Majority
I. Facts
A. The underground storage tanks
Tustin Field Gas & Food, Inc. (plaintiff) owns a gas station and minimart in Palm Springs, California. The station stores the gas dispensed by its pumps in two underground 15,000-gallon tanks. The tanks are located approximately 30 feet from the minimart, and are buried beneath a six or seven inch concrete slab and five or six feet of dirt. The tanks themselves are cylinders approximately 30 feet long and nine feet in diameter, and are double-walled: They have an inner wall made of steel, wrapped in a synthetic honeycomb, and then sheathed with an outer wall made of "fragile" fiberglass. The tanks are connected to the pumps through pipes carrying the fuel and are connected to the minimart with electrical conduit.
When these tanks were originally placed underground in 1997, the installer did not follow the tank manufacturer's instructions to bury them in pea gravel or crushed rock. Instead, the installer just dug a hole, placed the tanks into that hole, and then covered them with "native soil" containing rocks, boulders, chunks of asphalt, rusted pipes, and other debris. The first tank, referred to as Underground Storage Tank-1 or "UST-1," was set atop a boulder with a nine-inch diameter as well as atop pockets of air.
B. Discovery of damage to UST-1's fiberglass sheath
In September 2013, plaintiff conducted its annual test of UST-1's integrity and learned that its fiberglass sheath was no longer intact. (Health & Saf. Code, § 25284.2 [requiring annual testing of underground tanks].) This was the first time either tank had failed a test in the 16 years since the tanks were installed. The tanks were excavated. The fiberglass sheath on the underside of UST-1 had a long, narrow crack that partially touched the nine-inch boulder, which had itself cracked in two. UST-1's inner steel wall was still intact, and UST-1's outer fiberglass sheath had not lost its cylindrical shape. There was no "imminent danger" that UST-1's inner steel wall would be crushed inward. Plaintiff paid to have UST-1's fiberglass sheath patched.
C. Claim against insurance policy
At the time of the testing, plaintiff had an insurance policy (the Policy) covering property damage with defendant Mid-Century Insurance Company (defendant). Plaintiff presented a claim for the cost of excavating and repairing UST-1.
As pertinent here, Section A.1. of the Policy defines Covered Property to include
In a 10-page order, the trial court granted summary judgment for defendant and denied summary adjudication for plaintiff. The court concluded that UST-1 constituted Covered Property under the Policy, reasoning that (1) defendant "appear[ed] to have conceded" that point, and (2) UST-1 otherwise qualified as "permanently installed equipment" and as a "fixture," both of which satisfied the Policy's definition of "building" and hence of Covered Property.
The court nevertheless concluded that there was no Covered Cause of Loss because there had been no "collapse." Specifically, the court ruled that plaintiff had to show an "actual" collapse of UST-1. The court noted that the Policy did not define the term collapse.
Whether plaintiff is entitled to coverage under the Policy turns initially on two questions: (1) What does the Policy mean by the term collapse?; and (2) Has plaintiff raised a triable issue of fact as to whether the damage to UST-1 was caused by a collapse, once that term is defined?
The first question requires us to interpret the Policy. Insurance contracts have "special features," but "are still contracts to which the ordinary rules of contractual interpretation apply." ( Bank of the West v. Superior Court (1992) 2 Cal.4th 1254 , 1264, 10 Cal.Rptr.2d 538 , 833 P.2d 545 .) Those rules direct us to ascertain " 'the mutual intention of the parties at the time the contract is formed.' " ( Hartford , supra , 59 Cal.4th at p. 288, 172 Cal.Rptr.3d 653 , 326 P.3d 253 , quoting
II. Analysis
As
pertinent here, plaintiff's entitlement to coverage under the Policy turns on whether plaintiff can show that (1) UST-1 suffered "direct physical loss or damage ... caused by collapse"; and (2) that collapse was "caused by" (a) "[h]idden decay," (b) the "[w]eight of people or personal property," or (c) the "[u]se of defective material or methods in construction" "if the collapse occurs after construction" and was "caused in part" by either (a) or (b). This is plaintiff's burden because Section A.3. of the Policy excludes any collapse from coverage, but Section A.5.d. countermands that exclusion to the extent of the exception outlined above. Consequently, the threshold question is what the Policy means by the term collapse.
