer’s policy does not provide coverage, there is coverage under the other policies. (Pines
4 The transcript memorializing the settlement makes it clear that “[a]ll insurance companies [except Phoenix] reserve[d] their rights [in] full. . . as to other insurance companies.” As the trial court commented when it sustained Yosemite’s demurrer to MSK’s second amended complaint, it is difficult to “see how the English language can be more clear.” And although it is outside the record on the demurrer, the record on appeal includes an excerpt from a presettlement letter in which MSK urged Yosemite to contribute to the Wilson settlement and pointed out that, “[i]f Yosemite believes that other insurers are improperly refusing to participate, it can assert any claims it may have against those insurers at a later time.”
II
An undisclosed “understanding” by MSK about unstated limitations on the insurers’ rights against each other cannot affect the simple fact that Yosemite’s reservation of its rights against Home and the other carriers was unlimited (Brant v. California Dairies, Inc. (1935) 4 Cal.2d 128 , 133 [ 48 P.2d 13 ]; Houghton v. Kerr Glass Mfg. Corp. (1968) 261 Cal.App.2d 530 , 537 [ 68 Cal.Rptr. 43 ]), and there is absolutely no authority to support MSK’s contention that Yosemite’s unconditional agreement to indemnify MSK bars Yosemite’s efforts to recover all or part of its settlement contribution from Home.
We summarily reject MSK’s contention that the hearing on Yosemite’s demurrer should have been continued to permit MSK to examine some documents. There was a previous continuance for this purpose, and only five pages remained to be produced, none of which could possibly be relevant to the legal issue raised by MSK’s complaint. MSK’s failure to explain how the elusive five pages could possibly affect the outcome of the demurrer confirms our belief that the trial court did not abuse its discretion. (Community Cause v. Boatwright (1981) 124 Cal.App.3d 888 , 897, 902 [ 177 Cal.Rptr. 657 ]; McMartin v. Children’s Institute International (1989) 212 Cal.App.3d 1393 , 1408 [ 261 Cal.Rptr. 437 ].)
5 MSK’s reliance on Stonewall Ins. Co. v. City of Palos Verdes Estates (1996) 46 Cal.App.4th 1810 [ 54 Cal.Rptr.2d 176 ], is misplaced. In Stonewall, the parties apparently agreed that the insurer’s agreement with its insured that the insurer would not rely on a specified exclusion barred the insurer’s reliance on that exclusion in a suit among multiple insurers. (Id. at p. 1857.) The case does not support MSK’s position for the simple reason that, since no one argued otherwise, the “issue” was not discussed—it is simply stated as a fact. (Ginns v. Savage (1964) 61 Cal.2d 520 , 524, fn. 2 [ 39 Cal.Rptr. 377 , 393 P.2d 689 ] [an opinion is not authority for a proposition not therein considered].) MSK’s reliance on Alta Cal. Regional Center v. Fremont Indemnity Co. (1994) 25 Cal.App.4th 455 [ 30 Cal.Rptr.2d 841 ] is also misplaced. Aside from the fact that Alta has in large part been overruled by Waller v. Truck Ins. Exchange, Inc. (1995) 11 Cal.4th 1 , 33-34 [ 44 Cal.Rptr.2d 370 , 900 P.2d 619 ], it is inapposite here because it is a case involving a dispute between an insured and one of its insurers arising out of a denial of coverage, not a dispute among insurers following an insurer’s admission of coverage.
The order of dismissal is affirmed. Yosemite is awarded its costs of appeal.
Ortega, Acting P. J., and Masterson, J., concurred.
Cases cited
- Tomerlin v. Canadian Indemnity Co. 61 Cal.2d 638 at 646-648 p. 394
- Miller v. Elite Insurance 100 Cal.App.3d 739 at 754 p. 394
- Signal Cos. v. Harbor Insurance 27 Cal.3d 359 p. 394
- American Automobile Insurance v. Seaboard Surety Co. 155 Cal.App.2d 192 at 195-196 p. 394
- Pauline v. Fitzpatrick 318 P.2d 84 p. 394
- Pines of La Jolla Homeowners Ass'n v. Industrial Indemnity 5 Cal.App.4th 714 at 725-726 p. 395
- Montrose Chemical Corp. v. Admiral Insurance 10 Cal.4th 645 at 685 p. 395
- State Farm Fire & Casualty Co. v. Cooperative of American Physicians, Inc. 163 Cal.App.3d 199 at 203-205 p. 395
- Brant v. California Dairies, Inc. 4 Cal.2d 128 at 133 p. 395
- Houghton v. Kerr Glass Manufacturing Corp. 261 Cal.App.2d 530 at 537 p. 395
- Community Cause v. Boatwright 124 Cal.App.3d 888 at 897, 902 p. 395
- McMartin v. Children's Institute International 212 Cal.App.3d 1393 at 1408 p. 395