The definition of collapse in insurance policies varies. When a policy defines the term, that definition controls. (See Rosen , supra , 30 Cal.4th at p. 1073, 135 Cal.Rptr.2d 361 , 70 P.3d 351 [policy defines collapse as "actually fallen down or fallen to pieces"]; Grebow v. Mercury Ins. Co. (2015) 241 Cal.App.4th 564 , 570, 194 Cal.Rptr.3d 259 ( Grebow ) [policy defines collapse as "sudden and complete breaking down or falling in or crumbling into pieces"].) When a policy leaves the term collapse undefined, its meaning is derived from the context in which it is used in the policy. When a policy's language reaches "the entire collapse of a ... building structure," the policy covers "an actual, [but] not an imminent collapse." ( Jordan v. Allstate Ins. Co. (2004) 116 Cal.App.4th 1206 , 1210, 1221, 11 Cal.Rptr.3d 169 ( Jordan ).) When a policy's language reaches "loss or damage caused by or resulting from risks of direct physical loss involving collapse of a building," the policy is "broad enough to embrace the threat of loss from an imminent collapse" and thus covers both (1) actual collapse, and (2) imminent collapse, which means a collapse is "likely to occur at any moment, impending." ( Jordan , at p. 1222, 11 Cal.Rptr.3d 169 ; Doheny West , supra , 60 Cal.App.4th at pp. 401, 406, 70 Cal.Rptr.2d 260 ; Panico v. Truck Ins. Exchange (2001) 90 Cal.App.4th 1294 , 1299-1300, 109 Cal.Rptr.2d 638 ( Panico ) [same];
III. Plaintiff's Arguments
These undisputed facts show that the damage to UST-1 constitutes at most a "substantial impairment of [its] structural integrity." However, because the Policy excludes "settling" and the like, a "substantial impairment of structural integrity" is not a "collapse" as a matter of law. (See Doheny West , supra , 60 Cal.App.4th at pp. 405-406, 70 Cal.Rptr.2d 260 ; Stamm Theatres , supra , 93 Cal.App.4th at pp. 541-542, 113 Cal.Rptr.2d 300 .)
Plaintiff res
ists our analysis with four categories of arguments.
A. The definition of collapse, generally
Plaintiff urges us to construe the term collapse broadly, and offers up three arguments in support of such a construction.
First, plaintiff asserts that a building has collapsed if any part of it is "materially impaired so that [that part] cannot perform its structural function as part of the building." Because state law requires a gasoline storage tank to have an intact fiberglass sheath (Health & Saf. Code, § 25291 ), plaintiff reasons, UST-1 collapsed. In support of this definition, plaintiff cites Sabella v. Wisler (1963) 59 Cal.2d 21 , 27 Cal.Rptr. 689 , 377 P.2d 889 ( Sabella ), Grebow , supra , 241 Cal.App.4th 564 , 194 Cal.Rptr.3d 259 , and several treatises.
This argument lacks merit because none of the authorities plaintiff cites support its argument. Sabella confronted whether a policy that excluded coverage for loss by "cracking[ ] [and] shrinkage ... unless loss by ... collapse of buildings ensues" provided coverage when a house built on improperly compacted fill dirt "sank in many places." ( Sabella , supra , 59 Cal.2d at p. 26, 27 Cal.Rptr. 689 , 377 P.2d 889 .) The court held that the loss was not covered because the policy "excluded with sufficient clarity all loss by settling ... unless collapse of the dwelling ensued, and since the house remained usable and continued to be occupied, it cannot be said that any 'collapse' occurred ." ( Id. at p. 31, 27 Cal.Rptr. 689 , 377 P.2d 889 , italics added.) At most, this language in Sabella means that if a
D. Triable issue on causation
Plaintiff suggests that, even as we interpret the term collapse, there is a triable issue of fact warranting denial of summary judgment because there is a factual dispute over whether UST-1 pressed down onto the rock, or whether the rock pushed up into UST-1's fiberglass sheath. However, this dispute is not "material" because no matter how it is resolved, the damage to UST-1 is the same and amounts at most to a "substantial impairment of [its] structural integrity."[1]
DISPOSITION
The judgment is affirmed. Defendant is entitled to its costs on appeal.
We concur:
ASHMANN-GERST, Acting P.J.
CHAVEZ, J.
1 In light of our conclusion, we have no occasion to examine whether UST-1 qualifies as a "building" under the policy or whether the "collapse" was caused by one of the several causes set forth in the policy.
Also as pertinent here, Section A.3. of the Policy defines "Covered Causes of Loss" as "Risks Of Direct Physical Loss unless the loss is ... Excluded in Section B., Exclusions ..." In its Exclusions section (Section B), the Policy provides that defendant "will not pay for loss or damage caused directly or indirectly by any of the following.... regardless of any other cause or event that contributes concurrently or in any sequence to the loss," and goes on to specify, in pertinent part, "Collapse, except as provided in the Additional Coverage for Collapse" (Section B.2.i.).
The Collapse subsection of the Additional Coverages section (Section A.5.d. of the Policy) provides that defendant "will pay for direct physical loss or damage to Covered Property, caused by a collapse of a building or any part of a building insured under this policy, if the collapse is caused by one or more of the following: ... (b) Hidden decay; ... (d) Weight of people or personal property; ... (f) Use of defective material or methods in construction, remodeling or renovation if the collapse occurs during the course of the construction, remodeling or renovation. However, if the collapse occurs after construction, remodeling or renovation is complete and is caused in part by [an enumerated] cause of loss ..., [defendant] will pay for the loss or damage even if use of defective material or methods in construction, remodeling or renovation, contributes to the collapse." This subsection also specifies that "Collapse does not include settling, cracking, shrinkage, bulging or expansion." (Accord, Section B.2.k.(4) [excluding from Covered Causes of Loss "[s]ettling, cracking, shrinking or expansion"].)
In a letter, defendant denied plaintiff's demand for coverage on two grounds: (1) the damage to UST-1 did not qualify as "damage to a building or any part of a building"; and (2) "it does not appear that the efficient proximate cause [of that damage] is Collapse."
Pla
intiff sued defendant for (1) breach of contract, (2) bad faith denial of insurance coverage, in violation of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing, and (3) declaratory relief pronouncing defendant's "duty to indemnify Plaintiff up to the limit of liability."
Because plaintiff was not entitled to benefits under the Policy, the court concluded that all three of plaintiff's claims failed as a matter of law.
After the trial court issued its formal order granting summary judgment and entered judgment, plaintiff timely filed a notice of appeal.
DISCUSSION
Plaintiff argues that the trial court erred in granting summary judgment to defendant. We review such grants de novo. ( Hampton v. County of San Diego (2015) 62 Cal.4th 340 , 347, 195 Cal.Rptr.3d 773 , 362 P.3d 417 .)
The second question requires us to ascertain whether "the evidence [produced in the summary judgment proceeding] would allow a reasonable trier
Grebow discusses the "split of authorities over the scope of collapse coverage when the policies leave the term 'collapse' undefined," and goes on to detail the " 'modern' " or " 'majority' view" holding that "collapse" encompasses " 'damage [that] materially impairs the basic structure or substantial integrity of the building.' " ( Grebow , supra , 241 Cal.App.4th at pp. 572-573, 194 Cal.Rptr.3d 259 .) This passage does not create a new "default" definition of the term collapse because it is dicta (given that the policy at issue in Grebow did define the term collapse) and because the split Grebow discusses involves a split among courts outside of California (given that Grebow cites secondary sources that cite only non-California cases).
For much the same reasons, the treatises plaintiff cites are beside the point because two of them (from Couch on Insurance and American Jurisprudence) examine only out-of-state law, and the third (from the California Insurance Law Dictionary and Desk Reference) relies on the out-of-state law set forth in Couch on Insurance for its view that collapse reaches a "material[ ] impair [ment] [of] the[ ] function" of a building or its being "render[ed] ... unfit for habitation." That other states may define collapse more broadly is of little persuasive force. (See Episcopal Church Cases (2009) 45 Cal.4th 467 , 490, 87 Cal.Rptr.3d 275 , 198 P.3d 66 ["out-of-state decisions are not binding"].)
Second, plaintiff asserts that California law defines collapse as any "substantial impairment of structural integrity" of a building. This is incorrect. As described above, California law specifically holds to the contrary, at least where, as here, a policy excludes from collapse "settling" and the like. ( Doheny West , supra , 60 Cal.App.4th at pp. 405-406, 70 Cal.Rptr.2d 260 ; Stamm Theatres , supra , 93 Cal.App.4th at pp. 541-542, 113 Cal.Rptr.2d 300 .)
Third, plaintiff makes a few policy-based arguments in support of a broader definition of collapse. It contends that the absence of a definition for collapse in the Policy creates an ambiguity that must, under general principles of insurance law, be construed in its favor. To be sure, when an insurance policy is ambiguous-that is, when " 'it is capable of two or more constructions both of which are reasonable ' [citation]"
Plaintiff further asserts that public policy favors a broader definition of collapse. If collapse is interpreted narrowly to require a more complete collapse of an underground storage tank, plaintiff reasons, insured parties like plaintiff would have little incentive to repair lesser damage to their tanks, which could result in interim damage to the environment. Putting aside for the moment that this argument overlooks the fact that state environmental authorities would likely step in to prevent this interim environmental damage (as they did here), our Supreme Court rejected a nearly identical argument in Rosen . There, the plaintiff argued that a policy defining the term "collapse" as "actually fallen down or fallen to pieces" should reach imminent collapse short of actual collapse because public policy favors repair of buildings before they actually collapse rather than afterwards. ( Rosen , supra , 30 Cal.4th at p. 1077, 135 Cal.Rptr.2d 361 , 70 P.3d 351 .) Our Supreme Court was unpersuaded, reasoning that a public-policy-based rewrite "would compel the insurer to give more than it promised and would allow the insured to get more than it paid for, thereby denying their freedom to contract as they please." ( Id. at p. 1080, 135 Cal.Rptr.2d 361 , 70 P.3d 351 .) Rosen ' s reasoning applies with equal force here.
B. The definition of collapse in the policy
Plaintiff argues that the Policy is akin to the policies with a broader definition of collapse discussed in Doheny West , Panico , and Stamm Theatres
Plaintiff suggests that we must interpret the term collapse in the Policy in light of the expert testimony it proffered indicating that UST-1 "collapsed" and in light of defendant's concession that UST-1 "collapsed." Plaintiff is wrong. Although plaintiff's expert repeatedly characterized the damage to UST-1's fiberglass sheath as a "collapse," and plaintiff's owner parroted that characterization when relaying what that expert told him, the trial court sustained defendant's objections to this evidence, and plaintiff does not attack those evidentiary rulings on appeal. ( Frittelli, Inc. v. 350 North Canon Drive, LP (2011) 202 Cal.App.4th 35 , 41, 135 Cal.Rptr.3d 761 [failure to challenge trial court's evidentiary rulings on summary judgment obligates appellate court to honor those rulings].) Even if we overlooked plaintiff's forfeiture, "[e]xpert testimony is not generally admissible on the question of the meaning of particular policy language" because "it is the court's function to interpret policy language." ( Jordan , supra , 116 Cal.App.4th at pp. 1217-1218, 11 Cal.Rptr.3d 169 , italics added.)
Nor did defendant concede the issue of collapse. Although defendant in its opposition to plaintiff's motion for summary adjudication stated, in one sentence, that "[t]he damaged tank, UST-1, along with its fiberglass jacket collapsed down onto the rock due to the improper installation of the tank," this sentence is not, as plaintiff urges, a concession to the meaning of the
Cases cited
- Oasis West Realty v. Goldman 51 Cal.4th 811 p. 226
- International Insurance v. American Empire Surplus Lines Insurance 23 Cal.4th 390 p. 226
- Hartford Casualty Insurance v. Swift Distribution, Inc. 59 Cal.4th 277 p. 226
- Bank of the West v. Superior Court 2 Cal.4th 1254 p. 226
- Aguilar v. Atlantic Richfield Co. 25 Cal.4th 826 p. 227
- Grebow v. Mercury Insurance 241 Cal.App.4th 564 p. 227, p. 228
- Jordan v. Allstate Insurance 116 Cal.App.4th 1206 p. 227
- Panico v. Truck Insurance Exchange 90 Cal.App.4th 1294 p. 227
- Sabella v. Wisler 59 Cal.2d 21 p. 228
- Bay Cities Paving & Grading, Inc. v. Lawyers' Mutual Insurance 5 Cal.4th 854 p. 230
- La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club, Inc. v. Industrial Indemnity Co. 9 Cal.4th 27 p. 230
- County of San Diego v. Ace Property & Casualty Insurance 37 Cal.4th 406 p. 230
- Aguilar v. Lerner 32 Cal.4th 974 p. 232
- Miller v. Bank of America 213 Cal.App.4th 1 p. 232
- Hampton v. County of San Diego 62 Cal.4th 340 p. 913
- AIU Insurance v. Superior Court 51 Cal.3d 807 p. 914
- Rosen v. State Farm General Insurance 30 Cal.4th 1070 p. 914
- Stamm Theatres, Inc. v. Hartford Casualty Insurance 93 Cal.App.4th 531 p. 915
- Episcopal Church Cases 45 Cal.4th 467 p. 916
- American International Underwriters Insurance v. American Guarantee & Liability Insurance 181 Cal.App.4th 616 p. 917
- Frittelli, Inc. v. 350 North Canon Drive, LP 202 Cal.App.4th 35 p. 918